Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-205K KVM Switch with Integrated Cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: DOA
Cons: DOA
Reviewed By:MARK P.,6/20/2017 6:03:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Syba > SYBA SY-KVM20108 4-Port USB DVI KVM Switch with Speaker, Microphone, Printer and Thumb Drive Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 1st KVM I bought that REALLY works!
Pros: I have tried KVMs before all the way back to the Windows 95 era and none of them ever worked completely right. I bought a much cheaper one recently that started showing problems past the 30 day RMA limit. Except for one time I had to reset this one that I will cover in the cons, it has worked flawlessly. The hot key function is great. I could have just stuck it out of sight, but thanks to the rubber end caps I was able mount it to the side of the waterbed without damaging it. I simply used long deck screws, 2 underneath and 2 on each side for it to rest in. The extra USB inputs are a real plus. I have 3 keyboard/mouse combos plugged in. I prefer the mouse from one, another as my main keyboard and another set for a remote screen. There is still one port open for my printer. Unlike my previous KVM, this one will work with my keyboards that are not fully USB 2 compliant. I like the DVI video ports. HDMI can be so touchy, glitching at the slightest movement. If you need to connect to HDMI you can always use an adapter or a combo cable. There is plenty of space between connectors. If you need VGA this unit will support it with an adapter. I have not tried the audio ports so I cannot comment on that. My other KVM said that it supported speakers and microphones, but since there was only one 3.5mm port on each channel I guess that was either/or. This KVM has both.
Cons: Once I noticed that the green LEDs were not changing ports even though everything was still working. I made the mistake of unplugging the AC adapter and and plugging back in. It would then only see one machine and the rest were no signal. I had to hard kill 3 machines. After plugging the adapter back in I restarted the machines and there has been no problem for a couple of weeks now. Save the hassle of an needless RMA. Shut down all machines BEFORE powering the KVM back up.
The hot key function only works on the port with the keyboard symbol.
Ii wish there could have been a cheaper option to buy it without cables. I have it 20 feet from the machines so they are no use to me. Thanks to the defective KVM that I guess I will just pitch, I now have 8 sets of cords that I will never need.
It was no problem for me, but the cord for the AC adapter is very short. If you are using a UPC you will probably need an extension cord. If you have an outage this unit WILL NOT work without power. I already had an extension nearby for my audio amp. What is the point of giving you 6 feet cables when the adapter is about 2?
One machine takes a couple seconds to come up. It is probably because of the graphics card. The others switch instantly.
Other Thoughts: I am mainly using Ubuntu with 3 desktops. This OS is already buggy about losing your display settings. It was a problem just about every time switching back to it. I found a simple solution. I put a splitter on the main monitor and connected one output to an unused input with a separate cord. This way Linux still sees the same monitor all the time. Otherwise it is like disconnecting it when you switch to another machine. Only one of my OFFLINE Windows 7 and 8 machines (Windows 10? no thanks!) has a second desktop and there has been no problem with it.
Reviewed By:John S.,6/15/2017 8:00:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS62 MiniView Micro PS/2 KVM Switch with Cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well almost all the time
Pros: Scroll lock key to swap is a good choice.
Small, reliable, inexpensive
Cons: I do have ONE machine that decides to switch resolution then back when it gets switched to on one of these switches, haven't figured out if it's a Windows issue (likely) or an issue with that switch.
Other Thoughts: I wish IOGear made a VGA + 2x USB version of this switch, their 2-port VGA+USB options either don't have keyboard-controlled switching, or are too fancy with audio support I have no use for at too high a cost.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR. The problem you are describing with resolution changes would be corrected with a KVM that supports Dynasync or EDID support, the GCS62 does not have this feature. IOGEAR make a KVM to support almost all needs. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/13/2017 11:30:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22U 2-Port USB KVM Switch with Cables and Remote

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works
Pros: Switches 2 computers like it's supposed to.
Inexpensive
Small
Cons: No ability to switch from keyboard, unlike EVERY OTHER KVM switch I've ever used.
The attached "button" works OK, but it's so lightweight it doesn't stay put unless you use double-sided tape to stick it in place.
It would actually make more sense to put the "switch" button on the KVM itself for many folks.
Other Thoughts: I won't be buying more of these, but it does work as advertised.
Just don't expect the ability to switch from keyboard.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR. The GCS22U is a non emulated KVM. It does not have hot key switching . The GCS22U is a low cost KVM that was designed to be used without hot key switching. The GCS632U has built in emulation for hot key switching. IOGEAR make a KVM to suite almost all needs. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/13/2017 10:43:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231USB 2 Port Professional USB KVM Switch Kit with Cable

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine with 2 Win 10 systems
Pros: I have this switch hooked up to 2 Win10 Asus motherboard systems. 98% of the time it switched between systems with in 1-2 seconds no issues at all.
Cons: On a rare occasion, it won't connect to the system I'm trying to switch to, but all I have to do is switch back to the original system and then back to the system I was switching to and it connects 100% of the time.
Other Thoughts: Have had the device installed for about 4 months.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/12/2017 1:45:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DPDDUA2 2-Port DisplayPort Dual-Monitor KVM Switch - 4K 60Hz

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works will on Displayport 4k monitors with some concerns around USB
Pros: Easily switch between two computers that use dual 4K displayport monitors.
Cons: USB for the keyboard/mouse doesn't always switch well. Cannot decide if it is the USB Hub that doesn't get detected quick enough by the OS (I am switching between Windows & MacBook) or if it is the device. Still beware you may need to disconnect/reconnect the connection to the computer in order for your device to be found.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/11/2017 1:13:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DPUA 2 Port Professional USB DisplayPort KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Allows Me to share a monitor, keyboard, audio, & video between two computers.
Cons: A little pricey
Reviewed By:James M.,6/5/2017 4:42:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1722 2 Port VGA KVM Switch w/ PS2 & USB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works for VGA
Pros: Sturdy box and has ports for a PS/2 or USB connection.
Cons: Another customer said cables were 4' and manufacturer said approximately 4' mine were 3' and about 2' too short. One computer had DVI and the other was VGA. I put a DVI/VGA adapter and that did not work the screen was fuzzy. Moved it to another 2 computer setup with both VGA adapters and the video was fine the 3' cables are still an issue but workable, there is no play in cable at all. It does not say in the product description and I didn't see the review that the other customer posted on the cable length. I just don't understand why you would not give 6' cables.
Other Thoughts: It arrived with no power supply upon reading the manual it said it was not needed. Box is powered by the USB. With is one less plug and cable. Don't purchase if you need to use a DVI/VGA adapter on either computer. I would give it 5 stars if the cables were longer.
Reviewed By:James A.,5/27/2017 5:46:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS932UB 2-Port USB DVI KVM with Audio and Mic.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked as expected
Pros: It was easy to set up. Worked right the first time and the remote switch is great. The video looks good from both machines.
Cons: None - works great
Other Thoughts: I read other reveiws and wireless was iffy. I had some wireless mice and wired mice, but wanted a great wired mouse. I ordered the best Logitech wired mouse on this site and I had a new Microsoft wired keyboard that I bought on sale years ago. I have two other switches that work fine, but I have to use a series of key strokes to switch them. Sometimes they switch and sometimes not. This one switches right away, no question. One machine is running XP and the other is running Win 10 64. Both are gaming machines, one for older games and the other for newer ones. If I want to play a little Diablo or and old flight sim I can, then hit the switch and I am playing Skyrim, Witcher 3 or Doom without moving out of my chair.
Reviewed By:William E.,5/26/2017 10:09:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Coboc > Coboc KVM-4DVIUA 4-Ports 4K2K USB/DVI-D KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio &Mic -Dual-Link DVI 3840 x 2160

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great product for the price!
Pros: It switches my 4K monitor, USB and audio between my 2 computers. That way give me 2 spare ports for future use. Very few KVM switches will do 4K. This one doesn't does a good job especially for the price.
Cons: It needs rubber feet on the bottom since the bottom screws are exposed.
Other Thoughts: When switching between the units it definitely tells the computer that the monitor was removed. So when it switches back it tells the software it just found a 4K monitor. In other words the board does switch 4K but some of the applications are left in 800x600 mode if the graphics card does not support going back to 4K mode. I noticed that a lot of the applications were left in 800x600 mode with my Nvidia FX 1800 graphics card. But with my FX 3800 graphics card it switched back no problem. This may be a problem for some people but was not for me since I'm using my FX 3800.
Reviewed By:Russ C.,5/25/2017 11:26:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.