Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Tango Uniform at 2 years old...
Pros: Nice little drive. Fits perfectly in my older Dell Latitude E4310. Installed with no trouble.
Cons: Well, it's starting to throw SMART errors. Specifically, it has far exceeded the "reallocated sector" count. I noticed I was getting some data corruption. It hasn't actually mechanically failed, but it's coming here shortly. I guess I'm going to get to experience the RMA process here shortly.
Other Thoughts: I will probably purchase a different manufacturers drive to replace this. 2 years is only about 1/2 the life you should get out of a spinning platter disc. Unfortunately SSD prices have shot up, so I'll likely be stuck with another mechanical disc.
Reviewed By:Dennis P.,1/17/2017 1:44:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 750GB Performance Mobile Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 2.5 Inch - WD7500BPKX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD Black 750GB Performance Mobile Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM
Pros: It's fast - 7200prm
it's silent.
it's working
Cons: no
Reviewed By:Alexander V.,1/17/2017 10:21:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar Z7K500 HTS725050A7E630 (0J26005) 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well THUS FAR.
Pros: Replaced a still functioning Seagate Momentus 120 GB, 5400 RPM drive on Acer Aspire 5315 laptop with a Celeron 560 , 3 GBs RAM, Windows 8.1 64 bit, AVG Antivrus. Quicker boot up times, seems to multi task a little better. Vendor packaged it well. Ill give it five eggs if it still runs as well under normal use in 12 months.
Cons: A little skeptical of this hard drive's reliability and longevity based on some of the reviews but still purchased based on very good price point and specs. Only time will tell if there are a few bad apples in this product line or if it is in fact a pile of garbage.
Reviewed By:Jason M.,1/16/2017 8:15:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > Seagate Samsung Spinpoint M8 ST1000LM024 (HN-M101MBB/EX2) 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed After 2 years
Pros: None
Cons: Failed after 2 years, horrible drive
Reviewed By:Jason G.,1/14/2017 11:20:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FireCuda Gaming SSHD 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Notebooks / Laptops Internal Hard Drive ST1000LX015

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 "Meh" drive.
Pros: - 1TB is a generous amount of space still.
- Does accelerate performance of games you play all of the time.
- Uses less power the more you play the same game.
- Generous 5 year warranty
- Cheap (only $69.99 at the time of this writing)
- Temps. are cool even under use
-
Cons: - For data you're not frequently accessing, it's still slow.
- Reason for the above is that the spindle speed is a low 5400RPM
- At the price you pay for this SSD, you can get a decent 256GB SSD.
Other Thoughts: So it's marketed as a gaming drive. I guess it fits the bill as long as you play one game at a time. How the cache works is the drive's controller will pickup on the data / games you play frequently and store the most accessed / used data in its cache to "speed" things up. If you play the same game / one game at a time, the drive performs beautifully. If you like to switch games out and play multiple games throughout the day, you'll notice the drive's slow 5400RPM speed and won't get much advantage from that 8GB of flash.

If the drive is destined for your video game console and you tend to play one game at a time (from start to finish), this drive is ok.
Reviewed By:MICHAEL T.,1/14/2017 10:34:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 500GB Performance Laptop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 32MB Cache 2.5" - WD5000LPLX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 500 GB HDD
Pros: Working as advertised. I bought this 5 months ago when my old internal backup drive finally died.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Alexander B.,1/14/2017 9:57:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST2000LM007 2TB 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't Work
Pros: I have a new paperweight.
Cons: Arrived about as normal as any other product. I bought it so I could expand the storage of my Xbox One, but it wouldn't read. All it did was make a beeping sound every second or two. I tried it in two different enclosures, and it still just beeped at me. I don't think I'll be buying another from Seagate.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/13/2017 1:15:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 500GB BarraCuda 5400 RPM 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Internal Hard Drive ST500LM030

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works well if your computer supports it
Pros: Fairly fast performance when working properly
Cons: Does not work with a number of older laptops
Other Thoughts: This was bought to replace a failed drive in an HP laptop. Win7 refused to install (IO error on expanding files during install) despite the drive being recognized and partitioning and formatting withou error. A test with Seatools found no errors or faults. Testing the drive in a second laptop found it completely unrecognized. On a third, newer laptop it was recognized and performed properly, with impressive Crystal Disk Mark performance numbers for a 5400RPM drive. An update to the HP's BIOS allowed Windows to run but performance was dreadfully slow, with sequential write at a mere 1.5MB/s. On the newer laptop, as well as 2 desktops that were used for testing comparison, sequential writes ranged from 100-160MB/s. So steer clear if purchasing for an older PC.
Reviewed By:Terry T.,1/13/2017 8:24:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FireCuda Gaming SSHD 500GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Notebooks / Laptops Internal Hard Drive ST500LX025

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: DOA
Other Thoughts: I installed the Seagate ST500LX025 in my Acer laptop. I then attempted to restore from optical discs I made
and have used before the Acer to it's original factory fresh state. The restore failed with a cyclic
redundancy error. I tried again with the same result. OK, maybe the disks went bad, it happens. I have other
Acer restoration disks that I have also used before. I met with the same cyclic redundancy error.
BIOS confirmed that there was a HD drive in the laptop. My next scheme was to install an OS from DVD.
That failed with the notice that their was no drive to install an OS to. Finally, I used a USB to SATA
adapter just to see what's up. This connection allowed me to hear the drive which produced spindle noise and squeaks. Windows reported all the drivers had been installed yet the drive never appeared in explorer. While using Windows Disk Management to inspect - the app froze til I unplugged the Seagate ST500LX025.

No recommendation from me.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Jan,

We apologize for the problems experienced with your 500GB FireCuda Gaming drive. We would like the opportunity to talk with you to find an available solution.

A support case (#08504318) has been created that will reference your review and our response. Please contact us directly using the following link:

http://support2.seagate.com/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:jan p.,1/12/2017 4:39:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST1000LM014 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Eggcellent PS4 upgrade.
Pros: OS much snappier, game loads and installations quicker.
Cons: Only 1TB. Doesn't explain to girlfriend how awesome it really is in language she understands.
Reviewed By:Kevin K.,1/12/2017 10:07:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.