Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 4TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Big Drive!
Pros: - 4TB!
-Decent transfer speeds
-$100
Cons: - Non unless there is a 4TB SSD for $100 out there
Other Thoughts: Recommend this drive to anyone who knows what a terabyte is and uses their computer for more than just Word. I am a photographer and 3D artist so when shooting raw you need space to keep all the images. This drive is great. Using Windows 10 and everything works great! Very happy
Reviewed By:Kerry B.,5/21/2017 7:45:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible (short) warranty for such a large storage device
Pros: Has a ton of capacity.
Cons: The warranty is way too short for a device that you are going to entrust with tons of your data. The only reason a manufacturer puts such a short warranty on a storage device like this is if they are having way too many failures, because they don't want to service them for longer. If the device is reliable, they don't have to service many either and can still give a decent warranty. No wonder there are so many negative comments about the reliability, the super short warranty is a big tipoff!
Other Thoughts: If the company doesn't trust their own device enough to give a decent warranty (for a huge device like this that will hopefully last a long time, I'd expect at least 3 years, not 1!), then I can't trust it to keep my data safe. I used to love Seagate and buy tons of their drives, but they have gone down hill fast the past several years.
Reviewed By:EVAN H.,5/20/2017 12:00:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WD Quality
Pros: It is a Western Digital
Cons: A few things seem to bother me about this design
Lack of venting, no power/activity LED, and the out of box formatting of exFAT
I have always purchased WD drives, but I will try to find last years model
News flash to engineers, people like power/activity lights, I wish the laptop industry would understand that also
It is inexpensive to add and moronic not to have
Reviewed By:Ronald R.,5/19/2017 5:34:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Kind of a let down
Pros: - Decent physical size
- Quiet & cool (so far)
Cons: - No on/off switch (Gah, I want an external with a switch!)
- My biggest complaint is that it's advertised as "8TB" but there's only 7.27TB available. I've owned 4 other externals in the past so I realize it's not uncommon for there to be a discrepancy. But c'mon...nearly 3/4 of a TB!? I feel cheated. That much space missing warrants advertising this as 7TB & not 8.
Reviewed By:Damon O.,5/15/2017 4:48:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good External Drive
Pros: see other
Cons: see other
Other Thoughts: I received this product yesterday, and it arrived pretty fast. It was well-packaged. My OS is Windows 7. It was literally plug-and-play to get it up and running.

I ran Crystal Disk Mark to test the speed. Here are the results.
SeqQ31T1
Read: 196.5 MB/s, Write: 196.6
4kQ32T1
Read: 0.620, Write: 1.356
Seq
Read: 196.3, Write 196.5
4K
Read: 0.584, Write: 1.254

I copied 372 GB of data from this external hard drive to an internal SATA III hard drive, and it finished in 39 minutes. So, real-world testing yields about 158 MB/s to write.

As long as this hard drive doesn't break anytime soon, this review remains 5 eggs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/11/2017 11:11:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive so far
Pros: Easy to set up and install, good price for the size.
Reasonably fast read/write times for USB 3.
Hasn't shown any signs of failure after two weeks.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/9/2017 6:07:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Hard Drives - Desktop External WDBFJK0020HBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable WD Quality and great price
Pros: Lots of storage, USB 3 and a great price for a refurbished HDD
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Alexandre C.,5/8/2017 7:13:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works with XP now
Pros: This is an update to an earlier review that said I was having difficulty because this model no longer supports Windows XP. The package indicated that XP was not supported, but I had not checked for that because my other My Book drives all had provided XP support. The symptom was that the My Book would show up in Device Manager as malfunctioning because it didn't have a driver and would not be assigned a drive letter. Because of the assistance provided by the WD representative (pasted in below), I have been able to follow the instructions provided and reformatted the drive to NTFS with the tool from the WD support site. Once this was done, Windows found the drive, Windows Update asked for permission to search for a driver. It found a driver, loaded it and now it is functioning normally on XP as well as 8.1. This model drive comes with exFAT rather than NTFS and even though I had exFAT support installed on XP, it couldn't read a 4TB drive in exFAT. So, even though it says there is no XP support, you can reformat and make it connect.

I have purchased 5 of these My Book drives over the last few years. A couple of 2Tb, a 3Tb and a couple of 4Tb. This latest one is a 4 Tb. 4 of the 5 are still working. I have a number of computers that I back up with these drives. The Acronis WD works well for backup and restore. I have used it to disaster restore a failed hard drive-very effective. I can't answer if all of the bundled software will run on XP, but the Acronis WD that I have been using with XP still works fine.
Cons: No issues any longer.
Other Thoughts: I have a couple of machines that still have Windows XP to run old software while disconnected from the internet. I know it's not supported by Microsoft any longer, but by keeping them disconnected from networks, the risk is low and they still work great for running a few old programs that aren't compatible or optimized for use with newer operating systems.

By the way, my oldest 2 Tb drive did fail some time back. The internal electronics that connected the USB port failed after a few years, but I was able to open the My Book enclosure, remove the hard drive and place it in another enclosure (from Newegg). That allowed me to save the data. The WD hard drive itself is actually still working, just in a regular external hard drive enclosure.

Finally, many thanks to the WD manufacturer's representative who provided the instructions below. I had searched extensively on my own for a solution without success. I didn't pursue it further because the specifications were rather specific.

One note about the instructions. It says to select the XP compatibility option, but when I used the tool, it did not provide me with that choice. It just did not have a selection. However, I went ahead anyway and when the tool finished its work, the drive was able to connect.


Manufacturer Response:
Hi there Daniel.

We thank you for your interest in the WD My Book and for taking the time to share your experience.

The WD My Book has been designed considering the latest advancements in performance and reliability. These advancements include drivers, USB protocols, and firmware optimizations more in tune with the behavior of modern operating systems. The hard drive is factory-formatted as exFAT for cross-platform compatibility across modern versions of Mac and Windows, which may not be compatible with Windows XP.

Based off the information provided, the reported issue appears related to Microsoft Windows XP. Microsoft ended support for Windows XP SP3 on April 8, 2014. Please know Windows XP does not support partitions larger than 2TB along with the ExFAT file system. It's best to reformat the drive with our WD Quick Formatter and use the XP compatibility option. Please follow the link below for more information.

"How to format external drives using WD Quick Formatter in Windows or Mac": https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=3868

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or doubts related to optimizing your hard drive for Microsoft Windows 7, 8, or 10. We have created a case number for you and our support agents would be glad to assist.

Case Number: 050117-11999430
Need Help? Please contact us at 1 (800) 275-4932
Reviewed By:Daniel C.,5/7/2017 4:39:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best price per TB HDD I have owned yet.
Pros: 8TB for only $175 shipped, and I got it in two days with standard shipping.
Cons: Short warranty. The internal version of this drive has a three year warranty but (at the time of writing this) costs $75 more.
Other Thoughts: I actually wanted an internal 8TB drive but $175 for this vs. $250 for the desktop bare drive (which is the exact same drive) swayed me. Until the warranty runs out I'll use it as an external strictly for back up. I copied 500GB of FLAC files and 4.5TB of blu-ray rips and averaged 170 MB/s. Not bad for a 5980 RPM USB3 HDD. Temperature never got above 50, though obviously it will stay much cooler once it is inside my case (I have two 120mm fans blowing air in front of the hard drive bays). As others have said it can get a bit noisy when writing.

I have had much better luck with Seagate drives vs. WD so hopefully my luck will continue with this drive.
Reviewed By:Patick L.,5/7/2017 7:21:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 4TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL4000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 good external hard drive
Pros: has usb in the front good size does what it needs to do
Cons: Runs hot no fan and there is vent holes but most of them are fake. I ended up opening mine and taking the hard drive out and i put it in my computer so it would stay cool. For me this is a win for me anyway because i was looking at $170 for a 4tb internal hard drive and i got this external on sale for $99 so i saved my self $70
Other Thoughts: Just a note I have had a hard drive go bad do to heat before. Having vent holes on a external hard is very key to getting that heat out! but having fake venting holes made no sense to me
Reviewed By:Andrew S.,5/5/2017 8:21:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.