Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day / Night In / Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Everything needed for a nice Surveillance System
Pros: Easy user interface, easy setup with quality picture, included cables are long enough for the locations of the cameras and a nice price at time of purchase.
Cons: The fan on the NVR is so loud I had to put it in a closet and shut the door but that doesn't help all that much. Will try to find a replacement and see if I can quiet it down, don't know why it has to sound like a rocket because it generates absolutely no heat...might just remove the cover and disconnect, maybe!
Reviewed By:James M.,5/4/2017 5:00:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDT0404FTB5 1080p / 720p HD Analog DVR 4 Channel TVI Security System w/ 4x HD 720P Night Vision Outdoor Camera (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Basically a toy......but for $99...
Pros: ..it was only $99.....ummm....it was only $99........about all I can come up with...
Cons: CHEAP AS H@#L...(did I mention it was only $99..;>).....Tech support is a nightmare...disk that came with system didnt even contain the manual for this model...the setup menus are completely different.....networking is possible but reminds me of the MSDOS/WindoZe 3 days....if you seriously NEED a security system you need to let this one slide by...would be a good gift for a mechanically/technically minded teen!....(But ONLY if you get it for $99)
Other Thoughts: Pretty good TOY for remote birdwatching etc,or a VERY basic system for monitoring your garden for tomato thieves
Reviewed By:Joel G.,4/29/2017 9:42:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo 8CH HDMI NVR 8 Bullet Outdoor 720P HD PoE IP Security Camera System (No HDD Pre-Installed)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy, Basic Surveillance on the cheap
Pros: Hard to beat the price, if you have your own hard drive to install. Idiot-proof, one wire per camera setup.
Android version of Zsight works great if you are on same network as DVR.
Tiny DVR box is easy to locate unobtrusively anywhere.
Cons: Needed firmware upgrade to work on Comcast (10.1.10.1 gateway) network. Firmware removed ability to view DVR via internet explorer.
No Desktop Software to remotely view feeds or recordings (Zmodo tech support says they are working on it, but they have been saying that for a looong time).
iOS version of Zsight needs a lot of improvement to be useful.
Web/Cloud based software (user.zmodo.com) fails to connect more often than it succeeds.
Other Thoughts: You must have a Hard Drive to install in the DVR if you wish to record video. Go for a minimum 500GB.
Very good system if you want to run cameras to places without power outlets nearby (if there is power near your camera locations, choose a wireless/WiFi camera package) AND you don't need to remotely view previous recordings.
If Zmodo ever releases reliable Desktop Software to connect to the DVR controls, I would give the system 5 stars.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/24/2017 9:27:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Foscam > Foscam 8 Channel SPoE NVR Professional Security System 8 Outdoor 720P HD IP Cameras with IP66, Night Vision up to 65 ft. (20m), View on Mobile APP, 2TB Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great product
Pros: very easy to install and operate. vivid video
Cons: straight forward just follow the instructions
Other Thoughts: would highly recommend this product
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/18/2017 2:36:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See QTH8-8AK 8 Channel AHD Surveillance DVR with 8 x 720P Day / Night In / Outdoor Security Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Bang for Buck!
Pros: Picture quality is great! DVR has a lot of options and if you know what you're doing you can really setup a good security system for alerts via email.
Cons: The app sometimes doesn't load the cameras but I'm sure it's more related to some settings I need to adjust on my router that I haven't had time to address. When I have time to address this, my rating may drop to 4 eggs but for now I give it 5 eggs because I think it's something on my end.
Other Thoughts: I don't really like the BNC connectors because I have worked with IP security cameras (PoE) but I can't really complain because the IP versions are literally at LEAST 3 times the cost.
Reviewed By:Michael A.,4/12/2017 12:38:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Foscam > Foscam 8 Channel sPoE NVR Professional Security System 4 Outdoor 720P HD IP Cameras with IP66, Night Vision up to 65 ft. (20m), View on Mobile APP, 1TB Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst product in the market
Pros: nothing good about this product
Cons: Wont recommend this system , cams keep failing all time
Other Thoughts: dont buy this product
Reviewed By:A A.,4/8/2017 8:29:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ8ZN-1T 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System w/ 1TB HDD and 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Unfinished.
Pros: It has great HDMI video.
Easy enough to set up.
Cons: 90% of the online services that where advertised for the product, ARE NOT AVAILABLE!

Remote view? "Sorry, we didn't implement that, we will have that finished soon!"
Cloud storage? "Sorry, we didn't implement that, we will have that finished soon!"
Motion Alert to Phone? "Sorry... we didn't implement that yet, we will have it finished soon!"

THEY TOOK MY MONEY RIGHT AWAY THOUGH! I asked if I could 'pay for the product when its finished', they didn't find it funny.

Contact them is murder. Couldn't understand half of what they where saying and I work with people with speech impediments, the accents where just too thick and customer care didn't know enough English to do anything but tell me there is nothing they can do.

UPDATE: Six months after purchase, remote viewing was added. Worked GREAT for the first few days, however all their clients are all on the same system, so once others came online it is useless. You will see 1,000 'Zmodo' logos instead of any photos, or video captured by motion detect.

8 months after purchase, cloud storage was added. Think it works? Nope, they only store their logo, not the photos or video captured. When I called 'Our services are very busy right now and can't handle the load.'

THEY TOOK MY MONEY THOUGH! I again asked 'Can I get my money back and pay you when your system can provide the services promised?' they said no and once again found it not as funny as I did.

BUYER BEWARE! In this case, you don't even get WHAT YOU PAID FOR!
Reviewed By:Robert B.,4/6/2017 7:07:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Swann Communications > Swann SWDVK-444004A 4 Channels HD DVR w/ 500GB HDD and 4 x 720TVL Day/Night Outdoor Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Came with spyware installed
Pros: Very light, and compact DVR unit
adequate cabling included for residential install
Very simply wall war power supply + splitter
Very good image quality
Easy to use software + android app
Cons: shipped firmware had spyware
night vision mode has very limited range (this is true of all but the best cameras)
smartphone app viewing is laggy (every dvr system I've tried is as well)
Other Thoughts: First thing I want to get out of the way. This thing came with spyware installed. Soon as it's hooked up to your network, everything on your network will lag, and skip. Lots of outbound traffic to who knows where. Update the firmware, and do it on your router too. Once you do, it doesn't do anything blatantly suspicious.

I purchased this kit from my local Fry's, and installed it myself (I worked as an installer in college 10 years ago). Installation is extremely simple, since it skips the power supply hookups of most DVR kits, and instead uses a wall wart with a splitter. Not as pretty, but it works, and will be easy to replace if it fails. The included lengths of Siamese cables were already terminated, so no need to wire crimping tools.

The PC software is a really common DVR software (honeywell, and lots of the Chinese brands use it too). Setup is extremely easy because the unit itself has a QR code, so you can just scan it with your smartphone, instead of manually entering IP and port info. It also uses UID security code, to make the setup simpler on PC as well (no manually entering ip and ports).

The PC software's event search function has a bug where it just hangs. But you can just manually click on each event on the seekbar.
Reviewed By:Oliver K.,3/31/2017 4:10:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Swann Communications > SWANN SWDVK-846008-US DVR8-4600 - 8 Channel 1080p Digital Video Recorder & 8 x PRO-A855 Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Decent product, AWFUL support
Pros: It works
Cons: Contacted support with a simple question about the cabling and the connections on both ends. No one knew. Support is in the Philippians. In the end, was told by the rep that "we don't have that information." Called back to the US-based pre-sales line, was told that I would need to talk to tech support. Not wasting my time with it. Terrible support.
Reviewed By:WAYNE M.,3/28/2017 1:20:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ CRISPr Ultra HD 1080p EXIR Video Security System, 8 Weatherproof Cameras, 100 ft. Night Vision, 8 Channel DVR 2TB HDD, Works with Alexa and Google Home Using IFTTT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My First system like this... Very pleased!
Pros: Cameras feel solid. Comes with pretty much everything but the router and the smartphone. Setup very simple... software simple enough... I honestly have not gotten too deep with much of the settings.
Cons: Im not using all the cameras... and the 2 left open throw a disconnect error kinda randomly. Im sure I can turn off the notification if I cared enough. Not really a serious con to talk about.
Other Thoughts: Low light/night function is pretty good. Id say a clearer picture Vs color/daylight mode. But these junk cfl lights around my house have a hard time triggering the camera into color mode. When they advertise 1080p HD, Id rate the grainyness at a 7 out of 10. Maybe I just thought it would be better. Still a decent picture in different light, and at a certain distance. Best seems to be about 5-8ft away. After that things get a little grainy.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Anthony,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest review! We always appreciate when our customers take the time to leave feedback about our products.

Best Regards,
EZVIZ Tech Team

Reviewed By:ANTHONY T.,3/19/2017 2:34:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.