Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive with Mobile Device Backup - STDR1000100 (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So Easy to Use!!
Pros: I have had a great experience using my new external hard drive. It works so easily & has made storing data so much more efficient!!
Cons: No problems at all.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this brand of hard drive to everyone who is needing extra space for data on their laptop or gaming equipment.
Reviewed By:Angela D.,5/26/2017 12:51:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great so far!
Pros: Very cheap ($110.00) here at Newegg
Large capacity
USB 3.0
Fast delivery
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Bought this in Feb 2016 and immediately transferred about 2 Tbs of videos to it. No problems so far after 2 months on a Windows 7 64 bit system.

Update May 2017 - Have owned it for a year now without any problems. Even bought a second identical one 2 weeks ago when on sale for $105 here at Newegg. No problems with it either. Transferred 1 1/2T of files from a smaller drive. Not sure why I see such bad reviews on this unit here. Same one gets almost 5 stars on "A".
Still gets 5 stars from me!!
Reviewed By:Nick H.,5/26/2017 9:07:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA1000400 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cheap
Pros: Light and inexpensive
Cons: Lost data
Other Thoughts: I bought 2 hard drives to fill with 20 years of family videos for the grandparents. They both loaded well and functioned great during a quick test. One worked great, but the other started clicking and pulled up data sporadically. One moment it looked like data was there and worked, but after watching one movie, all the other files disappeared.
Reviewed By:Lynn M.,5/22/2017 2:24:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed with no indication beforehand
Pros: Was 4tb of storage up until the point it didn't work
Cons: It does not work. I just lost 3TB of data.
Other Thoughts: I would not purchase this hard drive. I purchased it in Nov/16 from NewEggs popular auction site store. 6 months later it failed with no indication prior that this was going to happen. I just had to pop the hard drive out of the enclosure (voiding the warranty) to try to salvage any of the data that was on it.

Do not buy this hard drive.
Reviewed By:Kristen M.,5/22/2017 5:47:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 1.5TB Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model HDTB115XK3BA Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awsome
Pros: Fast transfer speed,Durable,Long lasting(I've had it for 2 years as a computer HDD)
Cons: Not that I've noticed
Other Thoughts: That hard drive is a very good drive for the price and it's fast transfer speeds make the 200$ pricetag worth it
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/21/2017 2:58:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBYNN0010BYL-WESN Yellow

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does What I Need
Pros: -- size
-- capacity
-- no AC adapter
-- value
Cons: -- connection reliability unknown
Other Thoughts: Bought this to replace a similar one not very old. The connectors in these are non-standard inside (not SATA or eSATA), so you can't open the case and get files off is connector gets buggered or a control board dies. It is literally just the drive in a case with a custom connector terminated to a USB. I would recommend you be VERY gentle with the cable entry into case. Otherwise Western Digital drives are about as a reliable as any. Since it's not SSD, try not to move it suddenly when plugged in.
Reviewed By:John S.,5/21/2017 1:05:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Portable External Model STDR5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use
Pros: Fast, reliable, I use this mostly on my xbox to run and storage games.
Cons: I wish it was a bit slimmer but overall, the size it's ok.
Reviewed By:Luis A.,5/21/2017 5:02:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBYFT0030BBL-WESN Blue

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty Product
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Faulty product
Other Thoughts: Brand new 3TB drive and it's faulty. It kept failing the install after I plugged it into the USB port. I tried to re-install the drivers, and while that worked, the drive will not show up in My Computer or Computer Management for me to access it. I can't feel nor the HD humming while it's one, so this leaves me to believe the HD is faulty.

I can't even return the item because I got rid of all the packaging.
Manufacturer Response:Dear WD User.

It's regrettable hearing about your experience with the My Passport drive. We thank you for bringing this to our attention; as we listen to our customers to help improve your overall experience. We would like the chance to follow up with you to attempt some troubleshooting and help to replace this drive for you.

You can contact us and mention the referenced case number below for direct assistance.

Support Case Number: 051717-12034565

Need Help? Please contact us at 1 (800) 275-4932

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/15/2017 3:44:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBYNN0010BBK-WESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Fast Shipping
Cons: No issues so far
Reviewed By:Mike P.,5/15/2017 3:31:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA1000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Newegg #1 Best Place To BUY Online! Fast Ship. Great Customer Service. Excellent DEALS-PRICES!
Pros: FAST Speeds. Newegg.com Best Place to BUY. Great Price. USB 3.0. A+++
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Customer since 2005. Purchases over $2000 a year. Newegg.com never disappoints. Great Service and prices are unbeatable. Buy with confidence!
Reviewed By:Michael B.,5/14/2017 11:36:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.