Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis Disk Director 12 - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent tool for IT Professionals
Pros: I have used this product for years. It does do what it says, but it takes an understanding beyond basic IT knowledge to understand it' full potential. For those that say it doesn't do what it says, they probably aren't sure how to use some features. It goes way beyond built in OS utilities, and works with multiple disk formats including Windows and Linux.
Cons: User interface could be easier for the regular consumer. IT knowledge recommended for using this tool. Most people would find True Image a much better utility for backing up or cloning a drive.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to IT professionals that need to work with partitioning that goes beyond the basic capabilities of built in OS tools. I would not recommend this to a home user. True Image would be a much better choice.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/23/2017 11:12:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016 w/ Disk Director 12 Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Well worth the money
Pros: Allows you to back up the entire partition so you can immediately recover your machine. With a partition backup all files, folders, and serial numbers, are completely restored so you don't have to go through the hassles of reinstalling windows and all of your programs. You can set up the application to do unattended backup with email notifications. You can limit the number of backups that are created or you could specify how long you want to maintain your backups. The program allows you to back up to virtually any media from record-able blanks, flash drives, external drives, etc making it very flexible. I have used True Image for years and I give this program one of my highest recommendations. If you create a full machine backup and verify it you have a 99.9% chance of being able to recover your system should a catastrophe occur.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: The user's manual is available on the installation disc or via download once you set up your account with Acronis. It is essential that you read this guide to use all of the features that the program provides. Some of the important options are tucked away on other menus making it difficult to find them without knowing where to look. For example the verification option is under options and then advanced options so it can be easily overlooked and it is unchecked by default. I would rather it be checked as I consider it as a mandatory option.

As I said above, I have been using true image for years and years and if you are looking for a dependable backup solution for all of your backup needs then look no further. True Image can meet the challenge.
Reviewed By:Virgil B.,1/22/2017 7:54:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 3 Devices

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Same Crudy Interface
Pros: It works. They say they fixed the USB drive letter problem but that remains to be seen.
Cons: Same stupid interface. For power users get used to no power. Still looking for a detailed log instead of one line messages that means nothing.
Other Thoughts: The price is right for 3 pc's, I would not pay more. The product works well but the interface is stupid and non intuitive. I get annoyed when I have to drill for anything. Pull down menu's are the best and require less clicking and drilling for options. Some people love artsy fartsy interfaces but that becomes annoying very quickly. I truly believe the interface was designed for DUMMIES.
Reviewed By:Keith M.,1/13/2017 9:40:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 An okay backup software
Pros: Nice clean interface.
Pretty easy setup for creating and scheduling backups.
Cons: No display of the files it's working just an overall progress bar and timer which is ok but showing the actual file/folder count it's working on would be better.
Other Thoughts: Better disk error handling would be nice, I tried this software to backup a drive with a messed up system and it failed. It kept disconnecting the drive and reconnecting it and then it couldn't continue. I manually copied the files using explorer and it went just fine so nothing was wrong with the drive it self just the interaction between the software and the drive. After updating Acronis and trying 7 or more times it was able to make an image of the drive. If the software could have handled resuming from where it was interrupted when the drive connection was dropped it would have been great.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 2:16:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Pro - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Straight up Cleaner
Pros: Very effective at cleaning up all the temporary files and junk files that gradually build up in your system.

Monitors accumulation of said files and prompts you to run the cleaner now and then.

Extra functions (if you enable them):
*Startup - It's useful to be able to disable some of the many programs that needlessly load themselves when you boot up Windows. This will reduce bootup time and conserve some system memory.
*Wipe free space - after the cleaner deletes junk files all the free space on the drive will be overwritten to help protect your privacy. Of course, if you use this feature every day you must accept that it causes extra wear on your hard drive or SSD.

CCleaner has the only Registry cleaner i really trust. There are numerous Registry cleaning apps and most of them are simply too aggressive. They find and remove lots of "bogus" entries, BUT over the following days or weeks you begin to encounter problems with various programs, games, system settings, etc. This has NEVER HAPPENED WITH CCLEANER because it's conservative and careful in its approach. We have several PCs and laptops all of which use CCleaner since back in the Windows XP days. Newer Windows and newer CCleaners have definitely helped keep our computers running smoothly over the years.
Cons: Basically, the premium version can run and update itself automatically instead of you needing to engage both of those functions yourself. If you don't need that level of convenience then just use the free version.
Other Thoughts: Some people question the need for a system cleaner such as this. The truth is that over time, be it weeks, months or even years, your hard drive will accumulate an ever-growing number of temporary files of all kinds. The combination of wanted programs, games and other data PLUS the unwanted junk files will gradually fill up the drive and cause it to run slower. Also, those junk files alone may cause your internet browser to slow down over time. When people bring me a PC or laptop and complain that it's running slowly there are always 3 important steps to restoring performance. First, use compressed air to blow out the dust (best done outdoors when possible!). Second, run full anti-malware/anti-virus scans (may take minutes or hours). Third, run CCleaner. This step-by-step procedure allows me to judge the benefit of each procedure as well as the cumulative effect. In most cases the performance gains from the first two steps are further improved by running CCleaner. It's reliable and gets the job done.
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,1/9/2017 6:52:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Total Defense > Total Defense PC Tune-Up

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Improves my Toshiba laptop performance noticeably
Pros: Boot time improves from 45 seconds to 30 seconds
Cons: None: do not expect any huge improvement!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/25/2016 5:01:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Pro - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Piriform CCleaner Pro - 1 PC
Pros: Does what is claims it does. I've been using it for years to clean up left over files, internet cache files, etc.
Cons: I'd recommend staying away from the Registry Cleaner unless you REALLY know what you doing. I made a mess of things on one of my PCs.
Other Thoughts: I prefer to buy the Unlimited Home versions instead of one for each of our 3 PCs and my wife's laptop, but I haven't seen them discounted for a long time.
Reviewed By:Andrew B.,12/21/2016 11:35:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016 w/ Disk Director 12 Bundle

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Product
Pros: Quick Images for restoring later
Cons: you need to hunt around for some features
Other Thoughts: We use this product frequently to image new PCs to reuse later if needed. No problems doing full backup images. We boot to the CD or a bootable usb to create the images.
Reviewed By:dwayne m.,12/21/2016 6:36:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 1 Device

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My Exclusive Backup Software Choice
Pros: easy to use
reliable
accurate
Cons: none noted
Reviewed By:William A.,12/18/2016 7:49:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 5 Devices

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not ready yet
Pros: very flexible sceduling once its installed
Cons: Won't install well
Other Thoughts: I have installed on 4 machines so for, Install process is not smooth and straightforward. Have had major trouble on every computer so far with the installation process. Still failed on 1
Reviewed By:John B.,12/18/2016 5:25:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.