Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Sprocket Portable Photo Printer - Black (X7N08A)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Neat little portable photo printer
Pros: Out of the box the printer is very easy to connect to your phone and setup.
The printer itself has a nice solid build quality to it, rather than cheap plastic.
Printing a picture takes about 10 to 20 seconds
Does not require ink cartridges which is great as I can only image what the carts would cost. The ink is instead stored inside the paper.
The paper feels fairly high quality and thick rather than regular printer paper.
Each piece of paper has a sticky backing if you want to stick it somewhere.
Includes 10 pieces of printer paper.
The printed photo quality was very good and it didn't look blurry, smudged, at all.
The printer runs off a battery so it does not need to be plugged in making it pretty portable.
Cons: Sheets go for $10 for a 20 pack so about $0.50 per print, you can save more with the 50 sheet pack which go for $25.
The app, at least the android one is a bit lacking in features and is very basic so hopefully they update it.
The printer its self is a bit pricey if you don't intend to use it often.
The printed pictures themselves are not very large at 2"x3"
Other Thoughts: This product is targeted mainly at millennial's taking selfies constantly and maybe for parents who want to print photos of their children. Past that though it doesn't have a huge appeal as most people just store photos digitally and upload to social media sites so its a bit of a niche product but good for those who intend to actually use it. It is a high quality product for what it is though. If the price came down it might have more appeal for other users.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2017 2:26:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Epson America > Epson WorkForce WF-3640 Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Photo Print - Desktop

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worked great when it was new!
Pros: out of the box it worked great, then they did firmware updates that made it worse every time.
Cons: If you buy it, don't do any firmware updates our your print quality will get worse.
Reviewed By:TREVOR L.,5/26/2017 9:31:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Sprocket Portable Photo Printer - Black (X7N08A)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unique Little Printer
Pros: Setting up the sprocket was very easy. I connected mine to my iPhone. I just went to the website and it walked me through the setup. I installed the app and I was ready to go. I decided to take it to a Mother’s Day outing with my family. It was fun to take pictures and print them out for everyone to see. The picture quality was excellent, better than any color jet printer I have ever owned. It is also nice that the Sprocket doesn’t use ink, so there are no expensive ink cartridges to buy. The app allowed me to personalize the pictures with borders and words. It was fun and easy to use. It is also nice that the sprocket can be charged through your USB port on the computer
Cons: The sprocket has 2 downfalls. First the picture is very small, about the size of a business card. The seconded downfall is the price of the photo paper. I looked on line and it seems the cheapest paper would cost around fifty cents a print. That is considerably higher than the cost of printing a regular size picture at a store.
Other Thoughts: I like the Sprocket because it is unique, but I have to wonder why anyone would need a picture instantly. It reminds me of the old Polaroid cameras, when I was young, where someone would take your picture and it would come out of the camera and develop right in front of you. Those cameras also needed special paper and were costly to operate. I do think this would be fun at a party, perhaps a wedding or graduation, but I don’t see an everyday use for it.
Reviewed By:Karen S.,5/23/2017 8:33:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Sprocket Portable Photo Printer - Black (X7N08A)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Expensive yet quality prints
Pros: Truly portable and rechargeable color printer.

Prints look even better than from "photo centers".

Not an inkjet, so it doesn't smear if wet.

Ridged card stock feel without peeling off the back. Once the back is peeled off, it feels like stretchy vinyl.

Photo stickiness is just right. Firmly adheres but easy to remove.

Prints take about 15 seconds.

I've found this pretty useful for printing our business logo and covering manufacturer logos on laptops and desktops. It will come in handy around the office as well as on vacations and who knows what else.

It's a conversation piece. Watching this tiny thing print great photos is incredible.
Cons: Print refills are currently WELL over a dollar per sheet! Unreal!

Cheap packaging and no instructions. So here they are: Charge the device with USB, download the "sprocket" app, and search online for the PDF manual.

App won't help much fitting photos to the size of the paper. The app is incredibly basic right now. I had to use desktop software on a couple to get them right, yet you can't print to it from desktop.
Other Thoughts: The first print spits out the blank page, then a few seconds later comes your print. I wasted a sheet by pressing print again after the blank page. ($1.64 wasted)

If you're sending this as a present to less technically savvy people, you may want to print them the instructions with it.

With the price of refills, the lack of basic instructions, and poor packaging... I had to knock off an egg. If it weren't for the amazing print quality, I would have taken off another.

If you want an tiny printer with amazing quality and price doesn't matter, this is definitely for you! The prices fits because of the quality, but it's still something you should consider before buying.
Reviewed By:Matthew H.,5/23/2017 1:16:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Sprocket Portable Photo Printer - White (X7N07A)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Modern Day Polaroid!!!
Pros: * Small in stature - will fit in your pocket! Roughly the size of your average wallet!
* Doesn't take long to charge - you can print at least 10 photos per charge
* Light weight as well
* Pretty good image quality for what it is.
Cons: * If you use this a lot you'll be charging it a lot. After 7 prints the battery was down to 36%. But it charges up fast so it evens out.
* How to is not very intuitive. I'll save you some hunting. The top cover slides back to reveal the paper storage bay. Put the paper in with the Zink logo facing down.
*Bluetooth connection is a bit confusing. Your phone may not show that it is "connected" to the Sprocket. Only way to tell is while in the app itself.
Other Thoughts: My only real complaint is how tough it can be to connect your phone / tablet to the Sprocket. Like I mentioned before it may now show up as "connected" in the traditional way. When you connect to bluetooth you all know that connected icon you'll see on your phone. Well.. you won't find it here. You'll have to confirm the connection in the Sprocket App. If you can't get it to connect kill the app and re-open it. It may take a few tries. Other than that... I love this little thing. It will wow and amaze people.

The print outs are roughly the size of a business card, a tad smaller. Though I'm not sure who this product really is for other than the photo faithful. It works really well. Print speed is isn't bad either... a single print may take around 20 seconds. I could see it being a great backup as a business card printer. Say you show up to a meeting and forget cards.... the Sprocket has you covered.

For those photo lovers or those who long for the days of Polaroid print outs... great gift.
Reviewed By:Michael W.,5/21/2017 7:13:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Sprocket Portable Photo Printer - Black (X7N08A)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Device and concept, I can see HP getting a leap on the market with this one!
Pros: First thing I noticed when taking it out of the box is that it does have some weight to it and it does feel extremely sturdy (which is good).

After going over the instructions it was not too hard to get it going. First it does have a battery inside that needs to be charged up using the USB port. Second it uses Bluetooth so you will need to SYNC your phone to it and Third you must put the blue piece of paper faced down first inside and the rest of the paper faced up.

The software needs to be download (via an app on Google play) so that you can use it. It is a pretty nice app and has several tools for manipulating pictures such as cropping, adding borders etc…

The quality is extremely good. I honestly can’t tell the difference between these pictures and the ones you get from printing at any other photo printing place.
Cons: -No instructions, had to go to the HP website to figure out how to use it.
-Comes with a short USB cord for charging it but no plug for the wall outlet.
-The blue bar paper seems to be needed before it will start printing. However, the instructions never say why which I thought was strange.
-I wish they would make one that does 4x3 pictures which is more standard size. The 2x3 are very small and seems like an odd size to print (pocket pictures)
-Software to control it through Windows 10 would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Despite my con section I am giving this device 5 stars. Honestly it does what it is designed to do and it does it very well. The quality is fantastic and the concept is even better. It requires no ink at all which is amazing. I simply love this design; I wish they would make one for 4x3 pictures.
Reviewed By:David M.,5/20/2017 6:32:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet 3830 (K7V40A#B1H) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet All-In-One Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well, nothing stands out, but nothing glaring wrong either
Pros: Pretty good value, fast, quiet when set to quiet mode, good print quality
Cons: None yet, but I could see a non-techie type person getting frustrated with the setup process...
Other Thoughts: I really don't have any complaints or rave reviews either way. It is working as advertised. HP's WIndows 10 "All-In-One" app is kind of hit or miss in my experience; you are better off installing the HP basic driver package for the printer instead, to ensure full functionality.
Reviewed By:David C.,5/18/2017 11:03:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Epson America > EPSON WorkForce WF-2750 (C11CF76201) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice looking :)
Pros: Work perfectly and nice looking :)
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Recommanded
Reviewed By:Danielle B.,5/16/2017 1:35:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet Pro 6968 (T0F28A) Duplex 600 x 1200 dpi USB / Ethernet / Wireless Color Inkjet MFC Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly
Pros: This all in one printer does it all!
Cons: none that I know of....
Other Thoughts: with wireless access this printer is convenient. I am very happy with my purchase.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/8/2017 11:28:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 8710 (M9L66A#B1H) Duplex 4800 x 1200 DPI Wireless/USB/Ethernet Color Inkjet MFC Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good replacement for (now dead) HP all-in-one
Pros: - "Scan to file" works with my Linux-based computer (though with some difficulty getting the correct path to set)
- Document feeder works quite well
- Uses the same ink cartridges as our other printer (OfficeJet Pro 8216)
Cons: - Thought when I turned off "wireless" no wireless would show up. Turned out not to be true. You also have to turn off "wifi direct".
- Though the "scan to file" works, it takes at least 30 seconds to start, but quick once it gets going.
- I thought it was easy to set-up, but I have an engineering degree with a networking background; someone without an engineering degree might find doing custom settings a bit more daunting.
Other Thoughts: Bought this to replace an old HP all-in-one that finally died. It was easy to set-up (for me, see "cons" above). Basically plugged it in and turned it on. My Linux Mint-based PC had no problem finding the driver to connect to it, and my wife's Mac was able to load its drivers with no problem. I was happy to find out that I was able to scan documents directly to a file. Considering that I'm attempting to clean out and digitize a bunch of old paper-based files, this has been a boon. My ability to scan stuff in has increased 10x at least. The web-based control page is fairly clearly spelled out. One issue that I found annoying was that I turned off the "Wireless", but it still was emanating signals that someone looking for an access point would see. Come to find out, you also have to turn off the "Wifi Direct" feature to actually kill all wireless signals. I run everything through our wireless router to make security easier to manage; I don't want a backdoor to get around that thru the printer.
Have been using it now for about a month and no complaints thus far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/8/2017 10:31:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.