Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > DIRT DEVIL > Cordless Dirt Devil BD10100RM Gator 10.8V Cordless Hand Vacuum

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 may still be dust collecting, but not in the way originally intended.
Pros: Hi, We have a Cordless Dirt Devil BD10100RM Gator 10.8V . We bought it in May 2016 from New Egg. The battery is not holding a charge. I've seen other posts saying to let it run out. We don't have choice but to let it run out, it is constantly run out after 20 seconds of use. We charge it overnight but still nothing. It used to work perfectly, but now it fails to lap up even a grain of rice from a hardwood floor. IIt used to proudly hoover up all that was in front of it, but now nothing, It's a sorry sight indeed.

It also seems like the battery is not replaceable.
I am actually fairly good with electronics and small electrical items, I have built computers, fitted power outlets and repaired car alternators. I would be fairly confident I can replace a Gator battery however they do not seem to be available for sale.

What are my options? Do I have to throw my Gator away? It was refurbished so I only got 90 days of warranty, which is very unfortunate, but I would have not thought that it would have died so badly in 300 days. I have had some food in my freezer that is older than my Gator. Not ice cream though as that tends to disappear rather quickly in my household

What is the normal life expectancy of a Gator? Was mine a haggard old beast that was just polished on the outside to make it look good, while it's internals was as reliable as a 1970s Alfa Romeo? In case you are not familiar with these, they are notoriously badly built Italian automobiles, although since their merger with Fiat Chrysler they seem to be on the comeback

I look forward to hearing back from you, even if it is just to tell me that I should have bought a full priced item and it would still have been in warranty. Are batteries covered in warranty, maybe you could send a replacement? Or maybe we covered that already.

Such a shame I was intending painting my basement floor Gator Red as a tribute to my favourite dust collecting item, I think it may still be dust collecting, but not in the way originally intended.
Cons: Battery
Reviewed By:ALAN M.,2/26/2017 6:06:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > Metropolitan Vacuum Cleaner Company, Inc > Metropolitan ED500 DataVac 120 Volt Electric Duster, White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice
Pros: Very good Air flow
Heavy duty material
Manny air Tips
Cons: 1 year Warranty
Reviewed By:Marc-Andre M.,2/24/2017 7:29:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > DIRT DEVIL > Dirt Devil BD10025RM Quick Power 7.2 Volt Cordless Hand Vac Red

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did not last
Pros: Nice looking hand vac. Red light to indicate that it was charging. It only cost $10.
Cons: Stopped working not long after I bought it. I thought maybe I had forgotten to charge it, or over charged it, so I tried all sorts of things, but it stopped working a few months after I bought it. I called to find out what i could do, but it is out of warranty.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend that anyone buy this re-manufactured unit. Customer Service for Dirt Devil mentioned that they sell a brand new one for as little as $15, and it comes with a 3 year warranty. That sounds like a better deal.
Reviewed By:Jay P.,2/22/2017 2:34:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > Euro Pro - Shark > SharkNinja Sales 14.4v Shark Hand Vacuum SV75Z

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for our needs. Powerful for a small vac. good for car use as well as home.
Pros: Vac did exactly what was advertised.
Cons: A wall hanger was not included, but is an option. Should have been included.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this powerful portable vac for anyone in need of such a device. It is a quality product for a reasonable price. The optional Wall hanger SHOULD be included however
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/19/2017 5:28:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > Metropolitan Vacuum Cleaner Company, Inc > Metropolitan ED500 DataVac 120 Volt Electric Duster, White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fully replaced compressed air cans
Pros: Powerful; My duster is 0.75 horsepower
Performs exactly as desired
Reduced waste; no more metal cans and plastic caps
Attachments are useful
Cons: Loud, but expected. Might spook your pets!
Other Thoughts: After seeing 6-packs of compressed air at members-only warehouse (seriously newegg, you banned the word cost-co?) nearly doubling in price, having cans on hand wasn't fiscally sound. Seeing a single can for $7-$12 in stores was even more ridiculous. The ED-500 was on sale for $80 and well worth it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/18/2017 12:16:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > Metropolitan Vacuum Cleaner Company, Inc > Metropolitan ED500 DataVac 120 Volt Electric Duster, White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Would redo
Pros: Works
Cons: Noisy
Reviewed By:Dominic L.,2/6/2017 10:18:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > Metropolitan Vacuum Cleaner Company, Inc > Metropolitan ED500 DataVac 120 Volt Electric Duster, White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works very well, but is loud.
Pros: -Good air pressure
-Cleans dust out of my computer very well
-A lot of useful attachments for the nozzle
-Fairly long cord
-Good warranty
Cons: -Even after reading the reviews saying this product is pretty loud, I wasn't expecting it to be this loud (i.e. louder than my vacuum cleaner)
-I can feel a lot of air coming through the seams, so maybe it could've been sealed better.
-It gets pretty hot after a minute or so of using this, but the air pressure doesn't seem to be affected by this.
-Chemical smell when using this duster, as noted by other reviews. I wouldn't recommend using this in poorly ventilated areas.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I like this product a lot and would recommend it to others. The only reason I took off an egg is because of the loud noise. I was expecting in to be pretty noisy, but not louder than my home vacuum cleaner.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/1/2017 1:16:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > Metropolitan Vacuum Cleaner Company, Inc > Metropolitan ED500 DataVac 120 Volt Electric Duster, White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No more compressed-gas dusters!
Pros: Right from the start, you can tell this thing is built to last many years of heavy professional use. It's constructed of steel and has a great heft to it. The five-year motor warranty only reinforces this sense of durability. The supplied attachments cover a wide variety of uses, from large surfaces to small crevices.

The 500-watt motor is no joke. It's a good deal stronger than compressed-gas ("canned air") dusters and doesn't lose power if you use it for more than a few seconds.

The best part? Since this device is powered from the mains, you won't have to buy any more of those expensive dusters—it costs less than what you'd pay for a dozen cans of compressed gas and will easily pay for itself year after year after year, not to mention that it's much more environmentally friendly.

It's also made in the USA, which is always a plus.
Cons: It's really noisy. It would be great if it had adjustable power, but that's not a huge deal. The unit can also get hot with extended use, especially if you use the narrower attachments, so you may need to give it some time to cool down.

Others have noticed a mothball-like chemical smell. On my unit, it doesn't seem to be particularly bad, and I suspect it'll go away with use.

None of these are reasons for me to take away any eggs.
Other Thoughts: Note that there's a filter in the bottom of the unit where the intake is. Be sure to clean it regularly for best performance.

The Metro DataVac ED500 is a must-have for anyone with works with computer equipment on a regular basis. Strongly recommended.
Reviewed By:Brian W.,1/26/2017 5:56:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > Metropolitan Vacuum Cleaner Company, Inc > Metropolitan ED500 DataVac 120 Volt Electric Duster, White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect For Dusting Electronics, Smells Awful
Pros: The little unit is fantastic. Good size, very powerful, build quality is amazing.
Cons: This thing smells worse than moth balls. Seriously. That might be fine if you keep it in a shop, but I live in a small apartment and I don't want this thing anywhere near me. Can't put it in the closet either, because then all my jackets will smell like moth balls too. I've heard other reviews comment on the smell but I honestly was not prepared for this. Absolutely unacceptable for a consumer product. Better hope you have a shop or garage to keep it in.
Other Thoughts: This thing seriously smells bad. 4/5 stars because of the smell.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/19/2017 6:08:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hand Held Vacuums > HOOVER > HOOVER SD12515RM 360 Degree Reach Pro Bagless Stick Vacuum Red, Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I'm very displeased with this product
Pros: At first, I thought this vacuum cleaner was going to be just what I needed - light, reached places I needed help with, worked on hardwood floors and on rugs . . . .
Cons: No, after a few months and very little use, it's cutting off automatically after a few months of use. I have to clean the canister and the 'hose' gets packed full and it's hard to get out. It's a pain in the neck. I had the same vacuum cleaner for about 25 years before that, and would still have it if the parts had not become unavailable. It's very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: No, I would not recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Melanie H.,1/1/2017 11:11:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.