Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Use as intended
Pros: No problems on a new build
If you pro features don't buy this one
Cons: Too many settings to understand how privacy is really affected
Other Thoughts: I suppose on the other hand the ability to control privacy is at least there.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,2/23/2017 2:11:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Windows yet.
Pros: Awesome.
Cons: Annoying default privacy settings.
$100 is never a fun cost to absorb.
Gig after gig of updates already.
Other Thoughts: Yes.
Reviewed By:John W.,2/23/2017 10:48:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 disaster
Pros: none
Cons: new packaging, aside from the font being ridiculously small, now they added a sticker on top of the key code.
key code illegible after removing sticker
Other Thoughts: its true
Reviewed By:marc Y.,2/22/2017 6:45:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best windows OS to date
Pros: Not windows 8 or vista
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is the best Windows OS to date. fast and light weight
Reviewed By:Joseph U.,2/21/2017 5:29:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Pro - Full Version (32 & 64-bit) / USB Flash Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome way to own and utilize Windows via USB
Pros: Made my installation of Windows 10 Professional flawless and fast. Easy to store.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Michael L.,2/20/2017 8:17:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The key is impossible to read.
Pros: -Disk boots quick and easy
Cons: -NO RETURNS
-Poor quality of key protection
-Not able to install without key
Other Thoughts: Bought this thinking that saving $60 on the OS would be a smart move. Upon receiving the package, I was skeptical of its looks; it didn't look very official. The disk itself, however, is legitimate: I avoided all the other horror stories of people getting fake disks and unofficial software.

Everything was fine until I had to input the key. I read all the reviews and had seen a fair share of people not being able to read the key because it gets smudged by the scratch off material. Heeding those warnings, I tried just peeling it off first. It broke several times over trying to pull it off, so I just started scratching it with my fingernail. All but the last five digits were any amount of visible when I decided to just try a coin finally.

Upon doing that, the remaining material had smudged itself into the paper and back over the other characters. I tried desperately to peel it off again and kept scratching as gentle as possible, but nothing worked. The characters that were still uncovered had been worn by the scratching and had become unreadable as well. So now I'm sitting here with MY FIRST HOME BUILT COMPUTER and the only thing that is keeping me from continuing with installation of drivers is a reject lottery ticket.

BEST OF ALL I'm out $140 and have to shell out more to get an actual key. No returns or refunds on this product either.

Thanks Microsoft.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/20/2017 3:20:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 For those still unable to get updates...a little help
Pros: This is likely Microsoft's very best and most versatile OS ever. Things went downhill fast after Win 7.
Cons: The consensus around the web is that Microsoft is deliberately making it difficult to get Win 7 OS upgrades in an effort to force everyone to the Win 10 spyware they're flogging. Why do you suppose Win 10 was free for the first few months? You are not Microsoft's 'customer', your info is the product they're selling to anyone willing to pay. It's the Facebook business model.
Other Thoughts: For those still having problems getting updates...I had the same issue on three different machines here that have had Win 7 Pro installed for years...here's the solution that worked for me when nothing else would:

Do a Google search for "Windows 7: windows 7 update stuck at "checking for updates...""

In the results page, look for a site called sevenforumsdotcom

On that site, look for a post from user jdlweb posted on October 18, 2016

Not sure if external URLs are allowed in reviews. If they are, here's the full link to the exact page:

https://www.sevenforums.com/windows-updates-activation/347490-windows-7-update-stuck-checking-updates-9.html

Follow his/her instructions EXACTLY, download all the required patch files from Microsoft, install them in the correct order. When I did so, within 15-20 minutes my machines all showed available updates and downloaded and installed them, and continue to find and install them. No shortcuts, follow the instructions in order and *exactly*.

This procedure worked for me when absolutely nothing else did.
Reviewed By:Robert K.,2/17/2017 8:45:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not a fan of this product - Windows 10 in General
Pros: Easy Install
Cons: Activation key hidden under scratch off, mine came off easily using my fingernail. Why do you have to obfuscate the key, its in an envelope.
Other Thoughts: Purchased for a customers build.
Reviewed By:Kevin S.,2/15/2017 2:42:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not into the user style of this OS
Pros: - Is more like Windows 7 as far as the desktop is concerned
- Starts up VERY fast with m.2 ssd
- Automatic TRIM and ssd optimization
- Compatible with pretty much everything (except for iTunes, see cons)
- Somewhat familiar
Cons: - Start menu is a bloody mess
- Ad's in start menu is frustrating
- Lot's of bloatware
- NOT COMPATIBLE WITH ITUNES, WHAT AGE ARE WE LIVING IN?? (see comments below)
- Cannot disable Cortana (easily) in Anniversary update (which this OS version is)
- Start menu is just an alphabetized list of apps, not intuitive to set it up the way I want
- Ad's for software in the store on my lock screen.
- Ad's Ad's Ad's... what the heck this is an Operating System not the bloody internet
Other Thoughts: Overall I am VERY disappointed with this OS. It doesn't offer anything noticeably better from Windows 7 and has a few glaring issues, mainly the security with SO MANY AD'S. Also, I spent 30 minutes trying everything I could to download iTunes and it simply would not work. I'm with Apple on this one, a position I don't often take, and am pinning responsibility on MS because the issue has existed for a while and they still don't have a fix.

The start menu is such a mess and I can't disable Cortana anymore (DO NOT enable her on initial startup). I just can't believe how diappointing this OS is compared to Windows 7. MS, what are you doing?? For work-oriented users this OS is practically unusable, at least I find it aesthetically very displeasing.
Reviewed By:Liam H.,2/15/2017 12:47:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 To all armchair critics!
Pros: I just can't understand all the kids complaining about the CD and the paper box it comes with.
Dude, you don't need the stupid box or the CD either. You can always download the latest version of Windows from Microsoft Website. You don't even need the darn activation code more than ONCE. After you activated Windows you can do clean installs as many times as you want and Windows will activate automatically. You armchair critics were criticizing Windows 7 years ago when you couldn't see anything farther than XP and now you can't live without it. Oh, and if you think your privacy is safe because you run Linux, you are dumb as well.
Cons: It's Windows, it's not perfect but works.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/14/2017 4:17:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.