Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-410AP Powerline AV500 adapter+Wireless N300 Access Point kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, fast, and easy on the wallet!
Pros: - Setup was easy. Take them out of the box, plug in the cables, press the sync button, and you're done.
- The configuration page is easy to use.
- Speed of the units was great. Using this to reach a computer two floors below that wasn't getting consistent WiFi signal.
- Can't beat the price compared to similar units!
Cons: Not specifically with this unit, but the other half (the TPL-406E) died after a few months of use. This very well may have been due to a storm or some other power anomaly, so I don't fault TRENDnet at all. The RMA process was quick and easy, and I'm back up and running again!
Other Thoughts: Given the choice, I would definitely purchase this again! For the price, the features and speed can't be beat.
Reviewed By:Shaun R.,2/21/2017 6:47:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA8010P KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Gigabit Pass-through Powerline Starter Kit, up to 1200 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A+
Pros: It just works. I've had similar products from other vendors that just failed after power outages/surges but this one has been working like a champ for ~2 years
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Jason A.,2/21/2017 8:24:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-WPA8630 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline AC Wi-Fi Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Problem solver for limited WIFI range
Pros: Easy to set up
Ease of installation
Decent data transfer rate
Cons: Currently using as a WIFI extender only. Not using the hardwire network option. No cons that affect me.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product. I was fortunate to purchase during a Shell Shocker sale. I had a poor WIFI signal in my detached garage. I have a surge suppression power bar installed off a receptacle installed in my electrical panel. The power unit was plugged into this power bar. The remote unit with antenna was plugged into a receptacle in my garage after pairing it on the same power bar. The device has it's own ID and password that I have incorporated into my phone and vehicle. It connects with no problems.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/20/2017 5:59:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WPA4530 KIT AV500 Powerline ac Wi-Fi Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Inexpensive compared to mesh wifi, but slow and makes poor decisions
Pros: Both the ethernet adapter, and the ethernet + wifi adapter have multiple ethernet connections, which is handy
Because of the nature of powerline, you could buy 2-3 of these kits, and sprinkle access points and ethernet connections all over your house in a matter of minutes. The AP’s have a wifi push feature that keeps all their wifi settings in sync between paired units, which is extremely nice
The ethernet only plug has an outlet pass through and is fairly small
When connected, the access point + ethernet plug gets an IP address via DHCP on your network, so if you can check dhcp, you can find it fairly easily to log in and setup your wireless. The user/pass is admin/admin and the web setup is very intuitive like all TP link products I’ve used lately
Cons: The ethernet connections are only 100 mbps. It’s advertised as 500 mbps, but not a single portion of it is capable of those speeds, and I find the marketing dishonest.
The wifi auto channel selection is very poor, multiple times during usage it picked 2.4 ghz channels other than 1,6, or 11. I’m in an area with absolutely zero other visible AP’s, there is no reason it should have picked one of those channels, and you should only ever use 1,6,11
The 2.4 ghz wifi performance was poor. I connected the AP + ethernet unit to my network, and set up an iperf server on gigabit on the local network. I consistently got about 30 mbps, with occasional bursts up to 35mbps. Other brand access points with the same settings are normally at least double that for speed.
The 5 ghz ac performance was better, but hampered by the 100 mbps ethernet connection. I consistently got 95 mbps upload and download on my iperf test. For comparison, my existing AP’s will give me ~375 mbps on 5 ghz ac iperf tests.
When testing the powerline portion of the network, I also got slower than expected results. Both connections were on the same breaker, both with less than 50’ of power cables from the breaker box. I got ~50 mbps download, and ~35 mbps upload on my local network. Worryingly, when the connection was idle, pings on my local network were ~10 ms, instead of <1, and when I was maxing out the connection, pings jumped to 70-250 ms on my local network. I get much better results than that with my ubiquiti AP’s, and just straight wireless (1ms when idle, 2-3 when busy).
Other Thoughts: I’ll stick with my hardwired AP’s for now I get better speeds, in a more consistent manner using pure wireless then I got with this system using wireless or powerline. This would make a cheap replacement for a mesh system in a larger house since you can just keep adding base units, but you’d have to be ok with the 30-60 mbps speed cap that would be the effective limit. For just office work, skype, and some streaming it would be fine. But if you are doing things really latency sensitive, or in need of higher speed for bulk transfers you will be unhappy with these.
Reviewed By:Dustin H.,2/20/2017 5:12:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR514K01 Powerline AV500 4-Port Hub Kit, Up to 500 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works as expected
Pros: works as expected
can change encryption password
Cons: does not work through surge strips or old breakers
had to reseat 2 breakers and all better.
Reviewed By:Hans S.,2/16/2017 6:53:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV200 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very impressive - happy with the product.
Pros: - Got the job done, it truly is "plug 'n' play"
- Nice and compact, discreet.
Cons: - None so far
Other Thoughts: I have an Avaya IP phone and at first used a network share using my PC WIFI to my Network card. But it just wasn't stable, and was a little clumsy. Plus if your PC is off... so I purchased these inexpensive devices. My router is upstairs, so I connected one end up there. Then I plugged in the second unit near my IP phone and plugged it in. Instant connection. Nothing to configure, just worked! Now people can call me (groan ;) ). I can't comment on the speed of the connection because its just an IP phone. But the quality of calls are identical. At some point I may connect my PC to it just out of curiosity. 200 Mbps is plenty of bandwidth. The distance between outlets is roughly 40 feet, and the router is not directly over my office - its on the other side of the house. So, yes - great product. I'll be getting another for my TV!
Reviewed By:David R.,2/16/2017 6:12:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WPA4530 KIT AV500 Powerline ac Wi-Fi Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 These guys did the trick for me (GOOD BUY GOOD PRICE)
Pros: Extend your wired network and Wi-Fi network in one short easy setup
Dual Band AC Wi-Fi 2.4 G and 5 G up to 500Mbps
Three Ethernet Ports for running several wired devices at one time, game consoles, smart TV’S, etc.
Indicator lights
Reset button
Ventilated
Pass-thru AC outlet
Super easy set-up
Clone your router settings if you desire
Add more adapters in a blink of your eyes to extend as far and as much as you desire
Cons: Extender unit when plug in AC out will block 3 prong plugs from being plugged into top outlet - Small electrical plugs are fine
Other Thoughts: Well I have been a great fan of power-line networking for long-long time
Now they offer dual band AC technology with it
With total hassle, free and simple installation
No more lag time if you are stream HD or 4 K movies from your android media box
Exceptional technology and a definite plus, to my networking needs
(Hey I look at things this way)
If I can set the item up and it operates correctly for a length of time and if it can stream HD Movies with no lagging
It makes me happy, I’m very satisfied with the way this product performs
I would definitely recommend it to a good friend
Reviewed By:William M.,2/14/2017 12:23:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5456KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV2000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 2000Mbps Transmit: up to 2000 Mbps, Receive: up to 2000 Mbps, Powerline Speeds: up to 2000 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working better than expected
Pros: Decent speeds, seems secure, running about a month with no problems.
Cons: Too big to accommodate using the other outlet in a set of wall plugs, not compatible with UPS
Other Thoughts: I was skeptical about this actually holding some form of verification over power lines, or if it was just a claim. After successfully connecting, I powered one up with an Inverter in my car, they would not connect, despite being five feet away. I was concerned if someone connected an additional unit to an outside outlet they could connect to my network, but to add an additional device, you need to press the Encrypt button on all devices within two minutes. This seems improbable. I am not going to restate other security concerns and solutions I’ve noticed in other comments. Additionally, I am using a Belkin UPS, and this device will not connect over it. It’s not a deal breaker, just a warning if you need your remote LAN device to stay connected during a power outage, this might not be the solution for you.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/11/2017 6:45:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 easy to use works
Pros: it works great. plugged it in using the quick guide and now i have internet in my my parents old house where wifi won't even go through walls.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Muajmong V.,2/11/2017 6:01:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link Accesory DHP-P701AV Powerline AV2 2000 Gigabit Passthrough Starter Kit Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This Thing is AWESOME!
Pros: Ease of set up: literally just plug them in, connect the Ethernet cables and go!!
Consistent flow of 100+mgbs download, per my cable plan.
Reasonably priced option for getting the mgbs that I'm paying for in the far end of the house
Cons: None so far.
I've purchased 2 kits and have had them in use for almost a month and have had no issues yet.
Other Thoughts: We live in an 'under served' area, internet accessibility speaking, and after years of putting up with sub-par connections at low speeds, TWC moved in and offered 100mgbs DL speeds. The only problem was, these speeds were only consistent with hard wired devices. WIFI connected devices ranged anywhere from 45 - 10mgbs DL, depending on how far away they are from the router.

Did some research and came across an article describing this product and I tried out one kit. AMAZING! My laptop is set up 130' from my router, through 4 rooms and a hallway and I've got 100+ mgbs consistently when it is connected to the net via D-Link powerline kit. We have 7 computers connected to our cable and 5 of them are on and connected to the internet for 18 hours per day for business purposes.

So I bought another set for my and my daughter's bedrooms and we are all happy as clams. Steaming videos, playing online music without a hitch. We have 7 computers connected to our cable and 4 of them are hardwired via the D-Links. When all 7 are connected to the net at once during my peak usage times, DL speeds average between 90-112mgbs DL.

These kits do not increase your speeds, they only allow you to access the speeds that you are paying for in remote areas of your home via your electrical power lines. It solves the dangerous and cluttered practice of using 100' long Ethernet cables inside of your home for those who don't have the ability of running these cables through walls/floors.

I can't be more pleased or recommend these highly enough.
Reviewed By:Angela R.,2/9/2017 11:38:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.