Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's an OK product
Pros: -Compact size
-Supports 24-bit / 192 kHz playback
-Has a built-in amplifier
-Clear sound
Cons: -The driver software included on the supplied CD-ROM is not compatible with Windows 10. You can download the Windows 10 drivers from the ASUS website but they are still a beta mess.
-The driver does NOT support simulated surround (5.1 or 7.1) audio for headphones. It only plays 5.1 or 7.1 in Speaker Mode, which requires discrete outputs for each channel.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to buy this audio card and you have Windows 10, you should use the Windows 8 drivers, instead of the Windows 10 drivers, because these (the W8) drivers are WHQL-quality-certified.

As for the service provided by the seller, it arrived on time and the price was very fair. (For some reason the carrier didn't update the tracking info)
Reviewed By:Dennis B.,12/9/2016 1:16:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worked for a short time
Pros: worked well while it was working..
Cons: broke pretty fast and now says Unknown USB device on all computers i try it on..
Other Thoughts: please help
Manufacturer Response:Dear Elaine,

Thank you for your time on posting this review, we are sorry to hear your experience with the ASUS Xonar U7 . Please allow me to assist you.

Can we have a detailed information on what happened to the unit? have you tried using the sound card to different USB ports or try using it to another computer for comparison and to check if the issue will still exist.

For further assistance or if you want to discuss this matter with me, please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case #N160291011 in the subject line for a reference. I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

If ever you want to call our representatives please check link below for the contact numbers.

http://www.asus.com/us/support/CallUs

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Best regards,
Jerry
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Elaine F.,2/24/2016 8:43:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died. No longer working.
Pros: Worked well before it died.
Connects my laptop to my 7.1 Logitech Speakers (when I replaced by tower with a Aorus gaming laptop)
Cons: Died after 8 months to a year of use.

Started intermittently failing for a month or two. Would get "The USB device connected to this computer malfunctioned". Would need to reboot or unplug the usb cable to finally get the Xonar U7 working again. During this period, had a lot of problems with the OS (Windows 10) crashing while playing videos on YouTube, internet pages and Netflix. Those issues would not occur if I ran the sound off my laptop or monitor instead of through the Xonar U7 to my 7.1 speakers.

Then one day, the Xonar just would not work anymore. I still get the "USB device malfunctioned" Windows error, but the Xonar is now unresponsive, where before the blue lights would flicker and the speakers would snap & crackle, now the Xonar U7 is just dead... not responsive. It is pretty obvious that this is a hardware failure (has nothing to do with drivers), so it's now toast. I paid 140$ for it and had to buy extra splitter cables to work with my speakers, so I can't say I got my money's worth (which would be my response if it died two years from now and Asus had a new and improved version of the Xonar U7 available for purchase).
Reviewed By:Daniel S.,2/7/2016 11:06:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Purchased 1/23/2015
Pros: Worked awesome till it died 8 months out....Dolby Digital software made it shine too...what a shame
Cons: purchased 1/23/2015
died 9/7/2015


Plugged it in and windows said the connected device has malfunctioned...tried reinstall drivers same issue...and it just shows up as unknown device.... Asus i6 Laptop with Windows 7 64bit

Alas i enjoyed it well while it was with us and will be sorely missed as it allowed computer connection to my 7.1 surround system from a laptop ;p
Other Thoughts: Come on Asus really...why did it have to be soo awesome just to die a so shortly after becoming a centerpiece of my audiophile life.... RIP Xonar....you will be missed
Manufacturer Response:Dear Timothy,

Thank you for your time on posting this review, we are sorry to hear your experience with the ASUS sound card. Please allow me to assist you. Can we have a detailed information about the unit's issue? can I also have the unit's serial number for me to checkt the unit's warranty? ASUS provides warranty for the unit in order to fix or repair any isolated factory escape defect. Have you tried using the sound card to a different computer for comparison? or uninstall the driver then try installing the audio driver from the support disk that came with the Audio Card.

If you need further technical assistance or if you want to discuss this matter with me, please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case #N150951314 in the subject line for a reference. I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Best regards,
Jerry
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/9/2015 6:36:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: I cant write anything good about this sound brick. The shipping was ok, It came in a nice box. That's all the Pros I have.
Cons: This sound brick is a waste of money, it says its 24 bit, not the one I got., mine is 16 bit. The drivers installed on one of my cheap windows 7 boxes but failed on my other expensive ASUS custom built windows 7 box, spent all day trying to get it installed with no luck. Now I'm debating whether to try the PCI Xonar U7 sound card to install in my ASUS box. I don't think I will take that chance again. I'm looking at other sound cards at this point. I'm sure I got a bad one, it happens ! good luck buyers.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Brad,

Thank you for posting this review and for using one of our products. I want to apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you. I would like to verify, have you tried checking the updated driver on our website at support.asus.com. For further technical assistance or if you want to discuss this matter with me, please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case # N150770193 in the subject line for a reference.

I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Best regards,
Donabell
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/7/2015 6:33:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > iSimple > ISIMPLE ISTY651 FACTORY RADIO INTERFACE FOR IPOD/IPHONE/IPAD/ANDROID/SMARTPHONES

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ISTY651 - 08 Lexus RX 350
Pros: Straightforward installation, easy bluetooth pairing, excellent sound quality, great expansion options.
Cons: having to download the users manual is a pain, since there are so many features to learn. Would rather have a hard copy instead of on screen.
Other Thoughts: This works perfectly in my wife's Lexus.
Reviewed By:Starkey,12/19/2014 8:22:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful 5.1 Surround Sound
Pros: Pros
- clear wonderful surround sound with no distortion so far.
- easy volume control and switch function between speakers and headphones
- Dolby home theatre
Cons: Cons
- No software guide... Youre basically given the tools and software and are expected to know how it works. Set the Xonar u7 sample rate to dolby digital live to enable the 5.1 surround sound when using SPDIF out. The rest of the tinkering is up to you
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/5/2014 1:53:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great sound
Pros: The SNR on this box is great, I highly recommend it. I have a projector and a maxwell GPU now but no receiver, but I wanted my audio to be USB to improve on the noisy motherboard sound card. My speakers are JBL 308s in a 5.1 config and it sounds terrific for home theater and music. Very clean and noise free.

I will probably buy another Xonar once there is an open source Atmos codec so I can have height speakers hooked up too.
Cons: It doesn't have optical in, only optical out. Why? Every motherboard already has optical out and from PC you're much better off using USB anyway because optical only does 5.1 matrixed.

Now I have to get a different sound card and connectors to run my Xbox One through.
Reviewed By:RLBURNSIDE,10/23/2014 10:55:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent USB Sound Solution
Pros: Can't get much easier to setup that plugging into a USB port. Recommend downloading the latest drivers. Units is small and lightweight, but not so light that it's gonna fly off the desk in you have your headphones on and you move away from the desk. Sounds great after a bit of burn in (obviously subjective) I use mine mostly for music. Is powered from the USB port so there is no power adapter.

Overall really impressed with this small lightweight, USB sound card
Cons: none really.
Reviewed By:smb,8/11/2014 8:40:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Factory Integration > ASUS > Asus Xonar U7

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update
Pros: The lag on digital out I experienced only happens with a specific DAC with my other DAC the lag vanishes totally - therefore I have revised my rating to 5 eggs.

Disabling firewall necessary to install control panel
Cons: None really !
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/5/2014 7:01:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.