Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0030BBK-NESN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed in 1 year, 3.5 months
Pros: Worked like a charm until...
Cons: beep beep beep = will not mount.

Note: this was not dropped or mishandled in any way.
Other Thoughts: I am abroad at the moment so warranty replacement is a marginal factor. I have [rather = had] 2 working back-ups so I can solve this buy purchasing another one.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/20/2017 3:54:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBYFT0040BRD-WESN Red

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD 4TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive -- Great Product, Plug and Use, Lightweight and Portable
Pros: I have made due with an old Western Digital plug in, heavy, bulky HP 2TB Personal Media Drive HP20000x for almost 7 years for household/SB backups. It has held up well but backups take forever from my laptop and two computer servers. I have modernized my small business hardware and now have USB 3.0. Therefore, I made the plunge into the new WD 4TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBYFT0040BRD-WESN and I recommend you do so also!

My goodness, what a difference this drive makes in backup speed and portability. It is USB port powered on both 2.0 and 3.0 so I no longer have to plug in my backup solution. I picked it up for $120 on sale and have never looked back. It is so small and lightweight I can throw it in my laptop backpack when I travel.

Performance was about 3 to 5 hours for a 130GB system image of my laptop on USB 2.0. A system image of one of my servers screamed out a 500GB system image in about ½ hour which from where I came from was outstanding. Copying large number of files take a little longer but not by much. I really look forward to a Passport USB 3.1 version of this product at an affordable price.

I get nothing for these reviews and I only do them when a product is great or really bad. For $120 the WD 4TB Passport is a welcome addition to my business backup solution. ThatCyberSecurityGuy.com

NOTE: I obviously cannot speak for the durability or longevity of this product. WD has honored warranties in the past.
Cons: It also comes with encryption and backup software but I found the backup software very primitive and not worth using. I have not tried out the encryption because the drive stays home for now.
Reviewed By:Kirk E.,1/19/2017 9:02:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Kanguru > KANGURU Hard Drive Duplicator Native SATA and 3.5" PATA Model KCLONE-1HD-MBC Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Combining 3 reviews into one now that NewEgg allows editing/deleting reviews
Pros: When it works, the KCLONE-1HD-MBC makes short work of disk cloning without the need for a computer. The erase/wiping feature seems to work just fine. Saved the day when Acronis True Image failed ("Clone Disk Operation Failed") in the middle of cloning a disk with bad sectors. Sure, other tools might've worked, but few are as fast and simple as this device.
Cons: Cannot clone to smaller capacity drive, regardless of how much space is actually used. Doesn't always work as it should (see below).
Other Thoughts: Daniel M.'s review states that "the device has a rezise copy in which you can easily go from a larger drive to a smaller one as long as the data on the source disk will fit on the target" but that is incorrect. From the manual: "RESIZE mode is used to duplicate from a smaller Source drive to larger capacity Target drives. The Resize mode first runs a BRIEF copy and then expands the resulting partition on the Target drives so that the resulting partition uses all unallocated space. Resize copy supports the following file systems: FAT, FAT 32, NTFS. If the Source is not formatted as a supported file system then the duplicator will automatically switch to FULL mode."

Testing:

1. Cloning a Western Digital 160GB WD1600AAJS to another 160GB WD1600AAJS: target too small error in both Brief and Full modes. Ended up connecting the drives to a computer and using dd (which worked just fine).

2. Cloning a Samsung 160 HD161GJ to a Seagate 160GB ST3160812AS in Brief mode: OK.

3. Cloning a 160GB drive (with only a few GBs of data) to an 80GB drive in Brief mode: target too small error. (The advertising material and manual says cloning to larger drives is supported, but makes no mention of cloning to smaller drives, so I had to test to find out.)

4. Cloning a 160GB drive to a 250GB drive in Brief mode: OK.

If Kanguru fixes whatever caused the failure in #1 above, and added support for #3 via firmware update, this would be a must-have device for mobile technicians. As it is, the device _might_ be handy under some circumstances, but not handy enough to lug around.

In short, great when it works, but be prepared in the event that it doesn't.
Reviewed By:Miles W.,1/19/2017 7:43:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Talking to Newegg's lame customer support as I write this
Pros: I have one of these drives from a previous purchase - love the size and speed, great drive
Cons: This one was not working properly upon arrival, no problem - i sent it back. The problem is that it was ordered on December 29th and Newegg is telling me to expect it around February 3rd!
Other Thoughts: Also telling me they "understand my concerns" is infuriating. Next time I will order from Amazo n. Also they won't let me put the "A" word in the review. Classy guys.
Reviewed By:Mark L.,1/19/2017 6:05:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STDR4000901 (Blue)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 misleading ad page on New Egg: no mention of the time bomb included with the cloud storage
Pros: looks pretty
Cons: New Egg's ad page says '200GB of cloud storage for your important files.' What it doesn't say (that would have affected my choice to purchase) is that it's only good for 2 years. There are many cloud storage options that are fee-free these days *without* requiring the purchase of a product. So it was a bit of a shock to discover there's a time bomb included in the cloud storage I thought I was getting with the purchase of this drive. Just glad I found it before I wasted my time uploading many GBs of critical stuff to the cloud using my painfully slow DSL connection.
Other Thoughts: If I'd realized that the cloud storage wasn't really included in the purchase price, I'd have chosen a less expensive option.
Reviewed By:Charles E.,1/19/2017 12:20:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Silver My Passport Ultra Metal Edition Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBTYH0010BSL-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's plastic. Trying to pull a fast one on consumers earns you 3 stars.
Pros: I get 155MB/s over USB3.0 read and write. 4K performance is ~1MB/s which is to be expected.
It's the size of an iPod classic.
Cons: It's plastic. It's not metal. It's not even sturdy plastic. This is a cheap portable drive. Do not think you are receiving anything fancy.
Reviewed By:Chance M.,1/17/2017 5:38:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST 1TB TOURO S High-Performance Ultra-Portable Drive USB 3.0 Model 0S03729 (HTOSPA10001BDB) Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Arrive quickly, worked as expected
Pros: Great price.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: We used it as additional space for an Xbox One. The Xbox recognised it immediately and we doubled the capacity of the system. Performance seems as fast as internal drive.
Reviewed By:Nigel R.,1/17/2017 5:12:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 3TB Canvio Basics Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model HDTB330XK3CA Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Warranty woes
Pros: - good price
- decent amount of storage
-quiet and faster than older hdd's
Cons: - warranty is only 1 year not 2 years as advertised here
Other Thoughts: Bought HDD in part because of the advertised 2 year warranty under the NewEgg Warranty tab. It's there still even now.

Item comes in, works fine,but the inset paper says it's only a 1 year warranty they give.

Feeling scammed. Want to explain this or make any amends, seller?

Checked with Toshiba, and yep it's 1 year warranty only for this model.
Reviewed By:Alexandre T.,1/14/2017 4:05:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDR2000100 (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seagate external drive
Pros: I bought this to replace my old external backup drive that finally died after several years (also a Seagate). Works as advertised and the software is decent.
Cons: Software could be better; I wish there was an option to consolidate multiple versions of the same file and maybe adjust the file structure to be more easily browsable. It just makes a new folder at every backup and eventually I have to wipe the drive and start from scratch.
Reviewed By:Alexander B.,1/14/2017 10:06:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBUZG0010BBK-EESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 First portable USB 3.0
Pros: Smaller than I thought it would be. My only previous experience has been with re purposed 3.5 drives in a Rosewill case with esata and USB 2.0
First big pro was lack of an external power brick. All you need is the drive and the supplied cable and you are off to the races. This makes it extremely portable and takes up no space in my 13" laptop sleeve.
Speed seems really good to me though I haven't really done testing. I just fired up a USB 2.0 drive and transferred a bunch of saved files across in what seemed like a reasonable amount of time
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Probably recommend it. I still haven't tried it on any older USB 2.0 systems like my Raspberry Pi 3 but I'm curious if the USB 2.0 will supply the power it needs. Havent seen any reviews complaining about that so maybe not an issue.
Reviewed By:Robert F.,1/10/2017 9:42:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.