Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Protection 2017 Unlimited Devices - 2 Year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 this is a gimmic
Pros: AVG is fine anti-virus
Cons: When I bought it, it was not clear to me that I would be charged every month. The monthly price shouldn't be listed, but the total price. It said 2 year of protection for unlimited devices for a price. That price is actually the monthly price you pay for 2 years. The description should be AVG protection 2017 Unlimited devices - 1 month
Other Thoughts: When I tried to call AVG to cancel it, an Indian man wanted to install a screen sharing program to help me "with technical issues" of cancelling. He said he needed to search my email for the AVG codes, and hung up on me when I questioned him. I called the number New Egg gave me to contact AVG to cancel. There is no reason that someone should need to take control of my computer to cancel a recurring charge. 1-800-750-6584 is the number I was given.
Reviewed By:Angus M.,2/17/2017 12:38:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Protection 2017 Unlimited Devices - 2 Year

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great flash lights
Pros: The product is sturdy and delivers on its light intensity
Cons: Just remember that this product is sold with no battery but it was dully mentioned in its description
Other Thoughts: Be patient as it took to the package more than 1 month to arrive...
Reviewed By:david j.,2/15/2017 6:48:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Symantec > Symantec Norton Security with Antivirus Premium - 10 Devices [Key Card]

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Norton Security
Pros: Nice Price, Norton S/W always a good product, Easy to install & use. Have used Norton S/W for more than 20 years.
Cons: Product has many more features than I will ever use, but the features I use (mainly Firewall & Antivirus) are very good.
Other Thoughts: Recommend this S/W & would buy it again. Some features a somewhat difficult to understand what they really do.
Reviewed By:J P.,2/15/2017 9:44:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Total Security 2016 - 5 PCs (Key Card)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great antivirus, total protection, very safe
Pros: Love that it actually catches threats that othe AV won't.
Small memory print compared with McAfee or Norton
Great internet protection.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: The price is high, but you get what you paid for.
I got this on sale for $20 definitely a no brainier.
Reviewed By:FRANCISCO S.,2/13/2017 6:58:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG AntiVirus 2017 - 3 PCs / 2 Years

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AVG antivirus
Pros: Reliable, easy to set up and use, hasn't let me down yet.
Cons: Can be a little slow on startup
Other Thoughts: I have been using the free version of AVG for about 5 years now, and it has never let me down. Any time a Trojan horse or some other kind of virus tries to embed itself to my registry files, AVG will warn me and get rid of it for me. That being said, I don't go to a lot of sites that invite that kind of activity in.

So when I saw the full version on sale, I went ahead and picked it up to gain all the features. I also have it roped together with the PC Tuneup. Both work great and keep my computer safe and clean!
Reviewed By:Kyle G.,2/12/2017 6:34:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Internet Security 2017 Unlimited - 2 Years

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 AVG Internet Security 2017 Unlimited, 2 Yr - Tech Support is Poor, Account Confirmation Non-Existent
Pros: - Good Feature Set.
- Good Rating for Catching Viruses & Malware in Comparative Tests.
- Many Features to Customize Setup
- Unlimited # of Devices on account for Windows and Android Platforms.
- Special Price on Sale is excellent with all the Discounts.
Cons: - Setup is a Nightmare if You Are Not Familiar With Software.
- Default Settings close all Ports from Port Forwarding.
- Default Settings Direct You to DNS Servers which Tracks Your Internet Sites.
- Default Settings Break Direct Connection For PLEX Media Server from Outside Network.
- Defaut Settings Highjack the Firewall.
- Default Settings Change Your Search Engine and Home Page to Yahoo.com in Your Browser.
- On-Line Account does Not Recognize and Retain Record of License Purchase One Month After Setting-Up and Registering License.
- Tech Support is Fee Based and Will Cost You Far More than the Site License.
- Free Customer Support is Worthless (If you can reach them at all).
- Getting the Paid License does not eliminate the Pop-Up Ads from Android Devices.
- Poor, or Non-Existent, Support for Apple IOS Devices.
- AVG Zen software is worthless. There is no ability to implement settings across multiple client devices and platforms. That's fine if you only have one, or two devices. Having to make the same setting setup on 25+ devices is unacceptable.
Other Thoughts: I had been using the "Free" version of the AVG Anti-virus on my servers and Windows client devices. The free version just scanned for viruses on the device and had the ability to schedule scans which my preferred Free Anti-virus (Panda) did not. Unlike Panda Free Anti-Virus, AVG "Free" would continuously give Pop-Ups asking me to Upgrade, Add Features, and offer "Discounts" for the Paid Subscription. It was Quite Annoying.

The Free AVG for Android also had a good feature set and a cleaner which was very useful. Unfortunately, the amount of ads and highjacking of the phone startpage caused me to delete the App in favor of Kasperski Anti-Malware at minimal settings (no cleanup feature and I had to manually initiate scans).

When the AVG Internet Security 2017 Unlimited 2Yr license came on sale at Newegg, that seemed to be an answer. The cost was less than US$20 for a 2 Yr license which covered an unlimited number of client devices and multiple platforms (Windows, Android, Linux). IOS devices were going to be a problem but, I could live with that. The chance to get rid of the constant nagging Pop-Up Ads at this price made the offer very attractive.

Unfortunately, the old maxim of "You Get What You Pay For" held true again.

The first indication that this was not going to be such a great deal was when I tried to register the license on-line. I went to the AVG website as directed in the instructions I received with the license number and created a new account then registered the license number. The website indicated a valid license and I downloaded the executable file for Windows devices which I saved on a server and transferred to other client Windows devices. That appeared to work fine. When I tried to log into my account on my Android phone, the website acknowledged that the account was correct but stated that there was no license registered to my account hence, I could not download the Android App. I logged into my account on a Windows device and the website refused to acknowledge any license connected to my account for that either. I contacted Tech Support and Customer Service on subsequent days and was told that AVG acknowledged and was aware of the problem. They stated that "They Were Diligently Working to Fix The Problem." When asked how long it would take, they stated "Keep logging in every day to see if the problem was fixed." So far, it has been more than 2 weeks and the problem still is not fixed! I asked Customer Service whether they would adjust the "Start Date" of my license to when the problem was fixed and basically was told "No".

After carefully uninstalling and cleaning the registers on a Windows server of all the AVG "Free" software, I installed the paid license software. That required comfirmation of my account which, suprizingly was successful considering that the website still does not acknowledge my license. The software installation was fairly simple with the exception that the default settings messed up most of the Internet connections. AVG made itself the "default" firewall (which is difficult to configure correctly so I turned it off and went back to my old firewall. AVG reset the DNS server settings and implemented ones that track internet traffic, so I had to turn that off and reset the DNS primary and secondary settings. AVG highjacked the search engine setting in Mozilla Firefox to set it to Yahoo and made that the Home Page. I had to reset that. AVG deleted the BluHell Firewall and deleted Ghostery Apps in Mozilla Firefox. AVG deactivated the VPN so I had to turn off those features of AVG. AVG Firewall reset/deactivated all the port forwarding features of my router so I could not get connections for PLEX Media Server outside my network to work. I still have not figured out how to get that part of AVG configured to work with PLEX even after turning off the AVG firewall and re-configuring my router ports again.

All very frustrating! Add to that, the fact that I have to do a manual configuration of the AVG FOR EVERY DEVICE SEPARATELY!!

Regarding Android Devices - Same Problems plus the Pop-ups are still there.

I will not even try to address Apple IOS problems. - Not enough space in this review.

In conclusion, the cost of the 2Yr AVG Internet Security Unlimited license was very attractive. I actually told quite a few people about it before I realized all the problems I would encounter. Now, I can honestly say that I do not recommend this software to anyone who has anything other than a dead simple network and doesn't want to know anything about it. I will not be renewing my license after this expires and I may just get rid of this software anyway for all the difficulties it has caused.
Reviewed By:R T.,2/9/2017 5:59:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > McAfee > McAfee Internet Security 2017 - 10 Device

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Classic
Pros: Always liked McAfee
Cons: No CD, Download only. You MUST sign for Auto-Renew before it will activate - zoom in on bottom right of box
Reviewed By:Paul M.,2/8/2017 10:11:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > McAfee > McAfee Total Protection 2017 - 5 Device

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Security Protection and security!
Pros: - I does't slow down your computer or its performance.
- Protect even email virus or intruders!
Cons: - Nothing seems as Cons for me!
Reviewed By:KAMRAN M.,2/5/2017 2:52:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET NOD32 Antivirus 2016 - 1 PC / 2 Year

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still the best IMO
Pros: It just works as it is supposed to without being annoying .
Cons: none so far and I have been using it for 6 years .
Other Thoughts: Yes ,I would purchase it again and I use it on
all my friends computers .
Reviewed By:David C.,2/5/2017 7:46:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Internet Security 2017 Unlimited - 2 Years

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 AVG Internet Security 2017 Unlimited - 2 Years
Pros: Considering the price I got it for, that was a great deal.
Cons: Considering this software is like an Enterprise version, with the unlimited installs, YOU become the tech support person and it knows how many installs you did.
Other Thoughts: IMO, this software is junk. You can't shut off anything unless you reboot and then it is back on. When you go to a web site that has the least little hint of any sort of virus or pup, it WILL shut off the web page and you can't go there anymore.
I was on the phone for almost two hours talking to someone that seemed to be in India or other country and I couldn't understand him half of the time, or he didn't understand my questions. Help is sparse at best.
To me, AVG WAS a good company, but it went to hell real fast.
Reviewed By:Gregory K.,2/2/2017 4:06:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.