Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS 15.6" FHD F550VQ-NH52 Quad Core Intel Core i5 6300HQ NVIDIA GeForce 940MX 8 GB DDR4 Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Laptop -- "ONLY @ NEWEGG"

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is one of the best laptops I've ever purchased...
Pros: ~ Really nice case design, looks nothing like the normal X550 series devices.
~ Its an X550V not a F550VQ and ASUS support was super helpful in figuring this out for me.
~ Keys have a nice depth to the stroke.
~ Face plate is textured in a way that resists fingerprints.
~ Sound quality is unreal for a laptop.
~ Screen is matte and very bright.
~ Plays Overwatch on Mid/High at 60fps ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
~ Mysteriously faster operating than my work Precision 5510...and that has a vPro i7 6820 「(゚ペ)
Cons: ~ Had to reinstall the touch pad driver when Windows 10 did a feature update, once installed again and restarted it works 100%.
~ The keyboard is not back-lit. (The keys are easy to see in the light though. I'm a touch typist so I don't really care.)
Other Thoughts: Really great for the price if you want a mid-range gaming laptop.
Reviewed By:Shane F.,2/24/2017 3:14:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 15.6" GT62VR Dominator-027 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 16 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit G-Sync Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 BUYER BEWARE, and also Customer service sucks
Pros: -Great Graphics and interface
-Very fast boot up time; full restart takes 10 seconds on average
-Games run at high FPS, though most games are averagely lower than advertised
-Almost zero lag
-The screen is beautiful
-Ice cold during gaming at a desk with the Cooler Boost 4 on
-The screen and keyboard construction is solid, though the bottom is fairly bendable plastic
Cons: -Graphics card jumps around a lot: Basically your screen will flash black periodically mid-gaming. CAUTION HEADACHES AND EYE STRAIN

-Audio drivers are a NIGHTMARE. I've had to wipe the computer and restart the windows update several times, uninstall and then reinstall the audio drivers multiple times, troubleshoot hundreds of times to no avail. The sound is absolute trash. It can go from sounding halfway decent, to sounding like a static mess, then back to sounding muffled. Very annoying. Watching videos or movies makes voices nearly impossible to recognize, and music quality sounds very low.

-This laptop cannot distinguish between when a headphone jack is plugged in or taken out. Forbid you unplug it like a normal human because it will not register sound or play sound out of the main speakers until you restart the computer. Which leads me to the actual speakers not working.

-The sound will decide to split the Subwoofer on the bottom from the Audio Speakers on the top most of the time. Basically all the sound will either come out of the Subwoofer, making really quiet, almost "blown out" type of sounds. Or play just out of the Top Speakers and sound extremely high pitch, loud, hollow, and just... not quality. When you open the devices to try and fix the issue, you may only choose one speaker to play as default. So you're stuck with two terrible options. (With the ideal being both playing in unison).

-The preinstalled Dragon Center, MSI True Color, and Nahimic 2 software also came corrupted out of the box. They wouldn't open or change the settings of the laptop in any fashion. They had to be removed completely and I had to find them online individually to reinstall them.

-There is .NET Framwork Error message that also pops up frequently, another Windows issue
Other Thoughts: I called New Egg Customer Service twice and MSI Support twice. Both had no idea how to help and just advised me to return or exchange this computer. I haven't even tested the VR capabilities and, quite frankly, I don't even want to try. I am very unsatisfied with how I was handled. Most of the time they gave me a blanket "Its a Windows issue" and promptly hurried me to a "Goodbye" with no information on what I should do next; to basically figure it out myself.

I give this product a solid 2, just because It functions like a fast 300$ Netbook without any speakers.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/24/2017 2:40:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer 15.6" FHD E5-575G-57A4 7th Gen Intel Core i5 7200U NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 8 GB DDR4 Memory 256 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop - "ONLY @ NEWEGG"

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for the Casual Gamer
Pros: Laptop runs very smoothly, able to run newer games (Doom, MGSV, Rise of the Tomb Raider) at medium settings while maintaining decent frame rate (29 - 34fps). Stays cool enough where top of the lap use is possible. While running newer titles / graphically challenging MMO's however, the laptop runs very hot. Laptop is small enough where traveling with it is feasible.
Cons: Lack of a backlit keyboard may be a deciding factor for many. Occasional drops in frame rate on newer titles, even at low settings. The lack of an optical drive may be another deciding factor. The display is a little off, it's tough to find an angle that really displays correctly sometimes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great laptop for someone interested in a fair amount of gaming with newer titles, but who doesn't want to spend (or can't afford to spend) >$1,000.00 on a laptop. As previously stated, the lack of a backlit keyboard drives the rating down a bit, but overall it is a reliable computer. You'll be lagging behind a bit with the 950M, but for the price + size of this computer, you can't go wrong.
Reviewed By:DAKOTAH P.,2/24/2017 12:09:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G750 Series G750JH-DB71 Notebook Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 24GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great while it lasted
Pros: Fast. Quick to boot. Worked great and ran smooth. Quiet
Cons: Windows 8
A fan port on the motherboard burned out in less than 3 years so it keeps overheating. Have to replace whole motherboard to repair +$600.
Other Thoughts: Having this thing burn out so quickly has me browsing other places to buy laptops...like Dell XPS or Alienware. Maybe even going to look at MSI. I was a die hard Asus guy for many years. Seems they're products are slipping...
Reviewed By:James P.,2/24/2017 11:59:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 17.3" GT72VR Dominator-032 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 32 GB Memory 512 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit G-Sync Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: have you seen the specs on this thing? it screams.
Cons: a little heavy for a laptop but to be expected from a beast gaming machine like this
Reviewed By:Casey Murdock,2/24/2017 7:55:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS FX502VM-AH51 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i5 6th Gen 6300HQ (2.30 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD GeForce GTX 1060 3 GB GDDR5 15.6" Full HD 1920 x 1080 Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good mid-range gaming PC
Pros: -Decent build quality
-Plays all the games I wanted it to with great graphics. Runs pretty cool for games I play. Fans are pretty quite.
-Very fast once SSD is installed
-Open slot for m.2 2280 SSD on motherboard, but you do need to remove the bottom of the computer to install it. Probably not a recommended upgrade for novice skill level. Just need to remove screws around perimeter (10) on bottom, then CAREFULLY pry the bottom off with finger tips. 4 screws are a different length (one length had brown, and other had blue loctite), so make sure you note which side those were installed. I started prying the case off from the back of the computer by the back fan vents, and moved around. Leave the case off until you confirm the OS is working properly with new drive, as I needed to temporarily disconnect the stock hard drive. Boots faster, and works better with the SSD.
Cons: -Picks up fingerprints easily.
-Migrating the OS via cloning the drive didn't work. When booting up after clone was complete, the windows 10 login screen would alternate to all black screen, and no keyboard mouse inputs would work. I don't think this is Asus' fault, as it is most likely a driver/windows issue. I disconnected the stock HD (leave bottom off for this), and used the windows 10 media creation tool (from another PC) to make a boot flash drive to perform a fresh install of windows 10 on the SSD. It worked, and I was never asked to enter a key to activate. Wifi driver didn't work with the OS on first boot up, so I had to perform the first windows update with a LAN cable to my router. Asus has all drivers/utilities available for download on their website (i.e. ATK hotkey). I would recommend booting with stock configuration before installing the SSD to make sure the OS and computer are working properly.
-Touchpad right clicking didn't work correctly once I had windows 10 OS working on the SSD. Again, not Asus' fault. They have a guide on how to fix this here: https://www.asus.com/uk/support/FAQ/1031506/?_ga=1.81953558.1285966173.1487046137. Touchpad works fine after the driver fix.
Reviewed By:John Z.,2/24/2017 6:53:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551 series GL551JW-DS71 15.6" Intel Core i7 4th Gen 4720HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD Windows 8.1 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 One and a half years... still going strong
Pros: I bought this in the summer of 2015 for both school and gaming. It's been great. It physically looks incredible and performs amazing. When I upgraded to Windows 10 I had some driver problems, but ASUS customer support helped get me the right drivers and I haven't had any problems since. The graphics card is amazing, plays games at or greater than the PS4's graphics. Battlefield 4 on high at >60fps, Witcher 3 on medium-high at 30-40fps.

Memory is plentiful and the harddrive is spacious, wish there was an SSD. There is apparently an SSD slot, but you have to take apart the entire computer to get to it.

When I bought it, it came with a free gaming mouse, which is apparently a $70 retail value. Incredible mouse. I love its fit and feel.
Cons: Keyboard feels fairly loud and the touchpad is really loud when you click it.
Battery is shot. It doesn't properly display the battery life anymore and left unplugged can die any minute. Pretty sure it was my fault though since my friend tripped on my power cord and yanked the computer onto the floor. Amazingly other than a dent in the lid, it still works fine.
Disc tray is really flimsy. I'm careful with it and always use two hands, I feel like it could snap if I put a disc in without supporting it.
Laptop is quite warm when the GPU's limits are pushed. I have a cooling fan though and with it, it runs cool.
The Lid is incredibly prone to fingerprints. I considered it a sin to touch it when it was new but don't really care anymore.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the best laptop I've ever owned. I heartily recommend it. It's stylish and powerful, what more could you want?

Would rate it 4 1/2 if I could.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/24/2017 6:46:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 15.6" GP62MVR Leopard Pro-218 Intel Core i7 6th Gen 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop (VR Ready)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: - GTX 10 series is a monster compared to previous generations of mobile GPUs.
- NVME M.2 slot. Compatible with Samsung drives that work at lightning speed.
- Backlit Steelseries keyboard with very good feel for a laptop in this class.
- Doubles well as a gaming machine in the house and a work / school laptop out and about. 4+ hours of battery life.
- Super lightweight.
- USB Type-C port.
Cons: - Mechanical disk is very slow. Consider immediate upgrade to an SSD.
- Only 3GB of video RAM, which isn't particularly limiting except for high end games.
- Wireless range is fairly limited. I've had much better experience with other Intel cards in the past.
Other Thoughts: - Others complain about the "flimsy screen" but that's what you get for a machine made of plastic that is this thin. It's not that bad.
- Can't knock something in this class for lack of Thunderbolt just yet, but I feel like that'll be an issue in about a year or two.
Reviewed By:Paul T.,2/24/2017 3:08:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GP Series GP62MVR Leopard Pro-450 15.6" Intel Core i7 7th Gen 7700HQ (2.80 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 16 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great For Gaming and over all Productivity
Pros: Great at Max 1080p Gaming , productivity, producing Music and trying anything new that one would need a Powerful Laptop for. this Laptop is great for trying new things keeps a good temp Easy to use and set up. The MSI GP Leopard pro works smooth and easy to use on a all around mobile Gaming set up. i have no problem with what this Laptop says its able to do. I it works amazing and i cant wait to push the limits of this. I have stressed this laptop with 4k AND IT HANDLES VERY WELL may it be held back by its VRAM it still is best for its Price Clean and dose not Boast in design great for those of Any profession. And only Gamer's will know that this is a High Quality Gaming laptop by first Glance. Many people come to find out it is and that it is also a sleek clean laptop that is for people who are serious on what they Choose to Do. I USE THIS LAPTOP FOR GAMING, Graphic Art, Photography, creating Music and more.
Cons: I wish this laptop allowed me to Change the colors and Have fun with the key board. it also would do better with better Power Management. I have little to few Problems with this laptop that Has already been Improved in Later Models. No True bugs. Just would like the Keys to feel a bit less loose. And it has a big power brick which is bad for on the go carry. Needs a bit better TRUE COLOR Gambit. And better Web Cam. And though the Sound Quality is Great They do need a UPGRADE for a clear crisp sound and Bass that is balanced(but can be adjusted a bit with Nahimic.
Other Thoughts: I would say for those who are looking for a great Laptop That don't need to much VRam and Care for a color keyboard buy it But if you are in Video Editing OR Photography USE a External Monitor. But for Price to performance. This is a Great Over all Laptop. I would BUY this Again but Still would Recommend Saving for the Stealth or a Newer MSI Laptop
Reviewed By:Francisco V.,2/24/2017 1:53:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GE62 Apache Pro-233 15.6" Intel Core i7 6th Gen 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 16 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A fantastic mid-level gaming laptop
Pros: - price point is more than reasonable for a laptop of this power grade
- backlit keyboard with steel series engine
- 4 speaker sound system (with subwoofer)
- nvidia GPU
- 128 SSD boot drive gives very fast boot times.
Cons: - Two different types of material used in the case. A mixture of plastic and metal. Causes some minor creaking sounds
- Drivers nowhere near being updated at time of arrival (it is two years old, afterall, but I feel deserves to be stated)
- Quite a bit of customization required to get some features working that work out of the box on other laptops (in my case, I had to fully set up the touch pad, it would not scroll.)
- DVD drive (no Blu-Ray)
- some redundant software installed, but nothing that can't be removed or ignored.
- using tap on touchpad for mouse selection requires a very determined tap
Other Thoughts: I had eagerly awaited this laptop in the mail, as I needed a portable computer with enough power to render in 3d for my school and work. However, I also enjoy gaming, so I was planning which game I would install first. I chose The Witcher 3, this being my first gaming PC and having avoided playing it for the xbox one, I decided now was the time to give it a go. It plays flawlessly on ultra settings, and for hours at a time. The laptop not once has felt abnormally hot or even uncomfortable. I can only credit this to the ability to manually run the dual fans at highest rpm to cool the unit under stress. While there is a lot of redundant software installed, I find the extra add-ons mostly amusing, moreso than annoying, so I have not uninstalled them.
The 128 SSD boot drive is a fantastic feature to this laptop that makes powering on feel more like waking up from sleep mode.
I personally am very happy with the sound from the unit's speakers. The added subwoofer really gives a sound depth that laptops typically lack. While using unit speakers is usually not ideal, this makes the best of it, and it's really a lot more than "just bearable", it actually creates an enjoyable experience.
Some people have complaints about battery life. I get about 4 hours to a 100% charge. I find this more than acceptable, but I do carry around a back up battery charger for laptops and other large devices in case I need it for extended trips out. I'm unsure if the other reviewers are using "power saving" mode, but it makes all the difference. I for one would not attempt to do any meaningful or demanding gaming on any laptop without the a/c adaptor plugged in.
While it is a fantastic computer in general, it does have some draw backs to it.
I had a problem with key sticking. it was not a mechanical stick, but the machine thinking that the keys were being held, when they were not. One could imagine the problems that arose with this when i was trying to take notes for class. As such, I had to go into the keyboard settings and adjust them to increase the delay length of key holds.
When I got my hands on it, the drivers hadn't been updated at all. I presume when it was refurbished it was set back to factory set up. I went through and updated all the drivers, just to ensure the machine would run optimally and to ensure that I would be as problem free as possible.
The build is of metal and plastic. While it actually feels quite solid and of good quality, I have noticed some creaks and noises that happen when I pick it up, whereas my all plastic laptop doesn't make near as much creaking (or any at all) when I pick it up to make a seating adjustment.
The computer comes with a DVD drive. I was slightly disappointed in this, but I suppose it's not a huge loss, since most media is heading towards streaming anyways. When ejecting the tray, I was also disappointed with the apparent build quality, as it appears to have almost an all plastic construction.
All in all, this has been a great purchase for me and has offered a very pleasant experience. While my old laptop is considerably older than this one, it really refreshes computers for me, and has been a pleasure to use. I find I'm using it more than I do my phone now for web browsing, whereas before, my phone or tablet was my go-to web browsing device. But with such quick start up speeds, clear screen quality, and good on unit sound, I am glad to be able to experience the internet as it's intended to be again. I was also pleasantly surprised with it's gaming performance, as it actually performs much better than I was expecting.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/24/2017 12:13:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.