Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > SONY PS3 160GB Bundle w/LittleBigPlanet 2 Move Starter Bundle, 2 Dualshock 3 Controllers, and HDMI cable - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great bundle for the price
Pros: - Nice games
- Extra controller and cables
- Big enough HDD
Cons: - None really
Other Thoughts: I bought this system to use internationally. Double check your exact model, but mine worked on 220 V instead of 110 V.
Reviewed By:Eric F.,4/13/2017 4:10:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > PlayStation 3 500 GB System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fine Machine
Pros: -It's very, very quiet. Yeah, the disc drive will make the occasional whine noise, but many games only use the disc drive when loading up, and then no more after that.

-It may give you the impression that it's cheaply-made, but man this thing is reliable. It's almost five years old, has had 200+ games played on it, has survived extremely long (16+ hour) sessions, and much more, and yet it still rocks. To date, it is the most reliable console I've ever owned.

-Exclusives. I know that many exclusives have made their way over to PS4 now via remasters, but before that, the PS3 had some of the best exclusives. Uncharted and TLOU are the ones everyone likes to point out, and for good reason - they're fantastic games. The Killzone series is pretty good but you can tell it's more of a showcase of what the PS3 can do, and a good one at that. Killzone 2 still feels and looks so good.

-Isn't a power-hog like its successors.

-It's very small.
Cons: -WiFi reception could be better. Its connection speed is the slowest of all my devices (barely passing 16mbps, whereas my PS4/PC get 40+mbps) even though they're all approximately the same distance from the router.
Other Thoughts: -Try to keep it clean and well ventilated. For the first year of owning it, I didn't do any sort of maintenance, and consequently the console began running extremely hot/loud. All it took was a thorough dusting to fix.

-For the currently listed price ($239.99), I just can't recommend purchasing it. When I got in in 2012 it was around $299, so to see the price has only dropped ~$60 in five years is very strange, especially because it is so close to the PS4 Slim (which is $249.99). Paying this price for a platform that is largely abandoned by developers (new games are getting rarer and rarer) is a no-go, IMO, unless you're hell-bent on playing a PS3.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/9/2017 9:53:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony PS3 CECHG01 (80GB)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted about 6 months
Pros: Don't buy it.
Cons: Lasted about 6 months before breaking, save the money
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/31/2017 7:30:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony CECHG01 PlayStation 3 Console 40 GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Price was right, runs smoothly
Pros: + Included controller felt new
+ Price when I bought it wasn't much more than a Dualshock 3.
+ Has operated smoothly since I bought it. (I primarily use it for Netflix but have played a few PS3 games on it too)
+ Came with a slightly bigger hard drive than listed (60GB but still a CECHG system).
Cons: - Hard drive screw had its bit "eaten" by whoever refurbished it, making the hard drive caddy inseparable from the hard drive.
- Doesn't include an HDMI cable.
- Never got my rebate after mailing it in.
- Fans can get noisy under a game with a heavy load
Other Thoughts: The included controller I got was black, which I prefer over the camo shown.
This is/was a great deal for a solid Blu-ray Player, but after accessories it's a bad deal for a "Smart TV functionality" device.
It's becoming a bit hard to find games for this thing cheap, but that's what I get for buying in too late.
Reviewed By:Joseph S.,3/6/2017 4:34:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > SONY CECHL01 PlayStation 3 Console 80 GB

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good working PS3 console.
Pros: The console worked out of the box. Upgraded to a 1tb hd and downloaded a bunch of games. Works great.
Cons: The controller included was busted and the console looked pretty beat up. Didn't want to hassle with returns so I just kept it. Controller went into the trash.
Other Thoughts: I believe refurbished is hit and miss. This was my first negative experience with newegg and refurbished gear.
Reviewed By:Ricardo C.,2/20/2017 12:06:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHE01) 80 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice but not now
Pros: IT was fun until it gone faulty
Cons: Worked for 9 months and then gone faulty.
Reviewed By:Syed Z.,12/6/2016 9:55:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony CECHG01 PlayStation 3 Console 40 GB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Mine worked so far. Some small issues
Pros: Price is phenomenal. With rebate getting a PS3 for under $60 delivered is amazing. My console looked great. Barely any scratches. Booted well and I tested games on it for a couple hours. Came with all genuine Sony parts like power cord and remote. Had an upgraded HD of 60GB. Wish I bought more.
Cons: PS3 Remote sent was completely dead. No life. I didn't want to return the good console so had to wait for replacement remote. During the process I held off on the rebate incase I had to return the WHOLE package (didn't want to since it was a good working console). By the time I got the replacement remote the rebate was a day late getting mailed out. Waited 2 months to get a denial letter. Luckily Newegg credited the issue. Still was an annoying process.
Other Thoughts: These consoles were the (red ring of death) overheating models. I am sure a lot of consoles were just reflowed and sold refurbised for cheap. (most good deals are too good to be true) If this is the case chances are this console will fail again with in a couple months. Will update if it does.
Reviewed By:Gregory M.,10/28/2016 12:00:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > SONY CECHL01 PlayStation 3 Console 80 GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 factory refurbished ps3
Pros: its a ps3, thought it was worth the 80 bucks
Cons: its not a ps4
Reviewed By:Shawn H.,10/27/2016 7:49:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony CECHG01 PlayStation 3 Console 40 GB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broken after two months.
Pros: I was able to play some Sony exclusives.
Cheap price.
I can still play downloadable games.
Cons: Fan was extremely loud out of the box.
Disc drive stopped working after two months.
Reviewed By:Grayson R.,10/26/2016 5:32:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > PlayStation 3 CECHH01 120GB Hard Drive 2 x Front USB 2.0 WIF DualShock PS3

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 The system works fine the controller on the other hand lasted 2 weeks and then the left analog stick is stuck making it roam
Pros: System its self great
Cons: Controller broke after 2 weeks left analog stick roams
Reviewed By:Harry J.,10/14/2016 7:35:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.