Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Sony > Sony MDR-RF985RK Wireless RF Headphones - Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fantastic physical design. Poor audio quality.
Pros: * The headphone slide onto the charging stand. You never need to worry about realigning the terminals, unlike certain OTHER headphones.
* Power and volume buttons are well-designed and intelligently located.
* Headphones themselves seem physically sturdy.
* Batteries have good life
Cons: * Wireless transmission is analog, not digital. This means you get random static sometimes as you listen.
* Can't walk far away from receiver without getting static
* Sound was not good. I'm not an audio-snob but it sounded like listening through a tin-cup
Other Thoughts: I was looking for a pair of wireless headphones with a charging-stand. However for some reason I could only find a handful of options. After comparing literally all of them, I bought three headsets:

* Sony MDR-RF985RK ($50)
* Sennheiser RS 175 ($150)
* Turtle Beach Elite 800 ($200)

The Turtle Beach were painfully tight and had horrible non-stop static, so I returned them immediately.

The Sony had the perfect physical-design but the audio quality was unacceptably bad. I returned them as well.

The Sennheiser's have great audio quality, but the physical-design is not good. However, given my limited options I chose to keep them.

If only I could combine the Sony's physical design with the Sennheiser's technical design, I'd have the perfect headphones. Until that happens, I'm stuck with these Sennheiser's.
Reviewed By:Daniel P.,5/25/2017 2:36:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips SHP9500S Over-Ear Headphone Exclusive - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great headphones
Pros: Clear mid's and high's
Well built
Extremely comfy
Stylish
Cons: Bass was uninspiring, very lacking and was somewhat disappointing.
Even though these are open back they leak exceptionally badly...
Other Thoughts: Great headset but If you are more of a bass person I would look elsewhere. I bought them on sale for 40% off so I cant complain.
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,5/25/2017 1:25:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips SHL3300 DJ Over-Ear Headphones - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great budget pair
Pros: Great sound for your price (purchased for under $15, would not pay more than $20). I've had many pairs of cans over the years from Siberia V2, Turtle beaches, Trittons, Harmon Kardon, S Republic, and many different pairs of ATH (m20x, 40x, 50x). These hold up well against top-tier brands, especially at the sale price I've seen them for multiple times. Had these at a time when I owned a pair of m40x and these got more use with zero complaining.
Cons: Not comfortable at all. If you're an on ear fan these might be for you (I can't say, more of an over ear closed back fan), but they do run small, which is why I took a star. People will tell you to get a separate pair of over ear pads cause they are big enough for it, but at that point you might as well just buy yourself a pair of m20x (which these measure up against competitively). What I did was take the pads off an older broken pair of Turtle beach x12's and place them on the drives. They will clamp on quite comfortably and keep the headphones in place, though movement is limited somewhat (not really, but I won't say they haven't slid off). For sitting and gaming and listening to music this method is fine, just don't try working out or running with actual proper sized pads. The ones mentioned fit fine, but do not form a proper seal.
Other Thoughts: Original pair broke on me somehow. Jack somehow got bent (still plays but sound cuts in and out at the slightest movement). Won't say it was the hardware (was probably me accidentally). That said, this is a sturdy pair of headphones and one of my favorites I had for a time. A real solid knock around pair of headphones. When my original pair went down I did not feel like I lost out at all. Definitely got my money's worth.
Reviewed By:Michael O.,5/25/2017 12:01:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips ActionFit Sports in-ear headphones - Orange&Grey

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine
Pros: -If you have not tried this style of headphones worth a shot I love the feel better
-sound great
Cons: -Somewhat uncomfortable in the ears
Other Thoughts: I can't tell you all the special info about highs and lows an such.. But they work fine I like em..
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2017 3:56:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > maxell > Maxell 190265 3.5mm Connector Supra-aural AMP-B Amplified Heavy Bass Headphone (Blue)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Ordered two, received one.
Pros: The product was as described. It works.
Cons: The cord is short, about half as long as the cords in our other headphones.
Other Thoughts: As the title says, I ordered two of these, but only received one. I contacted the company, DigitalShopper, through Newegg's email link. I didn't receive a reply within the 2 day timespan -- it's now been a week. My tracking number showed a delivery to Springfield, MO. I'm in another region of the country. My invoice showed (1) headphone but the price was ripped off the page so I still don't know if I was charged for one or two.

The product is fine, the price was good, but I'd recommend avoiding DigitalShopper. They are obviously a bit disorganized.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2017 6:53:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > NAKAMICHI > NAKAMICHI ANC80 Active Noise Cancellation Over-Ear Headphones

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NICE!
Pros: Sound quality is amazing for the price. Noise cancellation is quite good (filters out an easy 90% of ambient noise). Volume control on the ear cup shell. Can turn noise cancelling on or off. Nice carrying case included. Small compact design. Reasonably light weight & comfortable to wear. Fully adjustable headband. Sturdy construction.
Cons: Bass at high volume is a bit muddy - not terrible, just a bit of distortion. Needs 2 AAA batteries to operate the noise cancelling feature even when plugged in to my computer.
Other Thoughts: I'm quite happy with these headphones. They easily compare to much higher priced brands. 15 bucks & free shipping - a no-brainer! I recommend these to anyone.
Reviewed By:Walter H.,5/23/2017 10:14:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips SHP9500S Over-Ear Headphone Exclusive - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty good sound, leak like a sieve
Pros: Pretty solid ranges, deeper tones feel like they get a little muddled, but for casual/regular use, great for the price
Cons: It's a matter of personal preference, but the soft cloth ear baffles leak noise like crazy. It's nice to be able to hear what's going on around me, except for when its not. It's also nice to have what are functionally a small pair of speakers?
Other Thoughts: Sound 9/10
Isolation 1/10
Reviewed By:Rayford B.,5/20/2017 5:23:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Klipsch > Klipsch R6i In-Ear Headphones

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not working
Pros: One side that did work sounds really nice. This is the second set I've ordered, the first sounded amazing so I ordered another for my wife. The left side could barely be heard.
Cons: I ordered these on 4/30 and they were delivered on 5/10. I live 30 minutes away from the Indiana warehouse but they had to go thru Kentucky first. Makes no sense to me. Sometimes I order stuff from another company out of NY cause no sales tax and free 2 day shipping if they are comparable on the price.
Reviewed By:Roddy K.,5/19/2017 7:42:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > NAKAMICHI > NAKAMICHI ANC80 Active Noise Cancellation Over-Ear Headphones

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice
Pros: I bought 3 pairs of these headphones. I have nothing but praise for them. I'm a music lover and these hit the mark.
GREAT Price.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: A music lovers must have.
Reviewed By:David P.,5/18/2017 2:42:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Bose > Bose QuietComfort 35 Wireless Headphones - Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great when they work, did not last for me
Pros: First, I did not purchase these here on the Egg, buying from a local bricks & mortar store instead.

I travel. Frequently. Having good noise cancelling headphones makes all the difference between arriving in semi-human condition vs. feeling every possible insult today’s airlines dish out. I have owned most of the Bose line dating back to their original cans. Before now, I have not had one fail. What finally kills them is the black faux-leather covering flaking off, making you appear to have a seriously bad skin problem.

The QC 35 headphones seemed near-perfect. The sound will not impress an naudio snob, but it is far superior to anything Bose produced before. Noise reduction has always been a Bose strength and, in the QC35’s, it is amazing. Airplane and traffic drone, office noise, nearby construction - all fade into a distant murmur. There is less of the weird pressure on your ears noise cancelling sets produce.

The QC 35s are lightweight, fantastically comfortable and battery life is easily enough for a trans-pacific flight, including layovers. When the battery finally does run out, you can use them (without noise cancelling) with a cord. Finally, the headset firmware is upgradeable. That ended up being a mixed blessing at best.
Cons: The old saying “No highs, no lows, must be Bose” applies to the QC 35s, albeit to a lesser extent. Sound reproduction is distinctly better than any n/c headphones Bose has made before. For use in any environment that isn’t quiet, particularly if you are not concentrating fully on the music, they work well… Until, that is, you crank the volume on a bass-heavy track. Then distortion takes over in a way that no Bose I’ve ever used does. If mellow music, played moderately is all you listen to, you won’t be bothered.

Firmware updates proved to be problematic at best. When the Bose app updated my first pair of QC 35s, the headphones were bricked. Return, try the update in the store, success. Then the second QC 35s randomly refused to pair with phones, tablets, laptops - pretty much everything. Return again. QC 35 #3 stopped working in the right ear during the first flight I took. QC 35 #4 bricked during firmware update at the sales counter. QC 35 #5 was perfect, then hissed and popped when noise cancelling was enabled after the firmware update. QC 35 pair #6 lost bluetooth connectivity when I put my phone in my pocket. Six headsets all failing in just over a month. I gave up.

A final annoyance is that noise cancelling is always active with bluetooth connections. If you are listening to something at night with headphones on to not disturb your significant other, noise cancelling is neither necessary nor comfortable.
Other Thoughts: I ended up trading the Bose QC 35 headphones for Sennheiser PXC 550 cans. The Senns cost ~$20 more than the Bose, are slightly heavier, and don’t have the same magical level of noise cancelling. On the plus side,they sound better, do not require an app to control all settings, and have an adaptive noise cancelling that dials in more n/c in loud environments. I also appreciate that the PXC 550s have a touch pad on the right ear for volume, playback, and phone conversation control and even enabling the external mic to amplify speech while keeping n/c enabled. Perfect for getting interrupted or needing to have a brief conversation.Most importantly, the PXC 550s have continued to function flawlessly for six months.
Reviewed By:Ethan H.,5/18/2017 12:34:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.