Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't work
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The 4k settings put static bars across the screen. When I switched it to 720p, 1080p, etc. the static went away.

Samsung customer service told me to just keep it on 1080p, since that solved the problem, lol...
Reviewed By:Justin T.,1/12/2017 2:37:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product!
Pros: -Loads Blu-Ray discs fast!!
-Nice choices e.g. apps, access to files, wi-fi, auto-updates
-Quiet function...no loud churning sounds
Cons: -Remote is too small for me
-Lacks Audio/Video bitrate values in Info
Reviewed By:DAVID F.,1/2/2017 11:23:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No Cables inside to connect device.
Pros: I can't submit this without a comment in this area so... it looks okay
Cons: I was Very disappointed that there was no way to connect the player to anything.
I bought this as a present so I either pass the problem on to the gift receiver or I have to go out and buy one.
This was purchased mainly for Netflix and DVDs. I have a Samsung TV and DVD plyer of my own.
Which had there own disappointments including the ability to the surf the internet but no ability to play flash content.
I mean really !!. Anyway I don't think I will be buying anything Samsung again.
I would like to comment on playback etc. but I can't I have to wait until I can get and HDMI cable.
Other Thoughts: I don't think I would recommend this to anyone because in keeping with modern corporate policies they pass off as much cost to the users as possible .Ever heard of plug and play ? Next time I will try to shop smarter. Shame on me for not paying closer attention.
Reviewed By:KEVIN L.,12/26/2016 10:08:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does a perfect job
Pros: I bought this DVD player as a complement to my LG OLED TV. I am mainly interested in its 3D capability. The first movie I tried was "Life of PI" in 3D and I am absolutely impressed!
The installation is simple - just connect power and an HDMI cable. The TV screen interface is very nice. Many people seem to consider the remote control too small, but I think it is just right and very nicely laid out.
It can interface with the TV controls ("anynet?") so when I turn the DVD player ON, the TV turns ON also, when I turn the TV OFF, the DVD turns OFF with it.
Cons: The only thing I would improve is the cheap plastic cover of the front USB port. It does not snap in and tends to stay partially open, No big deal, though. I think I will just remove it.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this product. And the price is right!
Reviewed By:George J.,12/26/2016 6:07:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice
Pros: Works well.Just switched over to all 4K.Updated itself the first time I turned it on.Will be great when more 4K video becomes available.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/25/2016 8:09:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-J5700 Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bottom of the line offering from Samsung.
Pros: Cheap...Cheap...Cheap...
Cons: Keep in mind this device is non-refundable under Neweggs return policy. NewEgg will replace but not refund. The device has absolutely no power indicators or display. There is no way to tell whether it is off or on!!!!! Out of the box I powered it on and the first thing I did was apply firmware updates and reset the device to factory defaults. It never did stream Netflix correctly and then I had problems turning it off and on. Hence, the lack of any power indicators. I feel that Samsung has really let me down with this product. If you're going take a chance on budget player like this you may as well buy it from someone that will give you a refund if it doesn't work out.
Other Thoughts: I think the only reason Samsung leaves out the LCD display is so they can goad the public into purchasing their higher end players. Therefore paying for many features you don't need or probably won't even use.
Reviewed By:michael m.,12/21/2016 7:09:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-J5900 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer Beware!
Pros: Everything is great on Day 1 with Samsung, but...
Cons: Unfortunately, Samsung doesn't update their security software as Blue-Rays change to remain secure (copy protection). So, you will be forced to replace this unit when the Blu-Rays move to a new security standard. The discs will start skipping and stopping randomly. Then, you will start researching. If you're a good researcher, you will come to the same conclusion I have...F Samsung!
Other Thoughts: These usually work fine out of the box. If you get a new player every year, this should be great.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/28/2016 7:22:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BDJ6300 Blu-ray Player with Wi-Fi

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Hit or Miss
Pros: This was to replace an older Sony unit. It is primarily used for streaming and is much faster than the old one. Menus don't hang and when you push a button on the remote the player reacts almost instantly.
Cons: The first unit would randomly reset in the middle of movies or while streaming so newegg was great and sent a replacement. The second unit only locks up and resets occasionally while streaming (probably a memory issue). I expected better quality from 2 of the top brands of electronics but I guess quality isn't a thing anymore.
I personally like the Sony menu better.
Reviewed By:Stephen H.,11/7/2016 6:14:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > SONY BDP-S5500 3D Blu-Ray Player with Wi-Fi

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Plays disks really well, blu ray looks perfect on my Sony Bravia 55 inch. Dvd upscaling lacks a bit, but not a deal breaker.
Cons: Video streaming apps do not work properly. Netflix loads but stutters. Prime video loads but is pixelated. Hulu loads but will not play any videos, goes to a black screen. This is my deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: My playstation 4 works perfectly hooked up to the same wires. I also tried wired internet, to no effect. I am hoping it is just a memory issue with this unit, as it is just what I wanted otherwise. I am trying a replacement, but if it does the same, I will ask for a refund.
Reviewed By:michele t.,10/30/2016 2:06:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good player, good features
Pros: Works well, very happy with 4K playback. Setup was relatively easy with caveats. Once I got it setup it is pretty great.
Cons: Had to plug the player directly into the TV to get it setup. Wouldn't work initially through my Pioneer SC-95. Was a major pain with my wall mounted set. Thank goodness I had 2 cables run from the TV through the wall. Once I had it go through the initial setup, plugged it back into the Pioneer and all was well.
Other Thoughts: I set it up to pass all audio directly through to the receiver instead of allowing it to decode the stream. It supports the major audio formats but the receiver supports more. The X-Men UHD Bluray ATMOS sounded great.
Reviewed By:Douglas D.,10/5/2016 9:06:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.