Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Careful - Not HDCP 2.2 compatible
Pros: Great receiver. Plenty of sound. Lots of options and features at the price point.
Cons: NOT HDCP 2.2 Compatible so you will find problems playing newer 4K content. Greedy Hollywood has decided to punish consumers who enjoy 4K content to upgrade their home audio and video equipment just to play newer 4K content.
http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v377_black_u/10790/8657

This is a huge problem for me but not everyone.
Other Thoughts: I would buy this again but not unless it is 2.2 compliant. The newer model is.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2017 3:09:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR-1710S 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver with Bluetooth Connectivity

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective
Pros: Excited about price and up convert HDMI
Cons: On first start cycle it died. I went from reading the manual to hooking everything up carefully to it melting down on the first power up. I was very excited to replace a 12 year old sony i have but now i am giving it one more try with a replacement hoping this was a 1 off issue.
Reviewed By:joseph h.,4/26/2017 7:41:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Entry-level receiver with quirks...
Pros: Price is reasonable, has 4K capabilities, a lot of possible sound field settings.
Cons: This receiver is a lot smaller than any other I've owned in 40 years. The cooling fan is audibly noticeable when it kicks in. The depth of the bass response from my subwoofer is not great. Using it for 5.1 sound setup, I had 1 speaker(front left) that was noticeably louder than any of the others, even when I turned the level on it down to 0...strange. Volume wise, I had to turn it up to lvl 65(out of 90) to even hear sounds decently. I prefer the beefy sound of a Pioneer receiver over this.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this receiver, spend a few more dollars and get a Pioneer or Sony.
Reviewed By:Steve P.,4/25/2017 1:16:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-531 5.1-Channel Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Its Just OK
Pros: easy to set up. several sound fields with unique qualities. setup now works in hdmi, no need for rca adapter and monitor.
Cons: No mic to setup eq for room. Bass reproduction lacking greatly compared to vsx521.
Other Thoughts: Best used in situation where a full rich sound is not needed. Price is right so I will live with it in my home theater. Klipsch front speakers Pioneer rears Pioneer powered sub and Kenwood powered sub. Neighbors 120ft away can no longer here the bass in their homes. they did with the vsx521.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/21/2017 7:57:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR-1610S 5.1 Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 fantastic
Pros: I ordered this so that I can complete my little living room surround system. I was not disappointed as some of the other reviews state "can't handle power" or whatever it's handling 4 satellite speakers and a center speaker rated for 75/85 watts respectively. It's an easy setup with the provided mic and a little know how. This is my first AVR I've ever owned so I don't know the good quality vs bad but it's working perfectly and sounds amazing out of my speakers as I had hoped. Don't listen to the other reviews just do things correctly and check compatibility.
Cons: Turns my tv on when I could easily switch the menus on the display on the AVR when I want blutooth. Price? But that's negligible given its quality and features.
Other Thoughts: I ordered a klipsch quintet 5.0 system (center + 4 satellite) and when it came in my heart sank because it had no cables. I wasn't prepared for an adventure like this but I bit the bullet and tried my best. Ordered this for my AVR bought 14 gauge wire and some banana plugs and got to work. I'm super happy with the results and my wife just shakes her head at me for being so impulsive BUT you can see in her eye she loves it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2017 6:56:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR-1710S 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver with Bluetooth Connectivity

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DONT BUY
Pros: NONE EXCEPT FEATURES
Cons: WENT INTO PERMANENT PROTECTION MODE LESS THAN A MINUTE AFTER BEING INSTALLED. ABSOLUTE TRASH. MUST BE USING DOLLAR STORE CAPACITORS FRESH OFF THE CHINESE WAGON. HARMON KARDON IS OFFICIALLY ON THE BAN LIST. USING SUB STANDARD PARTS TO CUT COSTS WHILE RIPPING OFF THE CONSUMER YET AGAIN!
Reviewed By:bryan k.,4/17/2017 5:08:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent for the Price
Pros: This replaced an Onkyo AVR that got taken out by lightning through the ethernet

Speaker balancing routine is simple to run

Performance and features are more than enough

Sound (MartinLogans) is superb
Cons: Speaker connections are weird - two sets of binding posts for the front L/R, pinch connectors for surround and center
Other Thoughts: At the price, I'd recommend this as a basic AVR
Reviewed By:Malcolm K.,4/15/2017 4:41:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V379 5.1-Channel Network AV receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great, works well handling my desktops 5.1 audio. Years and no issues so far
Pros: Easy set up and config (On the unit itself and editing sound on computer itself for 5.1 on Win 10)
YPAO (Though I've yet to use it)
Sounds great with the speakers I'm using
Sound options are fun to mess with and offer unique listening experiences (Vienna, etc)
Cons: Having a hard time getting rear speakers in a good spot to hear them well, but I know this is due to placement in the smaller room I am in.
Other Thoughts: Yamaha makes good products. Feel bad for people who got defective units but, it happens. Just need to get a replacement with a non defective unit. Mine came perfectly undamaged, no signal loss or anything yet and its been quite a few years and recently handled a move perfectly fine.

Even supports 4k with HDCP 2.2, so, if you ever get a new receiver you can use this 1 in your living room for your 4k tv with no issues.. though, I don't see why you would ever need a different 1 if you use it for what I do (to power PC surround audio).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/15/2017 8:26:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR656 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver, Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Onkyo TX-NR656 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver, Black
Pros: Lots of HDMI connections
Plenty of analog connections for me
Analog-to-HDMI up conversion (Sony and Denon are dropping this feature.)
F-Connector FM antenna connector (Not a proprietary connector like Sony.)
ATMOS decoding
Tune In Radio is great.
The menu system looks good.
Cons: Tiny remote (I like the old remotes better. I have one to use and may pick up another on a well-known auction site.)
Green display (It looks like an old cash register)
AccuEQ (Seems to be worthless to me.)
Other Thoughts: I was trying to avoid Onkyo due to their HDMI issues. I looked at Sony and Denon and they did not have the features I was looking for. Why are they dropping analog up conversion? I must be the only person with old analog devices. And I don't like the Sony radio antenna connector. I hope that saved them a lot of money.

I was reading on a forum that a person was having a problem using their new Denon receiver. They solved the problem by buying an Onkyo TX-NR656.

The AccuEQ seemed like a waste of time. I think I guessed as well as it measured. I think dropping Audessy was a bad idea.

I didn't take any eggs off for the cons because they are not worth removing any. They are following the industry like everyone else.

I found this for a good enough deal, that I bought it. My only regret is that I didn't buy something better like a 757 or a 3100, but I can take the money I saved and start a fund for my next receiver.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/14/2017 4:31:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great receiver
Pros: easy to setup
easy to navigate the menus
great sounding
extra bass helps when set to low volume
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: just wish that it had built-in bluetooth but I assume that's in higher end models. This yamaha receiver replaces an old 9 year onkyo receiver. I just wish the speaker connections for the center and surrounds were offered in banana plugs too as it makes connecting speakers simpler.
Reviewed By:trenton t.,4/13/2017 8:56:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.