Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Smart Home HD 720p Surveillance System 16 Weatherproof Cameras with 16 Channel DVR and Built-In 2TB Hard Drive (BD-2G0GB2)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 This system is a no go.
Pros: Great price for a 16 channel, 16 camera system
Okay video quality for the price
Good field of view (viewing angles) for the money
Cons: 9 of the 16 cameras wouldn't return to day mode after entering night mode without power cycling
Plastic housing of cameras feels cheep
Other Thoughts: I tried two different units and both had the same issue, some of the cameras work fine, others have an issue where once they enter night mode, they won't return to day mode during daytime hours and full sunlight. I tried different cables and different ports of the DVR with the same camera and had the same result, so that to me points to an issue with the cameras themselves. Had it not been for this, it would have been a good system for the money.

On another note, there is no viewing of the cameras on your own private network other than from the HDMI and VGA out ports on the DVR. You can't log in to a management console and view them. The only way to view the cameras is through the EZVIZ app or from their website. The big issue with this, in my opinion, is that you are forced to broadcast your cameras over the web for remote viewing, which to me creates a privacy issue. Yes, the streams are encrypted, but how encrypted, how easy are they to hack? I prefer a system that I am able to use on my internal network only, without opening it up to the internet. If I want to view them remotely, I will VPN in to my own network and view them that way, without the extra risk. This makes third party programs like TinyCam monitor useless, you are forced to use their app or website. That being said, at one time from what I have read, the functionality was there, but the company found it necessary to remove that feature for some unknown reason.
Reviewed By:ANTHONY D.,7/25/2017 9:23:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > VONNIC > Vonnic DIY Surveillance 5-in-1 XVR System 4 Channel DVR Kit w/ 4 HD 1080p TVI Security Cameras (HDD not included, Sold Separately)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Runs hot.
Pros: Cheep and it works.
Cons: No fan in the case so if the cover is on in a hot area it will fail in a short time.
Other Thoughts: I was touching chips on the main board and discovered that the biggest chip was to hot to touch. I left the cover off and added a slow spinning 120mm fan sitting on it's side blowing across the board and hard drive which helped but was not enough the chip was roasting hot and the heat was causing the whole board to run hot. I cut up a old 486 cpu heatsink to fit the one inch chip and super glued it on. Now the chip is nice and cool and the other small chips are also much cooler but I still have the fan blowing and the cover off . Next I need to get that cover modded for a fan and more vents for air to flow while at the same time keeping it secure from mice or anything else from getting in it. For the $160 it costs and the fact that I like to tinker I may get one more unit but if I had just slapped the cover on and stuck it in the attic I may have burned the house down.
Reviewed By:Jamison M.,7/25/2017 8:57:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Smart Home HD 1080p IP Surveillance System 4 Weatherproof Cameras with 4 Channel NVR and Built-In 2TB Hard Drive (BN-1424A1), Works with Alexa and Google Home Using IFTTT

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Almost happy with this system
Pros: Camera resolution is good. No static on the lines. Night vision works well.
Cons: Sensitivity settings are not fine tuned enough. This is ok however because Placement of cameras in my application is under my roof execpt for one camera. And I am able to control the animate objects such as trees blowing etc. I do have issues at night with small bugs being attracted to the IR light, or perhaps just flying by. Once I set the setting low enough to not start recording every time a bug flys by the system will not pick me up when i walk in front of the camera. I turned the sensitivity up one notch and it records some of the bugs and catches any movement from humans in the sight of the camera. This is acceptable. The MAIN con with this order was the fact that the unit is advertised as having a 2TB hard drive and it came with a 1TB hard drive. I have emailed support but have not received a message response because it's only been 5 minutes since I sent the email. I am not sure if this was false advertisement or just a mishap at the factory. After running all the camera cables through the attic and walls for 5 hours and installing all 4 cameras, it is most definitely not with my time and effort to return this unit for a replacement. If this unit came with a 2TB hard drive as advertised, I would have most definitely given it a 5 star rating considering I only paid 319$ with no tax and free shipping during a 24 hour sale. If they make some sort of effort to resolve this issue I will rereview the product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/18/2017 9:00:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5188D-T1 Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ 1TB HDD Easy DIY Eight 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Looks good and that is where it ends! No eggs was not an option!
Pros: Typical setup as with any packaged system. BNC and power connectors which run to a DVR.
Cons: I worked with these cameras for months to no avail. Mediocre daytime resolution and NO night time picture. The advertised distance of up to 65 feet in darkness is closer to 3 feet. At 4 feet the image washes out and resembles a pixelated cartoon cloud. I actually bought IR emitters (850 nm) hoping that would correct the issue for night time use but the emitters made no difference. I replaced the cameras with Zmodo units and got perfect picture regardless of time of day. After a barrage of emails back and forth to so called tech support I gave up on the entire system. I donated the cameras to a local charity for use as dummy cameras and they work perfectly in that role. The software offered for use with the system as well as the LaView server is marginal at best. It will only work with IE and more often than not hangs and requires several log in sessions to finally get a remote picture. If an IP address is used for access from a local network the DVR seems to work but using the system that way is tantamount to looking out your windows! There are much better choices!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/18/2017 5:14:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView 4MP 2688 x 1520P Full PoE IP Camera Security System, 8 Channel H.265 NVR w/ 4K Output, 4 x 4MP Full HD (2688 x 1520) In/Outdoor IP Cameras (No HDD Included, Sold Separately)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wholly Moley! I'm amazed and happy with this system!
Pros: 2 year warranty! (most other systems only offer a 1 year warranty)
Crisp clear HD cameras (2688x1520 res), easy to install, and tech support is available, PoE (Power Over Ethernet) I love it!, only one wire to run to the camera!. These cameras have amazing color and clarity, and they provide a more bright image than what is reality in the evening just before the sun goes down and in the morning when the sun comes up. The cameras are highly configurable as to the area of sensitivity for recording onto the NVR (Network Video Recorder) when motion is detected. That way i'm not recording every car that comes down the street, or recording neighbors and dogs in their front yards.
You can watch it on your display TV/Monitor that's connected to the NVR via HDMI, and simultaneously watch it on your lan connected computer as well, and adjust parameters and settings on the NVR system and cameras on your computer all at the same time. It's magical to me and seemingly a technological work of art.
Cons: The instructions seemed vague, and I had a little trouble understanding them. Instructions are included for things that don't apply to my system. I tried calling tech support to find out why it seemed like the system was rebooting often (every few minutes) immediately after installing the hard drives and I was going to listen to music for hours on hold waiting for someone to answer. So I emailed them and they didn't have good answers to that question - It seemed like they were trying to guess at potential answers without having any knowledge of the system and what causes unexpected reboots. I simply reset the NVR to defaults and it rebooted after doing this, and it settled down and stopped rebooting and acting crazy, but if I hadn't just luckily stumbled upon this solution I'd be frustrated and consider ripping out the system and return it. I finally found that the system and cameras need 3 days to settle down and I'm very happy with it.
-Included cameras in the system have no PTZ (Pan, Tilt Zoom) features, but you can zoom in on your footage after you pull some recorded footage using the included player software.
-Tech support often misunderstands questions, and is slow to answer emails.
-Can't turn off Infrared illumination or control them
-Display will switch to full screen view for any alarm/record that happens, even when you don't want it to, seemingly no way to turn this "feature" off or on, or adjust the parameters of it.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this system. Although I had some minor issues at first, I just kept tinkering with everything, going through options and instructions over and over and reading everything and messing with it, until I arrived at a security and video system that I'm truly enjoying!
Recommendation: Connect it via HDMI to a dedicated LED 4K wall mounted TV/monitor that you leave on all the time. I did, and I'm glad I did. Q: How big of a 4K TV should you connect it to? A: How high is up? I have mine on a 43" TV, and I love it, but it could be bigger and I'd enjoy it even more - but I only have so much wall space.

I just noticed that birds do not set off the alarm and recording, but I sort of wish it did. Dogs and cats crossing through my yard set it off.

In the morning, you can watch everything that alerted your system to record video, and that's fun for me so far since nothing bad has happened so far.

Hard Drives:
I saw that some other popular vendors sell this system with Western Digital Purple surveillance hard drives installed, so that is what I purchased from Newegg and installed into the NVR. I think 7200 rpm drives would create unnecessary heat and power usage. These 5400 rpm drives I guess are all that are needed to record video, stay cool and stable. Reboot after putting in the hard drives, so you can initialize them. If you install two HDDs, you can specify if you want mirroring on the second drive -which is very nice. You also have the option of offsite video storage from other vendors, and you can have your system record onto a NAS if you want, just set it up in the configuration menu.

Pulling clips of video off: Use a thumb drive or external drive, and save them off. If your system is connected to your LAN, you can access and pull clips down into your computer - I'm using windows 7 and the clips all go into hidden temporary folders/files - just dig them out if you're savvy. All the clips are time stamped.
It was easy (even for me). Use the downloadable video player they provide to play the clips with, because VLC seems to freeze up after playing for a few seconds, giving you the idea you didn't get the full clip of video you wanted. There maybe other free video players that work besides the media player they provide, but that one works very well and it was free and provided on the CD or as a download from the LaView website.

Make sure you put dielectric grease in the CAT5 connectors, just fill the female side up, and shove the male end of the connector end in, and let the excess ooze out like a worm. Take that worm of dielectric grease and form a filet around the connector to keep out moisture.

Edit July 18, 2017: I have had almost no problems with this system. But, I want to pass on some notes about it.
1. Make sure you rotate the camera on the stem until the flat spot goes up for the set screw, then tighten the set screw for each camera. You don't need to loosen that again.
2. Take a feather duster and mount it on the end of a broom stick or painting extension rod (lightweight) and use it to remove cob webs when they appear. Remove the threaded adapter off the end of the painting extension rod, and insert the small feather duster, drill holes, and screw it on. This will help keep you from filling your hard drive full of blowing webs.
3. Purchase a steel lock box for the NVR and mount it with carriage bolts (nuts on the inside), so that whoever burgles your house won't take your NVR too. They're not expensive on websites that sell used things.
Reviewed By:RAYMOND W.,7/18/2017 10:43:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR18B5-B1TB 8 Ch 960H Full WD1 DVR + 4 1000TVL Bullet Cameras + 1 1000TVL Varifocal Camera with Mobile Access Surveillance Kit, Mac OS X App fully supported

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Product.
Pros: The box supports many cameras.
Cons: -The interface is terrible
-The phone app rarely worked
-The computer webpage was just broken and remained in an infinite loop of never starting on every computer I tested it on.
-Nothing is intuitive and most things don't work as intended. Trying to enable some of the simplest options would fail to work correctly and normally cascade into an assortment of problems.
-There are no inscription to tell the user the brand of the box; so good luck if you lose your minimalist manual, and even if you know the name the online resources are scarce.
Other Thoughts: I was very unhappy with this product and would not recommend it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2017 1:44:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Smart Home HD 720p Surveillance System 8 Weatherproof Cameras with 16 Channel DVR and Built-In 2TB Hard Drive (BD-2G08B2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best System for do it yourselfers.
Pros: Easy Installation and awesome app functionality. Unit found an update as soon as I hooked it up to the router. 2TB hard drive keeps all the recordings for 9 days.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: There is an option to add audio if needed.
Reviewed By:Romeo V.,7/16/2017 10:22:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See QTH4-4CP 4-Channel AHD Surveillance DVR with 4 x 720P Day / Night In / Outdoor Security Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 will not buy QSEE again!
Pros: none
Cons: - support is a joke.. called the 1800 due to issue with the system after 8 months of use
- it got routed to a off shore call center and they make you jump thru hoops to honor their 2 year warranty
- they received my unit and can't even tell me the RMA status.. what a joke
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/10/2017 1:55:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KNT982D22D4 4MP zoom HD 8 Channel NVR PoE IP Security System, with 2pcs 4MP (2688 x 1520p) and 2pcs 2MP (1920 x 1080p) Dome Camera (No HDD Included, Sold Separately)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent cameras specially the 4MP!
Pros: This system dome cameras are using Toshiba chips "NOTE only the 4MP cameras have the Toshiba chip in there board" NOT the 2MP Note not the the recorder.
Quality build cameras
Covers wide angle viewing
Support of H265 with latest firmware v3.4.62
Saves more space for longer recording with H265 enabled only for the 4MP camera
Cons: The recorder is slow even with newest firmware version v3.4.62
Other Thoughts: I've recommend these models of ip cameras to friends and family and help them install them.
I would purchase this model and the bullet versions again, I've purchased 3 sets already.
I would like to see the dvr more responsive .
Manufacturer Response:Hello,
We highly appreciate your valuable feedback. LaView strives to satisfy every customer’s needs. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with our products. If you have any further feedback or questions do not hesitate to contact us at info@laviewusa.coml. Thank you for choosing LaView.

LaView

Reviewed By:Alex G.,7/3/2017 10:33:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > VONNIC > Vonnic DIY Surveillance 5-in-1 XVR System 4 Channel DVR Kit w/ 4 HD 1080p TVI Security Cameras (HDD not included, Sold Separately)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Price and Great Product, easy to setup
Pros: Great Price, Great quality on Cameras, True 1080p Display and recording. NOT those 1080 Lite or 1080n.
Cons: Need to install the Hard Drive on your own.
Other Thoughts: Yes, I would definitely buy again.
Reviewed By:Tung O.,6/30/2017 6:20:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.