Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Photosmart 6520 Up to 22 ppm Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality Wireless InkJet MFC / All-In-One Color Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolute Garbage
Pros: None.
Cons: This printer has not been able to print 2 consecutive photos without jamming or falsely telling me that the printer is out of paper. This is seriously disappointing, as I had a 5500 series prior to this one and that printer was an absolute Gem. The way the 6500 loads photo paper was designed by an absolute idiot. The moving tray mechanism is horrendously bad.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this printer to my worst enemy.
Reviewed By:David B.,1/17/2017 4:50:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Brother > Brother MFC-J460DW Duplex 6000 dpi x 1200 dpi Wireless / USB Color Inkjet All-In-One Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great produce for the price!
Pros: Fast setup, WiFi connected without a problem.
Cons: So far I have nothing but praise to this printer.
Reviewed By:Kurt B.,1/15/2017 7:57:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Brother > Brother MFC-J5520DW Business Smart Plus Duplex 6000 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB/ethernet color Inkjet Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine when setup properly
Pros: -fast, clean prints in B&W or color
-Scans work well and come out crisp
-ink easy to change/reach
Cons: -printer constantly defaults to the "MP tray" in the back, instead of the paper tray in the bottom. I have to go into printer properties to select the correct tray, when it should be the default. Haven't figured out how to change this setting. What gives, Brother?
Other Thoughts: It'd be perfect if it weren't for the default tray thing mentioned above. No other complaints but it is really annoying and wastes time.
Reviewed By:CLAREMARIE G.,1/15/2017 7:45:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 7740 (G5J38A) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Jack of All Trades
Pros: Suitable for small business users or home users needing wide format ability for print, scan and copy.

Scan, Copy, and Print are all easy to use. I was not able to test the Fax feature.

Fast response from the printer when using wi-fi. It leaps into action within a second of issuing a Print command (from a computer in a different room, through the router and then to the HP printer - zip!).

Good quality print for text, graphics and photos.

Wide format printing - up to 11" x 17".

Works well with Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 (haven't tried other OSes).

Integrates well with Microsoft Word.

Two paper trays. One is plain paper only. Other tray handles everything else.

Auto Document Feeder on top.

XL replacement ink cartridges available which last longer than standard cartridges.

Scan and Copy both work well enough that i didn't notice any problems. Scans converted to text were accurate up until a 5th-generation muddy page copy was scanned and converted into text with multiple errors. Any and all reasonably clear scans converted to text just fine.
Cons: Hinges on the scanner lid are of questionable strength for frequent use by careless workers in an office. Careful users should have no problem.

Scanner plate handles large (11"x17") documents, but the document feeder does not. This may disappoint some users.

Supplied ink cartridges probably won't last long. HP and others typically give you "starter" cartridges so you have to start buying replacement ink before long.

The printer's touchscreen control panel is barely large enough to use. Care is needed to avoid mistyping. Texting on my phone is much easier than this. However, once setup is complete you'll rarely need to use that panel.

Setup was easy until it reached the step where you try to connect to a wi-fi network. After entering and re-entering the correct wi-fi password the printer kept issuing a variety of error messages, each one different than the last. Messages stating that MAC filtering was enabled and preventing a connection or that the wi-fi password was incorrect both proved to be bogus. I decided to try printing a document (in spite of the error messages) and the printer worked perfectly. Only then did the error messages cease. Go figure. Wi-fi printing worked OK from several computers after that.

Limited support from HP. If you know how to look up stuff on their website or can bear to wait and chat via text you may feel support is OK. Don't bother phoning them.

One egg off for limited support, bogus error messages during setup and lack of automatic document feed for a prime feature, namely wide format scanning.
Other Thoughts: Print speed:
Document no. 1 - 32 pages
Content - 3 x 18-pt. headlines in blue, each headline followed by 11-pt. text, filling the entire page.
Print quality - standard.
Print on one side of paper only.
Time to complete: 1 min. 35 sec.
Comment: Good result considering each page has three large font color headlines separating large sections of small font text.

Document no. 2 - Same as above with two changes.
Print quality - grayscale.
Duplex - print on both sides of paper.
Time to complete: 3 min. 1 sec.
Comment: Duplex printing takes longer even if you print at grayscale setting. No surprise there.

Photo printing:
Photo paper used - Kodak Picture Paper "Soft Gloss".

Print setting no. 1 - Standard. 4x6 and 5x7 prints showed good color and contrast similar to drugstore photo printing.
Print setting no. 2 - Best. 8x10 portrait prints showed good color and plenty of fine detail. I would say the quality was similar or maybe slightly better than Canon and Brother inkjet printers we have used before.

Brochure printing:
A4 and 11x17 for tri-fold brochure, multi-colored.
On plain paper - smooth, clear result (but paper comes out rippled from ink saturation, of course).
On matte card stock - smooth and clear with good color (be sure to choose good saturation/color intensity). Text on colored background clearly legible.

Overall, this machine made a good impression. It prints pretty fast at standard settings, holds 250 sheets in the paper tray, has a second tray where you could load envelopes, photo paper, regular copy paper, A4 or 11x17 wide format paper. It's larger than most home printers yet smaller than some office printers offering similar features. If you need to scan book pages the scanner can handle good size volumes. Probably make a good workhorse machine in a small office or as an over-achiever in a home setting.
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,1/14/2017 7:36:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 7740 (G5J38A) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very easy set up
Pros: Fast print
Double sided printing
web printing
wide format, Appx. 700 pages color about1200 pages black per cartage
80. for all ink to replace
Cons: None so far others mentioned size but it is after all a Business class printer so expect large.
Other Thoughts: When installing printer it will ask for a claim code and I found the easiest way to get it is to send a print job over the wireless and it will print out a page with claim code so you can add printer to your HP account. You will have to download two small apps one is services and the other is a printing app for pictures and email or just documents.
I like the wireless printing it saves me time from how I used to download document to usb from laptop then upload to desktop to be able to print so the wireless feature is great. The pictures it prints out are high quality just like you could order online or at your local picture shop.
Printing documents is fast it says 32 pages per minute so I sent a 20 page job to it and it was done in less than a minute. The dual printing is a life saver and a paper saver when you use it. I also like the way you can tilt the LCD up for easier viewing.
I also enabled quiet mode which really makes a difference. Use the HP program to maintain the printer and see level of ink and to change any of the settings that you want.
The Apps are easy to use you can print directly or add as an attachment to a email and send a email to your printers email address which you can change in settings to something you can remember easy instead of the default address which is a mixture of numbers and letters that you would have to remember. I set mine to my first initials then last name with a number on the end so it is easier to email the documents for printing.
Over all you are getting a easy to use business class wireless printer for a cheap price. The business I work for has one with less features and not as fast printing for a lot more dollars so this to me is a great value.
Reviewed By:Phillip W.,1/9/2017 11:30:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet Pro 6978 (T0F29A) Duplex 600 x 1200 dpi USB / Ethernet / Wireless Color Inkjet MFC Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Setup, handles load well
Pros: Brought this into work for my shared office space.

Setup was easy and works well with the one computer that we use it on.

It is used on a daily basis for jobs that we don't want to walk to the bank of copiers in the larger office space.

I'd list off features that it has but that would just be a waste of both of our times.

It can be abused to some extent. One day the main printers went down so one of the other teachers used this one to print off a couple hundred pages of copies for a lesson and it handled the task without any complaints or issues.

scanning to the computer or making copies works easily.

Overall this is a solid offering for a small office printer that just works.
Cons: Really have not encountered any over the course of a month that it has been in the office.
Other Thoughts: Overall the printer has performed admirably in a difficult environment.

I would definitely recommend this printer to someone who needs a reliable printer that will work even if abused.
Reviewed By:Ryan B.,1/9/2017 5:33:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 7740 (G5J38A) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Surprisingly fast for an inkjet
Pros: The best feature is how fast this thing prints. Everyone knows how slow an entry level inkjet printer is and knows what it's like to wait and watch it crank out a page line by line. This inkjet is more on par with some laser printers- count to four or five and the print is done. It also doesn't take very long to get started on a print job- I remember how some inkjets took a while to set the cartridge in the right position etc, but this one gets started quick. Very impressive.

Very well featured for the price, it has most features you would want out of a higher end printer. Many many connectivity options: USB (both for hooking up to a PC or plugging in a flash drive with files), wifi, ethernet, even a phone cord jack for faxes if you still send and receive those. You can also print to it from a smartphone using an HP app, some third party apps are compatible as well (Apple Airprint for example). You get some nice print and scan features that are usually on only higher end printers as well- double sided ADF (automatic document feeder) so you can just leave a pile of papers in the tray and it'll scan both sides, two print trays so you can have different paper sizes (including wide format so you can print bigger than your standard 8 and 1/2 by 11 sheets, etc. Also has a traditional flatbed scanner so you can scan stuff like books as well.

Print quality is very good. Colors are great and would make a decent photo printer as well.
Cons: Probably the biggest con is how big this is- but I won't take off an egg for that because with a printer this well featured, it is actually pretty compact. The kinds of features you get are usually seen on printers much much larger so the fact that they managed to cram everything into something that will fit on top of an albeit large desk is pretty good. But do keep in mind that because it is a wide format printer, the pictures can be deceiving- those sheets are not letter size you see in the pics so keep that in mind. It is quite heavy (40 something pounds I believe) and the package it came in was surprisingly big.

The touch screen could be a bit bigger. I didn't really have any issues with it, but I already consider myself to have smaller hands but even then it felt a little cramped. It does pop out for a better viewing angle at least and I won't be using it too much since I mostly print from a computer so not a dealbreaker.

Finally, while I haven't printed that much with it yet, I'm not entirely sure how long the ink will last compared to a laser printer. Based on cost per page estimates, this thing can still more expensive to run than a laser printer. HP advertises 2.1 cents per black and white page and 8.1 cents per color page which apparently is pretty good but some laser printers are advertised as half that. I do like however that the three colors are in different cartridges so you don't need to waste the other colors if you only use up one.
Other Thoughts: Great printer for a small business or office. This printer is a bit large for home and a lot of the features probably won't be used too much in a typical household but I can see it being a better alternative to one of those huge copiers that are a size of a cabinet.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2017 10:47:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet 3833 (K7V37A) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi Wireless/USB Color Inkjet All-In-One Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Easy to use.
Cons: Small screen on printer. Hard to see.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/5/2017 7:20:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Epson America > Epson WorkForce Pro WF-4630 Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 3 Strikes – you’re out
Pros: When the printer worked, it worked great. 250 Sheet Paper Tray, Ethernet connectivity, Separate manual paper feed for envelopes, frequent Firmware and Software updates. Scanning over a network is fantastic. Fast Print speeds.
Cons: The printer sounds like an old door that needs to be oiled. Ink is expensive. This is not my first go around with an Epson printer. It failed after 2 years and 3 months of light printing – about 2 reams of paper a year (1000 pages). About 11 years ago, I purchased a cheap Epson printer – cost $30.00 and used it for about 6 months when it started to have print quality issues. I always use Genuine OEM Ink so to have print quality issues with a lightly used printer, should not occur. Just like the cheap $30.00 Epson printer, and the Epson before this one failed the same way – Print head failure.
Other Thoughts: I have purchased other name brand printers in between purchasing Epson printers and some fair better than others, but it seems that Epson printers all have the same ending – Failed print heads within 2 years. So, this being the 3rd Epson printer that I have purchased and it being a “Work Force” office printer and still does what the first one did 11 years ago proves that these printers are not reliable and I will not be purchasing another Epson printer.
Reviewed By:Daniel O.,1/3/2017 5:26:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 7740 (G5J38A) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good wide format printer
Pros: (NOTE TO NEWEGG, please add "Wide format" or 11 x 17 to the description, so folks will know what it is!)

Newest HP wide format printer. Has every kind of connection you would need - ethernet, wifi, wifi direct, air print, usb print.

And every feature you might need, scan, fax, duplex. And it prints fast.

If you need a wide format printer, and you prefer reliability of HP, this has all the features you might need.

Nice clean modern looks, fits into a office or home office well, without looking dated. Paper trays stick out.

Has two paper trays.
Cons: This can be used as a standard office printer if you like: fax, copy, print., but I suspect most offices more than two people will make out better by adding an inexpensive laser printer for day to day printing (way cheaper per page), and reserving this for wide format duty and the occasonal scan / fax.

Note, this can scan in 11x17, but only one page at at time, not through the document feeder.

So its not a con, but you do realize this thing is huge. Right?
Warning on the box to use two people to lift.
And it has a tiny lcd screen. Go figure.

Printer cartridges are the latest HP, so there is no aftermarket yet, and as such they are a bit more expensive than some others.

Every kind of feature possible, so it can be tricky to set up just the way you want. Went smoothly for me, but had to pay attention. :)
Other Thoughts: Will be using this primarily to print architectural drawings and plans. While color can be helpful, you can imagine its not critical. So hoping this thing will still print in black and white even if one of the color cartridges is out. (Which I won't know for a while, but it has been a problem I've had with other printers.)

Seems like a good solution for my use. If I only needed to print 11 x 17 once and a while, I might skip this and just go to the office store (like to have a bunch of brochures printed).
Reviewed By:Aaron B.,1/2/2017 12:33:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.