Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti EdgeRouter ER-8-US Router 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 8 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent bang-for-buck
Pros: The EdgeRouter (ER-8-US) is an impressive piece of hardware for the money. Fast, reliable, open, and extremely flexible. Perhaps not so great for the casual or semi-technical user, though it does have a pretty web UI, network engineers and power users will enjoy the tree based JunOS-like CLI (with auto-completion) and the portability of configs. It's hard to beat ~2,000,000 PPS for the money.

Don't forget to turn on all applicable "offload" (fast-path) features! They are off by default, but depending on the workload they can drastically improve your performance.
Cons: The flash based storage it uses to store system images and configurations is low end MLC. This means it will not survive a million writes and re-writes. My advice to work around this is not to write config changes superfluously, but rather commit as many as possible in a single commit before writing it out to disk.

Additionally, this thing is relatively noisy. If you want one in your home network rack in your den or your office, you may not appreciate the RPMs these fans run at.

The adventurous DIY types might find it rewarding to replace the stock fans with more decibel-friendly ones. Maybe make an image of the stock USB flash device too, while you're at it, and replace it with a far more resilient SLC device. SLC can be expensive, but you only need 4GB, so it shouldn't be too bad.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking at this device as an enthusiast, don't expect it to function like an idiot-proof plastic SOHO router and you won't be disappointed. There may or may not be a learning curve, depending on your level technical expertise, but one of the nice things about EdgeOS (and open source platforms in general) is that they don't require proprietary skills and knowledge to implement. Just general network skills, in this case. And if you wind up learning some new networking skills while implementing an EdgeRouter, it won't be locked in to a single vendor's paradigm. It'll continue to be an asset for you many years down the road.

P.S. - I may not be a "verified owner", but I've worked with dozens of EdgeRouters. Nothing I've written here is purely speculative.
Reviewed By:Christopher W.,11/21/2017 12:32:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks ER-X-SFP-US Advanced Gigabit Router with PoE and SFP, The EdgeRouter X SFP Combines Cost-effective Routing Performance with The Convenience of Passive PoE Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gigabit speeds for cheap
Pros: Cheapest solution if you need gigabit speeds. I liked EdgeOS but can be intimidating for inexperienced users. It's tiny and 5 ethernet cables will move it around wherever they want. Can be wall-mounted. Used old router as an access point for wireless.
Cons: Enabling hardware offloading (necessary to get >400mbit speeds) and setting port forwarding are harder than they need to be. Google it for help. On initial setup, if you cannot connect to it, try manually changing your computers IP to 192.168.1.20. Using the default 192.168.1.1 did not work until I did this.
Other Thoughts: I looked at building a pfsense box but it would have cost at least $200, closer to $300 for a 5-port (all Intel) barebones box. Add RAM and SSD and you're looking at another $100. I was skeptical the EdgeRouter would hit gigabit speeds but after enabling hardware offload (disabled by default) I was getting 850 mbit up and down on my CenturyLink fiber. Took a good day to setup but I'm happy with the results.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/20/2017 12:58:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible, freezes up all of the time
Pros: easy to setup and when working was okay.
Cons: Router freezes up 5 - 8 times a week. also keeps having issue with DHCP where one or more computers just loses internet. All you have to do is unplug and reset it and it starts working. Tried calling Tech support and all they have is foreign people who you cannot understand wanting you to factory reset the device over and over again. I can't believe all of the good reviews unless i got a lemmon but i have also seen online where this is a very common issue with this model.
Other Thoughts: I am using 2 wan ports and with load Balancing.
Reviewed By:Justin B.,11/15/2017 2:47:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks ER-X-SFP-US Advanced Gigabit Router with PoE and SFP, The EdgeRouter X SFP Combines Cost-effective Routing Performance with The Convenience of Passive PoE Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice switch/router for home use
Pros: Easy to set up, and has all the features and capabilities I wanted in a little router. Excellent performance, and so far it's been rock solid reliable.
Cons: Power cord goes out one side, where the CAT6 are on the opposite side. Can make cable management difficult.
Reviewed By:Ross B.,11/13/2017 6:07:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3-US Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Really research this one - GUI still missing many features
Pros: Seems to be will liked for those folks who like command line routers
Cons: One I received had none gui wizard firmware so had to restore my old router before I could get this one working.
Turning off hardware off loading still requires CLI instructions.
Setting up different DNS servers for DHCP was more complex then it should be.
Other Thoughts: I have flashed ddrwrt on about 4 different routers in the past, setup multiple home setups with complex connections. (Powerline, Moca Ethernet 1.0 and 2.0) and this was the most frustrating router I have every worked with. I dont doubt it is as powerful as the more positive users post, but this isnt something I would want to use for myself or setup for Friends & Family due to the complexity. I ended up returning it.

There is a market for high quality gigabit routers - but it needs to be much easier to use.
Reviewed By:Daniel C.,11/10/2017 7:23:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X-US EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Router died within a couple weeks; replacement part was DOA
Pros: I bought ER-X (and a ubiquity unifi ac/lite) to replace the router / wifi combo that came with my cable box. Plugged it in, updated firmware, and it worked great initially. The PoE worked well with the unifi part, did not have any issues with PoE unlike some other reviewers. The console GUI seemed reasonably well polished for a cheap device. Had no interaction with customer support, but found documentation to be about average. When the unit died (see "cons") had no trouble getting an RMA (except that unit was also dead on arrival -- again, see "cons").
Cons: Within a short time of purchase, my ER-X died inexplicably. I read on a forum that a small number of ER-X parts had a manufacturing defect that was relatively rare, so I RMA'd and got a new router. The new router was DOA. I liked the ER-X when it was working, but having it keel over, and then go through RMA only to receive another dead unit, was extremely frustrating. I don't care about $50 but the hours of time wasted cannot be recouped.
Reviewed By:Ezekiel V.,10/20/2017 12:38:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X-US EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Router - but not for the casual user
Pros: This router is very fast, and once properly configured, works great!
Cons: This router requires detailed knowledge of networking to configure. Linux experience is a plus.
Other Thoughts: With great power comes complexity. Sorry - that's just the way it is. Out of the box, and after a hard reset, this router is dumb as a stump. Only Eth0 works. There's no DHCP running. Thus, to even talk to it, you must configure your PC with a STATIC IP address. It's not hard - you just have to know how to do it. Once you establish communications, the easiest configuration method is to use the setup wizard, select one of the preset configurations, then modify from there. Ubiquity has an OS manual online that you need to download and study There's a learning curve. To get full benefit, expect to spend some time in study. Your reward for this effort is a highly configurable, great performing router. Be warned: this router is perfectly willing to let you shoot yourself in the foot. You need to understand what you're doing, and why.

This router is NOT plug and play. It's not a home consumer, take it out of the box, plug it in and run device. If that's what you're expecting, or what you want, DON'T buy this router. If you want really great performance, and are willing to spend the time to learn how to do it, this router's for you.
Reviewed By:Telford D.,10/19/2017 8:00:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3-US Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great router, easy to setup with online help.
Pros: Feature packed enterprise class router for a SOHO budget.
Built-in wizard to get you up and going quickly with a simple setup.
3 full Gigabit ports, can support load balanced or fail-over redundant WAN links from two different ISPs.
Small size and uses low powered AC adapter for reduced power draw versus commercial equipment.
Ubiquiti keeps on top of firmware updates and security fixes so you can be assured your router is not out of date and vulnerable to new threats.
Cons: Advanced configuration can be somewhat confusing at first, but with great community support and plenty of YouTube channels covering common configurations this turns out to not be a problem if you can spare 30 minutes to research. Any more capable device will require some learning curve so I do not consider this a real con as the tradeoff is more customization options and security versus similar priced SOHO routers
Other Thoughts: I moved off of an old Cisco 1841 router after upgrading my Internet to 100 mbps service. I found out the old router was limiting the traffic to around 50 mbps. I didn't really want a mass market home router and stumbled upon this so ordered it. I found it was just as feature rich as the old Cisco and supported speeds up to 1 Gbps, which is well beyond my Internet speed.

I read a few reviews before hand about this being hard to setup, but found this to be far from the truth. Ubiquiti has an excellent online community forum with lots of helpful posts, and a quick search on YouTube turns up dozens of videos covering almost any configuration setup you can imagine.
Reviewed By:Scott G.,10/13/2017 1:27:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Linksys > LINKSYS BEFSX41 Cable/DSL Firewall Router with 4-Port Switch/VPN Endpoint 10/100 (Half Duplex) 20/200 (Full Duplex) WAN Ports 10/100 (Half Duplex) 20/200 (Full Duplex) LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Purchase
Pros: NONE
Cons: WAY OUT DATED - this router would not even be worthy for home use. No firmware or support left.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/4/2017 1:34:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco RV345 Router - 18 Ports - Management Port - SlotsGigabit Ethernet - Rack-mountable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Difficult to set up. ABSOLUTELY NOT RESPONSIVE. Doesnt even Work
Pros: It is supposed to have some awesome features.
Cons: It has a huge bug, if you factory restore, it will never acquire its original ip address of 192.168.1.1. Now I am sitting here, trying to restore over and over again, trying to ping the router, WITH NO LUCK, It is a brick and doesnt work.
Reviewed By:Lyudmila m.,9/27/2017 2:55:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.