Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA HTR-3067 AV receiver 5.1ch / 4K Ultra HD corresponding black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what I want at a great price
Pros: Price
Free 4-9 day shipping (arrived in four days)
Rebate (It's a Newegg rebate, so it'll show)
There are no scratches or marks of any type on my refurb HTR-3067
Yamaha...long to the game.
Cons: It is really, really BIG
No phono inputs (I knew that)
Darn thing CLICKS when powered on or off...goofy
Other Thoughts: It has been 10 years since I sold all my gear at the auction site. Times had changed and I was no longer listening to
the radio (really vanilla stations), music ( I was not going to keep spending money for overpriced CD's ) and though I had my TV
hooked up to my gear there was no remote (pretty lazy, eh?)

Since that time I have been looking to replace everything with an AV receiver but never did for two reasons. The change in my listening habits and I didn't want to spend the money just for the limited use the receiver would get.

Then in e-mail a couple weeks back the HTR-3067 showed up at a price I did not want pass on. My only question was could I listen to TV without turning the unit on. I asked here at Newegg, was told yes, so I flashed the plastic. If you read the questions and answers here on the HTR-3067 you will find how I did that.

Yamaha has been a very helpful vendor for me. I called and they answered my question. I e-mailed and heard back within 24. The manual is thorough and understandable. The quick setup guide is in only two languages. They even have an HTR-3067 specific app that does an excellent job of taking the user through setup, step by step. All companies say they want the user to succeed, Yamaha goes to lengths to ensure they do.

If you are an audiophile ( I call them audiowrenches...ha ha ha) I am sure you could find plenty to disrespect with the HTR-3067.
If you want great sound, a gazillion settings to play with and YPAO then I recommend the HTR-3067 which BTW is identical to the RX-V377.
Reviewed By:jan p.,6/27/2016 3:02:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR 2700 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver with Apple AirPlay

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, looks good works great!
Pros: Great looking
legendary HK sound
Clearness
A lot of functions, which might easy to confuse some users if they are not technical
Cons: configurations can be easier to navigate, this might confuse some other not experience users
sound outcome depends on the source, surround might not works good on some tracks.
Auto selection function limited to 2 channels sometime bugs me.
Reviewed By:Vic F.,6/26/2016 7:46:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR838 7.2 Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Happy
Pros: Excellent receiver. No complaints here. The sound and video are excellent.
Cons: After 2 months, there still aren't any.
Other Thoughts: The Onkyo TX-NR838 was a breeze to set up. This item arrived on time and in flawless condition.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2016 12:35:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA HTR-3067 AV receiver 5.1ch / 4K Ultra HD corresponding black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Sound! Can't go wrong.
Pros: After 15 - 16 years my Klipsch Promedia 5.1's BASH amp finally bit the dust. Being that the high end computer audio market is void of any decent system since Klipsch stopped making the 5.1 set and the fact that my satellite speakers still produce crisp clean sound, I was left with one option. I picked up this refurbished Yamaha HTR-3067 5.1 receiver here on Newegg and a Klipsch K-100SW sub and boy they didn't disappoint!

I don't usually purchase refurbished electronics but the goal was to get back to my lossless audio collection and PC gaming ASAP. For $150 and then a rebate I consider the receiver a steal. I have it hooked up to my PC's GTX 960 HDMI port then HDMI out to my 1080p monitor. Honestly I wasn't expecting anything to sound better but Yamaha really brought a serious sound upgrade to my remaining satellites. They sounded great before but now they are amazing. Combine that with the new larger sub, games and music has never sounded better. I swear some albums I have sound like the band is in my house! Metallica\Elton John\Pink Floyd\Beethoven all sound amazing.

Setup was a breeze. At first I didn't customize anything but after a few days I used the YPAO auto setup feature due to some unusual speaker placement surrounding my desk and low and behold a very noticeable improvement. I couldn't be happier.
Cons: 4k pass through 24fps only. Not a con to me as I currently stick to 1080p. However it might be a con to some.

No fault of the receiver but something i didn't think about before setup is that I still use a DVI cable to my monitor along with the HDMI. This allows me to continue to use my PC and switch the receiver to FM radio if I prefer. Was hoping to get rid of the DVI cable though, oh well not a huge deal.
Other Thoughts: If you're in a similar situation as I was you can’t go wrong for $150. Even if it only lasts a few years as a refurbished I'll be happy. By that time 60fps 4k receivers will have come down in price. However I have a feeling this AVR will last me a while.

My original Promedia 5.1 set didn't fail due to any fault on Klipsch's behalf. It was simply one too many high desert lightning storms and a combination of Metal Oxide Varistor power strip technology. I will never use these type of surge protectors again. The alternatives might be more expensive but to me it's worth it to protect expensive electronics.
Reviewed By:Kyle W.,6/16/2016 4:36:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V381 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver, Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: The sound is good just not the power they claim.
Cons: The Yamaha unit never worked from the get go. The first problem was that the set-up function to get a balance of sound did not work. The unit claimed the speakers were not hooked up, but of course once you test all the speakers sound does work. That is not good but now on to the bigger problem NO audio through the HDMI cables. Yamaha wanted me to reset the system to factory did that no difference. No audio through the composite cables either.
Reviewed By:GILBERT B.,6/14/2016 12:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR646 7.2 Network Ch A/V Receiver with Wi-Fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ONKYO is a solid unit, no worry setup and the sound/options rock!
Pros: Great price point for this quality, even a phono input for that record collection for those of us who still have a turntable! Up to date sound/speaker options and a great sound/speaker setup too. You can't miss with this model.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to anyone, might note be as flashy as some other brands, but I'll take solid build quality and rich sound over smoke and mirrors. ONKYO has always been a good name. Also the unit came double boxed and well packed, that means a lot when ordering! You can tell they care about the customer at the other end of the transaction! 5 stars for this vendor!
Reviewed By:Phil C.,6/10/2016 1:44:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V479 5.1-Channel Network AV receiver with Built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great starter Receiver
Pros: Easy to setup hardware. Really nice audio quality for music and movies. Simple menus with no-frills navigation. Remote is simple to operate, if a little uncomfortable to hold. Blue LCD display is not distracting to the eyes. Absolutely the right choice for someone new to home theater setups or the casual enthusiast.
Cons: Uncomfortably boxy remote. Like most AV receivers, it's not anything special to look at.
Other Thoughts: Although the default LCD brightness isn't too distracting, do yourself a favor and learn how to dim the display. I have it as low as possible and it is still easy to read, but doesn't draw the eye.
Reviewed By:David C.,6/9/2016 10:09:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V479 5.1-Channel Network AV receiver with Built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wow, this was a nice upgrade...
Pros: being able to plug everything into the receiver instead of the TV
Onscreen menu navigation makes the options nigh intuitive
Some really good Audiophile Options
Cons: Not used to the LFE and not familiar enough with the receiver to figure out how to make Imperial Star Cruisers shake the room but keep the sub from destroying the house when dropping some Skrillex. Currently need to manually change the gain on the AMP or the dB trim within the amp for the LFE output.
Other Thoughts: Try out the Yamaha AV app.
Reviewed By:Daniel H.,6/5/2016 7:00:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V779 7.2-Channel Network AV receiver with Built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great receiver!
Pros: Love that fact I can control this from anywhere in the house. Even at work to wake up the teenagers. Great price from Newegg.
Great sound for a AV receiver under $500.
Cons: Non so far, the only thing why I did not buy this sooner. Much better than the old Kenwood I had.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to buy when on sale, under $500 it is a steal.
Reviewed By:philip l.,6/2/2016 3:59:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V579 7.2-Channel Network AV receiver with Built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome receiver!
Pros: Easy setup. Works with all my devices. Even my Direct TV remote can control unit can control the volume on the Yamaha reciever.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: None
Reviewed By:Timothy C.,5/30/2016 10:22:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.