Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch (FS105) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Netgear - reliable - dependable - solid.
Pros: Metal construction - strong build.
Fast and cool operation.
Plug and go - super easy to install and use.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: Netgear ProSafe perfect for running several items in living room or office.
I used it to run 4 devices off a powerline uplink drop. Speeds are amazing... perfect operation - I am always happy to buy NETGEAR. I trust NETGEAR to work both in Server rooms and game rooms. Thank you NETGEAR !
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER S.,2/23/2017 7:15:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (GS105 v5) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: 1. Plug and play, works great!
2. Get 1Gbps bandwidth on CAT5e cables.
3. It is small and easy to fit into small space
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Lei M.,2/23/2017 12:15:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port PD Pass-through Gigabit Web Managed (Plus) Switch (GS105PE) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good quality at a fair price
Pros: Metallic build gives it a good weight and makes it feel and look like a top quality switch.
While I did limited performance testing, what I did do reached its advertised speeds, all while staying cool to the touch.
Industry standard configuration options.
Included mounting hardware
Fantastic 10 year warranty.
Cons: Web utility feels antiquated and sluggish. It's almost entirely useless. Would love to see Netgear overhaul this ASAP!
Other Thoughts: While the software isn't the best, the hardware is still great. Setup your switch once, and you won't ever have to enter the software again. Due to this, I can still recommend this device.
Reviewed By:Zachary B.,2/22/2017 7:26:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Linksys > Linksys 8-Port Metallic Gigabit Switch (SE3008)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Maximum throughput is only 1 Gb/s
Pros: Good quality build. Inexpensive. Ports in the back, lights in the front. QoS features.
Cons: Ports in the back, lights in the front. 1 year limited warranty is pretty short.
Maximum total throughput 1 Gb/s, so traffic will be slowed to accommodate this.
Other Thoughts: I checked with Linksys customer support after seeing the throughput limitation in the FAQs, and they confirmed that the total throughput on all ports is 1 Gb/s. If your network has a lot of simultaneous traffic, messages will be slowed down. It's probably good enough for most home networks, unless you are doing a lot of crazy fast stuff with servers, file transfers locally, streaming movies, etc.
They could not tell me what the "non head of line blocking architecture" means, and it's not on the Linksys web site.
I decided to send this back and get a different switch with a longer warranty and no throughput limitation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/22/2017 6:40:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-SG108 Unmanaged 10/100/1000Mbps 8-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great switches
Pros: 8 ports
Gigabit
Durable, metal casing
Well-Known brand
FAST
Cons: None for me.
Reviewed By:Nathan W.,2/21/2017 1:59:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link DGS-108 Unmanaged 8-Port Gigabit Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect
Pros: Gigabit
8 ports
Plug-n-play
Heavy duty
Good specs
Well-known brand
Warrantied
Great price
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Nathan W.,2/21/2017 11:36:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link GO-SW-8E Unmanaged 10/100Mbps 8-Port Fast Ethernet Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great hubs
Pros: Price
8 Ports
Size
Well-known brand
Cons: No cons, i wanted a cheaper 10/100 switch and this fits the bill perfectly.
Other Thoughts: Should i ever need gigabit, they have other models to suit my needs.
Reviewed By:Nathan W.,2/21/2017 11:33:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (GS208) - Essentials Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great switch and great price.
Pros: + Simply enough.
+ Ports in the back.
+ Power in the back.

Plug and play. Not much more to say about it. Its unmanaged; it works.

I like that the ethernet cables and power adapter plug into the back of the units with the lights in the front.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a fan of white electronics, but a darker color was not available. At the end of the day, I'm not disappointed with it. Its not a fingerprint magnet, so no biggie.

My devices are 1Gbps, so I cannot attest to the change in color for 10/100.
Reviewed By:Brian D.,2/21/2017 5:50:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch with 4-Port PoE (GS308P)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: >Relatively inexpensive PoE switch
>Usual Netgear build quality
Cons: >External PSU
>No mounting template
Other Thoughts: I've knocked points off of Netgear hardware before for not having mounting templates and I'm doing it again. If you're going to make something wall mountable, include the templates - or at least make them available online. This should be pretty standard by this point, and not at all difficult or expensive to do. With how advanced modern CAD programs are, it is probably just a few clicks with the sheet metal tools.

This is one that is a negative for me, but may not be for other people: the external PSU. The PSU is one that is separated via a standard NEMA 5-15P to C13 power cord, so it isn't hogging extra places on your power strip or wall socket. Now, it can draw a maximum of 60W of power, at 1.25 amps, so I can kind of understand why the PSU has to be external - or at least why it is easier to be external. 60W isn't unmanageable in a space this small. I know because a couple other brands have internal power supplies in competing switches. No need to have power bricks that you either have to stash somewhere, somehow, or that take up multiple sockets on your power strip because of their form factors.

As for actual performance: top notch. Speed test hardly knows that it is there, seeing full gigabit through-puts with single digit pings between 5-9mS in most cases. The only slowdowns experienced were network-wide, affecting devices that were running simultaneous speed tests, but not through this switch.

I still prefer Netgear because of their superior build quality and use of higher-end components, as well as assured performance. I just wish they would pay a little more attention to the details that aren't immediately related to computer networking. I know I am being extra critical in this review, but I would like to think it is because I've come to expect the very best from Netgear.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,2/20/2017 5:57:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks 16-Port UniFi Switch, Managed PoE+ Gigabit Switch with SFP, 150W (US-16-150W)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't Buy Through Newegg
Pros: Functionally the switch is fine.
Cons: The switch has a fan which makes it unsuitable for an office environment. It drove me crazy. So I bought 2 8-port switches, which are fanless, and linked them. I tried to return the 16-port but Newegg doesn't sell it directly - they point to another seller (I forget which) for problem resolution. They did not reply. And I noticed that other customers had similar problems with the seller. So in future, will will buy through another online store with name beginning with A and having a z in the name (flagged by Newegg). Which is how I purchased the 8-port switches.
Other Thoughts: I can offer a deal on the virtually unused 16-port switch.
Reviewed By:Glenn S.,2/20/2017 1:52:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.