Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > Oki Data > Okilan 6020e Ext Psvr Rohs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What we needed!
Pros: We were having problems with pur Okidata 320Turbo connecting to 3 computers besides the one it was directly connected to. Was told by a freind this is what we needed. Part came in quick enough, plugged everything up, remapped all the computers and BINGO. We can all print.
Cons: great
Reviewed By:Janet T.,12/16/2016 11:10:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1 Port USB Wireless N Network Print Server with 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port - 802.11 b/g/n - Wireless USB 2.0 Print Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Limited Wireless Capabilities
Pros: Decent build
Cons: The unit I received did not support any wireless encryption beyond WEP, There were no options for WPA-PSK aes or tkip, or virtually any of the newer wireless encryption options. I tried configuring the unit from it's web interface, but even that was pretty limited, It didn't seem to function at all in chrome and didn't give me any options to change anything, Looked more like a status page than anything else.
Other Thoughts: I suspect the chipset was updated to support Wireless N, but Wireless N isn't useful when you have to compromise and use WEP encryption.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Kris,

Thanks for sharing your review. What operating system are you using?

When using the software that is bundled with the product, you will have the open to select WPA/WP2 encryption.

I would suggest trying that route, and failing that, please contact our support team but visiting http://www.startech.com/support.

Thank you,

Barry
Customer Support

Reviewed By:Kris W.,11/16/2016 1:25:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PS110P Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked but not without problems
Pros: Was able to use my rock solid HP 6MP with computers that no longer have parallel ports
Once set up it worked pretty flawlessly
Cheap solution
Cons: Not very long cable. Printer had to be right next to router
Instructions are confusing. Newegg advert directs user to web site for updated driver but then you can't figure out which model to use easily.
Smart Installer not recommended so you have to understand network addressing to use properly. Not too hard but wouldn't want to be a neophyte (probably not an issue if you are still using parallel port equipment).
Was able to get this working with computers but never did with tablets, etc. May be my fault. Did have to re-install a number of times over its lifetime.
Other Thoughts: I lost this device due to a power surge. It being the first to go and possibly acting as a failsafe could be considered a Pro.

Considered this a good solution and still do for the price.
Reviewed By:Bruce S.,11/4/2016 7:11:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Beware of lazy Iogear support.
Pros: I was eventually able to get it to work on my Windows 7 & 10 clients (see Cons), with my Epson Stylus NX415. Has worked great on those clients.
Cons: In order to get it to work in Windows, I had to manually change the "Use Printer Offline" setting. (Open your print queue. In the Printer menu, uncheck Use Printer Offline.) Prior to doing this, the printer would not print and showed up under Devices & Printers as being offline.
When I went to set it up on my Mac, however, I followed the instructions provided in the manual but got a similar issue. Here, the Epson software reports a communication failure. Based on the experience from getting it to work with Windows clients, I suspect the cause is the same. Unfortunately, I can't find where to check that in OSX 10.5, and despite the Iogear rep I chatted with admitting that could be the issue, the final response was "we don't troubleshoot computers". Seriously? Going through and figuring out exactly what is causing your company's product to not function correctly is, literally, your job!
Other Thoughts: The issue encountered with setting change to make things work in Windows is technically tied to the printer driver (though not necessary when connected directly to the printer as designed). Nonetheless, it would be good if future versions of the Iogear software checked for this, and/or documentation were updated to mention it.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR. What you are posting is misleading. This call was reviewed. The Rep you worked with even logged onto an older MAC to help with your problem. It is not IOGEARS job to help troubleshoot your computer or Printer however we make every effort to correct the problem. The rep verified the GPSU21 was working and the problem was with your printer. It is standard for most printers to default to be used offline. 10.5 is an older Mac operating system. IOGEAR cannot check and test every OS with every Printer. Print drivers and settings can be specific to the printer used. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/8/2016 11:54:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21W6 1-Port USB 2.0 Print Server - Multi-Language Version RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's ok... needs new FW
Pros: - It does its job
Cons: - Not the most reliable solution
- Old firmware, with no updates available
Other Thoughts: Got this for a HP P2015 USB printer. Going though a Windows Server 2008 R2 spooler service, and from Windows 7 clients. It works for the most part but occasionally a print job will not print. We have to delete the print job and try again. At times, the second attempt fails as well, as if the job is somehow getting corrupt. Eventually we are able to get the job to print. This has occurred maybe 15 times or so in a couple hundred print jobs sent. So it has become enough of an issue to be a burden. I will now be looking for another print server as this one isn't reliable for our needs.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. The problem described is not usually related to the print server. It usually ahs to do with the Print driver itself or your network setting. The GPUS21 is a very basic high selling low failure device. Since this is a basic print server it does not support Bi- directional communication. There are no firmware updates however all of the new units shipped have the latest firmware. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Michael G.,8/4/2016 1:48:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent if you know what you're doing
Pros: I was able to get this up and running on Windows 10 and OSX in less than 10 minutes using the print server's web interface. If you know what you're doing, this is a great value.
Cons: None. This thing is great.
Other Thoughts: If you don't know what you're doing (be honest with yourself) I'm not sure if you'll get it working. I did not use the included CD.
Reviewed By:Alan B.,7/14/2016 11:46:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PS110P Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Replaced 11 year old Netgear Print Servers
Pros: When we have to print, we use 2 old HP 6P printers that were on old Netgear PS's. They finally died.
Newegg got the TP PS here pronto. Price was right,
Seems to do what it advertises. Set up required changing the subnet. Did not use the included SW.
Went to TPLink's site and downloaded the SW from there. Followed the installation instructions.
All computers in the residence can use the old reliable HP lasers again.
Happy Camper here!
Cons: None, so far.
Reviewed By:Russell H.,5/19/2016 6:12:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > D-Link > D-Link DP-301P+ Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel Port with Centronics connector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still great after all these years
Pros: Small size. Doesn't overheat like some other pocket printservers I've tried. Browser-based configuration page, so no need to install special software. Plugs directly into printer's centronics port, so no need to find extra room for this on some table or shelf.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: It's been 2 years since the last review of this product, so thought I'd "bump" this to show it's still relevant. This is the 4th DP-301P+ I've installed in the last 10 years, so the product has been around a long time. They've all been rock-solid reliable.

This is ideal for extending the life of old parallel port printers (in my most recent case, a HP Lasertjet 4200 that's still going strong) with modern computers that don't have parallel ports anymore. As an added bonus, every computer on your network can now use the printer and not just the one it's plugged into. Additionally, making it a network printer means its location is no longer restricted by the length of a parallel port cable.

I've also installed a handful of DP-311P printservers, the 301's wireless cousin, in environments where running a CAT5 cable isn't convenient. The 311's have also been reliable, though when it's practical I still prefer the stability of a wired network connection.

Tip: to avoid problems with computers losing the printer, some people will set the printserver from DHCP to a static IP address. But that can cause hassles if/when you later move the printserver to another network, so I recommend leaving it configured for DHCP and using your router instead to reserve a fixed IP address for the printerserver.

Warning: printservers don't always work with multifunction printers. It depends on the printer, but typically the print function works fine but scanning may not work.
Reviewed By:Dan G.,5/16/2016 2:29:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PS110P Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TL-PS110P
Pros: Works with my HP LaserJet 5l printer.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Works with win98, winXP and win7x64 using the HP LaserJet 3050 PCL5 driver. Used the telnet interface to set it up; didn't bother with the included CD-ROM. Great little device to keep a legacy printer going.
Reviewed By:Gregory N.,2/9/2016 4:52:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > LevelOne > LevelOne FPS-1032 Mini Print Server with 1 USB 2.0 Port

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great, a little tricky to setup
Pros: Works great once configured.
Cons: If your default LAN segment is not 192.168.0.XXX then there is some pain in setting it up.
Other Thoughts: I used this device for a client to turn some USB Zebra label printers into networked printers. The devices default ip address of 192.168.0.10 will not work on my clients two different LAN segments. And the FPS setup utility would not install on Win10 or work correctly for me on Win7. I needed to assign static IPs. So I went into Network Settings, change adapter settings and for my wired adapter added an Alternate configuration for my internet protocal version 4 properties. Set the alternate static IP to 192.168.0.100. Then disconnect my laptop from my net work and directly connected to the FPS device. Waited for the alternate config to take effect (a min or two) then used browser to go to http://192.168.0.10 You can then use the devices web server to assign a static IP. Then reboot the FPS and put it onto the network. Reconnect your PC to the network. Then for any PC on the network you can setup the printer by doing a "add a new printer" and using a standard TCP/IP port.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey L.,1/26/2016 2:03:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.