Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-5O2U USB3.0 7 - Ports Desktop PCI - Express Card with VL800 & VL812 USB 3.0 Controller

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work.
Pros: Discounted item and was cheap, but was not worth it anyway.
Cons: Drivers from disc do not install. Updated drivers downloaded from the manufacturer's website cannot detect the hardware. I even connected a molex directly from my PSU and still doesn't work.
Other Thoughts: I do not recommend this product even if there were a few who got it to work. Don't take the gamble and get something that actually works.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/18/2017 7:08:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-505 - 2-Port USB 3.0 PCI Express Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Killed my hub and drives
Pros: -It worked for a while.
-attractive matte black soldermask on the PCB.
Cons: -only two ports
-not great speed, never got over 100 MB/s with any single or multiple HDD. A VIA chipset card that replaced this gets over 200 MB/s speeds (single drive >170 MB/s, multiple drives >200 MB/s).
-no apparent UAS (USB attached SCSI) support
-Eventually a power supply chip on the board (the one above "Made in China" in the photos) died, going short circuit, sending 12 V instead of 5 V into the USB ports. Anything USB bus powered then promptly fried. Lost a really nice hub and a 2 TB external HDD.
Other Thoughts: Even when it worked, it wasn't great, delivering less than stellar performance. When it died it took out other much more expensive devices with it.
Reviewed By:Aaron B.,1/18/2017 5:54:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 External 2-port, 19-pin Header PCI-e Card,IDE Power Feed, Low Profile Bracket Bundled Model SY-PEX20140

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Its just ok
Pros: It is cheap board if it works is fast. is not hard to setup.
Cons: I bought more than 6 of them I have to return 2 of them some times recognize the usb3 and you hear the ding in your computer but is not showing the device ( because it's cheap) sometimes works and sometimes don't if you lucky works then works good and fast.Good luck
Other Thoughts: Most usb3 boards don't have external blue socket for your front panel but this one has external ports and usb3 socket.
Reviewed By:Fred M.,1/17/2017 11:29:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO Monster USB 3.0 PCI - Express Card with 5 Rear USB 3.0 Ports and 1x Internal USB 3.0 20-PIN Connector Controller Adapter Card (PVU3-502I)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Ports all technically work.
Pros: Some extra USB 3.0 ports.
Cons: They are so close together that you cannot use all of the ports at once.
Other Thoughts: I should have bough a 4 port card.. this is basically a 3 port card since everything is so jammed together.
Reviewed By:John S.,1/17/2017 2:29:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > Vantec 4 Channel 6-Port SATA 6 Gb/s PCIe RAID Host Card Model UGT-ST644R with HyperDuo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice SATA HDD card - lots of options
Pros: This was super simple to install. No hassles. AHCI works fine, and getting 300MB/sec transfers with my SSD.

This can operate up to 4 drives, but has 6 port available to configure what you want.

This would be a good HBA for a FreeNAS system.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Please read the description carefully. It can only operate 4 ports, but has 6 optional ports available - 4 internal and 2 external. I don't think it is cool to ding the vendor when you did not read the information.

I will be getting another one of these.
Reviewed By:Charles M.,1/15/2017 1:34:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 External 2-port, 19-pin Header PCI-e Card,IDE Power Feed, Low Profile Bracket Bundled Model SY-PEX20140

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Devices reset after about 1-2 GB of transferring
Does NOT like to have more than 1 device hooked at a time
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this particular card
Reviewed By:Jonathan F.,1/15/2017 1:19:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-508 USB 3.0 PCI-E Express Card with 4 USB 3.0 Ports, Speed Up to 5.0 Gbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Doesn't work with Oculus Touch sensors
Pros: -It works with everything else, including the Oculus Rift headset
Cons: -Oculus Touch sensors don't work for some reason, getting the "incompatible USB port" message within Oculus Home. that's the only reason it gets 2 eggs off. Sorry, but software compatibility is part of my review score...

-. I tried every fix recommended, no luck. Stuck using my USB 2.0 ports which work fine with the sensors. Just wish I could give my second sensor a little boost with 3.0 since I am using 18ft of usb cables..
Reviewed By:Blake E.,1/14/2017 12:35:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech PEXUSB3S44V 4 Port Quad Bus PCI Express (PCIe) SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter with UASP - SATA/LP4 Power - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Almost great
Pros: 4 independent USB 3.0 ports. Low-profile bracket included for those who need it. SATA or molex power.
Cons: Didn't fit properly without filing down my case. The USB ports were not fully exposed. UASP doesn't work on Windows 7. At first it would not recognize my USB hub as a 3.0 hub. Installing it on another port forced re-installation of the driver and then it worked.
Other Thoughts: This is a 4x pci-e card. If you don't have a 4x slot you can use a 16x slot but if you only have two 16x slots and the other slot contains a gfx card it could force the gfx card into 8x mode. Luckily I have 3 16x slots and putting the card in the last 16x slot did not affect my pci-e lanes dedicated to my gfx card like putting it into slot 2 did.
Reviewed By:Christopher S.,1/14/2017 9:49:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 2-port of 1394b + 1-port of 1394a Firewire Ports PCI-Express Controller Card (SY-PEX30016)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked for a month
Pros: - I guess it isn't very expensive.
Cons: - couldn't handle having two things plugged in at the same time.
- died a month after first installed.
Other Thoughts: Stopped working. I thought this one that had the best reviews would be alright but apparently not. Terrible Q&A and getting it to work in Windows 10 is a coin toss.
Reviewed By:Ed L.,1/13/2017 7:45:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 PCI-e x1 2.0 Card with 2 External ports and internal 19 Pin USB 3.0 Header Model SD-PEX20139

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No complaints. Works like a charm.
Pros: Plugged it in and it works! Windows 10 found the drivers as soon as I booted up.
Cons: Didn't jump out of the box and install itself.
Other Thoughts: If you need USB 3.0 (both internal an external) you really can't go wrong with this card provided you have an open PCIe x1 slot.
Reviewed By:Richard D.,1/13/2017 10:02:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.