Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Lenovo > Lenovo Black ACLEDS433710U ThinkPad Mini Dock Series 3 4337-10U / No Key / No Adaptor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent product.
Pros: Works ok, not a total waste of $15.
Cons: External monitor hookup is a little shakey, if you hit the laptop the wrong way it looses the connection and the external monitor kicks off.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/7/2017 12:40:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Microsoft > Microsoft Surface Dock PF3-00005

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Excelent!!
Cons: nothing
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/5/2017 5:20:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Lenovo > Lenovo Black ACLEDS433710U ThinkPad Mini Dock Series 3 4337-10U / No Key / No Adaptor

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lenovo Black ACLEDS433710U ThinkPad Mini Dock Series 3 4337-10U
Pros: Mine arrived in very good condition. I have noticed the USB ports on the notebook do not transfer files correctly. I used the docks ports with no problem.
Cons: Not USB 3.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this dock to my friends. It is $15, why should it look new?
Reviewed By:William K.,6/20/2017 9:01:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Hewlett-Packard > HP ELITE USB C DOCKING STATION US

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Works with everything except HP laptops
Pros: -small
-easy to set up
-sticky rubber base so it doesn't slide everywhere
Cons: -It doesn't work with HP ProBook 450 G4, which it was said to be compatible with
-does not charge laptop
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/15/2017 8:54:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > SUNIX > SUNIX C0V50PB USB -C Portable Mini Dock with USB 3.0 / Ethernet / VGA / HDMI

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay Away - Blue Screen
Pros: This product causes intermittent blue screens when used with Windows 10 - likely due to the play in the USB C connector. I have moved on to the port replicator provided by HP. I can't believe anyone would carry this item given that issue.
Cons: Bad connector that causes blue screens.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/13/2017 8:45:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > STARTECH > StarTech TB3DKDPMAW Thunderbolt 3 Dock - 4K - Laptop Docking Station - Thunderbolt to USB-C / USB 3.0 / Gb Ethernet - Mac / Windows

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sounds Great, but Compatibility Issues
Pros: - Solid build
- Long power cord
- Small enough to place between two monitors
Cons: - Comes with a really short Thunderbolt 3 cable, so get a longer one if you want this further than a foot or so from your TB3 port on your computer.
- Not many USB ports, but hubs are fairly low cost. Not the worst
- Wording on number of TB3 ports should mention quite clearly one MUST be used for the connection to the computer, so there is really only one usable. Advertising as two with fine print stating as such is not good enough. It makes sense, but I felt it meant two in addition to the one needed to connect the dock to the system.
Other Thoughts: I did quite a bit of research and landed on this docking station. Overall, I do not object the choice objectively. However, you should confirm explicit support for your system to avoid what I went through.

I got the first one (yes, there were multiples), and like a kid at Christmas I ran to my Alienware 13 R3 and plugged it all in. The displays turned on - success! However, that is all that worked. I heard the "new device plugged in" sound, enabled the TB3 device, and everything seemed alright. However, the USB ports and audio out jack refused to work. I tried a number of things before getting on chat with StarTech. The guy I worked with definitely knew is stuff. At one point, we needed to restart my computer, and he had me call him so we could continue our conversation. But after many driver installations and updates, he labeled my device dead-on-arrival. Womp-womp.

So, I sent it back to NewEgg for a replacement. It came, I ran to hook it up, the displays came on, and the light on my mouse came on! Success for real this time! Except then the light on my mouse went off. I thought maybe the computer just needed restarted after driver installations, so I restarted. Once again, displays and mouse came on. I started moving the mouse, and it moved around the screen perfectly, but then it stopped. The light on the mouse had gone out again. I checked my device manager for errors, and sure enough there were some for the same pieces of hardware. The ethernet showed the same error, but the USB 3 controller had a different error this time. Working with my StarTech guy, he determined this one was defective as well, and suggested maybe NewEgg got a bad batch. So, I sent this one back to StarTech directly, and my guy sent me one that he personally tested. Finally, a working one.

Except, it did not work. Same errors and behavior as number two. I contacted my StarTech guy one last time. I asked if he had tested it on the same type of system as mine, and he had not specifically tested it for mine. Thus, we determined it was likely not compatible. My guy said he would test it with the Alienware 15 they had in the office, but my excitement was pretty well shot at that point. Whatever the results, it was clear it was not going to work for me. StarTech gave me a letter to give to NewEgg that let me get a refund even after the window had closed, and NewEgg honored it.

Overall, I still think the hardware is solid, and StarTech's support was exceptional. Even though the dock did not work for me, I have no regrets. If you find this is indeed compatible with your system, definitely try it. But, make sure it is before you get it. It will save you a lot of time. My laptop is Windows 10 and certified Thunderbolt 3, so there should be no issues by their compatibility advertising.

Three eggs for misleading TB3 port information and false compatibility claims.
Reviewed By:CYLE D.,6/12/2017 4:37:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GTD732 Thunderbolt 2 KVM / Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The GTD732 is a 5 star product
Pros: Engineering design is first class, as is the vendor.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: My mistake, upon ordering it, was my assumption that displayport = thunderbolt. That it tested out on the Mac Pro side is sufficient to reveal that the GTD732 meets all published specifications. Unfortunately, for me (I found out the hard way), a custom built Windows Box with displayport, lacked Thunderbolt on both motherboard and graphics card. The caveat is, that you, the buyer, must thoroughly understand the difference between ordinary displayport and thunderbolt-displayport. When you purchase a Windows or Linux box, you should insist that Thunderbolt capability be included.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2017 7:08:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > DELL > DELL 9R7XN Alienware Graphics Amplifier

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 PEOPLE THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT WHEN CONSIDERING GRAPHICS CARDS
Pros: 1) Great solution that's modular. Max out your Alienware laptop and you have a desktop replacement
2) It will take a GTX 1080 SC and the TI
3) The Power supply although weak at 430 watts however; pushes my EVGA GTX 1080 with no problems. It can be replaced too
Cons: THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PART.. The video card must NOT be higher than the bracket that holds it in the bay. It should be level with the top of the card so the case can be closed. I purchased the MSI GeForce GTX 1060 6gb and top of the card rose about a 1/2 " over the bracket thus preventing the case from being closed. I realized that others must have come across this problem so let this be a warning. To better understand what I'm saying here; compare the MSI GeForce GTX 1060 and my card the EVGA GeForce GTX 1080. The top of the 1060 sits a bit higher than the bracket. The 1080 is flush with the bracket.. THIS WILL HELP YOU AVOID RETURNS to New Egg, Remember they don't have a return policy on GPU's. You can only get an exchange
Reviewed By:Ernest S.,5/24/2017 9:59:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Acer America > Acer NP.DCK11.01C Docking Station - ( Usb-C ) - 135 Watt - Us - For Chromebook 15, Switch Alpha 12

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 The Dock Might be OK, but the Computer is Missing USB-C Alt DP Mode
Pros: - The USB ports work
- The network port works, once you get it set up
Cons: - The dock cannot be powered from the notebook's USB-C port, or vice-versa
- The USB-C cable is short and has very long strain reliefs, making the cable stick out the side of the computer precariously
- The firmware needed to be updated before the network port would work with Windows 10. It took a lot of digging since the Acer web site made the update hard to find
- Requires USB-C Alt DP Mode for the HDMI and DisplayPort interfaces (check that your computer is compatible!)
Other Thoughts: - The dock is connected to an new Acer Notebook, but the notebook does not support USB-C Alt DP Mode, so the HDMI and DisplayPort interfaces are non-functional. The Acer sales documentation does not identify or clarify this in any way. Acer Tech Support does not seem to understand what Alt DP Mode is, so they are of no help.
Reviewed By:Mark N.,5/1/2017 6:42:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Lenovo > Lenovo Black ACLEDS433710U ThinkPad Mini Dock Series 3 4337-10U / No Key / No Adaptor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Would think "Refurbished" means it was actually tested with a product?
Pros: Looks great! Barely any scratches / dings / dents, clean.
Cons: Not sure how this is refurbished, unless their refurbishing is just cleaning.
Dock doesn't actually dock.
Everything lines up, triggers and switches trigger and switch, but the bottom plate does not go down to allow the dock port to mate with the laptop itself. Clearly wasn't tested with an actual laptop.
Other Thoughts: Not sure why they couldn't test them. I ordered 3 and they all seem to have the same problem (one slightly less than others, but none of them are "docking" properly). Almost as if they were "locked" in the open position (but the key lock shows them in unlocked position). Didn't need these right away (purchased for our internal "stock), so unfortunately I discovered the issues a few days too late to return them. Ridiculously disappointed - I have over 70 of these in the company now that I manage and we've only ever had this happen to one dock that was thrown across the room by a disgruntled employee. How we managed to get 3 in a row with this issue, and to have no support from NewEgg, is a real turn off of buying Refurbished from NewEgg in the future.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2017 2:52:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.