Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Symantec > Symantec Norton Security with Antivirus Premium - 10 Devices - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 not good for software developers
Pros: Good for the masses.
Cons: I am a software developer and here are my complains about Norton:
1) Norton firewall does not let connections between my applications in my local work network
- each time I do a change and compile my software (10 to 100 times a day), I have to add each time my sameexecutablename.exe to firewall exception and then it works until next compile (like in 10 minutes).
- No problem when I had Windows firewall.
- With McAfee there was the option to install Antivirus only (without firewall); not with Norton
- Of course I can disable firewall but then I get this "You are at risk" red icon and I am afraid if I let it like that I will not know when there is a legit reason for concern (the icon does not get more red-is than it is)
- When I contacted Norton support for this issue they told me that if I disable firewall, antivirus will not work (I don't think is like that, anyway the customer service was useless and I am afraid they did not understood my problem)
2) Norton is deleting my files all the time
- Sure there is no reputation for my exe and dlls that I have just compiled: each file is unique and until I send a release version to a customer I am the only one in this world to have those files ! Norton quarantine and delete them based just on low occurrence in Norton community...
- I can add that file to Norton exceptions and it works until next time I compile (when I make some changes, of course the file is different: to Norton is like a unrelated, new file)
- I am sure Norton can detect that I have Visual Studio C++ installed on my PC and leave files that I have created using Microsoft Visual Studio compiler installed on my PC alone; I don't mind if he send them to Norton Server for future analysis, just do not delete them.
- Of course I can disable sonar detection but then I get "You are at risk" red icon and again I am afraid if I let it like that I will not know when there is a legit reason for concern.
Also if I may ask, how many Norton components do I have to disable just to be able to do my job ?
And do you think I feel protected with whatever protection is left after I disable all these?
Other Thoughts: Good for home use, my rating is because the frustration I experience at work with this product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2017 11:08:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Symantec > Symantec Norton Security Deluxe 5 Devices - 60 Days Free Trial

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Symantec Norton system crippler
Pros: Don't install it and that would be the only Pro.
Cons: Bundled garbage software that will slow your pc to a crawl.
Other Thoughts: If you see your friends installing this, just go ahead and slap them now. they'll thank you later.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/12/2017 1:10:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Ultimate Unlimited - 2 Years - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AVG Ultimate Unlimited Security Suite
Pros: Fairly easy to setup, as long as you make sure all previous versions of any anti-virus software has been removed, including AVG, VERY IMPORTANT! Also this is a heck of a lot cheaper than buying it directly from AVG.
Cons: AVG's tech support is interesting to say the least!
Other Thoughts: Also as a further note, been using AVG for a very long time, 12 years, and I have never had a problem in finding and eliminating trash, and garbage that the Ultimate gets cleaned up, plus you really can't beat the price, 1 price for all!
Reviewed By:Laurence P.,5/30/2017 5:24:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Internet Security 5 Device 2017 - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Kaspersky
Pros: I have used Kaspersky internet security EXCLUSIVELY on all my computers for over 10 years. You can't go wrong with Kaspersky products.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Without a doubt I would recommend this product to everyone.
Reviewed By:K O.,5/23/2017 4:50:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Webroot Software, Inc. > Webroot Internet Security Complete + Antivirus 2017 - 5 Devices 1 Year Subscription - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 User for 8 years now
Pros: Lightweight, quick, reliable, epic customer support, and just plain freaking great! I've been using Webroot Complete for at least 8 years now, but probably longer - can't remember. Either way, I've used all the antivirus out there (free and paid). And when I found Webroot, it felt like I hit the lotto. I've never looked back and they've always had my back. Mind you, I work in the cyber space and this is by far one of the greatest security products. Keep up the good work Webroot!
Cons: For those that complain about this product or have issues, call customer care. They will ensure everything is right.

I don't have any cons.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/19/2017 8:03:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 1 Device 2017 - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I'd Rather have Ransomware Installed
Pros: Luckily I didn't pay full price
Cons: This is the worst antivirus I've ever installed. It mostly locks up the system rendering it completely useless. When I can boot into Windows 10 I have a 5 to 8 minute wait for it to finish loading, even then it slows everything down to a snail's pace. It also installed nagware wanting me to register it so they can spam my email with other useless products. There was also a browser add-on I had to decline on firefox and chrome but was nagged constantly about installing it on IE. I had to install it on IE to get it to stop. It also installed safesearch without asking and added something to the taskmanager with a lock icon. Kavremover uninstalled this nightmare of an antivirus, I did it in safemode just to be sure. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling so many time (10 maybe) that I got a window telling me I've installed it too many time. But that's O.K., I really have no use for this.
Other Thoughts: I could have used the money I paid for this to feed a homeless family for a few days.
Reviewed By:Michael G.,5/18/2017 10:07:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 3 Device 2017 - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Kaspersky Anti-Virus 3 Device 2017 - download
Pros: Works well, feel safe.
Cons: I need special help downloading but they where there.
Reviewed By:Carla S.,5/15/2017 2:18:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Malwarebytes > Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium 1 YR / 3 PC - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Would be great software if they could fix one annoying bug
Pros: In all fairness this does a good job when it works correctly which it doesn't and hasn't for a while.
Cons: One bug where Real-Time Web Protection randomly gets disabled. The only solution is to use the Malwarebytes removal tool then install the latest version with your key. Annoying but it works for a while until they F it up again.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone else until they fix that bug.
Reviewed By:Lee P.,5/9/2017 8:30:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 3 Device 2017 - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great software that seems to be working
Pros: All I had to do was copy the product key and then open up my online account with Kaspersky and add the new licence. This did not invalidate my old licence and I was able to then install it on one of my computers. Now the big question is when my old licence expires will the account allow me to transfer my other computer to the new licence or will the software freeze?
Cons: Noe so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/8/2017 8:56:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 3 Device 2017 - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: The best in its class
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/7/2017 7:26:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.