Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Networking > 
Wireless Networking > 
Wireless AP > 
EnGenius Technologies > 
Item#: 9SIA98C3SU2547

EnGenius EAP600 N600 High-Power Dual-Band Gigabit Indoor Wireless Access Point

  • 11n Speeds up to 300 Mbps on 2.4 GHz & 5 GHz
  • 29 dBm High-Powered, Long-Range Coverage
  • 802.3 af/at PoE support extends power to unwired areas
  • Gigabit Ethernet Port
  • SSID-to-VLAN Tagging

ICON Loading...
  • Overview
  • Specifications
  • Warranty & Returns
  • Reviews


Learn more about the EnGenius Technologies EAP600

Warranty, Returns, And Additional Information
  • Warranty
  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year
  • Read full details

Customer Reviews of the EnGenius Technologies EAP600

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Bruce L.
  • 1/18/2016 4:30:48 PM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsExcellent unit, a couple of caveats,

Pros: Very easy to set up (assuming you know what you're doing with manually configuring a laptop to talk to it for initial setup). The web interface is very intuitive, but does have a 'gotcha' (see below). Engenius provides freely downloadable controller software if you want to run multiple WAPs on one network.

Excellent price point for a WAP of this quality and feature set. Cisco would want $400+ for something comparable!

Cons: Not set for DHCP by default (you have to enable it during initial configuration). No hardware/RS232 console serial port to manage initial setup. If you don't have an Ethernet crossover cable for your laptop, or an existing network with at least one switch, you're up the proverbial creek without any means of propulsion!

As for the 'gotcha' I mentioned above: Yes, the web interface makes it pretty easy, but check the 'Save/Reload' item in the left column after making ANY changes! If it shows a count greater than zero, CLICK IT BEFORE you log out or power off or the AP will revert to factory defaults.

Other Thoughts: If you're looking for just a simple, plug-and-go WAP, this is NOT it. These units are clearly built for those who have some experience with networking, TCP/IP configuration, RADIUS (if you use it), etc.

If I could change the design, I would do two things: First, provide a hardwire RS232 serial console port for initial configuration. Cisco does this on their WAPs, and it's a real lifesaver if you're out in the field without an Ethernet crossover cable.

Second: I would have these units set for DHCP by default. That way, you can just plug it into an existing network, check the DHCP server to see which address it grabbed, and log in to configure. No messing with crossover cables or a separate computer.

With all this said: You do get quite a bit for your $$. If you're comfortable with your network skills, go for it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Paul W.
  • 10/5/2015 11:58:07 PM
  • Ownership: more than 1 year

5 out of 5 eggsTerrific AP, but do your firmware upgrades

Pros: Terrific features and reliability, excellent value. Everyone connects and stay that way. They even include the T-bar clips for mounting to a suspended ceiling.

Cons: None at this price point.

Other Thoughts: You want at least the 1.6.8 firmware (newer versions not yet tested). The 1.5.x release had an issue where the 5GHz radio would periodically decide it simply wasn't going to pass any kind of traffic at all. Since Macs seem to prefer the 5GHz band (this is a good thing), this would manifest as a pile of Mac users with no broadband access. No issues after upgrading.

I'm using four of these, powered by an EnGenius PoE switch, to provide wifi access in a small conference centre environment. I'm very happy about the fact that nobody ever has problems connecting. These seem to be able to handle several dozen associations each with no issue. In controlled performance testing (few associations, ~30 ft. away, through one partition wall) these have no issues passing 90+ mbps of traffic in both directions when tested on our 100mbps fibre pipe, consistently.

The webUI is not pretty and not spectacularly well-documented; others have complained that you have to specifically save/reload configuration before it takes effect, but honestly, that's a feature not a bug, because you can stack your changes and then reboot once. Much easier.

Associating tagged VLANs to SSIDs is something I've been testing recently; while I haven't used it extensively, it works exactly as you'd expect.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Jimmy N.
  • 5/27/2015 8:00:51 PM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsSo many problems

Pros: Looks nice

Cons: -Every time I leave the wireless range I have to manually disconnect then reconnect
-Signal was not stable (keeps dropping) even after a few factory resets
-When my mac pro retina wakes up, it takes at least 3 minutes before I am able to connect to the wireless
-Had a lot of issues connecting surface as well

Other Thoughts: Tried to contact EnGenius support (714) 432-8668 (number listed on their support page) line is dead.

Purchased this because of all the positive reviews but I have to RMA.

Manufacturer Response:

Hi Jimmy N.,


We appreciate your time in posting your comments and feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you were experiencing some wireless connectivity issues with your EAP600 and that you were unable to contact our customer support team. If you still have your EAP600, we would like to help you resolve the issue. You may reach us through our number at 1-888-735-7888 ext 815 (Monday –Friday, 8:00am – 4:00pm PST). Please ask for me so that I can help you with your access point.

Thank you for your patience and we look forward to hearing from you.


Sincerely,

Mike
Engenius Customer Support Team

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • vance c.
  • 3/16/2015 11:04:24 AM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsSuccess!!

Pros: Customer Service was excellent.
Product works better than described.
I was building a network bridge between two houses and this creates the wireless access at the second house. I purchased one of these, one of their switches and two of their antennas, per their customer service recommendations. Works perfect! Speedtest shows 58+ Mbps intenet download speed at the second location, which is basically the full speed of the wired location at the primary spot. Probably only bridged a quarter mile, but I'm super pleased with the set up. :) VC

Cons: none

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Thomas S.
  • 2/25/2015 3:30:27 PM
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsFantastic AP

Pros: - Great coverage, even in a large house over multiple floors.
- Supports PoE+ for full gigabit speed and power over a single ethernet cable.
- Supports multiple SSIDs and Vlans.
- SSID to Vlan mapping, so I can keep my guest wifi traffic isolated.
- Fast, comprehensive GUI. All the settings and information is easily accessible. There's also a CLI.
- Ceiling mountable. Mounting bracket is also compatible with their newer EAP1750h model when I eventually upgrade.
- They offer free software that can manage multiple access points simultaneously. (I have not tested this)

Cons: - CLI is telnet, not SSH.

Other Thoughts: This is a great solution for anyone who wants a ceiling mounted access point with support for PoE+, multiple SSIDs, Vlan mappings, and other features usually only found in more expensive business-oriented products.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anthony B.
  • 1/28/2015 12:40:07 PM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsInteresting setup, good performance

Pros: -Good range, covers the 2,200 sq ft of the house with no issues, makes it outside into the yard too.
-Performance as far as speed is what I would expect. I can get about 80mbps when sitting 20 feet away, the AP is on the other side of a wall.
-Web interface is easy to use (see cons though)
-Looks slick, blends in great on ceilings
-Concurrent dual band with band steering works seemingly well so far.

Cons: -Web interface is slow compared to other similar products I've used
-Setup process. I could not get VLAN tagging to work properly the first go around, more on this later.

Other Thoughts: Overall I like this AP, well I like it now that its working and has been working for about a day. Initial setup was not an issue, the issue was when I tried to configure VLAN tagging for multiple SSIDs on here. Let me clarify that the switches and everything else were already preconfigured, I was using a Dlink DAP2553 with VLAN tagging before on the same port.

After setting everything up VLAN tagging would not work properly, it would tag one SSID properly, but not the second SSID even though both were setup for isolation and with a VLAN ID. I confirmed this with a wireshark capture + SPAN, sure enough there were no 802.1Q tags on the one SSID. I tried rebooting the AP, thinking it was just being finicky, didn't help. I triple checked the configuration, nothing worked. I decided to factory reset the AP, then I went and did the exact same configuration again, and it worked. I have no idea why, but SPAN + wireshark confirm proper tagging on all SSIDs now.

This is somewhat concerning, I'm worried if I make a change in the future that tagging will stop working, but for now all seems good...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Tony M.
  • 12/24/2014 9:15:46 AM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsTakes your router IP

Pros: Features, price

Cons: This thing requires 192.168.1.1 out of the box, which is what most people use as their router IP address and will immediately cause a conflict if you connect it to your network. Every other brand of AP I've used defaulted to a higher address. Now I have an IP address conflict with my router that bumped 100 users off the internet.

Other Thoughts: Beware, don't make any assumptions when you configure this thing. I'm still shaking my head that they would have given it 192.168.1.1 as it's IP address out of the box when it's not a router.

Manufacturer Response:

Hi Anthony M.,


We appreciate your time in posting your comments and feedback.

The IP address of the EAP600 does have to be changed during the initial configuration depending on the IP scheme of the network. This is done prior to connecting the device to the network.

Please allow us to do some troubleshooting with you. You may reach us through our number at 1-888-735-7888 (Monday – Friday, 8:00am – 4:00pm PST) or e-mail us at support@engeniustech.com (Saturday, Sunday 8am - 4pm PST). Our support team would be glad to be of service to you.

Thank you for your patience and we look forward to hearing from you.


Sincerely,

Mike
Engenius Customer Support Team

0 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 12/7/2014 12:07:15 PM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

5 out of 5 eggsExcellent product and highly recommend

Pros: Web GUI layout, vLAN support, signal strength, bandwidth steering, PoE capable, looks, mounting hardware, reliability.

Cons: No built in DHCP server for "public" wifi clients. Doesn't impact me as I have a SonicWall appliance. However, I'm certain some would find this a useful feature.

Other Thoughts: I have 6 SSIDs configured (three 2.4 and the same three as 5G) and bandwidth steering works perfectly between them. I have a Netgear GS180T switch and a SonicWall TZ-210 here at home. With this combination I'm able to completely isolate the traffic between my LAN and WLAN based on SSID & wireless frequency as desired.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 11/14/2014 11:49:53 AM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsUseless Product, Even More Useless "Support"

Pros: Band Steering.
Guest Network.

Cons: No one can keep a connection.
EnGenius support has ignored my requests for help.

Other Thoughts: I have deployed EnGenius APs for countless clients. When the EAP900H was not in stock at Newegg, I was upsold on the EAP1750H.

The product has not been working since the beginning. None of the users can stay connected to the WAP. They may be able to connect for a few minutes, then the connection drops (signal still shows as Excellent, the device just loses the connection). A few minutes later, the device may reconnect, only to lose it again within seconds. More often than not, the devices just permanently lose the connection.

For a few devices that actually can stay connected, the Internet stops working eventually. They may be streaming video or loading regular websites, and then suddenly no data, even though they are still connected and show full signal strength.

Initially I called Support and they walked me through chaning some settings. None worked. I then changed individual settings myself, testing connectivity after each change. Nothing helped.

We then brought in a cheap $50 Linksys router to use as a WAP, and guess what? It worked perfectly! It has held up for over a week!

I then e-mail support with all of the settings I tried, as well as mentioning the fact that a cheapo router worked, and this is the response I received:

"The EAP1750H is one of our solid Access Point platforms and we haven’t heard any reported issues similar to this...Even the farthest distance wireless device can be considered as interference. If other device/s can stay connected, this is the polite protocol in the real wireless networking world as they wait for a clear path to send information."

What the **** kind of response is this??? I just gave them a boatload of technical details on their product's problem, and they give me this useless canned response!

Needless to say, I will be avoiding their products going forward. They clearly have issues to fix; they do not acknowledge that they have issues to fix; and they obviously have no sense of respect for their customers.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Cristie F.
  • 6/28/2014 9:02:15 AM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsEAP600 is beast

Pros: Strength and quality of signal is great in my 1700sqft home
Have Comcast 25Mbps pipe, able to get 25-27Mbps on internet speed tests over the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz channels
Easy to navigate interface
Lots of options, maybe too many for the average user but I love the ability to customize
LED Control (turn any or all of the LEDs on or off)
PoE - This is the best feature because this access point was meant to be ceiling mounted. I ran some Cat5e through my ceiling and mounted this using a PoE adapter to provide power
Great design, looks like a big smoke detector
Firmware updates easily access from EnGenius website

Cons: Does not come with a PoE injector but I knew that going in. Still would have been nice to have one bundled with it. Without a PoE injector it is very difficult to use this access point as a ceiling mount which is what it is designed for. (unless a lot of people have power outlets on their ceilings.)

Other Thoughts: Overall I would definitely buy this access point again and recommend it to anyone look for good speed and signal quality. I would be very interested to see how two or more of these would operate together but my house is not big enough to warrant that. Looking at the web interface and on EnGenius' website, it sounds like a few of these would be great for a bigger home.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Compare Offers from All Sellers newegg

Seller Name & Rating Offer Details  
ICON Loading...
Selected Items

Best Service Sellers

Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.
Home
Home > 
Networking > 
Wireless Networking > 
Wireless AP > 
EnGenius Technologies > 
Item#: 9SIA98C3SU2547
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.