Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive WDBACX0010BBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, and at a good price
Pros: -1TB at a decent cost
Cons: -None yet!
Other Thoughts: - will return to edit review if I get any issues
Reviewed By:Justin P.,1/17/2017 7:50:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works But I Don't Trust It
Pros: The drive has lots of space and is reasonably fast. The drive also comes with a USB cable and it has a small footprint on my desk. In other words, it is a small drive that comes with the hardware you need to install it, reads/writes fast enough, and stores lots and lots of data. On the surface a great drive, please see cons for the whole story.
Cons: The drive has two big cons.

First, it makes very loud clunking noises and the clunking creates vibration. In fact, the clunking creates vibrations so strong that they make my keyboard keys vibrate. My keyboard is located about 18 inches from the drive. I am using the drive with Plex Media Server to stream my video collection to my TV. The drive clunks continuously through each video file that Plex is streaming.

Secondly, the drive makes so much noise and vibration that I am worried about how long the drive is going to last. When you combine that worry with only a 1 year warranty you can understand my concern. I do not trust this drive to last very long.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this drive to others. I give it 3 stars because so far it is working.
I do not trust this drive to be a secure backup device. I am going to have to buy another 8TB drive from a different manufacturer soon in order to backup this drive so I can be confident that I am not going to lose my data.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,1/17/2017 2:41:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation Axis 2TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive HD-LB2.0TU2-R Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CANT BELIVE THIS THING STILL RUNS
Pros: I bought refurbished for great price back in march of 2012.

I'm writing this review in january of 2017.
this thing has been plugged in the whole time.
like, i use my computer 4-5 hours a day at least.
and it has slowed down, but absolutely no issues reading/writing to this thing after five years of hard use and it was refurb.
Cons: its not USB 3.1?
ha that's about it.
Other Thoughts: highly recommend.
Reviewed By:joshua o.,1/17/2017 10:22:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT5000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Fast, easy to use, died less than a year after purchase.
Pros: Fast, easy to install, lots of space to back up to
Cons: Died in less than 9 months, replaced under warranty. Does not support SMART diagnostics
Other Thoughts: If this is your main choice for a backup, check monthly for bad sectors.
Reviewed By:Daniel U.,1/16/2017 7:58:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Is not bus powered - but otherwise everything is great.
Pros: This has been my main drive for my Windows 10 machine for over a month.
Everything works.
Cons: It does need its own power supply. But that's better than limiting its speed or capacity.
Reviewed By:Caitlin B.,1/16/2017 8:42:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation Axis Velocity 1TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive HD-LX1.0TU3 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good desktop drive
Pros: - It taught me that I need to update my usb driver. I realized I had gone into my Device Manager and deleted a few usb drivers that I thought were device drivers. I went to my PC Manufacturers support site and got the intel usb 3.0 driver and that blue light on the front of the drive lit up, indicating that itself was operating at super speed.
- Pretty fast for USB connection. Just transferred my 350 GB movie library to it in about 35 minutes.
- This drive is definitely capable of handling data from creative software as the main drive handles the tasking. This will work great handling samples and patches for my music software.
- easy to install, and included software is recommended to install to ensure peak performance. The included software gives you much more details about your data transfer than standard OS copy function.
Cons: - sturdy unit so far, it does seem kinda "plastic". So recommending keeping it in a place out of the way. it is a desktop drive so it should be used accordingly...not the most portable thing. This drive will stay at home. My flash drive will be it's cloud.
- a longer power cord would be nice.
Reviewed By:Christopher R.,1/15/2017 10:47:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Okay storage
Pros: Lots of space of course!
Great price when I bought it
When I first recieved it and hooked up to my Asus 99fx pro MB the usb 3.0 transfer was slow. After checking the Asus site I found the problem there was a recent update for the usb driver. Transfer speed is dramatically faster now, as fast if not faster than some of my other regular sata drives.
Cons: Proprietary drive end connector, sorry I don't like those
Runs a bit warm at idle. It runs in tolerance for a hard drive (has been increased throughout industry) but I am in the cooler is better club and it definitely factors into the lifespan of a drive, the case really should be better designed for better air circulation.
Writing small chunks of data can be on the slow side for many drives, but seems even slower for this one. I use for photo and video storage primarily and photo transfer can be slow the files are usually around 25mb in size. Large video files go Much faster.
Slow transfer of small chunks is not unique by any means to many hard drives and It's not a huge issue (for me anyway), just something to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: I don't know all the specifics on how data is stored on this but it is really designed just for storage, not for a main boot drive etc.
That is why this particular drive is used as external storage drive.
My main reason for buying this was the price, it was cheaper than a regular sata drive but with the added benefit of usb 3.0 interface that I can easily use with any drive.
Also I have always had good luck with Seagate drives, have a couple over 10 years old that still run fine.
I removed it from the case easily without destroying and put it in the bottom of my ATX Tower, since I really did just want it for permanent storage a non issue for me. It went from running idle in the low to mid 40c range to running in the low 30c range, even with heavy use stays cool. Maybe for some that defeats the purpose of an external drive (and of course voids that lovely 1 year warranty) but I can easily put it back in the case if I need to move it, or even hook it up to another computer easily enough with just the cable.
Cheaper than buying an interface card.
So overall a good drive I would have no problem recommending. And as with all my other Seagate drives I am sure it will develop no problems.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/14/2017 5:11:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT5000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drive failed without much use.
Pros: None.
Cons: ***Update 2017*** The drive did work for some time sitting on my desk and I hoped it was just a fluke that it had a problem right after I got it. After all that, it has finally failed. I cannot access the files and can't even run a CHKDSK on it. Screw this.

It failed today. I cannot get it to connect through USB. Shows up in device manager but can't access any of the drive data or volume info. Very frustrating since now it's just a brick that cost $160. I usually considered Seagate a good company, but this drive sucks.
Stick with smaller drives I guess.
Reviewed By:Michael K.,1/12/2017 8:54:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Xbox One storage.
Pros: Good price
Lots of storage
Smaller than I thought
Cons: Makes a very little bit of noise
Other Thoughts: Obviously, it's a mechanical drive. So it's not as fast as a solid state drive, but it's quick enough to use as an add-on drive for my Xbox One.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/11/2017 9:02:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very erratic and get VERY Hot in its case. 8TB review
Pros: $$/GB
Cons: Noisy, bad case design leading to heat death, Slow and errtic read/write speed
Other Thoughts: Ok so the reason everyone lokks at these are that the $$/GB is the best for these drives. I have used the older designed expansion cases of 5TB and they were MUCH better. The new case itself is just plastic with holes on TWO sides (older case had a aluminium sheet around the drive which acted a heat sink with holes at bottom as well which worked great to keep them cool). When copying 3.5TB the drive died due to heat which was above 50C (I placed in a zip lock bag and put it in Freezer and it revived). Even when working I was getting randomn speed spikes after 2-3 minutes of copying which is very odd. I had two drives and both showed the same symptom.
I finally copied 3.5TB to one drive but it just died with a week. In panic, I opened it up (void warranty but I needed my data back as I had deleted my old drive data) and placed it into Freezer again and it started up again and managed to recover in 2 days! slow copying speed for reading but it was the erratic at best. I am now using one as a internal drive (only fot backup after 1 week) and one as a backup to a NAS (in case but with a small fan on it when I was making the first backup as this heats up fast).

Please spend some money and buy a good NAS or Desktop drive . This Archive drives were good before (my 5TB one is still going awesome) but the 8TB one is just a bad drive which will kill your data and with 8TB it will make you be sorry for trying to save $40.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2017 6:39:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.