Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > IOCrest SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Additional SATA Ports
Pros: - adds 4 additional SATA ports
- decent transfer rate
- easy to install with plug and play setup
Cons: - Any hard drive plugged into this card reads like an eject-able storage device. Drives can be accidentally ejected which requires restarting windows to reactivate the drive.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to add additional hard drives to my media PC as all the SATA ports on my motherboard were in use. This was a cheap and easy way to do that. Installing the card was simple and it instantly detected my hard drives when I booted to Windows 7. The only downside is as mentioned in the cons section, any hard drives connected to this card act like USB storage where they can be ejected from the task bar. If you happen to have a flash drive in the USB port and eject the wrong item you will need to restart windows to bring your hard drive back. I would have preferred if this card would read them as internal drives like how a motherboard does.
Reviewed By:Ryan B.,11/20/2017 11:19:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint 2nd Generation RocketRAID 600L Series RocketRAID 642L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Can't Complain----Yet
Pros: From my experience theses card are solid and work great. I see a lot of negative reviews and I guess I'm glad I have not had to deal tech support to this point in time. I have an older model of this card that is 9 years old that I keep around as a backup in case of failure.
Cons: The gui is clunky but fine
Other Thoughts: As there is not a lot of information about the Negative reviews (system config) there are other factors that can contribute to the success or failure of any external raid enclosure. I can tell you I use an enclosure that requires a port multiplier for Raid 5 and the enclosure its self is not capable of doing any kind of disk management. My old config had 5 disks WD Blacks 4 disks were in Raid 5 with 1 disk as hot spare. My new config is same 5 disks 1 as a hot spare the disks are WD gold datacenter drives they make up about a 20 TB video streaming array and pushed out over 4 million hours of playback time this summer. My guess is that if you have an enclosure that is not also running a raid and you pay up for a better drives the card may work better. Like I said Im not picking fight just want to give my experience I have been using some flavor of this model for 9 years and 5 different servers and they have all worked great for me.
Reviewed By:James V.,11/17/2017 10:08:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 plugged it in, good to go!
Pros: - Easy installation, on a WIndows 10 system did not bother with the provided drivers, Windows detected the card correctly.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Amrish K.,11/15/2017 7:09:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40100 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2 Port Raid Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked Great
Pros: I had another card that lacked RAID. I swapped my media server from Windows 7 Pro to Win 10 Pro and the onboard RAID quit working. This card fixed that, without me having to write drivers. It can be a bit tricky finding the right driver. To do that, I suggest going to the Syba website directly. Type the name of the card (PEX40100) and you'll find it in Google. A quick download and install (find the setup file) and voila. You will have to hit CTRL-R (I think) while booting to build a RAID, which will erase your hard drives. If you aren't familiar with RAID (RAID1 is great for home redundancy) I suggest you read up on it. There is an alternate way to build the raid using the storage snap in built into Windows. You can just type "Disk management" in the Windows search bar. Right click on the disks to mirror and it should build it for you. Then, give it a volume or two. Lastly, if you have a TPM you can encrypt the drive. Don't lose your key.
Cons: Not much, I wish it was black instead of green.
Other Thoughts: Military. I.T. Home enthusiast.
Reviewed By:Ryan S.,11/15/2017 1:53:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Intel > Intel RS2WG160 PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA / SAS RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work with VMWare
Pros: The Mega Raid Storage manager is a great tool for visibility into the status of the drives and the array.
Cons: 3 times I've tried doing a hot swap and 3 times it's failed and required me to do a 6-7 hour rebuild with the system down. I think this is a serious flaw as it was on the list of approved hardware from VMware.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this if hot-swap is important to you and you run vmware.
Reviewed By:stefan b.,11/13/2017 8:31:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40094 PCI Express Low Profile Ready SATA SATA III 2 Internal 6Gbps Ports PCI-e Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Never Expires
Pros: Still working perfectly after almost one year of use, Works with CD, DVD, and Blu-ray drives.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Recommended
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/10/2017 9:06:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40108 4 Port SATA III PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Overcame faulty motherboard SATA connectors
Pros: Two of four motherboard SATA connectors were faulty. Installing this card gave me the extra connectivity to add drives and DVD burner without having to replace the motherboard.
Simple installation.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:GENE D.,11/10/2017 8:07:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to install and works with Win 10
Pros: Needed it for older mb with just SATA II. Disk performance benchmarked comparable to SATA III after install. Works with Win 10.
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: Plugged in, install cd didn't work for me but card still worked. I am using Windows Home 10, paperwork only goes up to Win 7.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/8/2017 2:26:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-U312A 2 Ports USB 3.1 (10 Gbps) PCI Express Card - 2 x Type A Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy USB upgrade to 10 yr old desktop PC
Pros: Does exactly what's expected. . .for me, that was doubling the transfer rate between external and internal HDD. Simple upgrade from USB 2.0 to USB 3.1. More than twice the transfer rate now. EZ install. Done in 15 minutes. If running Win8 or higher, no need to install drivers.
Cons: None to speak of. If I were to be (far too) critical, I guess I should mention that I needed to get a USB extension cable to run from the back of the desktop to the front, where the existing "stock" USB port is located. . .I may eventually do a custom job on the front panel to take care of that, though :-)
Other Thoughts: All PC's and user scenarios being different (i.e., "your mileage may vary"), I was able to dramatically reduce the time spent on daily tasks. Highly recommend this product if you're often doing USB transfer tasks and all your ports are USB 2.0 or lower. You simply need an available PCIe socket, version x1 or higher. Mine is version x1 and still increased the rate from 28Mbps to 63Mbps. I know. . .not as fast as SATA, but given the scenarios I've described (lots of USB tasks), I'm quite happy with the 'bang for the buck' on this card. If you're PCIe is version 2x your transfer rate will (theoretically) be faster.
Reviewed By:Patrick P.,11/3/2017 2:32:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1883ix24-8SA PCI-Express 3.0 x8 SAS RAID Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Decade Of RAID
Pros: RAID3, Easy Setup, Fast, Great Tech Support
Cons: Not enough marketing to make public aware of ability. Not popular. Tough for a novice to find and start using.
Other Thoughts: These cards are my foundation for fast, self healing, low cost 4k video editing raid arrays. This is my second card from Areca. Still using a 1280 in an older build. Excellent product!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/3/2017 1:53:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.