Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > Sabrent > Sabrent SBT-UPPC USB 2.0 TO PRINTER CONVERTER CABLE (6 FT) CENTRONICS (36-PIN)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WORKS WITH WIN 10 HOME 64bit OS - HP LaserJet 6P
Pros: Driverless installation - just plug in and install *
Cons: None but software setup under Windows should be done in specific manner
Other Thoughts: Some negative reviews cite that that it doesn't work under the older HP LaserJet series printers. I took the gamble and won using the HP Stream 14 laptop. I do believe the problem for not working with others is improper setup. You should be connected to the internet as I waited for some time for Win10 to connect to Windows Update to find the HP LaserJet 6P driver (the driver database is quite large to download and refresh). The method of install was to enable the Parallel Port of the printer to point to the right USB0 or USB1 port. One way is to just let Windows partially install the USB cable adapter driver and go to device manager. Look for the LaserJet Printer icon that shows up as other device after doing a full scan - update it's driver via Windows Update. After that the printer should come up under the Printer and Device section in Control Panel. Did test print and I was jumping for joy. I'm quite certain this would work for older LaserJet 5P printers too.

Eventually this USB - Parallel port adapter will be in long term use when docking stations no longer support parallel port. In fact newer drop dock stations and silly USB-C docks don't have a parallel port.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/19/2017 1:02:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite Model U206-006-R 6 ft. 6 ft USB to Parallel Printer Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked great
Pros: Before this, I thought I would have to discard the printer (an HP laserjet 4plus).
Now it is printing again. Worth every penny that I paid.
Cons: There was no cons, It worked as advertised.
Other Thoughts: I Recommend this project to others who have a printer with a parallel port that they wish to keep using.
Reviewed By:Edward R.,4/17/2017 8:25:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > Sabrent > Sabrent SBT-UPPC USB 2.0 TO PRINTER CONVERTER CABLE (6 FT) CENTRONICS (36-PIN)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Windows 10 and old HP LJ4000
Pros: Hardest part of the installation was opening the plastic packaging. Just plugged it into the computer, then connected it to the printer. Windows10 automatically recognized the printer on a USB virtual port. All I had to do was select the printer as the default and it was ready to use.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Rick S.,9/30/2016 11:22:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > Coboc > Coboc Model EA-USB-1284-BL 4.9 ft. Black USB to IEEE 1284(Bi-Directional) 36 Pin CN36M Printer(parallel) Adapter Converter Cable Female to Male

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Easy conversion from parallel printer cable to USB.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Gary S.,6/12/2016 5:40:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > STARTECH > StarTech 6 ft USB to Parallel Printer Adapter - M/M

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works - enough said
Pros: Arrived quickly, connected it, now our HP4050T is USB connected
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Mark R.,3/7/2016 11:29:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > STARTECH > StarTech 6 ft USB to Parallel Printer Adapter - M/M

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product Easy to set up
Pros: Simply plug and play. Win 10 picked the cable up and installed drivers. once the drivers were in Win 10 recognized my HP Laser jet 4 printer.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend for those who still love using legacy printers.
Reviewed By:Howard H.,2/21/2016 11:30:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Model TU-P1284 USB to Parallel 1284 Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: It works. Connected my old HP LaserJet 6P to my new PC, which only accepts USB. Just make sure you plug it into a USB 2.0 port.
Cons: No cons. I didn't plug it into the correct port. Once I did, Win10 recognized the printer, loaded the driver and it printed.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Dwain C.,2/18/2016 1:14:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > Cables To Go > C2G/Cables To Go 03020 10 ft. Db25m to Db9f Null Modem Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great on CNC machinery.
Pros: Allows me to move programs on and off our older CNC machine's. Having the null modem built in save's me form carrying around more things in the shop.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Carolyn J.,2/1/2016 5:46:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Model TU-P1284 USB to Parallel 1284 Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Teamwork.. have what you need when you need it!
Pros: You have to like it when, for less than $15 bucks (including shipping), I was able to keep my old receipt printer ($300) after buying a new computer. The machines of today no longer come with LPT ports, and this devise made that possible. My hat goes off to both, Newegg and Antonline for having this workaround and getting it to me quickly (and affordabally)
Cons: Looked, but couldn't find any..
Other Thoughts: Yes.. when you need it, you've got to have it!
Reviewed By:Robert M.,1/6/2016 6:41:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Printer (Parallel) Cables > Cables To Go > C2G Model 16899 6 ft 6ft USB to DB25 IEEE-1284 Parallel Printer Adapter Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't connect to Parallel Printer
Pros: It has a solid plastic one piece cover rather than the cheap two piece design that seems to be looking for an excuse to separate.
Cons: Look more closely at the photos than I did, this female plug doesn't connect to a parallel printer. For that you may want the slightly more expensive C2G 22429 6ft USB Serial DB25 Adapter Cable. I rated my tech knowledge lower than it is because I failed to study the photo.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/15/2015 10:15:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.