Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Win 10 Pro Full Version 32/64 bit
Pros: This is the "No gotchas, full functionality on 1 PC at a time" licensing option.
If you run a desktop build that you intend to upgrade piece by piece then you are in complete compliance here - even if you swap motherboards or processors.
If your desktop dies completely and you want to get a cheap no-OS laptop instead - you can still stick this copy of Win 10 on it, just deactivate the old desktop installation first.
It has all of the big goodies an IT pro needs - Active Directory/Group Policy integration for administration, Hyper-V for building test environments or pre-configuring production VMs, business updates which are more stable, RDP capability for full remote control, and Enterprise mode Internet Explorer for those legacy web apps many businesses cling to.
Cons: It's Windows 10. You have to put it behind a firewall and block all outbound traffic before deploying it just to be able to figure out when you have successfully turned off some of the phone-home privacy invasions... and that will only last until the next update re-enables them. I took 1 egg off for that.
It's more expensive than the other versions, and it stinks having to pay a premium price tag to be able to move a Windows installation that I paid for from one machine to another as required. I took 1 egg off for that.
Other Thoughts: I prefer Linux over Windows, but as a IT professional I've got to stay current and capable with Windows. This license gives me the flexibility and capabilities that I require, but at a premium price tag.
Reviewed By:Reagan P.,3/2/2017 1:36:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Its a windows 10 key, you know what you're getting... but read below FIRST!!!!
Pros: -Windows 10 full version for $5 less than a DVD
Cons: -Windows 10 installation media creation tool lacking
Other Thoughts: So this turn from saving $5 and getting instant key into a half a day headache. I am very familiar with creation of windows installation media drives. I used to repair laptops so I would create bootable drives and install windows Vista / 7 /8 almost daily. This windows 10 installation media creation tool is TERRIBLE compared to any other version of windows. I was installing a copy of windows on a blank drive on a new computer and creating an installation disk on another computer. Let me take you through my experience...

(Spoiler alert! If your USB drive wont detect, download the ISO and burn it to the USB drive with Rufus)
If you plan or burning a DVD or this is for upgrading a windows you have nothing to worry about.

-Bought Windows 10 key
-Started Windows 10 download / media creation
-Input product key
-Selected "Create installation media for another PC"
-Selected "USB drive"

This is where the problem started, the next screen is where i was instructed to select a USB drive to create the installation media...ok...sould be no problem. I had a 8GB USB drive in on of my USB ports.

-Get a screen that says "No USB device found"
-Google "Windows 10 media creation tool won't find my USB"
-Get a plethora of people with the same answer and no immediate clear solution
-First solution I try is "Try a different USB port"
-Try every USB port, rebooting my computer in between each try
-No Luck
-Second solution is "Some USB drive drivers are no compatible with windows 10 installation tool"
-Tear apart my house to find every USB drive I can find
-Try 4 different drives in every USB port and tried a small form factor HDD attached to a Sata to USB cable in every port
-Still no luck

This is where I gave up on the USB tool and if I had writable DVD's I would have just burnt an ISO on it. But i didnt...So I decided to download the ISO and use a third party software "Rufus" to create a Freedos bootable drive with that ISO.

-Download Rufus (Rufus does not need to install, it just runs)
-Select USB drive and Select WIndows 10 ISO file
-Wait...
-Rufus freezes mid creation of USB drive

Now I have to cancel Rufus mid creation which is very dangerous because it can render a flash drive unusable.

-Cancel Rufus
-Rufus doesn't respond
-Open task manager and force Rufus to end
-Remove flash drive, restart, re-insert
-Drive reads but states its "in use" and i cant format it
-Try a few more times and finally get it to format
-Try my luck again and run Rufus
-Left it running, left the house to go grab dinner and a drink
-Come back to a bootable windows 10 installation drive

Mission Successful!!!! Well...after I have to actually install it on my new computer which was the whole point of all of this. Moral of the story is their tool sucks...it shouldn't be to hard to detect a USB drive. But if you get lucky and don't have to deal with this its worth the instant satisfaction and your wallet is a whole $5 heftier.
Reviewed By:Trevor B.,2/26/2017 9:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's an OS - nothing else to say
Pros: Easy to use and easy to install. Understood/comprehended by most end users.
Cons: Price. Lack of remote access capability built in.
Other Thoughts: Used for a HTPC build. Was easy and quick to install and complete all configurations. Windows is easy to use for most end users, and it was easy to configure for most HTPC configurations, including sharing storage, installing and configuring streaming software, and software RAID and driver setups. Linux is a preferred solution by many computer savvy users, however it requires a more sophisticated design and implementation plan than Windows with negligible performance advantages in many cases, such as HTPC. File and folder permissions must be explicit in Linux, something that many HTPC builders get frustrated over with the use of this OS. Windows is pricey though, even the electronic download version, which is what this review pertains to. I would expect at least a 33% discount for an electronic version due to shipping and physical manufacture, documentation, packaging, and handling savings.
Reviewed By:Timothy L.,1/26/2017 8:25:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Made the mistake of ordering download version
Pros: None.
Cons: I'm a scatterbrain, and I like a tangible, physical disk for re-installs. No disk. Can't re-locate license key. When installing on fresh hardware had to go back to my earlier Windows install disks.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 6:49:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy setup, No problems
Pros: It just works with all of my devices. Don't see how people could complain about not having drivers. Even my ancient printer works properly. Windows automatically found and installed the driver. Everything is working properly
Cons: Sleep mode wasn't working right for me. Anytime I left it alone for a while, it would go into sleep mode, like normal, but when I woke it up, it went slower than cold tar. I turned off sleep mode and the problem went away. I think it might be my motherboard
Other Thoughts: Intel Core i7-6700
ASRock B150M Pro4V
Reviewed By:Nathan J.,12/17/2016 2:20:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)
Pros: Professional - Full Version
Instant gratification
Cons: All the bad stuff that comes with Microsoft Windows
Other Thoughts: I noticed that a lot of the reviews are about the software itself, it's pretty well documented everywhere so I won't get into that. My review is more about the download version from Newegg and how that went for me. In short, it went great. I ordered the "code" on a Sunday afternoon, hoping I would get the key quickly so I could start using my new computer. I was praying it would come before Monday, and it did. Took about 10 minutes for the email to arrive as a matter of fact. The software itself is not delivered to you by email, you have to go to Microsoft's site and download it, in fact there is no need for the key until you install it. You have the option of downloading directly to a boot-able thumb drive or you can get the ISO image and burn it to a DVDROM. Very easy, especially if you have a thumb drive handy.
From what I understand this is the "Full Version", so if your Mobo has a short lifespan, you can change it out and re-activate it. If you like to build your own computer from scratch, this is important.
Reviewed By:Arnold C.,11/7/2016 9:29:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick and easy way to get your PC up and running
Pros: Most people are already familiar with Windows 10 and either love or hate it. I think it's an improvement over Windows 7.
Cons: Just the occasional annoying notification to "try office 365" which can be removed.
Other Thoughts: The actual software is available to download for free from Microsoft's website. They even have a tool to create a bootable USB drive to install it from onto your computer. What you're really buying here is the license key. Newegg will send the key to you by email shortly after your purchase. I didn't even download the software, because I only needed the key to activate Windows 10 on a computer I built.
Reviewed By:Ronald T.,11/4/2016 10:22:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Updates anyways
Pros: Is Windows
Cons: Updates whenever it wants.
Other Thoughts: The only feature that makes pro worth $80 more than the home edition is being able to control updates. I can't control my updates.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/15/2016 5:27:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 straight forward
Pros: quick delivery
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: I purchased this for use within the company I work for. I ordered the product and was emailed the product code within an hour. The code worked instantly and I had the machine up and running, start to finish in under 75 minutes.

I would recommend this product to someone else.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/4/2016 11:19:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Thought I would like Windows 10 more than I do.
Pros: Downloadable installer was easy to use. Installation on new PC was smooth and easy.
Cons: 1 week after getting Windows 10's various scattered settings pages just the way I wanted, the Anniversary Update reverted almost all of my settings. It also completely removed some options which had previously existed.

Settings are spread across too many different screens, many of which are not linked to one another so you must know where to find them or learn about them online.

Needed to uninstall some of Microsoft's advertisements (e.g. for games) from the Start menu multiple times. Seriously Microsoft, if I elect to uninstall the game/ad, that's probably a good sign I am not interested in that game so you should not display it again a few days/weeks later. This PC, although a Home edition, is not going to be used for playing games.
Other Thoughts: Windows 10 could be the best Windows version since 7 if MS would stop trying to force it down users' throats. I've never been a big Microsoft fan, but this is more like something Apple would do, saying "We'll make it simple by removing all the user's options".
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/24/2016 10:42:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.