Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STDR4000901 (Blue)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 misleading ad page on New Egg: no mention of the time bomb included with the cloud storage
Pros: looks pretty
Cons: New Egg's ad page says '200GB of cloud storage for your important files.' What it doesn't say (that would have affected my choice to purchase) is that it's only good for 2 years. There are many cloud storage options that are fee-free these days *without* requiring the purchase of a product. So it was a bit of a shock to discover there's a time bomb included in the cloud storage I thought I was getting with the purchase of this drive. Just glad I found it before I wasted my time uploading many GBs of critical stuff to the cloud using my painfully slow DSL connection.
Other Thoughts: If I'd realized that the cloud storage wasn't really included in the purchase price, I'd have chosen a less expensive option.
Reviewed By:Charles E.,1/19/2017 12:20:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Silver My Passport Ultra Metal Edition Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBTYH0010BSL-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's plastic. Trying to pull a fast one on consumers earns you 3 stars.
Pros: I get 155MB/s over USB3.0 read and write. 4K performance is ~1MB/s which is to be expected.
It's the size of an iPod classic.
Cons: It's plastic. It's not metal. It's not even sturdy plastic. This is a cheap portable drive. Do not think you are receiving anything fancy.
Reviewed By:Chance M.,1/17/2017 5:38:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST 1TB TOURO S High-Performance Ultra-Portable Drive USB 3.0 Model 0S03729 (HTOSPA10001BDB) Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Arrive quickly, worked as expected
Pros: Great price.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: We used it as additional space for an Xbox One. The Xbox recognised it immediately and we doubled the capacity of the system. Performance seems as fast as internal drive.
Reviewed By:Nigel R.,1/17/2017 5:12:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 3TB Canvio Basics Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model HDTB330XK3CA Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Warranty woes
Pros: - good price
- decent amount of storage
-quiet and faster than older hdd's
Cons: - warranty is only 1 year not 2 years as advertised here
Other Thoughts: Bought HDD in part because of the advertised 2 year warranty under the NewEgg Warranty tab. It's there still even now.

Item comes in, works fine,but the inset paper says it's only a 1 year warranty they give.

Feeling scammed. Want to explain this or make any amends, seller?

Checked with Toshiba, and yep it's 1 year warranty only for this model.
Reviewed By:Alexandre T.,1/14/2017 4:05:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDR2000100 (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seagate external drive
Pros: I bought this to replace my old external backup drive that finally died after several years (also a Seagate). Works as advertised and the software is decent.
Cons: Software could be better; I wish there was an option to consolidate multiple versions of the same file and maybe adjust the file structure to be more easily browsable. It just makes a new folder at every backup and eventually I have to wipe the drive and start from scratch.
Reviewed By:Alexander B.,1/14/2017 10:06:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBUZG0010BBK-EESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 First portable USB 3.0
Pros: Smaller than I thought it would be. My only previous experience has been with re purposed 3.5 drives in a Rosewill case with esata and USB 2.0
First big pro was lack of an external power brick. All you need is the drive and the supplied cable and you are off to the races. This makes it extremely portable and takes up no space in my 13" laptop sleeve.
Speed seems really good to me though I haven't really done testing. I just fired up a USB 2.0 drive and transferred a bunch of saved files across in what seemed like a reasonable amount of time
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Probably recommend it. I still haven't tried it on any older USB 2.0 systems like my Raspberry Pi 3 but I'm curious if the USB 2.0 will supply the power it needs. Havent seen any reviews complaining about that so maybe not an issue.
Reviewed By:Robert F.,1/10/2017 9:42:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stopped working after first use.
Pros: I backed up data, and it seemed to work fine.
Cons: A couple days after using it for the first time I plugged it in to transfer some files, and it never would work again. Tried on multiple systems. It's dead. I am past the time limit for returning it, so guess I'm stuck with a dead hard drive.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/9/2017 10:15:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital 2TB My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive, USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0020BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: The drive itself works perfectly, I have been using it a week before Christmas and have no problem with it at all, except for the software that came with it, it does not see my drive at all.
Cons: Then software does not work with my Windows 10 at all none of the software that came with it recognize the western digital passport ultra.
Other Thoughts: I still like but would like to get the security, utilities software to work with win 10
Reviewed By:Keith M.,1/9/2017 3:24:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB Portable Hard Drive (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after 5 yrs
Pros: Design looks good
Cons: Can no longer be found/read after 5 years. Only used for backing up my system drive weekly.
Reviewed By:Po Y.,1/8/2017 7:12:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STDR4000900 (Silver)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great External Drive for Xbone
Pros: Same drive as the Xbox branded one as far as I can tell and cheaper. Really performs well playing games from it on the Xbone.
Cons: Doesn't go grocery shopping for me.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/6/2017 11:55:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.