Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - Newegg shopping upgraded ™

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

WD 2TB My Passport Ultra Portable Storage with Metal Finish USB 3.0 Model WDBFKT0020BGY-WESN Black - Gray

Ships from Hong Kong. Most customers receive within 10-32 days.

Sold and Shipped by Althemax Retail a-seller

Purchases from these Sellers are generally covered under our Newegg Marketplace Guarantee.
Marketplace Seller
  • Brilliant design, pairing metal and matte finishes
  • Included WD Discovery software for social media and cloud storage import, backup and password protection
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Trusted drive built with WD reliability
  • Easy to Use
  • Up to 4TB capacity
  • USB 3.0 port; USB 2.0 compatible

  • Overview
  • Specs
  • Warranty & Returns
  • Reviews

Learn more about the Western Digital WDBFKT0020BGY-WESN

Warranty, Returns, And Additional Information
Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
Verified Owner
1/ 5
My Passport Ultra Portable Storage 4/9/2019 2:01:13 PM

Pros: I liked nothing about it- it won't work

Cons: I had purchased a WD 1TB My Passport Ultra Portable Storage with Metal Finish USB 3.0 Model WDBTLG0010BGY-WESN Black - Gray a couple of years ago and decided to get another. This one does not work. I did not know it was defective until I tried to use it...and it is "ineligible for return." That does not make me happy because 1) I wasted my money and 2) it was a gift.

Overall Review: I would not recommend it because it is not returnable if it doesn't work.

Did you find this review helpful?
Manufacturer Response:
Hi julie b.,

We're sorry to hear that My Passport Ultra External hard drive is not working as expected and appreciate your time for providing this review. There could be a few reasons due to which drive is not showing up in Computer. The data cable may no longer be good, the partition on the drive may be damaged, the drive itself could have failed, or the drive may no longer be getting enough power to fully spin up. Using a different port on the computer, different USB cable and different computer can also be helpful to isolate the issue. We have placed few helpful links below providing more information for your convenience.

"WD external drive is not seen by Windows or Mac and data on the drive is inaccessible":
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=1164#win

"Windows or macOS Cannot Find My Drive":
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=14925&h=2&lang=en

Best practice is to run diagnostics with WD Drive Utilities when a drive is behaving abnormally. We recommend avoiding USB hubs for external hard drives and therefore connect the drive directly on the computer. We have placed few helpful links to know how to diagnose the drive.

"Setting up and using WD Security and WD Drive Utilities":
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=10408

If the test is inconclusive, you can create an RMA through WD and replace the drive under warranty if necessary.

"How to get an RMA to replace a defective product, or obtain a power supply or USB cable for a WD product":
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=8

We would like the opportunity to work with you directly and assist you to provide a positive resolution to your experience. You can contact us by phone below and provide your details.

Please contact us at:
Phone: https://support.wdc.com/contact_phone.aspx?h=4
Email: https://westerndigital.secure.force.com/ind/?lang=en
Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
Verified Owner
5/ 5
2/22/2019 8:28:23 AM

Pros: :)

Cons: none

Did you find this review helpful?
Anonymous
Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
Verified Owner
4/ 5
7/22/2018 7:15:58 AM

Pros: good case design
compact
No additional power adapter required

Cons: 3T is less reliable than 4T, because of number of platters difference.

Did you find this review helpful?
Anonymous
Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
Verified Owner
1/ 5
Dead on arrival 2/25/2018 4:37:46 PM

Pros: None

Cons: Didn't work. I only had it for a week and it failed. The click of death. Never dropped it or traveled with it. Can't wait till SSD's are cheaper.

Did you find this review helpful?
Manufacturer Response:
Hi Anonymous,
We are sorry to hear about the unsatisfactory experience with your drive thus far, but greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your feedback is helpful to us in determining ways we can improve and address our customers' experience with our devices.
We sympathize for your troubles and thank you for your feedback, we have attached some helpful troubleshooting links below, and the links to the software that is included with the drive.

“Windows or macOS cannot find my drive”
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=14925&lang=en

“How to install WD Security & WD Drive Utilities”
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=10416

“How to use a WD external hard drive with your computer”
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=1717

"How to Get an RMA to Replace a Defective Product, Obtain a Power Supply, or USB Cable for a WD Product"
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=8&s=8&lang=en

We would like to work with you directly and assist you with your drive to provide a positive outcome, please contact us and reference the case number below.

Case Number: 022718-12756827

Need Help? Please contact us at 1 (800) 275-4932.
Anonymous
Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
Verified Owner
1/ 5
Not the product but shipping and packaging dept of Newegg 12/6/2017 3:41:51 PM

Pros: none, did not received correct product.

Cons: Not what it suppose to be in the retail package, someone opened it and replaced it with a black model WD 4TB hard drive. I had prior shipping issues as well from newegg. Other item ordered from newegg was a Predator 300 Helio, it was not packaged properly, only the retail box was shipped with the handle strap broken off. Bad shipping qc

Overall Review: Shipping box was sealed and closed, WD retail box was opened at the bottom. Did not realized until I spent the product, it was the wrong color. Received a black 4tb hard drive instead of the correct white and gold edition. Obviously the item also have the wrong sku and serial number. Please quality check items before shipping.

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Manufacturer Response:
Hi Newegg Customer,

Our apologies learning the drive received may not have been what you expected; and thanks for the time providing this feedback. If you feel the drive received may not be what you ordered, it may be a good idea to contact Newegg to make this right.

We have created a case number in reference to this review. Please consider contacting our support department if you have other questions or doubts. We will be happy to assist.

Case Number: 122117-12570825

Need help? Please contact us at 1 (800) 275-4932
Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
Verified Owner
3/ 5
Great until I started having problems. 11/5/2017 6:11:03 PM

Pros: -Capacity was just what I was looking for and the price was great too.
-Read and write was good.

Cons: USB 3.0 controller seems to be failing already and because I'm in Canada WD won't service it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Manufacturer Response:
Hi Steven R,

Thanks for the time providing feedback; it's always appreciated receiving input from our customers. All our products must pass our stringent quality standards before leaving our factory to be free from defects in materials and craftsmanship.

We stand behind our products throughout the device's factory warranty period; and would be happy to help determine the root cause of this abnormal behavior and help replace your in-warranty drive for you.

If you face any difficulty with the replacement drive then contact us and mention the support case below for assistance.

Case number: 122317-12573634

Need Help? Please contact us at 1 (800) 275-4932
Eggxpert Review

Eggxpert Review

Through the Newegg EggXpert Review Program, Newegg invites its best reviewers, known as EggXperts, to post opinions about new and pre-release products to help their fellow customers make informed buying decisions.Click here for more details.

5/ 5
High quality portable hard drive with a slick design 10/3/2017 11:59:12 PM

Pros: -Compact footprint at 3.2 inches wide and just over 4.3 inches long
-Clean, modern enclosure design that will look great next to any setup; solid workmanship and a real metal finish offered in the Black/Gray and White/Gold versions
-Only uses one USB 3.0 cable for both data and power, so no bulky charger to fumble with; also backwards compatible with USB 2.0, although you’ll hamper speeds using the older tech
-Comes with 256-bit AES hardware encryption and WD Security software, allowing you to set a password to protect your data and hardware
-Solid 3-year warranty
-Large capacity, of course!

Cons: -Does not support USB-C
-At 0.59 inches thick, it isn’t as svelte as some units
-Included utilities don’t offer advanced partitioning features

Overall Review: Here are the benchmark results I got for this drive:
2MB Sequential: 122.89 MB/s write, 124.11 MB/s read
2MB Random: 75.37 MB/s write, 84.28 MB/s read
4K Transfer: 32.56 IOPS write, 84.76 IOPS read
10GB file write: 90 seconds
10GB file read: 86 seconds

Speeds are good and consistent, but pretty average for a modern 5400RPM 4TB capacity USB 3.0 drive. Overall, I would say the buying points are WD reliability and WD design, both of which are top-notch. This is a great choice for students, content creators, and professionals of all kinds, especially if you appreciate quality design and workmanship, as I certainly do.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Eggxpert Review

Eggxpert Review

Through the Newegg EggXpert Review Program, Newegg invites its best reviewers, known as EggXperts, to post opinions about new and pre-release products to help their fellow customers make informed buying decisions.Click here for more details.

5/ 5
Small, fairly quick, good construction - great portable HDD 10/2/2017 11:33:30 AM

Pros: Small size; easy to tuck away or carry around
Good build quality and construction
Pretty much plug n play - just format as needed and you're good to go
Price/performance is on point

Currently using as an external HDD for my Xbox One to supplement its tiny 500GB internal hard drive - been working great and now I don't have to delete old games to play new ones.

Cons: None

Overall Review: Great drive - easily recommended. I do generally like to see 5 year warranties instead of 3 years on my hard disks but this isn't really designed as a permanent data drive so 3 years is just fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
ICON Loading...
Selected Items
  • Add to Wish List

Best Sellers

  • ecmallonline

    475 (89% Positive)

    Sold and Shipped by: ecmallonline Email This Seller
    Ask ecmallonline about:
    • WD 2TB My Passport Ultra Portable Storage with Metal Finish USB 3.0 Model WDBFKT0020BGY-WESN Black - Gray
    • We won't share your email with anybody. We'll only use your
      email to contact you
    • Submit

    Ships from United States.
    On-Time
    Delivery
    92.84%
    Product
    Accuracy
    92.84%
    Customer Service
    SATISFACTION
    89.58%

    View All Seller's Reviews

Are you an E-Blast Insider?
 
Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Condition Guidelines

The following guidelines apply to all product categories unless otherwise indicated within specific categories.

  • New : This means the product will ship as received by the manufacturer, sealed, with all advertised components, and with the manufacturer warranty.
  • Refurbished : This means the product was tested and repaired as required to meet the standards of the refurbisher, which may or may not be the original manufacturer. Any exceptions to the condition of the item outside the manufacturer’s information should be provided in the listing, up to and including warranty details.
  • Open Box : Newegg only guarantees your receipt of the Open Box product with the purchase of this item. Any accessories MAY OR MAY NOT be included. Newegg will NOT send you any missing accessories, even if it is required to use all of the item’s functions.Open Box items usually do not come with manufacturer or vendor warranty or technical support. However, warranty support may be available if an item was never registered by a previous owner. Please contact the manufacturer to check.
  • Used - Like New : This means that the product has been opened, possibly used but is in perfect condition with no signs of cosmetic or functional defect. Product may includes warranty, and accessories found with the original product. Product may or may not be in the original packaging. Returned items with minor packaging defects fall under this category.
  • Used - Very Good : This means that the product has been opened, may show slight signs of use and cosmetic blemish, and may be missing minor accessories, but remain in excellent condition. Product does not come with warranty unless stated otherwise in product description.
  • Used - Good : This means that the product has been used, may show clear signs of use and may be missing minor accessories, but remain in good condition. Product does not come with warranty unless stated otherwise in product description.
  • Used - Acceptable : This means that the product shows clear signs of use, cosmetic defect, and may be missing minor accessories and manual, but remain in working condition. Product does not come with warranty unless stated otherwise in product description. Functionality issues beyond signs of use should be disclosed in product description.
Price Available at Checkout
Why can’t we show you details of this product?

Some manufacturers place restrictions on how details of their products may be communicated.

If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.