Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-ANT2408CL 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 powerful
Pros: powerful gadget to extend the wifi. perfect
Cons: no
Reviewed By:Johnny W.,12/11/2016 9:29:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT002ANT High-Gain Antenna 2-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good antenna, upgrade for many routers
Pros: The antenna didn't really do much for my 2.4 ghz network but did improve my 5ghz coverage. I have two computers that have a hard time getting great signals. My 2.4 ghz network runs a +5db antenna (Rosewill n180ube) in order to get 100% link and signal. So obviously this didn't see improvement, but my other 2.4ghz laptops and internal nics did see minor improvements through the house.

The 5ghz network gets the best coverage on a dlink dwa182 but while I didn't ever get 100% link and signal, i'd get 500-600mbps connection speeds. This antenna did improve that to 100%!

I tried it successfully with the Tp link touch p5 and Linksys wrt1900acs and both showed improvement. The Netgear Nighthawk didn't work.
Cons: In my opinion the only con is the price being high. I'd rather put $50-$80 into a better router and/or nic.

Also the lack of a three pack could trouble some.
Reviewed By:Robert Smith,12/11/2016 9:04:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-ANT2408C 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Desktop Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solved my dropped connection problem
Pros: Sturdy, heavy base so it won't tip over, plus strong magnets on the bottom. Fixed my connection problem, big time. The antenna can pivot to an angle so you may mount it on the wall without poking your eyes out.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have a desktop with a wireless card, but its stuck on the ground between some curtains and a desk, so the reception is not very good. I was getting two or three bars, which I expected should be good enough, but it would frequently disconnect; sometimes going several hours or days without issue, and often disconnecting every few seconds or minutes. This was driving me nuts for months before I wised up and decided the cheapest solution might be buying an antenna. I got this antenna a couple of months ago and have it sitting on a nearby table. I haven't had a single disconnect, 4-5 bars signal strength. Best $12 I ever spent.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey E.,12/6/2016 9:18:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT002ANT High-Gain Antenna 2-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Linksys WRT002ANT Review
Pros: I paired these antennas with a Linksys WRT3200ACM. It's a great router with already built in great range. These just made it even better. During all my testing I never experienced any buffering issues with Youtube or Netflix. I never saw a degradation of video quality, and my Plex never once missed a beat.

This was an improvement over the standard antennas. I also saw an improvement of 4dB, on average, on the 2.4Ghz band and an improvement of 6dB, again on average, on the 5Ghz band. I can actually go completely through my house without my devices switching from 5Ghz to 2.4Ghz.
Cons: I personally don't like the size of the antennas. I'm minimalist by nature and prefer an unnoticeable, sleek, design. This things stick out like a sore thumb.

The other con is the price.
Other Thoughts: When I review products I rarely take price into consideration. If it's a piece of hardware, I try to score purely on its ability to perform the job function it was designed for. These antennas do just that. They provide a overall signal strength and throughput over both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz bands. So much so that I was going to buy 2 more so I can outfit my router with 4 of them. Until I saw the price. If 2 of these were under $25 I would have pulled the trigger on them without hesitation. But for their current price, $50 at the time of this review, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. While there is improvement in overall performance, that gain in performance is not equivalent to $50.

At the end of the day these antennas work, and they work well, but they just aren't worth it at their current price point.
Reviewed By:Adam B.,11/29/2016 8:28:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-ANT2408C 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Desktop Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Much better than the standard 2dbi antenna
Pros: I have a wn781nd wireless card. The original 2dbi antenna would cut in and out and go from 0-2 bars. This 8dbi antenna stays around 3-5 bars and my speeds are doubled!
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: The base isn't required, but you will get a better connection with it. I just plugged the antenna into the back of my computer.
Reviewed By:Dylan A Smith,11/26/2016 3:10:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent product without the need for a range extender. Really rocks at 5ghz.
Pros: My main focus was increasing range towards the far front of my single story home. The router sits virtually dead center in the middle of the house. Yard is 120' deep x 65' wide. Using WiFi Analyzer, I ran basic signal tests before and after. Here is how things turned out (remember every 3dB is a 100% signal difference)

Back left side of yard:
2.4ghz before -58dB
2.4ghz after -62dB (eeek -4dB worse)
5ghz before - 56dB
5ghz after -53dB (Nice 3dB gain!)


Back right side of yard:
2.4ghz before -58dB
2.4ghz after -59dB (eeek 1dB worse)
5ghz before - 54dB
5ghz after -49dB (Nice 5dB gain!)

Front right side of yard:
2.4ghz before -73dB
2.4ghz after -66dB (Nice 7dB gain!)
5ghz before - 72dB
5ghz after -59dB (Nice 11dB gain!)

Front left side of yard:
2.4ghz before -68dB
2.4ghz after -65dB (Nice 3dB gain!)
5ghz before - 72dB
5ghz after -62dB (Nice 10dB gain!)

Conclusion: I did not gain as much as I hoped on 2.4ghz band but it is an improvement in the areas I wanted to improve (front side of the house). Towards the front of the house we have a lot of walls and barriers including a garage door. This reflects in the much lower signal levels at the front right and left side of the home vs the rear even though the router is dead center middle. The antenna upgrade punched through these barriers quite well including the metal of the garage door. This is where these antennas really shine. The 5ghz improvements are AWESOME. All of our PC's and phones on the 5ghz band upfront will really benefit from this signal increase.
Cons: The antennas are laughably LONG. Makes your router look like a transformers head.
Other Thoughts: At $70 I feel this is an excellent value if you have a big single story (not recommended for 2 story homes per other reviews online)
Reviewed By:Jeremy H.,11/23/2016 2:09:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-ANT2408CL 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Increased range 10-20% through structures on a TP-Link TP-WR941ND
Pros: Easily installed and economic range upgrade.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Reagan P.,11/21/2016 10:33:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT002ANT High-Gain Antenna 2-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Linksys High-Gain
Pros: - Excellent range improvement.
- Sleek, stylish design.
- Faster throughput on both 2.4 and 5 GHz bands.
- Blue accents.
- Fits perfect for RP-SMA.
- Solid connection
Cons: - Big, Bulky but still sleek.
- Pricey for bigger antennae.
- Odd look to the Linksys EA 8500 (AC 2600 Router) with 2 huge antennae and 2 small antennae.
Other Thoughts: I used these antennae on the side and left the smaller antennae on the back of the router. I saw huge gains in STREAMING from my PLEX PC to my Samsung Smart TV (built-in WIFI). I also saw a remarkable improvement in speeds with Watch ESPN and SlingTV. I went from SOMETIMES having lower video quality/audio and very slight buffering to no degradation at all. I also have virtually no lag.

I will admit they were a bit hard to get attached to my Linksys do to their size but once they are connected they stay in place.

I didn't see huge gains like I was expecting but I did notice an improvement.

I recommend these at a lower price (probably best to get with the 4 PACK().
Reviewed By:Jason J.,11/20/2016 7:55:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT002ANT High-Gain Antenna 2-Pack

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not really worth the price at all, minimal improvement over 5GHz only
Pros: + stylish design, kinda bulky compared to standard, but still looking sleek
+ sturdy construction with solid connectors
+ improves range (but not too much and at a price, more below)
+ designed to help fix the weak reception zones (in single floor ONLY! Omni-directional design)
+ most improvement seen in 5GHz band, still it's around 10-20% maybe
+ connectors are standard and same on pretty much all WiFi routers or access points so they fit every brand and model that has detachable external antennas
Cons: - biggest con is the price, really, $60ish for a pair of antennas that barely do anything better over free standard ones???
- size (2x bigger than standard) and weight, may affect center of gravity on some routers causing toppling over
- do NOT get these if you want to improve AP range in multi-floor house!
- do NOT get these if utilized with 2.4GHz band only and/or multiple floors!
Other Thoughts: Tested with ASUS RT-AC55U router that has weak range to start with.

Those antennas did improve 5GHz bandwidth (faster max speeds than with standard antennas) and somewhat the range all over the house within a single floor, maybe 20 feet better penetration than with standard antennas

Close to zero improvement in 2.4GHz bandwidth on a single floor (multiple rooms with sheetrock walls)
Range and signal degradation in 2.4GHz on other floors when compared to standard antennas ... and that is by design.

Important TIP: those antennas NEED to point straight UP when installed on the router/AP.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/18/2016 12:21:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-ANT2408CL 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exactly what i needed
Pros: Simple
Easy to Install
Works great for me where i was getting spotty signal issues.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to others.
Reviewed By:Daniel N.,10/26/2016 6:20:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.