Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 11 G5 (X9U01UT#ABA) Chromebook Intel Celeron N3060 (1.60 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB eMMC 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works for me
Pros: This is my first Chromebook. It seems to work well for my purposes. It is convenient for checking and clearing e-mail, looking at my accounts online, googling info while watching the evening news. The 11.6" display is just right for a small laptop. I discovered that it did not need an antivirus program. Apparently the Chrome OS is inherently coded for antivirus. "On a Chromebook, each web page and application runs in a restricted environment called a "sandbox." If the Chromebook is directed to an infected page, it can’t affect the other tabs or apps on the computer, or anything else on the machine. The threat is contained." That was a plus.

It has some weight for its' size. Seems to be well constructed. I like it. It's an HP, I like HP.
Cons: No cons yet. This is a review of functionality not durability or longevity. Barely had a week. Hope it lasts longer than my tablet (five years, on/off button failed).
Other Thoughts: I have already recommended this Chromebook. I was lucky to get a good sale price at the time at Newegg. I would purchase it again but as time goes on technology changes and five years down the road HP and Chromebook will have something that's improved.
Reviewed By:Michael G.,5/23/2017 9:35:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS Chromebook C301SA-DS02 13.3 Inch (Intel Quad-Core Celeron, 4 GB, 16 GB eMMC, Metallic Grey)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Web Browsing and email
Pros: Fast. Well built. Easy to use.
Good value.
1080p Screen
Cons: its not windows... :)
Other Thoughts: Good alternative for an elderly person to use for web and email. Not as hackable and simpler.
Reviewed By:D C.,5/19/2017 5:12:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Pavilion 15-ab100 15-ab153nr 15.6" Notebook - AMD A-Series A10-8700P Quad-core (4 Core) 1.80 GHz - 8 GB DDR3L SDRAM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This PC not supported by windows 10 currently
Pros: Had a good CPU until windows decided to ditch the support for it, ran fine up until a few months ago when windows decided to do creators update.
Cons: Finicky Hardware makes it very hard to install Linux and Windows 10 says on forums it may be another few months before they work out the issues with the creators update. Overall was a great valued PC but its useless on Windows and almost impossible to install Linux on do to Non-free firmware for the lan card.
Other Thoughts: Don't buy this as of now, 7 months ago it was a great bargain. I bought mine through school which it was $699.00 but that was basically just leasing it as now I am stuck with a box that boots up to an unusable OS, Linux can't use that right now, Windows 10 it's fine if you don't mind a blue screen every three hours or a red screen if it's at the three hour mark under a graphics load.
Reviewed By:Michael C.,5/17/2017 8:52:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-131-C3KD Chromebook Intel Celeron N2840 (2.16 GHz) 2 GB DDR3L Memory 16 GB Flash 11.6" Chrome OS (Manufacturer Recertified)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Can't tell it from a new one.
Pros: I just got one of these from here and can't tell the difference between it and a new one. It's in perfect condition.
Cons: None that I have found yet!
Other Thoughts: Yes I recommend it - depending on what you intend to do with it. It's not a full-blown laptop after all. Yea, I would buy it again.
Reviewed By:Art K.,5/17/2017 7:46:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB5-132T-C8ZW 2-in-1 Chromebook Intel Celeron N3060 (1.60 GHz) 4 GB Memory 16 GB eMMC 11.6" Touchscreen Chrome OS (Manufacturer Recertified)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for what it is
Pros: 4 GB ram
USB-3
Touchscreen
Cheap/Replaceable
Logs in using GSuite
Good Battery life
Cons: No camera
Other Thoughts: We use these to leave at customer sites for data entry when we are there. If they get lost/stolen/broken they were not expensive. We only need access to web based apps, so that makes them perfect for our use. The touchscreen is a huge bonus as we have lot's of checkboxes that make it easy to use a touchscreen vs a trackpad.

Using Google Docs, there is no local storage of data which makes it idea for leaving somewhere. All the data is up in the cloud, and relatively secure.

This is a Chromebook. It will never be a replacement for a Windows system, but it is dead simple to use, and there is very little maintenance to them. I love the fact that it logs in using our Google email for the company. It's like having active directory everywhere.

I would love to start using the the chrome management extensions, but I still feel like it is overpriced. If we get more than 20 of these things I may have to consider it though.
Reviewed By:Gary B.,5/12/2017 7:41:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB5-312T-K5X4 Chromebook MTK M8173C (2.10 GHz) 4 GB LPDDR3 Memory 32 GB Flash 13.3" Touchscreen Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Even cheaper than when I got it 2 months ago refurbished # $275
Pros: - Touch screen
- Can flip it like a tablet
- Decent size
Cons: - No stylus
- No keyboard backlighting
Reviewed By:Zachary V.,5/7/2017 7:32:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300 Chromebook C300SA Compact 13.3 Inch (Intel Celeron, 4 GB, 16 GB eMMC, Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good touchpad but poor keyboard and poor display
Pros: The touchpad is very good and responsive. The Chrome OS gestures are almost as good as a Macbook.
The charger is compact.
Both chromebook and charger are very light.
Cons: The keyboard feels bad and sometimes a keystroke doesn't register.
The display has bad viewing angles depending on the ambient light.
The bottom is too slippery for holding in your hands. I fixed it with grip tape in the areas I touch.
Reviewed By:Bruce W.,5/7/2017 4:20:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP NE5-1198 C Grade Chromebook 11 Samsung Exynos 5250 (1.70 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Grade C "Refurbished"
Pros: - It arrived
- Has some functionality
Cons: - Good chance of having a deal breaking issue
- Broken Charging Port!
- Sent with a cheap charger
Other Thoughts: If you buy this chromebook at 75$, you will have to spend at least 15$ for a working charger since they ship with a low power charger and at least another 30$ if you cant fix the loose charging port on your own. So at this point the 120$ your going to spend on a broken chromebook could be better spent on one of the better chrombook refurbs here.

I recomend installing a chroot as chrome OS lacks many features
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/6/2017 10:34:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C910-54M1 Chromebook Intel Core i5 5th Gen 5200U (2.20 GHz) 4 GB Memory 32 GB SSD 15.6" Chrome OS 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good until the screen died...
Pros: - fast
- excellent display with wide viewing angle
- topside speakers
- 802.11ac wireless
Cons: - screen died after 8 months of use
(hdmi output still worked so I could Powerwash before sending it to Acer for warranty work)
- 3 weeks of waiting for warranty repair. They returned the repaired unit via ground... shows you how much they care about returning the unit back quickly. (recently another company sent me back a new router via next day air)
- expensive return shipping costs at UPSstore. (other companies give you an option to print out a drop ship label at cheaper rate for warranty work)
Other Thoughts: You'd think they would have better warranty service for a $500 chromebook...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/1/2017 12:22:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS Chromebook C301SA-DS02 13.3 Inch (Intel Quad-Core Celeron, 4 GB, 16 GB eMMC, Metallic Grey)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job very well!
Pros: I purchased a ASUS Chromebook a couple of years before purchasing this one. It was a gift for a Non-technical person. They loved it, and found it easy to use. I purchased the C301SA-DS02 as a gift for a family without a computer. I found it to be will constructed and as easy to use as the first ASUS Chromebook I purchased. Fortunately, the school child in the family, was
accustomed to using Chromebooks in his school. The family is very happy with the C301SA, and it has served them very well for working and browsing online. The C301SA is a well constructed, inexpensive computer. We are all very pleased with it!
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Lawrence M.,4/30/2017 12:12:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.