Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > Capcom > Street Fighter V - PlayStation 4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fun game
Pros: Very nice
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Alan L.,1/13/2017 2:58:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > Capcom > Mega Man Legacy Collection - PlayStation 4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ahhh, so many childhood memories.
Pros: Mega Man 1 - 6

Now WITH a specific "pause" button (L2 by default) for MM1's pause glitch against the Yellow Devil.

Just in case you don't have the patience of Job, like we all once did as kids and teens.
Cons: The playstation 4, like the PS3 and PS2 and PSX before it has the split arrow pad, which, I find to be less ergonomic and comfortable than the NES/SNES D-Pads. Just have to nitpick, but neither the thumb joysticks, nor the split 4 way directional pad compare to the Nintendo D-Pad.

Another minor nitpick is that the middle "menu" button on the PS4 controller is usually what you hit by accident instead of the tiny "start"/"option" buttons. Needless to say, it doesn't pause the actual gameplay so if you were off to use an E Tank just before slamming the wrong button, you'll return with your invuln frame off and DIE.

That's about it. Like I said, nitpicks, really.

Oh, and I haven't yet figured out how to set up a replay loop for the soundtracks. Been busy reliving old memories with a less than stellar controller. But at least I can upload my replays to facebook or the PSN...
Other Thoughts: Very important. This game removes some of the nasty glitches in tile placement on the Anniversary Edition (PS2) where items which fell on the "seam" between two tiles would get knocked over into pits if the tiles were two block platforms over a pit. Same glitch made airman's rising platform area in MM2 a nightmare (as did the lack of Yellow Devil Elec Beam glitch in MM1 remake.) This game has none of those problems.
Reviewed By:Paul C.,1/5/2017 6:09:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > SQUARE ENIX USA > World of Final Fantasy - PlayStation 4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Final Fantasy game released in 2016
Pros: - Addictive gameplay, takes the best of the franchise & puts a unique spin on it.
- Adds elements of the Pokemon series (capture monsters, have them fight for you) while keeping that unique FF feel.
- TONS of nostalgia, the updated versions of music from classic FF franchises for the most part hits it out of the park.
- 100% kid friendly, few scary moments but I'm playing it with my daughter and we love it.
Cons: - Kid friendly means it's very tame & sugary, this could be a turn-off for some.
- Battle system is repetitive. I enjoy the grind, but others may not.
Other Thoughts: Cons listed are just me trying to provide some context outside of my personal bias. Love the game, have sunk over 50 hours into it and will sink many more I'm sure. The "other FF title" released in 2016 is a great title, but does not feel very much like a FF game to me, this is much more in the traditional formula.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/5/2017 11:12:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > SQUARE ENIX USA > Dragon Quest Heroes PlayStation 4

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great fun
Pros: - It's a fun game... If you like the Dynasty Warriors series / Kingdom Hearts series / Gauntlet series, this is the game for you, as it is quite similar to those titles.
- I like how non-player controlled Heroes will go after hordes of monsters scattered on the sidelines and such, so that you can focus on the main/plot hordes in front of you.
- The music is good.
- Game went on sale for a great price. Newegg sent fast.
- The "Day One" digital content was already WAY expired (yes, it has an expiry date!), but I tried anyway for the heck of it and was still able to redeem it successfully on PSN. : )
Cons: - You are somewhat limited to what you can do in this game. I kind of wish I had more options.
- The "Day One" content is just slime equipment... really?... (whoop... de... do... lol).
- If you're expecting a JRPG, you are going to be pretty disappointed.
Other Thoughts: - I really think younger gamers will appreciate this title more than veterans of the series.
- There is a ALREADY a sequel heading to the U.S. soon. You might be very tempted to just wait for that one...
Reviewed By:Wesley H.,1/4/2017 4:05:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > Capcom > DmC Devil May Cry: Definitive Edition PlayStation 4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 big fan of dmc games
Pros: fresh new in plastic, disc wasnt loose inside case, happens with gamestop too but never any scratches, im convinced blue ray discs indestructible. game arrived ;]
Cons: capcom didnt include booklet inside case
Other Thoughts: i wish newegg had more ps4 games to offer
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/3/2017 3:05:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > SQUARE ENIX USA > Final Fantasy XV Deluxe Edition - PlayStation 4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Finally an accessible Final Fantasy
Pros: Decent visuals, and great soundtrack. The fighting style is pretty fast paced, but didn't force you to develop a nervous tick or learn complicated combos. Great story for a game, especially a JRPG. The unique secondary skill each character has were fantastic for Prompto and Ignis, less so for Noctis and Gladio.
Cons: The English voice acting was passable, but I found three of the four main protagonists' English voices to be too similar. I had to rely on subtles 50% of the time to know which one was talking because there is a lot of off-screen dialogue. The open world was wide and shallow. It wasn't terrible, especially for a first attempt in the FF series. I just wish it had more. The questing was too simple and a bit monotonous. Again, this is traditional JRPG fare.
Other Thoughts: Even for its flaws, which didn't really detract from the game, it was worth the money. If the cons are simply unacceptable for you, you're probably not into quirky RPGs anyway.

I'm giving it 5 stars, not because it was perfect (nothing is), but it met my expectations which were above average and the game exceeded them for more reasons than it disappointed.
Reviewed By:Douglas F.,12/26/2016 3:31:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > Electronic Arts > NHL 17 - PlayStation 4

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 New Gen NHL still terrible
Pros: its a hockey game?
Cons: NHL was a masterpiece for 360 and PS3. NHL 15 was released and it felt like the game was still in Alpha which was almost confirmed by EA when they said most of the features would release in patches. I bought NHL 16 and 17 ONLY hoping the game would become more playable like its ancestry on last gen consoles. The game continues to get worse. Its sad because it I used to love NHL and love playing hockey games but at no point is this game enjoyable unless you greatly tweak gameplay settings.

Lets start with passing:
-Never goes to the player, usually gets dumped int a random spot of the ice (it is almost impossible to setup a powerplay for this reason)
-Players dont receive the puck, they either stand there and it goes through them or they skate away from the pass.
-Players cannot receive a pass, the amount of time it takes a player to control a pass is ridiculous. It is impossible for a quick release shot.
-Had to turn up pass assist to 75 in order to make the game remotely playable as recommended by many forums. EA doesn't seem to be listening. (thats what you get with a monopoly)
-Passes are extremely slow.
-there is about a 1-3 second delay from pressing pass on the controller to the guy actually reacting to it in the game.
-dont even attempt on touch passing.

Skating:
-Players feel like they are moving through quick sand. You cannot control the skate of a player. youll feel that he is extremely unresponsive.
-AI usually skates in the wrong direction and when you switch to the player you cannot change direction.
-a lot of the time the player will just randomly stop taking strides and glitch out.

puck handling:
-really poor puck handling, receiving passes takes about 1-3 seconds before you can move the player.
-players will skate over open pucks and not even attempt to pick them up.
-Passes travel through players and they wont receive them or attempt to.
-Making a move on a goalie is like watching a 5 year old stick handle in slow motion.

shooting:
-don't even attempt a one timer. If the pass even goes to the open player to begin with he will take a dramatically long period of time to handle the puck and throw a very slow shot towards the net if he even gets it off. Or he'll just wiff all together.
-picking corners just isnt a thing anymore.
-there is about a 2 seconds delay for getting the shot off.

switching players:
-will always switch to players behind the play or outside of the play. If someones on a 1 on 1 with 2 trailing guys, you will cycle between the trailing players while the computer controls the loan defender that will usually skate out of the way.
-if someone skates behind the net and you try an switch to the short side defenseman to cut off the lane it will switch to someone on the high boards or the man trailing the play while the player in the proper position will begin to stride towards the point to cover someone that already isnt open leaving an open lane to the net EVERY TIME.

Goalies:
-when goalies receive a pass behind the net they will skate outside of the trapezoid with their momentum 60% of the time.

menu:
-youd think with a system as powerful as a PS4 or a Xbox One that the systems wouldnt be as laggy and delayed as they are. its pathetic.
Other Thoughts: I did not purchase this game from newegg. I received it as a gift. I am a veteran NHL player playing since NHL 97. This is definitely the most disappointing series of NHL releases. I have reverted to playing NHL 15 for 360 because this is that unenjoyable. The game is a total disaster. The default online game settings are unplayable. You must turn up the game speed, passing speed, and passing assist to make the game remotely playable. I am so disappointed in EA. I really hope 2k sports gets back into the NHL game to force EA to release quality titles again.

Moral of the story, if you were hoping this NHL would finally be what the new gen consoles needed, you will be extremely disappointed. I'd wait until EA figures themselves out with the current gen before wasting your money on this absolute garbage game.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/26/2016 12:20:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > SQUARE ENIX USA > Rise of the Tomb Raider: 20 Year Celebration - PlayStation 4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Vr missions are a blast.
Pros: Great game, fun VR missons, and the beautiful Ms. Croft has never looked better.
Cons: Only buy this version if you wanna do the PSVR missions or don't own a gaming PC. The PC version on a good rig blows this outta the water.
Reviewed By:Daniel B.,12/26/2016 6:32:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > SQUARE ENIX USA > Final Fantasy XV - Day One Edition - PlayStation 4

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Starts out little slow.
Pros: Great character models and fluid attack moves and spells. Open world road trip setting is a nice change for an RPG.
Cons: The character models look very modern and sharp the landscape textures on the other hand look very PS3 and dated.
Other Thoughts: Wait for a sale then enjoy.
Reviewed By:Daniel B.,12/26/2016 6:30:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > PS4 Video Games > PlayStation > The Last of Us Remastered - PlayStation 4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A must own for 4k gamers.
Pros: Looks amazing in native 2160p.
Cons: The second one isn't out yet :(
Other Thoughts: Great game to show of your new PS4pro and 4k TV.
Reviewed By:Daniel B.,12/26/2016 6:27:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.