Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > FUNAI CORPORATION > Funai ZV427FX4 Black DVD Recorder/VCR Combo, HDMI, 1080p, Up-Comversion, No Tuner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: A beautifully designed, well-built product. It reminds me of the earlier days of VCR's and DVD players when they were full-sized units with metal housing instead of the miniature plastic DVD and Blu-Ray players for sale now. That's something I really appreciate. The remote is full-sized also. It's easy to set up and use. It connects to your TV with an HDMI cable or you can use RCA cables if you have an older TV that doesn't accept an HDMI cable. It does a great job transferring your VHS tapes to DVD and makes an outstanding DVD player. The VHS portion of the unit has four heads and VHS hi-fi sound.
Cons: None. I encountered no problems setting up or using the product. It's in regular use as a DVD player now that I've finished converting my VHS tapes.
Other Thoughts: When you read negative reviews, keep in mind that some people don't like anything. Others are impatient and don't bother to read the directions. Remember too that this is the end of the line for VHS. Funai, the last VCR manufacturer in the world, stopped making them in the summer of 2016. There are only a handful left and, when they're gone, they're gone forever.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/19/2017 9:42:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA D-VR660 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with Built-In Digital Tuner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great DVD recorder
Pros: Still works after buying it in April 2009. Still happy with my purchase
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Only they still make them
Reviewed By:Jon J.,8/17/2017 2:51:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with 1080p Upconversion

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Online Shopper
Pros: It was Working fine with the right remote. But now nothing works. It`s a waste of money.
Cons: No TV-Tuner and it took a long time to get the right remote for it.
Other Thoughts: The DVD door no longer works.
Reviewed By:Erminio R.,6/5/2017 12:20:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > FUNAI CORPORATION > Funai ZV427FX4 Black DVD Recorder/VCR Combo, HDMI, 1080p, Up-Comversion, No Tuner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Annoying connections, feels cheap for the price, VHS quality subpar
Pros: Saves space
Supposedly pretty reliable based on company reputation
Cons: Separate connections for DVD and VHS (is it that hard to scale the VHS output through component/HDMI?)
Remote is a jumble of tiny buttons
Not very easy to use since you have to switch inputs if you plan to use DVD upcomverting outputs in conjunction with the VHS composite outputs.
As other have said, pretty low quality VHS playback.
Other Thoughts: My recommendation, and what I did, is to get a decent compact Bluray player for $50, and a SVHS (6-Head) VCR professionally refurbished for $100. I picked up a JVC Super VHS unit that outputs full stereo and stutterless frames over SVIDEO that looks just amazing. It was professionally serviced before delivery with the belts replaced (they are rubber bands and in a unit from the 90's were likely stretched out) and the heads cleaned.

I played back Terminator 2 on VHS side by side with my DVD and the VHS actually looked better. SVHS with all the image optimization turned on looks amazing. Even the still frame-by-frame via jog dial are sharp and steady. I didn't realize how far along VHS had gotten before DVD effectively killed it off.
Reviewed By:Timothy W.,11/29/2016 1:32:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > FUNAI CORPORATION > Funai ZV427FX4 Black DVD Recorder/VCR Combo, HDMI, 1080p, Up-Comversion, No Tuner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No worth the price
Pros: Good DVD player
Cons: Will play VHS tapes about 45 seconds before tracking need adjusting and after constantly adjusting the tracking you will eventually lose the picture.
Other Thoughts: No way I would recommend this product
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/7/2016 12:27:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with 1080p Upconversion

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I have 3 of these recorders
Pros: Two of the recorders functioned properly.
Cons: One recorder malfunctioned. I could not reach any one at Toshiba. I will never again purchase any Toshiba product. I ended up trowing this recorder away.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend purchasing any Toshiba product in that their technical support for this product was less than acceptable
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 11:32:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with 1080p Upconversion

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Toshiba DVD/VCR Combo
Pros: Looks brand new. Got it hook up in no time. Was packaged very well. Definitely worth the money!
Cons: Can't list any.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/8/2015 5:48:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox Home Theater DVD Recorder With 1TB Hard Drive - MDR537H

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WAS A GOOD DEAL
Pros: We purchased this to replace a decrepit but still functional VCR. Although this unit was a refurb, it looked new and functioned out of the box. It has plenty of features and does the job.
Cons: No cons to report at this time.
Other Thoughts: If it were still available, we'd recommend it.
Reviewed By:BILL B.,4/21/2015 11:05:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > Lite-On > LITE-ON LVW-5045 160GB HDD + DVD Recorder Combo w/ up to 198hrs Recording Time

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lite-on recorder
Pros: I have owned this unit for going on 9 years! Unit has given me great service with little to no problems! Unit is going strong and does not show sign of letting me down.
Cons: Menu and set up are a bit hard to get around on to get started. Some one not to up on setting up first time run will have to keep user guide at hand!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/17/2015 4:58:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with 1080p Upconversion

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, but I'd prefer better input options
Pros: The DVD/VHS recorder was easy to install, appears to work well and the manual provided with it offers voluminous information about its operation and programming. Although I haven't explored the functionality of the piece of equipment fully yet, the remote control provided does work well with it. Going by the variety of functions controlled by the remote, the unit also appears to offer a great deal of choice and capability in terms of selecting programming options, dubbing from VHS to DVD (I mainly bought it for this capability) and from DVD to VHS, and its general functionality.
Cons: The manual is so exhaustive that it's actually a little difficult to work out where the information is on connecting to other pieces of equipment (particularly those from which one wants to provide inputs), and some of the information isn't written as clearly as it could be. More importantly, although there are three different types of line-in inputs (one on the back and two on the front, though I didn't find the latter inputs for hours: I didn't initially realize there's a little area on the bottom front of the unit which folds down to reveal them!), I'd have preferred at least one of the lines in to have been an HDMI or a component video input. All that is offered is a DVI input, an S-video input, and two standard three-connector, yellow-red-white inputs. The unit offers component video, S-video and HDMI outputs, as well as a yellow-white-red output, so I don't see why the lines in couldn't have included Component video and HDMI inputs in what is a recent-production (May 2014, in the case of the unit I purchased) piece of equipment.
Reviewed By:Wee Jock McJaws,11/24/2014 7:58:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.