Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-2UWIN525P608 Black 1.2mm SECC 2U Rackmount Server Case AP-P4ATX60FEP8 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Misrepresentation.
Pros: - Dimensions are listed correctly for the actual product, it is not smaller nor bigger.
- PSU is relatively quite.
Cons: - This doesn't come with mounts for 4 80mm fans as the picture describes, it only comes with 3 mounts. The panel that the fans are attached to isn't what is pictured, it is built for only 3 fans.
- Also, it does not come with a 60mm fan at the back.

Again, the pictures here and at Athena's website are wrong. Quality control is non-existent with this model.

- The toggle switch for power does not work in my unit. The reset works, but the power switch must not be shorting the pins inside the switch or the leds are faulty.
- The lid never really stays tight, there is always a small gap that fluxes in size by a couple millimeters between the front panel bezel and the interior of the case.
- It is missing 1 motherboard mount that may or may not affect grounding.
-The fans push directly up against the motherboard, in fact, I had to really squeeze the motherboard in (the mounts may be 1/10th of an inch to short, 9.5" instead of 9.6").

I haven't tried the USB front panel. In fact, I wouldn't even mention it but considering the power switch is faulty, I'm not too confident in its operation.
Other Thoughts: If you can work around the faults, it might work for you. I'm going to keep it as I feel the return shipping costs completely negate any real advantage and the dimensions are what I bought it for. However, there is clearly an element of bait and switch with this model, so be warned. I will never buy another Athena product unless I have no other choice.
Reviewed By:STELLA S.,1/11/2017 3:46:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 - 4U Rackmount Server Case or Chassis - 15 Internal Bays, 8 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product
Pros: -Lots of space
-Fans are silent
-Made solid
Cons: - Cable management in this case is a pain
- I hate molex connector on fan but those one are terrible
Reviewed By:Jean-Philippe L.,1/5/2017 5:12:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-R4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 4 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great case looks sharp and perfect for file & storage server
Pros: can install 3 4hd drive cages to make the case hold 12 3.5 drives
Cons: non
Other Thoughts: would like to see 3 wire fans for speed control
Reviewed By:Barry D.,1/3/2017 7:10:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-213-MATX Black Aluminum / Steel 2U Rackmount microATX Server Chassis 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great case looks sharp and perfect for my itx board
Pros: holds good amount of drives
Cons: have to use itx board to get max hard drives in it
Other Thoughts: would like to see 3 wire fans for speed control
Reviewed By:Barry D.,1/3/2017 7:06:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Logisys Computer > Logisys CS4801BK Black 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rack Mount Server Case
Pros: The price is excellent. The case is not of government quality but then I don't want to pay government prices either. Shipping was excellent via Fedex
Cons: None that I can see at this time but I have not set it up yet. I don't anticipate problems since I am going to transfer a working computer to this case to save office space.
Reviewed By:James S.,1/1/2017 7:02:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Highly Recommended for the Price
Pros: - Tool-less 5.25" bays are convenient and work correctly
- The entire front is compatible with 5.25" devices (e.g. additional hot-swap bays)
- Solidly build construction
- Fans move a lot of air and are reasonably quiet
Cons: - No option to affix "short" 5.25" devices (like panels/fan controllers) with screws
- Packaging is short on standoffs for EATX motherboards
Other Thoughts: - Unlike the Habey/Norco case this is replacing, it doesn't seem to be made of super-soft metal that strips the threads frequently
- I really wish it had a tool-less top panel
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/31/2016 10:28:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-431 Black 4U Rackmount 4U Short Depth Rackmount Case with Rotating 9 x 3.5? Drive Cage Standard ATX, mini redundant power supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very nice server case
Pros: -Plenty and easy to use drive cages
-Plenty of places for fans, and front fans have a filter
Cons: -Finish of the metal parts, as stated in other review
-Tight space for two 80mm fans on the back panel: need to loosen the screw on the backpanel: the one that is holding the motherboard section and the PSU section together
-Not easy to replace the filter: need to take off the handle bars, and a row of screws at the top and bottom, than the panel holding the front fans can be opened (front fans can be replaced more easily)
Other Thoughts: This is a short case, as a results part of the motherboard will be covered by the drive bay. From the backpanel, about 200mm is not covered. From ~200mm inwards the motherboard is covered by the drive bay. However, when angling the drive bay, another ~20mm will be covered (leaving ~180mm completely uncovered).
When the drive bay is in the closed position, there is about 63mm from the motherboard to the bottom of the drive bay (this was more than enough for my memory modules).
Reviewed By:Rafael D.,12/30/2016 9:00:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-407P-DE6BL Black Steel 4U Rackmount Compact Stylish Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Quality Rack mount computer case -- fun to set up and meets professional needs
Pros: Quality components and metal. All the screw holes line up and the unit feels solid overall. Cross member bar is great and recommended for heavy installs. Dimensions will fit exactly into a 20" rack mount depth (with appropriate case lid clearances for front handles, SKB, for example). I am using a 24" depth rack mount for extra room to keep cables connected in the back. Make sure to use side rails to evenly distribute the weight. Case will fit full length GPU with a bit of massaging (careful what you install behind the GPU in such a case). Will barely fit a tall CPU cooler with slight mod to top cover sheet. It does fit, though. This thing had just enough roof for a lot of components with some tight yet manageable clearances.
Cons: Expensive (you get what you pay for though)
Non-exciting fans (not special) that come with the unit
Relatively tight spacing for complex builds
Metal front doors would have been nice
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this item.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/29/2016 5:00:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-407PL Black Steel 4U Rackmount Compact Stylish Server Case 7 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Case by an excellent company!
Pros: Well thought out rack enclosure. Its got plenty of what i would call "stuffing space" for those cables and power supply wires that are too long and would hamper airflow. Speaking of airflow, all of Istar's cases have vents/fan mounts for whatever your rack situation. Can't get enough airflow with one case that is housing a extremely hot running setup? Simply relocate it to the top of the rack or allow a couple of spaces and use the vents on the top!

Solid case. By solid i mean it will laugh off the occasional bump when you are racking it or removing it. It takes some serious abuse to even scratch the professional powdercoating! Did I mention it was a solid case? I've loved the look of rackmount stuff and decided to build my first rack setup with the case and other parts from Istar (like the excellent ball-bearing sliding rails) and so far, have yet to be disappointed. I've got a rather limited rack cabinet (only 25" depth from front mounts to back mounts) and this case worked with plenty of space to spare. Your not going to mount some huge 12" x 12" motherboard in this case, but Istar makes other, deeper cases to fill that need too. Do your research. LOOK at the photo's, and don't whine because some mount kit for an ssd isn't in there. This *might* fit a 12 x 10 motherboard, but you'll have to ensure anything in the drive bays is not going to interfere. I have a 3.5 hotswap cage (also by istar) that made routing the sata cables a bit difficult, but completely doable. Also, TAKE NOTE! the screws that mount the cages are larger then standard case/expansion case screws. Don't confuse them. Look before you leap.

Even more outstanding is Istar's customer service. Read Other Thought's to see how they went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure customer satisfaction.
Cons: Zero. Nada. None! (Insert 20+ language translation here)
Other Thoughts: Would I buy Istar again? Without hesitation. Even if this case cost more, its worth it, particularly for the Customer Service.

Here's what happened:

Over a year of use i had to use some Usb flash drives (On my keychain) to get data on/off the machine. Well, i have a quick release for my usb drives (Solid metal Kingston) but I was impatient most of the time. Well, guess what? The usb port's took a beating because of my negligence. I must have left my keys dangling from the front a hundred times or more before i started having issues. 100% my fault. In addation, i bought a second case from other sources. It arrived with some of the rubber mounts cracked (I-star has since updated the design to remove this flaw)

So, gearing up to deal with the usual customer service fiasco, I emailed them. Explained the problems I was having, and offered to pay for the usb port i had broken.

What DIDN'T they do? Waste days and days getting back to me, Waste days and days asking for a sales receipt number, date of purchase, authorization code for the transfer of funds for the original purchase, ask for a million photos, ask 3 times for the buried pcb number, etc etc...and then claim its out of warranty and provide
no way, even with money to replace it. Yanno, the usual garbage you get when a company is politely forceing you to buy another of their product.

What DID they do? Asked for my shipping address and sent replacements. Didn't even ask for shipping costs.

Why would they turn down free money?

Because, with I star, customer satisfaction is #1. The buck stops with them. You might find similar stuff elsewhere, tho the list of rack stuff that allows for customization is a very short one. But you will never find a company as good as I-Star.
Reviewed By:Michael L.,12/29/2016 6:12:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill Server Chassis / Server Case / Rackmount Case, 2U Metal Rack Mount Server Cases with 5 bays (RSV-Z2700)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 outstanding 2u server case
Pros: the 2u server case is perfect. of course it can't compete with 4u space, but it is definitely a good 2u
and perfect ventilation
Cons: no
Reviewed By:Gilbert R.,12/25/2016 11:52:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.