Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent replacing for your landlin!
Pros: Works like clockwork, especially with PhonePower.
Cons: Setup is a bit complicated, especially if you want to port your landline number (which is irrelevant to the quality of this product)
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended
Reviewed By:Philip S.,3/19/2017 1:55:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business SPA112 2-Port Phone Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Recommended
Pros: - Reliable
- Plenty of configuration options
Cons: - Cisco should consider making a (cheaper) single port model.
Other Thoughts: I've been using this ATA for over 5 years with two different service providers and it never skipped a beat. Pretty much fire-and-forget once configured properly. This is definitely harder to setup than just calling the phone company and have a technician do all the work, but anyone willing to learn should be able to set it up properly.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/8/2017 10:59:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 total free phone
Pros: the title say's it
Cons: some are clueless how to set it up! you have to call- let people know your new #
Other Thoughts: I own an obi100 I did have to search GOOGLE to make it work after the updates, still works.
I talked to my mom 78 years old to dump the 70$ a month phone bill after 2 years she agreed. easy set up- IF YOU READ!
She saves over 70$ x12 a year now ! She even forgets she has no phone bill!

She did have to calleveryone and give her new phone # but she actualy enjoyed this!
Reviewed By:Rickie J.,3/1/2017 10:48:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good upgrade - poor integration - think twice
Pros: I upgraded from an Obihai 100 to this model in order to get better (some) fax support. However, the upgrade process wasn't great (see below).
- Smaller than expected.
- Hopefully works as a fax when it starts working properly.
Cons: - Looks kinda like it was 3D printed. Kinda has that gritty feeling of a 3D-printed plastic.
- Upgrade process didn't work and still isn't working a week later.
Other Thoughts: I use this device paired with a phone provider called PhonePower. (PhonePower has been great and continues to be great. Recommended.) The problem is that when upgrading your device you have to get the phone number provider to sync server-to-server with Obihai (Obitalk).

Apparently Obihai changed their services so that you can no longer perform the integration. And they've been slow to fix it. (About a week so far.) And, unfortunately, there is no way to go back to the old device once it breaks. Hopefully Obihai will fix this soon.

As far as I can tell the support at Obihai is done via forums. And even the techs I've talked with at the phone provider sound frustrated! Phone outage for a week?

I would say, not a reliable device if you have people who might need E911 service.
Manufacturer Response:Hi,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the OBi. Obihai is dedicated to ensuring a great experience with all our products.

We are currently working with the Phonepower team to get this issue resolved. In the meantime, please reach out to Phonepower and get your SIP credential information (i.e. SIP AuthUserName, SIP Password, Proxy Server). With your SIP credential, you can log into your OBiTALK account, select 'For Home,' select OBiTALK Compatible Service Providers, select Phonepower template and enter your SIP credentials.

If you need any additional assistance with the OBi, please email our customer support team at support@obihai.com along with your nine-digit OBi number (printed on the back of the unit) and case #NEWEGG170228 in the subject line for a speedy response. We hope to have the opportunity to address your issue and get a better understanding of what you are experiencing.

Our team is here to help you and all others with any issues/concerns to your fullest satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Obihai Support Team

Reviewed By:Jason E.,2/28/2017 6:11:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi202 VoIP Phone Adapter with Router – Google Voice, SIP & T.38 Fax Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 sound quality is problematic
Pros: support google voice;
tons of features.
Cons: sound quality is worse than other brand VoIP box.
over priced.
Manufacturer Response:Hi,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the OBi. Obihai is dedicated to ensuring a great experience with all our products.

Audio issues (i.e. choppy audio) are generally network related. If you haven't already done so, please email our customer support team at support@obihai.com along with your nine-digit OBi number (printed on the back of the unit) and case #NEWEGG170225 in the subject line for a speedy response. We hope to have the opportunity to address your issue and get a better understanding of what you are experiencing.

You can also call us at 408-890-6000 should you want to talk to our representative.

Our team is here to help you and all others with any issues/concerns to your fullest satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Obihai Support Team

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/25/2017 9:46:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI1032PA Business-Class Color IP Phones

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great
Pros: free Google voice service
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: great device with way more options than I can manage. will buy more as needed
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/23/2017 6:30:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful, after some expected teething pains
Pros: Very low cost land-line like VOIP service. Absolutely reliable except for during an extended power failure when my UPS battery was used up. It uses negligible bandwidth requirements on the internet connection -- hardly any data bandwidth up or down even during a call. Clean and brilliant sound at both ends of the call.
Cons: It is mandatory that you provide a high QUALITY internet connection with only modest speed requirements. Speed is not the issue here. Low ping rates, low jitter and no dropped packets are highly desirable.

If you slave this unit behind your router, you must use a router that can give the OOMA Telo the highest QOS priority. They prefer (naturally) that you slave your WiFi router to the OOMA Telo, and this works fine. The Telo is a basic wired router in it's own right. But the Ethernet connections on the Telo are only 100 Mbps, not Gigabit as my router and modem are. This is a potential bottleneck if your ISP service speed is high enough.
Other Thoughts: I can't talk about this $10 mandatory charge thing except that I never saw it -- I set it up in spring of 2015. I never accepted the "premier" service. I only pay about $5 a month for state and local taxes and fees and that's all I've ever paid monthly to OOMA. The one time $40 fee to transfer the phone number and the initial purchase price of the Telo device are the only other charges I've ever paid.

Sourceforge has an excellent speed-test to help you determine ISP service suitability for VOIP. This test consistently rates my MOS at 4.4 out of 5. The MOS rating is the most important rating here for VOIP service.

I expected to have teething pains, and I did. First, the ISP service, though plenty fast enough, wasn't up to VOIP quality. It took me some time, research and interfacing with Comcast Xfinity to get this right. But, in fairness, they did good work and it's fine now. I own my own Arris SB6183 cable modem and a quality ASUS 802.11ac router.

After the ISP was straightened out, I still had undesirable stuttering -- particularly detected by people we were talking to. One call to OOMA support, the guy ran some tests from his end, determined that he could make some parameter changes, and everything improved immeasurably.

After the OOMA service was good and stable, we transferred our old POTS service phone number to the OOMA service for $40 without any problem, and then canceled the POTS service entirely.

We save a lot of money every month. I'm pleased, and our OOMA is wife approved!
Reviewed By:William F.,2/18/2017 10:19:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This company is THE WORST
Pros: It could work fine
Cons: Obihai has come up with a way to keep people paying for what should be an OK product. Make people pay for "support" each year, by making sure the product won't work unless you pay for this "support." It is called ransomware, it is an outrageous business tactic, and I would hope people will avoid this product because of it.

It has been a MAJOR PROBLEM, hours and hours wasted because I purchased it. Don't believe me, that's OK, just look up "there is no service available" and google will fill in the obihai part, that's how common it is. Then it works for a call, then it doesn't work again. Remember if you buy it, after hearing it over and over, "there is no service available to complete your call," you might start to understand that you were warned.
Other Thoughts: Do your research BEFORE you ever think to purchase this from one of the worst companies I have encountered. How long before they figure out you need to pay more this year for your "support?"
Manufacturer Response:Hi,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the OBi. Obihai is dedicated to ensuring a great experience with all our products.

You do not need a Premium Support Plan for the OBi to work. OBiTALK's Premium Support is optional giving you access to Obihai's USA-based technical support experts, easy automated software upgrades, and OBi Notify.

Please note that all newly purchased OBi devices will receive the full 1-year warranty and Premium Technical support from the date of purchase. After the 1-year warranty has ended, free support and firmware updates can also be obtained online at OBiTALK.com and from the vast community of OBi users on the OBiTALK forum (www.obitalk.com/forum).

If you need any additional assistance with the OBi, please email our customer support team at support@obihai.com along with your nine-digit OBi number (printed on the back of the unit) and case #NEWEGG170217 in the subject line for a speedy response. We hope to have the opportunity to address your issue and get a better understanding of what you are experiencing.

Our team is here to help you and all others with any issues/concerns to your fullest satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Obihai Support Team

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/17/2017 7:53:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Beware Obihai SCAM
Pros: Works for a while, until Obihai decides to change the firmware.
Cons: When Obihai changes the firmware, the VoIP box stops working. You have to pay them to get the firmware update.
Other Thoughts: I bought an Obi100 and the Google Voice interface stopped working after a while. Obihai account said I had to pay to get latest firmware to work with Google Voice again. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND
Manufacturer Response:Hi,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the OBi. Obihai is dedicated to ensuring a great experience with all our products.

You do not need a Premium Support Plan for the OBi to work. OBiTALK's Premium Support is optional giving you access to Obihai's USA-based technical support experts, easy automated software upgrades, and OBi Notify.

Please note that all newly purchased OBi devices will receive the full 1-year warranty and Premium Technical support from the date of purchase. After the 1-year warranty has ended, free support and firmware updates can also be obtained online at OBiTALK.com and from the vast community of OBi users on the OBiTALK forum (www.obitalk.com/forum).

If you need any additional assistance with the OBi, please email our customer support team at support@obihai.com along with your nine-digit OBi number (printed on the back of the unit) and case #NEWEGG170217 in the subject line for a speedy response. We hope to have the opportunity to address your issue and get a better understanding of what you are experiencing.

Our team is here to help you and all others with any issues/concerns to your fullest satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Obihai Support Team

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/17/2017 7:22:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI110 VoIP Telephone Adapter with SIP & Phone Line Gateway

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Obsolete, DON'T BUY
Pros: None
Cons: Obihai themselves have said they aren't supporting the product any longer.
You'll have to pay their support fee every year if you buy it, not knowing how much the support fee will be in the future.
Other Thoughts: http://blog.obihai.com/2016/08/end-of-life-announcement-obi100-and.html
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/9/2017 6:53:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.