Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Internet Security 2017 - 3 PCs (Key Card)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buy/Use Something Else From Another Manufacurer
Pros: It appears to stop malware and virii like any other AV software. The firewall appears to work, once you get it configured.
Cons: Numerous features of the software will disrupt your PC. For example, it enables it's own "proxy server" within your PC when you install it that will effectively "break" your Internet browsing experience. I had disabled that feature. Kaspersky wants to install yet another "toolbar type plugin" (that does what I don't know since it cannot be configured at all) to my web browser. Nope, no way. I had to disable that feature also.

It appears to silently install NEW features during updates AND it enables them! I caught this exact software version having installed Kaspersky's own VPN software when I looked at my router logs and saw mysterious OUTGOING traffic from my PC that stopped when I disabled and removed Kaspersky's VPN software. SO BEWARE! There was NO ALERT to the user of this new feature/software installation until I looked at the PC after seeing running slowly. Whenever my PC slows to a crawl I look at what this software has done recently.

It lacks the reporting capabilities that I liked in another AV-security package (for which I have a limited unlimited PCs license, and will likely return to using).

It can slow web browsing to a crawl at times. I have not yet definitively figured out why, but it seems this software cannot handle web browsers with the "pipelineing" feature enabled. When you disable "pipelineing" within a web browser you can slow down your overall web browsing experience.

The software update feature of this software also slows the PC to a crawl.

In my own experience with PC AV & security software over the past 20+ years, Kaspersky has to be one of the slowest scanning applications that I have ever seen. It has no "memory" for files that it has scanned in the past, files that have not changed at, yet it insists on rescanning EVERYTHING whenever I start a scan. Inefficient...woefully inefficient software.
Other Thoughts: I bought my copy elsewhere about 2 or 3 years ago (the 2015 version I think); a very rare time when Newegg did not have the best deals.

My own subscription to this exact software package is expiring soon. I am highly unlikely to renew it due to all of the hassles getting this software configured; it's stealth nature at installing unwanted additional software; and the fact that many aspects of this software are intrusive to my PC use forcing me to turn off those features. I have disabled about 50 percent of the features of this software package.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2017 2:59:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > BitDefender > Bitdefender Internet Security 2017 - 3 PCs / 2 Year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Product support
Pros: - good in the past but not now
Cons: if you purchase more than one product type you can not register them under the same email address. Their resolution is force an upgrade of the product at a cost to the subscription ( -60 days). ex. I purchased Anti Virus Plus 2017 (3 devices 1 year) and registered it and then purchased Internet security 2017 ( 3 devices 2 years) . When I tried to register it, it would not allow two subscriptions under the same email address. Previously on the Bitdefender's site under subscriptions it allowed this functionality. Forcing people to upgrade at a cost or having to create a new email address just to register a product from the same company is ridiculous!
Other Thoughts: I can not recommend these products anymore to friends or business associates with this type business of practice!
Reviewed By:Michael M.,7/24/2017 8:15:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET Smart Security 2016 - 3 PCs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent program
Pros: First of all like all ESET programs, this one works right out of the box.
Secondly with an excellent discount making it a pleasure to use.
What I like is not having to worry about something infecting my computers.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have ESET programs on all of my five computers - Smart Security on two of them and NOD32 on three of them. Now when the NOD32 licenses expire, all computers will have Smart Security.
Reviewed By:Joseph A.,7/19/2017 2:46:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG HMA Pro VPN - 3 Devices / 1 Year

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 i like the avg hma it is very convenient. Because it helps with my avg to H.M.A. i think. ILL get back to you when it doesn't work. And if not it means it works so until next time.
Pros: i like the avg hma it is very convenient. Because it helps with my avg to H.M.A. i think. ILL get back to you when it doesn't work. And if not it means it works so until next time.
Cons: NOTHING AT THE MOMENT
Reviewed By:anthony j.,7/17/2017 5:13:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Internet Security 2017 - 3 PCs (Key Card)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Slows computer to a crawl!
Pros: I've used Kaspersky many years ago when they started selling the product. It offers good protections and updates regularly.
Cons: Unfortunately, it is now a resource hog and slows every operation as it (presumably) checks for problems. AND, there are the current questions surrounding the Russian Government involvement with any legitimate company; of which I believe Kasperskey is.
Other Thoughts: Kaspersky has always been a quality AV product and will likely catch problems. Just be prepared for a slowdown while it does its job.
Reviewed By:GERALD P.,7/16/2017 3:22:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Ultimate 2017 Unlimited - 1 Year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't ever put this program on your PC.
Pros: only Pro, is that it was free?
Cons: It takes over and tries to sell you 3rd party software your PC doesn't need. Stick with the Antivirus Microsoft gives us free, the rest is just bloatware.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/16/2017 12:27:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG HMA Pro VPN - 3 Devices / 1 Year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked Great...for two days
Pros: Easy setup
Cons: After a few days, when I log in, I get an alert that I don't have a plan. Submitted a support ticket, but have only gotten an automated response.
Other Thoughts: Don't Buy!
Reviewed By:Michael R.,7/16/2017 6:06:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > McAfee > McAfee Total Protection 2017 - 5 Device

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cannot finish installation, and computer totally freezed
Pros: Totally nothing
Cons: 1. Cannot finish installation
2. Freeze my computer.
3. After contacting McAfee service, they said McAfee won't be installed and runned with other antivirus installed. phack!!!! If McAfee cannot provide 100% reliability, why it cannot work with others?
Reviewed By:Meng C.,7/10/2017 4:57:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2017 - 1 PC (Key Card)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Product as advertised so far, easy to install
Pros: Free with rebate
Reliable brand
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:William W.,7/9/2017 3:51:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Malwarebytes > Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 3.0 - 3 PCs / 1 Year (Key Card)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 shipped in a box in a larger box!
Pros: lol
was a couple bux cheaper than buying it direct
Cons: no cons, physical shipping i guess
Other Thoughts: this keycard came in a box large enough to craft a cardboard helmet out of
with air plastic bubble wrap
and a physical malwarebytes box
Reviewed By:WILLIAM W.,7/5/2017 9:55:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.