Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Nest > Nest Protect 2nd Gen Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm (Wired)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great replacement for CO detector.... other connected brands cant compete on ease of use.
Pros: This was easy to set up, For the wired version, replacing an existing wired smoke/CO detector was straightforward, folllowing the clear instructions.

Can alert you remotely if it sounds, which is great piece of mind when traveling.

Owned now for several months, not once false alarm. My previous CO detector cannot say the same. :)
Cons: Rated life is for 10 years -- that's how long the CO detector component will last. Note, this is typical for all CO detectors, so just keep in mind that you'll be replacing just as frequently as any other CO detector. That makes the cost of ownership slightly higher than others. Extra cost is in the value of having it connected, remote app, and the Nest eco system.
Other Thoughts: This is the most highly rated CO detector these days. I think well worth the extra expense.

Those with large houses, though, will need multiple detectors, so keep that in mind as the cost can add up.
Reviewed By:Aaron B.,10/28/2017 10:34:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > 2gig > 2gig DW20R Recessed Door Contact ETL Listed

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great price but....
Pros: Our QA team tested 25 of the 300 purchased and found that all batteries included were either too low to use as a new install or just dead. Some of the units had discoloration on the tops and not all included every piece for installation. for example, some were missing the wing tops.
Cons: All 25 of the units tested showed to be in excellent working condition.
Other Thoughts: The batteries that were in these units were all bad. The seller did however refund a portion to fix the cost of the purchase of new batteries. I am very happy with my order and the great quality customer service I received. I do recommend this seller for future purchases.
Reviewed By:Abel P.,4/18/2017 12:09:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Nest > Nest Protect 2nd Gen Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm (Battery)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, field tested!
Pros: This is my second Nest smoke alarm. I have owned the first one for almost a year now and it works great, invites you to test it every month, and most importantly it works smoothly. I got an alarm for heavy smoke while I was a continent away and before I could call my sister who was house sitting for me I got and -all clear- message. She had... burned a steak and immediately opened windows. Other than that, it is an easy installation and set-up via the app. And a soft white light at night ready to go on as you move around the dark house. As it integrates a C) alarm too, you get a two-for-one after all.
Cons: None, except that it is a little pricey. Grab with any kind of coupon, which appears hard to come around.
Reviewed By:Marco B.,2/13/2017 2:23:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > EYESIGHT TECHNOLOGIES > SingleCue Gen 2 - Gesture Control for Home Devices (TVs, Apple TV, Philips Hue & more)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great with the things I have.
Pros: I have Roku, Vizio soundbar and Xbox.
Works great with those two.
Cons: not compatible Xbox. Hope they add it quickly!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/2/2017 7:40:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > EYESIGHT TECHNOLOGIES > SingleCue Gen 2 - Gesture Control for Home Devices (TVs, Apple TV, Philips Hue & more)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love my SingleCue!
Pros: Took me a day to learn the gestures. There is a learning curve but now it’s very seamless. Love switching from my cables to Apple TV without need to switch inputs.
Cons: can't think of any at the moment...
Reviewed By:Adam L.,1/25/2017 11:18:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > D-Link > D-Link DCH-S160 mydlink Wi-Fi Water Sensor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Disappointed. Not what I was expecting.
Pros: Good build quality. You can extend the water sensor by using a simple telephone extension cable. But not much more.
Cons: This product suffers greatly from poor product design.
1) The internal alarm on this is way too quiet. My unit is next to the water heater in the basement. I can not hear the unit when it's in alarm on any other floor on the house. Need to Rely on the WI-FI email notification.
2) I was never able to get this unit connected correctly to Wi-Fi and the Smartphone app. Just simply wouldn't connect. Defeats the purpose.
3) Plugging it in takes a whole outlet due to poor design. The sensor cable comes out the top which blocks the top outlet from use. And moving the unit to the top outlet blocks the bottom one because of the large round size. So plan on dedicating a whole outlet to this one device. Terrible waste.
4) There was no sensor extension cable provided, so you'll either need to get a phone extension cord, or pray that your water hazard is right next to the outlet.

Sorry, D-Link. This is one big design disaster. And I couldn't ever get the Wi-Fi notifications to work.
I ended up putting in an el-cheapo big box store $5 water sensor.
Other Thoughts: Generally I am very fond of d-link products. They're built and work well. I guess every company has exception items. But this product is definitely a no-go. Not recommended.
Reviewed By:David H.,11/15/2016 4:56:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Smanos > Smanos L020KIT DIY Home or Dorm Burglar Alarm with 3 x Door / Window Sensor, and 1 x Remote Key Fob

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Basic alarm system does the job
Pros: - Low Price, especially when it is on sale
- Quick setup
- No monthly fees
- Relatively expandable
- Battery backup
Cons: - Basic
- Has no cellular connectivity
- Limited scheduling options
- No proximity disarm / arming
- Optional accessories can get expensive
- App loads slowly to disarm / re-arm
- Instructions can be complicated
- Should be supplemented with a video surveillance system for total security
Other Thoughts: If you need a relatively basic alarm system on the cheap, this will do the job, especially if you have a smartphone. Alerts will come in a timely manner, depending on your settings, and while you are away. Setup is almost no-brainer, but I do recommend some level of tech expertise . If you don't like reading manuals, then this setup is probably not for you.

This alarm will only detect intrusions through the door sensors or through the optional motion detectors. Since it has no cellular connectivity, it will not contact a security service center that will then call emergency services. At the very least, you don't have to pay a monthly fee.

It has battery backup, but it's kind of pointless if the rest of your network devices aren't on a battery backup as well.

I highly recommend supplementing the system with a separate video surveillance system. The reason I purchased this is because I wanted some flexibility. Sure, there are all-in-one packages, but often times they do one part well but fail in others.

Also, I don't recommend the Smanos internet cam. It seems to be tacked on accessory, and it needs to be power-cycled every month or so.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/10/2016 8:16:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > D-Link > D-Link DCH-S150 Wi-Fi Smart Motion Sensor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This did not work for me
Pros: Easy to plug in and connect to wifi.
Cons: After doing its firmware upgrade, the device could no longer communicate with the iphone app. After repeated configuration attempts, and repeated phone calls to D-Link, I return the products (as D-Link recommended).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/4/2016 7:19:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Belkin > Belkin F7C043fc WeMo Maker - Home Automation for the Tinkerer & DIY'er, Wi-Fi Enabled and WeMo App Controlled

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Wemo, or we want to know more about you
Pros: Gadgets that interact with you via wifi and have options can be fun

What you get it to do is only limited by your imagination and the various laws of physics you must continue to obey.

While pricey, it is a device that is worth the expense if it can fill a very specific need
Cons: Setup will be difficult for those not accustomed to dealing with a Wi-Fi product that needs a firmware update to operate out of the box. Similar to initially setting up range extenders and other such devices. Integration to your home system may be past the abilities of some of the population who don’t want to try to cram everything they need to know in an afternoon.

I’m telling you now..buy something else if you can’t repair a doorbell. OK?. If you want to connect your WeMo to your home HVAC system, best know the difference between a 24 volt a/c control circuit and a 240v life ender.

It’s expensive. Sure it’s flexible a plenty, but you can generally accomplish the same end result (maybe with less flash) for less than half the price. On the other side, one of those tiny fruity project computer made be programmed to do far afar more, but for specific niche projects, you cannot beat the simplicity of WeMo. I’ve tinkered in Linux, but I would feel inadequate to get the same performance-effort ratio.

The name is one of the issues leading to poor market penetration of this gizmo in my opinion. What does this WeMo Maker make? I would have named it “WeMo Utility Module” .

The price is also at the top end of allow-ability, given that you can buy a far more powerful bit of hardware for half the price.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, documentation is pretty scarce, barley there (but in ten languages). Better be handy is all I am saying. I was able to get it all set up and responding to my iphone app in less than 30 minutes and that included the firmware update.
WeMo introduced me to the IFTTT website (IF THIS Then THAT) the very DNA of all computing.


The IFTTT is a very large and diverse collection of vendors who have notification API built in to their web sites. It also supports a dedicated WeMo channel, but with a limited number of scripts submitted.

You can do a whole lot of interesting things with an account on the IFTTT web and a WeMo. Have a red light start blinking when your 401k goes down in value for example. Or a green light when the price of gold is over $1300. Know when your mailbox was opened. When your gun case or wine cellar is opened.

Typical WeMo projects involve garage doors, sprinkler systems and sump pumps. You want to know when the door is left open and you want to know when the sump pump is on and you don’t want the sprinters going on if the ground is wet from a mid morning downpour.

Maybe I’m old, but I can’t get this “be told everything I am doing, should be doing, or think about doing” thru my cell phone mantra. Sure it would be great to know if the price of lumber was reduced at a certain supported big box store, if that sort of thing was important to you, it sure would be if you were a home builder. I need disconnect time. The WeMo Maker just makes that a little more difficult.

I got excited over a script that would end up in me being able to light my driveway up like it was the zombie apocalypse IF my cellphone was in transmitting its location within 50 yards of my home AND if was past sundown. Now that’s pretty handy.

Imagination is what runs WeMo projects. A script that matches your iphone location and then takes a specific action. Send a text when the kids get home, send one of the car’s current location..imagination imagination imagination.

It could however be very useful for somebody who say had a remote cabin (with Wi-Fi of course) and wanted to start the heat up well before you arrived. With the WeMo and the IFTTT site working with scripts together your heater would be told that you were within 20 miles of the cabin and if the temperature was below say 50 degrees, to crank the heat on according to the heaters programming.

Hard to replicate that with a couple of magnetic switches and some twine. So in some regards the WeMo can be just what you need.

I redid my entire house in x10-ness ten years ago. Practically every switch in the house. In conjunction with an Omni home automation console, I was in full control of every aspect. Except integration with my phone or email. Well it handles that in case of a real alarm.

I have a couple of Wi-Fi driven smart switches and they do a good job of what they are designed to do for under $30. Unless you are experienced with electrical theory and both low and high voltage systems, know what a relay is and know what flavors they come in, you may want to look around for a HA item that specifically fills your bill.

It’s a shame that this industry didn’t come up with some common protocols, so its buyer beware, these various vendors (and there are a few now) systems do not play well together if at all. Be ready to make a commitment to a system unless you need something that will turn on your sump pump and send you an email when your basement is flooding. Can’t do that with a few microswitches and duct tape.(well maybe)

I really like the flexibility of the WeMo Maker and it fits into a unique space in the HA industry, however with due respect, the price point loses a couple of eggs for me, even though I received this as a review unit. $80 is high for this product, given those functional Wi-Fi monitored wall outlets with time protocols and good web/app support can sell for 1/3 of the price. I can suggest this product at $50/$40 better but at $80...no, UNLESS, you absolutely want to know when your doghouse goes below 50 degrees by email or the water bowl is dry.. Then the WeMo turns into the best friend of man’s best friend by emailing you when certain “doghouse:” conditions are met.

Three Eggs. Shame it’s a five egg product technically, but eggs are lost for the price point and the fact that without tutorial examples and some easy to do projects, the WeMo can be a frustration to those that don’t have a firm grasp of low-voltage electronics. Unless they start selling them two for one, they won’t be too many of them used in general home automation projects.
Reviewed By:Peter P.,8/8/2016 6:41:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Smart Sensor Alarms > Belkin > Belkin F7C043fc WeMo Maker - Home Automation for the Tinkerer & DIY'er, Wi-Fi Enabled and WeMo App Controlled

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nifty gadget for controlling things over internet
Pros: In a nutshell: this device is a basically a relay which you can control over the internet using a smartphone app, and includes a digital sensor input which allows you some basic level of IFTTT (if this then that) programmability. Overall, it is quite nifty and has a wide array of uses. So far I've only played around with basic circuits to see what I could do with it, but some ideas that I've frequently seen are things like garage door openers which can be controlled remotely and also set to send text notifications if left open (by using a sensor). It is quite simple to use but does require some basic electronics knowledge. If you're even a dabbling hobbyist that should be more than enough though, as it is quite simple.

I'll break down the different components. The relay (basically, a switch that is either open or closed) is the main method of control. This takes a maximum of 24V and 1A, and can be either toggled on or off to power or turn something off, or momentarily pulsed open or closed to simulate a button press. The sensor input is a 2.4-5V digital TTL low triggered logic input, which means it is usually at a high voltage, but when it is pulled down to ground (a lot of common sensors behave this way when triggered), the WeMo can sense that input. Finally, the whole thing is connected to your router and you can control it over the internet through a smartphone app. You can see whether or not the relay is open or closed, and whether or not the sensor input has been triggered or not. You can then control the relay, or, there is the ability to do some very basic programming. For example, using the garage door opener case, let's say you hook up a door open/close sensor to the sensor port- you can tell the WeMo to either close the door automatically at a specified time if it's open, or send you a text message telling you that it's open so you can then close it.

Overall, it does what it is supposed to and if you are somewhat handy with electronics (if you're shopping on Newegg you probably are), then you'll have no problem setting this up. I didn't encounter any confusion, although I will say this is one of those things where you should actually read the instructions instead of jumping right in, as it'll save you a lot of time.
Cons: This device is pretty obviously targeted to be beginner-friendly, and it does it's job quite well while being easy to set up. However, if you're a fairly seasoned electronics hobbyist (or in my case, professional), it's pretty clear there are quite a lot of limitations. I'll list a few considerations here:

Firstly, the sensor port is quite limited. It is digital only which means your sensor must have 2 states- on or off. No analog sensors here, and it is unreliable to use the sensor input's threshold voltage to turn an analog sensor into a digital one. This limits a lot of what you can easily hook up- for example, no analog temperature sensors, unless you build a circuit to turn the output to digital first. In addition, it is an active low sensor- which means if your digital sensor pulls high when triggered, you will need a TTL inverter to flip the signals so they make sense. Secondly, the voltage range is quite limited. If you want to run something high power you may need to do something like daisy chain this relay to another relay which can drive the higher voltage. Those are just some things you might have to think about.

Finally, the price- at around 80 bucks it is a little steep for something so simple. If you have some more advanced electronics experience, it is fairly simple and much cheaper to re-create this system using something like a Raspberry Pi or Arduino.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a good product. Best for a beginner electronics hobbyist.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/7/2016 6:30:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.