Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KNT984A42W4 4MP zoom HD 8 Channel NVR PoE IP Security System, with 2pcs 4MP (2688 x 1520p) and 4pcs 2MP (1920 x 1080p) Bullet Camera (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good combination of NVR, 4MP and 2MP camera Bundle
Pros: -Good price only when goes on Sale
-IP Based surveillance combo
- Remote monitoring
Cons: -Need to buy additional accessories for the installation. I had to make my own wall plates to have it installing for concealed and tamper proof ethernet cabling.
-So far the system seems to be working for my needs. I haven't looked into all the features of NVR
Other Thoughts: Great combination of kit and affordable NVR based surveillance system
Reviewed By:Srikanth M.,1/14/2017 9:11:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A+ system
Pros: Easy setup
Video quality excellent
Just a great system
Cons: Not a con but I got this system on sale and now that I see the ease and quality of video I want 4 more cameras and they cost more than I paid for the system...
Other Thoughts: Must buy worth every penny better quality than $1000 plus security systems.
Reviewed By:Philip S.,1/3/2017 7:51:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome System!
Pros: The cameras are well made and have great quality during both day and night they also have the connectors for audio ready to go!

The installation is really simple it's just a matter of running your lines, drilling your holes and connecting the cameras it's all plug and play.
Cons: The only issue I experienced I was when I tried to use the software located on the discs they give you, first off one of the discs has a pdf user manual included on them which is nice I suppose but redundant because they also give you a paperback book which I found to be much easier to use.

The software is located on this disc but the installation failed on multiple computers each running a different OS, Windows 10, Windows 7 and Ubuntu. I went to their official site looked for a place to download the software but it couldn't find it so I sent them an email saying that the software they provided didn't work I added a screenshot of the error I was given on each machine, told them I couldn't find anywhere to download it. Within ten minutes I was given a reply with a link to their software center as well as a .rar containing the software I was looking for.

Once I got it, it did work but still keep in mind that you may experience some issues with that and also keep in mind the software is not needed to run the system in any way, nor is it needed to view it via a remote location. This can be done through other clients including a browser or a phone app.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely recommend this product.

I would also suggest getting a tv over pc monitor unless you want to get a 4k pc monitor which would be ideal as they're great and often cheaper than tvs at this point.
Reviewed By:Aaron J.,1/1/2017 1:21:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KNT982A42W4 4MP zoom HD 8 Channel NVR PoE IP Security System, with 2pcs 4MP (2688 x 1520p) and 2pcs 2MP (1920 x 1080p) Bullet Camera (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well, basic setup is easy
Pros: Basics setup is easy - just plug in NVR to router, cameras to NVR, and monitor to the NVR.
User interface on NVR is pretty good - better than my previous system.
Cons: Documentation for remote access is weak. I did a bunch of google searches and self-education before I could get it to work.
Too many Laview apps in the play store - wish they would clearly state which is the latest and greatest to use.
Other Thoughts: IP/Network system is much better than the old analog (BNC type) system I had before.
Network access to cameras (i.e. camera is plugged into my router, not the NVR) works. Need SADP to set the camera IP address, then go into the NVR user interface to manually enter camera network details.
I haven't dug into a lot of the features (email notification, alarm settings, privacy zones, etc.)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/1/2017 12:13:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo 8 Channel NVR with 2TB HDD 8 Full HD 1080p sPoE IP Security Camera System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1 camera DOA.
Pros: 1080P for the price
Cons: Need $50 deposit for them to send replacement before RMA?, are they kidding me? Will return the whole system. Never buy ZMODO product again.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued customer,

I'm sorry that you had an issue with a defective camera. We should not request " $50 deposit " for replacement, instead, we have the RMA policy of sending out a camera to the customer directly without having it back. So there might be some miscommunication here.

We have replacement cameras available for this system. I'd like to look into your RMA and further assist you with this. Can you email me your RMA number at support@zmodo.com? We are here to help!

Thank you!
Zmodo support

Reviewed By:Steven C.,12/30/2016 8:01:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo 8 Channel NVR with 1TB HDD 4 Full HD 1080p sPoE IP Security Camera System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It burned up after 12hrs
Pros: UI was fast compared to older ZModo
Cons: After 12hrs it burned up. Lost video, started to click rapidly, and few seconds later could smell burnt electronics.
These have no fans inside and it was hot when I picked it up after it died.
Cameras use a micro USB cable. So the wires included are RJ45 > MicroUSB
Other Thoughts: Got a replacement. Lasted 48 hours of burn in test before bothering to set it up. Lived, but still runs very hot to the touch.

I went ahead and did some "upgrades" to insure life.

1) Removed the tiny rubber feet and added 1" tall rubber feet in their place. Insures air flow under it.

2) There is a 12v power two prong socket on the board not used. Used this to power two older ball bearing fans that are propped up inside and are now regulated to 5v to keep the RPM down. One one each end of the hard drive. Now its very cool to the touch. No heat at all, even with 6 cameras running so far.
Reviewed By:Steven C.,12/28/2016 10:40:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo 8 Channel NVR with 2TB HDD 8 Full HD 1080p sPoE IP Security Camera System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointment
Pros: The cameras – They are smaller than I was expecting, and are pretty rugged. I think they will withstand outdoor use just fine.
The hard drive – It’s bundled with a 2tb WD Purple, so they put the right drive in it.
Cons: There were scratches and marks all over the NVR upon unboxing. My guess is that this was done when the hard drive was installed. The installer must have been rough with the unit?

The USB mouse is very cheap and sporadically quits working. I think it’s the mouse and not the USB port on the NVR because it does the same thing when plugged into a computer.

The USB backup is very spotty in regards to what drives it will recognize. I bought a 2 pack of Kingston 16gb thumb drives. Exact same thumb drives, the NVR recognizes one of them just fine, won’t recognize the other one. I’ve made sure they were both formatted correctly according to the manual. It also won’t recognize many of my other external drives, but there's a few it does.

The documentation is lacking. The only thing that comes in the box is one sheet of paper that is a simple startup guide. The manual isn’t easy to find on their website, but it’s there, and isn’t really that helpful either.

The Playback feature of this unit is terrible. The UI is acceptable (not great), but the feature’s functionality has some issues. About half of the recorded video just freezes a blank screen and won’t play the video. I’ve let it sit for ten minutes and nothing, it’s like the page has frozen, so you have to back out of it using the menus. Other sections of video it plays back instantly as intended. This is essentially useless. The main point of installing this system was to see who is coming on and off my property, and you need some sort of seeking feature to fast forward through the video. Since the playback feature has a 50/50 shot of working, I have to download all the video and play it back on my computer.

I ran wire, mounted a couple cameras, got everything hooked up, went to turn on the unit, and nothing. Dead. First thing I do is look at the light on the power adapter and it’s not lit up. Tried different plugs and power strips, nothing. Held it up to my ear and there’s a constant clicking coming from it, so immediately out of the box the power adapter is a paper weight. It’s not worth me packaging everything back up, and paying for shipping to return it. So I found an old laptop adapter with the same ratings, cut the connector from the dead one and wired it up. So far it’s working, I’ll just order a new one soon.
Other Thoughts: The cameras don’t do well when switching to night vision for exterior use. During dawn and dusk there’s a 15-30 minute period that the cameras will switch back and forth between night and day modes every 30ish seconds. I don't know that this really considered a Con because it could just be where I have them mounted. There's sunlight and shadows in the camera's view when this is happening.

This was my first security system purchase. Maybe my expectations were too high? But I am pretty disappointed with this unit. If I could go back in time, I wouldn’t have bought it.
Reviewed By:Richard A.,12/27/2016 5:12:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KNT982A42W4 4MP zoom HD 8 Channel NVR PoE IP Security System, with 2pcs 4MP (2688 x 1520p) and 2pcs 2MP (1920 x 1080p) Bullet Camera (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great quality system
Pros: Quality is great. Good price
Cons: If it's very dark, you won't see anything.
Other Thoughts: Yes
Reviewed By:Jorge G.,12/18/2016 6:14:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ 4 Channel HD 1080p Analog TVI Security System w/ 1TB HDD and 4 Weatherproof 1080p Bullet Cameras, Works with Alexa using IFTTT

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Product for the money
Pros: Easy to set up, everything came online the first try. Everything you need the set it up is in the box except the app for your phone which you must download from the app store. The video is much better than expected for what I paid.
Cons: the only con I can think of is the documentation on the recorder needs to be included with the unit, it comes with none.
Other Thoughts: The HDD needs to be larger and the Cables longer, Maybe 100', Instead of 60'. Otherwise it is a great starter kit for anyone with a small home or business.
Reviewed By:Thomas R.,12/18/2016 5:56:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV0404B5B Complete 4 Channel Security DVR System Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Will Never buy LaView again
Pros: After 3 years the Cameras still work, and the box still works. Pretty sturdy, and that's the only reason this product gets two stars.
Cons: No firmware updates available. No backward compatibility for older hardware in current software (and yes there should be). You are left on your own to suffer with their product once you buy it because they abandon you.
Other Thoughts: First, I bought this product almost 3 years ago, and support for it has all but dried up. You can no longer get firmware updates, their existing software will not work with my hardware, so I can only use this product in offline mode. One of the biggest selling points was being able to check your cams from your phone, and I can no longer do that. If you want to keep replacing your receiver/DVR, buy LaView. This is something you affix to your home, you should be able to use it for more than a couple of years.
Reviewed By:Robert F.,12/17/2016 9:20:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.