Works well after initial setup hurdles4/1/2011 6:14:45 AM

Pros: Inexpensive solution for stand alone / portable array solution.

Cons: I took off a point due to the undocumented barriers to set the device up correctly. My use case involved having the drives in a raid5 config connected over the esata port. I got it to work by: populating the device with the drives, plug the unit into usb, supply power to the enclosure, power on enclosure, select raid level, hold down the hidden confirmation button in the back... enclosure reboots, via host format and verify capacity... formatting completes, remove from usb then plug in the esata. I had to do this due to the lack of port-multiplier support on my sata controller.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? 
RAID10/6/5 Incompatible with Dell T7103/24/2011 12:03:58 PM

Pros: Good specs

Cons: Attempted to build a RAID10 split with 2 LUNS but after every boot the controller says that one of the virtual disks (LUNS) was missing. Tech support was responsive but unhelpful (raid10 works on their testbed, must be your backplane.) The Perc H of controllers was able to perform the RAID10 split over 2 LUNs on the same hw.

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? 
Failed after 6mo3/11/2011 6:54:22 PM

Pros: Was very fast when it was working.

Cons: Extremely fast failure when it happened. Device showed no warnings of pending/imminent failure after months of use then, boom... every SATA controller the SDD is attached to locks up

Overall Review: SDD speed increase is great; sdd failures are very unsettling (gone are the good ole days of smart warnings, rotational clunking noises, etc.)

Did you find this review helpful? 
Manufacturer Response:
. Dear Customer We are sorry to hear there is a problem with the drive. Please send it in for RMA and the replacement should work better. All G.Skill Phoenix Series SSDs are backed by a 3 year warranty. For any defects such as what you have experienced, we can exchange it with a new replacement. If you have any further questions or issues, please feel free to contact us directly. Thank you GSKILL SUPPORT Quality and customer service are our top priorities. Tech Support Email: RMA Dept Email: G.Skill Forum:
Incompatible with Dell M640011/15/2010 1:19:22 PM

Pros: N/A

Cons: The Dell M6400 will not post with these SO-DIMMs installed even with the latest A10 bios. I traded a few emails with GSkill and they acknowledge this part does not work with the M6400 nor do they have a compatible 4GB SO-DIMM

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? 
Manufacturer Response:
. Dear Customer We apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, we are aware of the issue with this particular Dell M6400 model. We have attempted to resolve this issue with Dell, but unfortunately there are no results as of yet. Currently, we do not offer a substitution, but as soon as their is a solution to this problem, we will post it on our website. Thank you GSKILL SUPPORT Quality and customer service are our top priorities. Tech Support Email: RMA Dept Email: G.Skill Forum:
Do not ingore the bad reviews!5/2/2009 2:31:32 PM

Pros: $/GB

Cons: I purchased 3 of these drives all shipped with the final firmware (although I am not using these in a RAID setup anyways.) The first two days I spent copying over my pictures/audio/video and I started to notice some slowdowns. The next few days I started to get some drive IO errors on write. Finally after the fifth day SMART declared imminent failure so I mirrored the drive - good thing, dead. SMART tools showed me that all 3 of the drives I purchased were having double to triple digit 'Reallocated Sector Count' ... all less than a week of use!!! Do not ignore the warnings, there are serious quality control issues with these drives.

Overall Review: Firmware is not the only problem with these drives.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? 
What a treat10/30/2007 4:53:38 PM

Pros: This is a great value for such a wonderful and bright picture.

Cons: DVI should be supported, height adjustment would be nice, hdmi plug is too deep to support most hdmi/dvi adapters.

Did you find this review helpful? 
Good price, some quirks10/27/2007 1:41:41 PM

Pros: price - motivating factor on this purchase

Cons: Fan was not properly lubricated - snap out the fan and hit it with your favourite synthetic to fix. FTP service disconnects user(s) for no apparent reason. Fat32 file system - watch out if you use Unicode or large file size.

Overall Review: Samba seems to be the most reliable form of file transport. I have seen some failed transfers but was able to narrow most of the failures to unicode filenames.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? 
Verified Owner
Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
SMS capabilities1/10/2007 11:19:52 AM

Pros: I used this card to send/receive automated SMS messages from a custom app and found it to be fairly easy to work with this card. This is a re branded BenQ M32 so it uses the same AT command set as the BenQ.

Cons: * AT communication is a bit buggy at speeds higher than 9600 baud and required ~200ms delays between commands/response check. * Slow to acquire networks * Connection drops occasionally but is easy to recover. * Antenna could be better.

Overall Review: Great for the price

Did you find this review helpful? 
Works... but be careful2/2/2006 5:19:24 AM

Pros: Outstanding price for a 8 port (true 802.3af) switch + 8 10/100 switch ports. Plugged in a 802.3af device that requires handshaking, and it worked like a charm.

Cons: Make sure the entire power supply (dc side and AC cable) are connected to the switch before you plug into AC. The first unit I tested was bricked when the power supply sparked when connected to AC power without the switch as a dc load. Netgear support was AWFUL, told me to exchange with my retailer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?