Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1 USB Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Integrated Microphone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great sound card, not so great drivers
Pros: - Plug and play
- Great sound quality
- SB Omni Control Panel adds additional tweaks to make any setup sound amazing
Cons: - Some settings do not stick when your computer is rebooted. This gets pretty annoying, pretty quickly.
-- So far, setting you speakers/headphones to 5.1 and disabling one or two of the optional speakers (center and rear in my case) will automatically be re-enabled upon reboot.
-- As this causes a not-ideal sound quality (since I do not have those speakers plugged in), I have to re-disable those speakers each time my computer is rebooted.
Other Thoughts: - Sound through speakers and headphones is plug and play with Linux as well, however you may have a tougher time getting the on board mic to function as expected (usually not found with out manual tweaking).
Reviewed By:Robert V.,1/12/2017 8:54:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 - 5.1-Channel Sound Card with PCI-Interface

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: I can't tell the difference between the sound this produces and the sound my much more expensive Sound Blaster card produces
Excellent price (about 10 bucks when I bought it)
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Wish it had a connector for connecting front panel jack cable to (not a con, just a wish).
As of writing this, both the Rosewill website and the C-Media website have drivers for this card. I don't know which driver is better ... I just extracted them both into a single folder and let Windows pick the one it liked best.
Chip markings:
CMI8738/PCI-6ch-LX
R3MR1.04-1435-GS
UGG1DHZ
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 8:13:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS XONAR DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1
Pros: Works as advertised. Running both Windows 10 and Linux Mint 18.
Cons: Nothing at this point
Reviewed By:William H.,1/10/2017 6:19:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worthless Drivers for a Microphone and Recording!
Pros: Good audio playback for MP3's and such.
Cons: They can't even make a good driver for Windows 7. What kind of numb-skulls do they have making the drivers? They should be FIRED.
In the recording tab, "Stereo Mix" or "What U hear" is NON-EXISTENT.
I tried several different microphones, but the red microphone jack doesn't even work.
Why is it even there at all if you can't use it? You have to use the Line-In!
Numerous bugs. Can't get it record any sound the PC plays. Worthless drivers! I can't even tell you how frustrated I am.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this for playback only. If you need to use a microphone or record anything, DO NOT get this sound card.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/9/2017 8:39:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great product for your money
Pros: clear sound if running car amps like me. i'm running two for 5.1 on board sucked always kicking out and skipping making noise at low output, best pro is this fix all my problems whit sound will always stand you guy's know second on i got in 7 years same company just as great. tell you the truth you came i really all way from that external one i had
Cons: will never take points away for this drivers having problems whit software but that's anything you buy works sounds great
Reviewed By:brian b.,1/8/2017 1:25:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked until I swapped motherboards
Pros: The Crystalizer was nice.
Didn't randomly kill SPDIF out like my previous creative soundcard
Cons: Crashes on driver installation on new motherboard
Causes the PC to hang whenever I reboot/shut down/hibernate. Power supply and lights keep running, have to force shutdown every time.
The problem was intermittent and I went through hours worth of troubleshooting thinking it couldn't possibly be a sound card that was screwing things up so badly.
Other Thoughts: The issue is dating back to 2015, so there's no hope in getting this fixed. I tried everything including reinstalling my operating system and getting a new power supply when I thought the problem was the PSU. Buyer beware.
Reviewed By:ERID W.,1/8/2017 2:52:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS ESSENCE STX II 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Hi-Fi Quality Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Sound
Pros: The sound through this card is incredible. Those that say a modern day mobo provides similar sound in comparison are completely misguided. I owned the original STX and find this version is on par. I only replaced it because my Gigabyte GA-Z170x-SOC Force did not have a PCI slot.
Cons: The price is hard to swallow.
Other Thoughts: Simply the best PC sound card out there.
Reviewed By:Terry T.,1/6/2017 10:26:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Sennheiser Electronic corp. > Sennheiser GSX 1000 Audio Amplifier for PC and Mac

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Build quality is great, however the 7.1 audio is not as immersing as you would hope.
Pros: - Solid feel
- Setup was easy (in windows)
- Clean display, however you will first need to read the user manual to understand what the icons represent
Cons: - Directional audio is ok in BF1, maybe this can be improved over updates in BF1 or in firmware for the GSX
Other Thoughts: I bought this for BF1, pairing it with my Sennheiser HD 598’s. While you do get a better sense of directional audio, don’t expect it to be leaps and bounds better over the directional audio built into most, well optimized games. Yes, I can tell there is gunfire coming from a distance, however the soundstage is not enough to tell precisely where it is coming from, you can just tell its not from your location. I have messed around with the settings for the GSX1000 and within BF1, however I am still waiting to have this ‘oh my G**!’ moment. At this point, I don’t think I could recommend the GSX1000 for directional audio, unless you have the cash to burn.
Reviewed By:Andrew J.,1/3/2017 9:22:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Woah
Pros: Will be MILES Better than your motherboard's onboard audio
SBX truly isn't a marketing gimmic, it sounds great, whether or not you're using it for surround sound, headphones or stereo.
Easy to install
Cons: Card's control panel UI could be a little less confusing, not very well put together, it took me a good half hour of finnicking around to see how it worked.
Switching between applications or having more than one application running audio could sometimes make the card fussy, sometimes i have to switch back and forth between playback devices in windows to get things to work. (This could be system, it likes to switch to my HDMI audio on my video card at random)
Reviewed By:Noel H.,12/29/2016 9:09:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Sennheiser Electronic corp. > Sennheiser GSX 1000 Audio Amplifier for PC and Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: Bought right after I got the Seinheisser game zero headset and this is absolutely a must have. Been playing the division on pc and the 7.1 surround is excellent. I know exactly what direction my enemy is without looking at my map.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/25/2016 10:18:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.