Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec Bonded MoCA 2.0 Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter - 2-pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great and better than power line adapters
Pros: with Verizon Fios I get 5ms Pings, 915 Mbps Download and only 904 Mbps Upload speed.
Cons: Not yet.
Reviewed By:Joseph A.,6/23/2017 6:59:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointing results
Pros: Easy set up
Cons: My speeds only topped out at 60 Bps, but I don't know if the issue is a result of my coax lines. Nonetheless, I got similar speeds from cheaper powerline options.
Reviewed By:Joao C.,3/10/2017 11:29:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easiest Setup In The World RE: Frontier/Verizon Router - Actiontec MI424WR Rev I
Pros: - Quickest 3 step process I have ever done
- Instant internet access with same speed as ethernet coming straight off the router
- Only needed one of these, but bought two in case MoCA didn't work. FIOS routers are already MoCA enabled since it's how your set-top-boxes get the signal to display your tv signal.
Cons: - There are no cons to this product since I have direct ethernet connect at exact same speed as source where ever the house has a coax connection.
- Maybe the only drawback is you are limited in using only ?12? of these throughout your house?
- I wish I could upload pictures of how this is set-up because the YT videos and other reviews, answering questions are way to tech than needed. Any moron can do this easily, and I'd like to just give a straight forward picture of how to do it that doesn't confuse the hell out of people. You don't need to understand how it function to set it up, just the tools.
Other Thoughts: All just add the process FYI in case anyone is confused. Of course, this is for the specific router above and I suspect that others just require you to use the 2nd adapter to make your router MoCA enabled. That process is pretty simple.

For the MI422WR router it is already MoCA 1.1, if you have set-top-boxes using Coax then your coax cables already have access to the internet signal. When you look at the back of your box, you should see a coax cable going out from your router to the wall. That is the access line. STOP. You do NOT need to add an adapter between this connection on your router.

Move on to the 2nd phase of providing access to location/room that does not have internet but has a coax wall outlet. The product comes with 2 short coax & ethernet cables. Use the coax cable between the wall outlet to the coax IN port on the adapter. Plug the electric cord into the adpater. The green electricity light should come on the adapter. I don't use TV but if you want smart TV access then use the coax coming out your TV to the coax OUT port on the adpater. Connect your ethernet cable into the port on the adpater. btw, if you want to have access for multi ehternet cables just purchase a NetGear ProSAFE port, and use the ethernet cable from that to the adapter then the other ports can feed off of that. Wait a couple of minutes and the coax green light should pop on and the ethernet light should pop on. Once those lights are green you have your access. Simple as that. Took me 5 minutes max to unwrap plug the cords in and have it operating. IMMEDIATELY able to do speed test on the computer and the speeds are exactly the same as at the router source.
Reviewed By:Terri O.,2/18/2017 11:47:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec ECB2500C Ethernet to Coax Adapter for Homes with Cable TV Service

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just works
Pros: Works flawlessly with Verizon FIOS router.
Cons: Not gigabit speed.
Adds a few milliseconds to ping times.
Reviewed By:Filipp G.,12/12/2016 5:34:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec Bonded MoCA 2.0 Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter - 2-pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product. Worth every penny
Pros: - Fast. Get over 800 Mb/s with iperf in TCP mode. Get over 900 Mb/s with iperf in UDP mode.

- Consistent low latency. Especially if you do any online gaming from another room or are just trying to stream videos and it randomly buffers no matter the site you stream from while doing wireless or just have a dead spot in a room that has coax, this is the consistent high speed, low latency solution for you. Even if you have a fairly fast wireless connection, these will consistently have lower latency as wireless always seems to have random latency spikes no matter what you do, which matters if you are trying to game and/or do VoIP and a lot of wireless routers just have higher processing latency than these from the get go. If you ever have tried Powerline Ethernet, well at least for me I have always had issues with interference causing latency spikes and even network drop outs, especially if someone turns on the vacuum cleaner or blender. Getting back to these bad boys if you do your coax network correctly, these will just work and work consistently well and fast. I mean they are rock solid and have been for over a year now, so I am very pleased.

- These do have a strong crypto option, which is handy. For my devices and firmware level I had to manually enter the exact key for each device and the key was long, but well it should be very secure.

- At least with the firmware version I have, I can select the frequency they operate at. Leaving it on the default should be fine in most cases, but by chance there is another interfering device (say you have two or more MoCA DVRs and they interfere), you can always manually change the channel.

- Out of all of the MoCA devices out there as far as I know of this is the fastest. As this gets close to the 1 Gb/s mark and 1 Gb/s is probably as fast as any part of your home network is probably ever going to go, this will probably be the only MoCA device you will ever buy.

- If you are looking for a back-haul network device to get around WiFi dead spots, this could be a great device to plug an AP (access point) into.

- Once I verified I had these hooked up properly, the cable tech (who came out to plug in the coax cable to the second room as I did not have physical access to do it myself) verified that these do not put out any random noise. In other words they have well built radios in them that play well with existing cable TV/Internet providers.
Cons: - A bit costly, but in this case you get what you pay for.

- Could have documented how to use the management interface as opposed to having to fish around random online forums for the answers. (May have changed since I bought it since I have had them for a while.)

- Being a coax device of course it only works in a room with coax. If for some reason it is not working, either you need to figure out where your coax lines meet up and make sure it is connected or if each coax drop is controlled by the ISP (such as for an apartment), you may need to bug your ISP to hook the extra coax wire(s) up.

- Does not work with satellite as satellite receivers use the same band.

- Have heard these do not always inter-operate well or sometimes at all with other MoCA devices, especially if you are using the cryptography feature. Highly recommend, especially if you have multiple rooms, to use the same device for all rooms.

- Kit does not come with terminators. If you use these in a room where it is the only device on the coax network, you will need to get a terminator on the open port so that you don't flood your coax plant with random noise. I had a cable tech verify that leaving the unused port open does in fact add a lot of interference to the cable plant. Terminators are very cheap at least, so you just need to plan appropriately when you buy.
Other Thoughts: I have had these for over a year now. Back then I bought them elsewhere in part because NewEgg did not carry them, but it looks like they do now.

While these do tend to work with standard issue coax splitters, it may be wise to use MoCA specific splitters or even satellite rated splitters in order to get the maximum signal strength through as a standard issue 5-1000MHz splitter should attenuate the higher frequencies these operate at more. Especially if the signal has to go a long ways or you have a big multi-way coax splitter in your home, having a properly rated splitter becomes a lot more important.

If you are using with a cable TV/Internet provider, make sure to have a MoCA band "POE" filter placed outside of your home/apartment so that the signal does not back-flow into the cable network. While normally cable TV/Internet works at or below 1 GHz and these devices are set to 1.55 GHz by default, you don't want the cross interference degrading your network performance, the cable provider does not want anything back-flowing onto their network and may get mad if they notice, and you don't want that teenage punk a couple doors down getting onto your network and wrecking havoc because he has nothing better to do than to screw with your unsecured MoCA network. Just secure your network by filtering out the MoCA band (and adding AES128 cryptography) and be done with it. Of course if your coax plant is not hooked to the outside world (maybe you have fiber or some form of DSL or just physically separated a coax network out for this), then no need to lock things down and place filters on the coax plant.

You do not want any open coax ports. Open coax ports adds all kinds of unwanted noise to the coax plant, may disrupt your Internet connection along with disrupting cable TV channels, and in general will be a headache for the cable provider as you will be flooding your whole neighborhood coax segment with noise. Buy / use splitters only as big as you need as signal strength is lost as you add more ports. If for some reason you end up with an open port (say you place this in a room where this is the only coax device and so only one of the two ports is plugged in), use a terminator to cap off that port.
Reviewed By:Jason S.,12/11/2016 2:03:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec Electronics Bonded MoCA 2.0 Adpt ECB6200S02

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Did the job.
Pros: More than tripled the data rate from my old v1.1 adapter.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/27/2016 5:48:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec Bonded MoCA 2.0 Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter - 2-pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Been looking for something simple and fast
Pros: Does exactly what its supposed to reliably and have had no issues thus far
Cons: Would like to see better docs on how to use the extra cable connector
Reviewed By:George K.,10/2/2016 10:53:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA 2.0 Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter- 2-pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works out of the box with Comcast Xfinity
Pros: Truly plug and play. The only configuration I had to do was to disable wireless on my laptop. I've been getting at least 75 Mb/s across multiple tests (Speakeasy, DSL Reports) for the last week, with other loads on the network active. Has not interfered with the cable tv or VOIP at all. With MOCA enabled on the gateway, these devices connect directly to it.

We recently switched to Comcast after AT&T jacked up their rates when the contract ended. I had had a switch connected to a network port on the back of AT&T's DVR, and a smart TV, Blue Ray, receiver, and Roku connected to the switch - nothing too fancy, but working fine. Although I spent a lot of time checking to see which cable boxes had network ports, and the DVR that was installed had one, it didn't work, even after I enabled MOCA in the router admin website. Of course, the help desk had no idea what I was talking about, and "2nd-level" told me it was wireless or nothing.

In my house, wireless (~15 Mb/s in the living room) is ok for streaming music but problematic for video, and eats up bandwidth needed for PCs. I needed a better answer. These MOCA 2.0 devices are it.
Cons: - my wife complained that the LEDs were too bright. Electrical tape.
- expensive at $60+ each, but worth it to know I won't have to depend on any "service" provider to support their own equipment for this purpose ever again,
Other Thoughts: Info on whether this would work in my situation was difficult to find, so I'll post about it here in case it helps someone. Comcast installed a filter at the entry point, and then a coax amplifier ( Commscope CSAPD U5VP). 3 coax cables run unbroken to the back bedrooms, the master bedroom, and the living room. For the back bedrooms, a 3-way splitter (from Newegg) feeds 2 cable boxes (Xi3) and one of the Actiontecs, connected to my laptop in the office. In the master, a 2-way splitter (Comcast) feeds another Xi3 and the gateway/wireless router. In the living room, another 2-way splitter (Actiontec) feeds the DVR and the other Actiontec device, connected to the switch. All devices and functions (streaming movies, on demand, Spotify, Pandora, etc) are working. Great device!
Reviewed By:Ronald M.,8/21/2016 9:24:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec Bonded MoCA 2.0 Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter - 2-pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Next best thing to having your house wired for ethernet
Pros: -Able to run blu-rays throughout the house using wired network instead of relying on wireless.
-Easy to setup
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: Make sure you aren't using old MoCA v1.0 adapters (Motorola NIM100). These will not work with them connected. It took me awhile to find out why the Actiontec adapters would not work. Disconnected all NIM100's and they connected. Have been rock solid since.
Reviewed By:David M.,7/17/2016 12:44:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fabulous solution
Pros: These things rock. Worked right out of the box, invisible and plenty fast.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I used these in a rental property that only had coax and no structured wiring to feed wired ethernet to three different floors without any additional wiring.
Reviewed By:Scott W.,2/22/2016 8:06:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.