Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Networking > 
Wireless Networking > 
Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > 
Netgear Inc. > 
Item#: N82E16833122602

Netgear PR2000-100NAS Trek N300 Travel Router, Range Extender, Ethernet Bridge, Access Point 4 IN 1

Sold and Shipped by Newegg

  • Extend existing Wi-Fi throughout your home
  • Eliminate Wi-Fi dead zones in hard to reach areas
  • Create a private Wi-Fi network on public hotspots
  • Boost the Signal of Weak Public Wi-Fi Hotspots

ICON Loading...
  • Overview
  • Specifications
  • Warranty & Returns
  • Reviews


Learn more about the Netgear Inc. PR2000-100NAS

Warranty, Returns, And Additional Information
  • Warranty
  • Limited Warranty period (parts): Lifetime
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): Lifetime
  • Read full details

Customer Reviews of the Netgear Inc. PR2000-100NAS

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • john v.
  • 1/25/2016 7:55:09 PM
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsIt stinks! This thing makes more work for me.

Pros: I had high hopes for it, but...

Cons: It only works for about 1 day at a time. Then it just loses connection to the internet and has to be rebooted. I'll be in the middle of doing something like watching a video and poof! It just quits and I have no internet. I have to switch my device over to my router or get up and reboot this thing. so frustrating. I have owned it for a year and it has been this way all along. have tried tweaking all the settings, firmware update etc.. nothing helps.

Other Thoughts: would not recommend buying. this has ruined netgear for me. will not be buying any of their stuff again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 12/6/2015 5:02:53 AM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

1 out of 5 eggsA Trek Into Frustration

Pros: None

Cons: DOA. The purchase of this product has resulted in a Trek of complete frustration. After unpacking I never saw any signs of life from from a SSID broadcasts or pings to the LAN ports. I performed the factory reset procedures and then spent a few days dealing with Netgear support. Although probably well meaning (but also kind of useless to me) Netgear tier 1 support just acted as a delaying tactic to the eventual conclusion that their tier 2 acknowledged - THE UNIT WAS DELIVERED DEAD.

I am now left with eating the cost of shipping back a dead unit. Netgear foisted the issue back onto the seller instead of offering a pre-paid shipping RMA like I believe would be warranted in this case. In the end Netgear has just wasted my time and money.

Other Thoughts: I would strongly suggest looking into the much better rated alternatives like TP-LINK or HooToo to fulfill your travel router requirements.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 3/17/2015 7:26:12 PM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

5 out of 5 eggsworks great

Pros: Set up was easy.
Increased hotel internet speeds from .98 Mbps to 3.3 Mbps.
small size, easy to carry

Cons: none so far. Product as lived up to what I read in product ad and in reviews.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Gerard R.
  • 2/11/2015 8:14:19 PM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

1 out of 5 eggsDON'T BUY!!

Pros: Worked fine for 2 months.

Cons: TONS.
NO support after 90 days, even while still covered under warranty.
Reboots ALL the time.

Other Thoughts: Where do I begin... how about constantly reboots when using it in bridge mode. So much so that I can't even get the WAN setup complete before it reboots. This paperweight worked fine for about 2 months. Then began the random reboots... I tried everything: new firmware, support forums, hard resets, etc. SO, after 2 more months I figure it's time to ask NetGear "support" for help. But what they don't tell you is that the 1 year warranty does NOT include support. That's right folks... if you are having problems during the "warranty" period, you have to pay extra for "premium" support to get ANY help after 90 days. WHAT?? How is that even legal? So now, if I want "support" for my legally purchased product that is still under warranty, I need to pay ~$40 MORE. This paperweight doesn't even cost that much new anymore... I guess that's because NetGear has figured these are causing BIG headaches. Do yourself a HUGE favor and buy something else... like a HooToo. Much better device IMHO.

Oh yeah - in probably less than 24 hours NetGear "support" people will find this review and post some sincere looking reply about how I can contact them for help directly, and how they are going to fix my headaches with this device (as if they have a magic wand). Don't be fooled... it's a lie. I'll reply (just like I did previously), and it will not be answered, or I'll be told to buy "premium" support again. And all the while, you who are reading this review will think (as did I): Oh look... NetGear is stepping up and supporting their customer. It's safe to buy right?
DO NOT FALL FOR IT. Those posted replies are just their way of trying to deflect from the facts: ZERO support after 90 days unless you give them more money. Do yourself a favor and buy something else.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jaebong S.
  • 11/28/2014 1:08:21 PM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsNot stable

Pros: Small and Versatile

Cons: It was so-so before a firmware upgrade, but it is barely useful after upgrading its firmware. It is a garbage.

Other Thoughts: Don't buy this. I spent so much time to make it work, but still it does not work well. It disturbs the entire wireless network of my home.

Manufacturer Response:

Hey Owner_PR2000,

We want to apologize that you have had problems with the PR2000 and want to do whatever we can to get it working for you. Please email us right away at newegg@netgear.com with as many details as you can- from there we will be glad to help.

If you have any questions please remember that we are always here for you.
forum1.netgear.com

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Greg M.
  • 7/13/2014 11:08:14 PM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

3 out of 5 eggsSo so its ok...

Pros: This has a lot of neat features... you can use it as a range extender... you can make it a wireless adapter USB for a device or use it as a router technically. You can also take it mobility and use it a s a hot spot.

Cons: A little harder to set up then needed. I could only set up by Ethernet cable when it gives you an option to set up and connect wirelessly. I got it to work but it took a lot of rebooting and reconnecting. It also doesn't really extend the wireless in the house all that well.

Other Thoughts: I think it is better to use this for portability or as an adapter for a device to connect to wireless network. I wouldn't pick this for a range extender.

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate your honest review. Please let us know if you need any assistance. Our forums are located at forum1.netgear.com.

If you have any other questions we will be glad to hear them.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • JANA W.
  • 7/8/2014 4:54:54 PM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsNot Recommended

Pros: Small?

Cons: Unreliable

Other Thoughts: I purchased two of the Netgear Trek N300 Travel routers to be used as wireless bridges. One of them stopped working after two days. It will not power on via AC power, but can be powered via USB. AC to DC power supply must have failed. The other one often drops the network connection. The unit is only 35 feet from my Wireless Access Point. The N300 shows a full 5-bar signal when I check the signal strength, so why does it keep dropping the connection?

Manufacturer Response:

Hello Chucky,

We are sorry that the PR2000 has been unreliable this far and want to help you get it fixed. When you get some free time please contact our support team at support.netgear.com. They will me more than happy to help solve the connection problem you are having.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • LAYOMAN D.
  • 6/16/2014 8:19:56 PM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsThis is based with Electrical wiring in mind

Pros: Over all appears to be an awesome product but read the review.
In the past I have used Wi-Fi extenders that utilize the in house electrical wiring with poor results from several hindered foot (Barn), and these needed to have a cable from router to 1st device and 2nd device with cable to the unit wanting connection.
After it was programmed I set it up via power outlet to the device I wanted to have hardwired and broadcast a wireless signal. The device hardwired works great (56k maybe) and the wireless signal strength is all bars (at several hundred foot).

Cons: I do tech support and while the device is simple it took a while to figure out the 1st time as you do not know what to expect. I spent over an hour trying to configure the device and the issue was it did not see my Wi-Fi. If your going to set it up do it close to your connection then move it to where you want it. If it is all part of your electrical wiring current then you will do awesome if not then I can not say.

Other Thoughts: I will try to add after a few weeks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Kevin C.
  • 5/13/2014 10:36:13 AM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsCute little gadget

Pros: Compact. Good wifi signal strength. Lots of operating modes. Decent web interface that exposes a lot of functionality. Plugs right into the wall but can also take USB power. Can share a USB memory stick. Supports two wired network connections in wireless bridge mode. Figures out which mode you want just by setting a single external switch (wired or wireless internet connection). My son was able to play Planetside 2 through this router without problems.

Cons: Single band. Sitting across the room I only get 120Mbps on my 7260HMW-equipped laptop. Slow to establish an internet connection in bridge mode (displays a two-minute wait timer and uses most of it).

Other Thoughts: So far I've only tested this router as a wireless-to-wired and wireless-to-wireless bridge. Handy when thunderstorms force me to disconnect my main computer from the unshielded CAT-5e house wiring.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Selected Items
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.