Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > EPSON Perfection Series Perfection V600 Film & Photo Flatbed Color Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Scanner
Pros: Excellent scans for business documents and pictures for a family scrape book project
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Recommend this product
Reviewed By:Paul B.,4/23/2017 6:53:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > Perfection V39 Color Photo And Document Scanner, 4800 X 4800 Dpi, Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding
Pros: Delivery was fast, setup easy and performance great!!!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:David D.,3/14/2017 12:31:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > Perfection V850 Pro Scanner, 12800 X 12800 Dpi

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Supposedly the best scanner around
Pros: I bought this scanner to scan 35 mm film negatives, and bought the higher end model because it comes with two sets of templates (handy for a roll of 36 pictures), a better (apparently) lens, and better software.(Epson scanner software and a version of Silverfast. I'm an experienced Vuescan user and have tried to compare all three options for scanning on this scanner. Epson Scan is more automated, finds the photo frames automatically (not always accurately) and scans them one by one. Silverfast has lots of options and a steeper learning curve but seems to do a good job if you aren't in a hurry, and can figure it out. Vuescan does a great job, also if you aren't in a hurry, as it proceeds one frame at a time and you need to manually change to the next frame about every 5 minutes, depending on the bit depth you use. I find the Multiple Exposure setting in Vuescan and Silverfast quite useful for retaining the shadows and highlights.
I prefer not to use the automatic conversion from negative to positive as it's noticeably less accurate than Color Perfect software. There is no tutorial about this with any of the scanner software, and it took me a while to figure out how to turn the conversion off. ( Read the Color Perfect website which is full of great advice about using this scanner: Scan the negative as a positive image. It also explains the difference in the conversion algorithms between Color Perfect, Photoshop and Epson Scan and Silverfast) Early days for me with only a few film rolls scanned, but I would say it produces sharp negative images and offers the option of refocusing using sliders on the templates which is helpful. Much better than my old HP scanner. I'm impressed that the scanner hasn't frozen any of the software, or vice versa so far. I'm getting exactly the type of files (6400 dpi) I hoped for buying this.
Cons: Large footprint and a short USB cable required some rethinking of my office furniture. The templates for film have a piece of plastic on one side, so these are dust magnets that constantly require dusting, blowing and cleaning, and I still get dust showing up in my scans. Nothing that Camera Raw can't handle usually. By the way, it isn't 12800 X12800 dpi as above, except by software interpolation,
Other Thoughts: For serious film shooters this is a great piece of equipment Perhaps a bit pricey, but with Newegg accepting Bitcoin, and the price of Bitcoin rising lately, I feel like it's a bargain.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,3/12/2017 4:57:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Plustek > Plustek OpticPro A320 (261-BBM21-C) 1600 x 1600 dpi USB Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine for Large Photo album's
Pros: It was easy set-up and good resolution. I did cut the pages out of my photo albums so they would lay flat on the glass. My photo albums were 11" x 17" and I was able to scan the complete page. This was much easier than pulling each photo and scanning separately.
Cons: Good scanner for the money.
Reviewed By:R L.,2/17/2017 6:37:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Hewlett-Packard > HP Scanjet G4010 L1956AR Up to 4800 dpi 96bit USB 2.0 Interface Flatbed Photo Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product;
Pros: I have been using this scanner nearly every day since 2009and has never given me a bit of trouble
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: No comment
Reviewed By:Gary T.,2/3/2017 3:05:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > Perfection V39 Color Photo And Document Scanner, 4800 X 4800 Dpi, Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Converting my photo albums with ease.
Pros: I finished digitizing 612 photos in the first two days after setting this scanner up. The Epson Perfection V39 color photo scanner and Epson 's included software are making this job a joy. Powers from the USB interface and takes up minimum space.
Cons: No complaints
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to buy a scanner, look no further. Best value in a scanner I have ever seen. Scans couldn't look better!
Reviewed By:Leon J.,1/19/2017 5:25:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Canon > Canon CanoScan LiDE 220 4800 x 4800dpi Color: 48-bit internal / 48- or 24-bit external Grayscale: 16-bit input / 8-bit external Hi-Speed USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 2 years and still runs great
Pros: reliable
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This still works great 2 years later. i've used it with windows 9/10 and now using it with Ubuntu (using Simple Scan).
Reviewed By:heath i.,1/3/2017 2:01:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > EPSON GT-1500 (B11B190011) up to 4800 dpi USB Sheetfed Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Problems with document feeder
Pros: Flatbed scanner works well
Cons: Document feeder stopped working correctly. I think the problem was in the rubber parts, which didn't hold up well over time.
Other Thoughts: Scanning is painfully slow when you have to swap out each page using the flatbed scanner.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/29/2016 12:17:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Canon > Canon CanoScan LiDE 700F 3297B002 9600 x 9600dpi 48bit USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing scanner, good software
Pros: I've had it since 2009. That's 7 years. Still going strong. Scans quickly. MP Navigator Software (included) works well and there's even a "1 touch pdf" button on this. It stores vertically. Scans a bunch of different size documents. Better dpi than the more recent Canaon LiDE. Dollar for dollar the best and longest lasting computer component I own,
Cons: Honestly, none. Later software "upgrades" aren't as good as MP Navigator EX 2.1 and about 5 minutes after installing 4.0 I downgraded to 2.1. You're not getting decent out of the box scanning software with any other scanners.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,9/7/2016 8:46:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Canon > Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II 6218B002 4800 x 4800dpi USB Interface Flatbed Film & Negative Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very impressive scanning of negatives.
Pros: Very good quality when scanning film negatives. I was sincerely surprised and impressed at how well color and black and white negatives turned-out.

Although still plenty audible, the scanner is very quiet and fast compared to the older style flatbed scanners (takes about a minute to do what old scanners did in about 15 minutes).

The included software has a dark skin (important for when used hours each day), and runs on Windows XP to 8 (my installation was on Windows 7 Home).

Sizably smaller than older flatbed negative scanners (more room left on the desk).

I like the modern appearances as compared to the older scanners.

Good quality results for most everything we have scanned.

No wireless/Wifi (for health and security reasons I purposefully avoid all wireless devices). I would not have considered the scanner if it had wireless.
Cons: The Canon website offers little information about the scanner; I could not find any useful information about the scanner aside from reviews like those here on Newegg. Although it may be par for almost all modern manufacturers to avoid giving specifications of their products, to me the absence of specs means the manufacturer is either trying to hide something or else the manufacturer is only aiming their products towards inexperienced buyers who do not understand nor care about what the specifications might imply.

The included software is about par for modern apps: a lot of 'features' that are aimed to satisfy several first-time users' needs, but without satisfactory documentation to tell the user how the software actually works (people new to scanners and photo editing may need hours or more to learn how to adequately use the software unless they accept the beginner level of pushing the single 'automatic scan' button).

The software attempts to do everything automatically and will not easily permit the user to choose a custom scan. I would not have chosen this model if I had known that the scanner does not permit fully custom scans.

The software would not retain settings at first (we had to reconfigure resolutions for each scan), but after several scans the settings finally did hold. I did not further investigate the cause(s).

The scanner's forced automated detection cannot easily scan large negatives of 90+ years old. The scanner is designed for the smaller, more modern film (35mm, 110, etc.). A lot of photo editing is required to piece together the partial scans of large 3.6" width negatives (appear to be 104-sized film), or else just use the scan-able width (which my wife chose to be good enough after she attempted numerous different ways to scan without the negative trays). Professional photographers and archivers might want to look elsewhere for a scanner that permits user-defined scans of any size.

Hugely disappointing was that the seller (Adorama Camera) shipped the scanner in the retail box without any other packaging or protection. The scanner arrived with the thin retail box severely damaged and the scanner banging around inside. Luckily I did not find any surface damage to the scanner itself, but I would not buy from Adorama again, especially if I were buying an item to be given as a present. I had initially not noticed that I was buying from a seller different than NewEgg, and if I had noticed it before ordering then I would have chosen NewEgg and paid the higher price for proper packaging. I have recently seen other NewEgg customers complaining about Adorama also, so it appears that my experience with Adorama is not an isolated case. Adorama gets zero stars, but the Canon scanner itself is good, so I won't knock off any review stars for poor seller ethics since the badness was not Canon's fault.
Other Thoughts: I chose the 9000 because [1] my wife scans old negatives, photos, and books for her genealogy research, [2] the 9000 had good reviews for scanning negatives, and because [3] the scanner is USB-only and has no wireless connectivity.

After I installed the software and griped about the 'owner's manual' being incoherent (it was obviously not written by a clear-headed individual), I gave control of the PC to my wife who has been using scanners and photo editing software for over twenty years (she is definitely not a newbie, she even helps some of my customers on the phone with their computer problems). I service computers, software, and do coding for a living, and I do not want to learn software that I would likely never need to know for personal use or in my business, so I initially did not give an effort to learn more about Cannon's software. When I discovered a few days later that my wife was still having problems with the scanner software refusing to permit her to choose what she wanted to scan, I then dug into the software a little and reconfigured the scanner to work through her editing software, which helped a lot but still couldn't eliminate all of the scanner's built-in 'scanning for dummies' automated functions.

The scanner is worth keeping because it does produce good quality scans, but the software appears to be aimed for the least experienced users who want computers to do all the thinking for them. I would give the scanner itself five stars for its quality and USB connectivity, but after deducting for the intrusive software and the forced automated functions, three stars feels to be fair.
Reviewed By:Larry G.,9/5/2016 1:38:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.