Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR-1610S 5.1 Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice sound
Pros: Has a nice sound too it. Using it in a 2.1 setup so couldn't use the built in calibration. Very light, easy to move if necessary. Short and shallow so it can fit in more entertainment centers
Cons: Gets warmer than expected when just idling (on but not playing music). OSD menu (settings) not available with all sources, seems to be only available with non HDMI inputs. Just a minor inconvenience, just adjust while on Tuner or Network sources
Other Thoughts: For the price of $199 I got it for on sale at Newegg, this is an absolute steal.
Reviewed By:thomas c.,5/23/2016 6:45:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-1021-K 7.1-Channel A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy and the best
Pros: easy set up... best with your smart phone
Cons: needs more inputs only has 6
Other Thoughts: love it
Reviewed By:Edward L.,5/21/2016 9:52:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR 2700 7.1 channel home theater receiver with Apple AirPlay

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Re-Consider before purchasing any of today's HK components
Pros: Looks nice. Worked well until warranty expires.
Eliminated lower door on x30 series units
Cons: HK product quality is gone . . . but, not the price.
Customer service is a joke. Actually, they border on 'clueless'.
After 30 years as a customer, this purchase of my 7th component was my last.
Newegg would't accept review with '0' eggs.
Other Thoughts: Do not ignore the 'Made in China' sticker. I gave HK the benefit of the doubt, on my last 2 purchases, to my peril.
Ordered a 2650. Arrived DOA w/ bad HDMI out. HK replaced under warranty w/ 2700.
Unit worked, almost to the day, of the warranty expiring -- unit shutdown 5 secs after start-up.
Customer service suggestion: "Unit shouldn't do that after only 2 years". Turns out to be a common problem, for some reason.
3 requests for service centers gave me places in IA, MA, but never my state.
I, now, have an expensive centepiece for the dining room table.
On the bright side, unit has been replaced with a Sony. Lost some features. But, it works . . . for a lot less.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/21/2016 9:07:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR646 7.2 Network Ch A/V Receiver with Wi-Fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Jaw dropping performance and at insane price
Pros: Sound and Video quality is superb. Power is impressive. Switching is fast.
Cons: Zone 2 will only send out an analog source. So I connected a zone 2 speaker to the center channel for dialog to hear tv in the other room.
Other Thoughts: This replaced a $2500 Arcam receiver that was 11 yrs old and my only regret is the Arcam didn't break sooner.
Reviewed By:JOE M.,5/15/2016 7:30:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V579 7.2-Channel Network AV receiver with Built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Video output flickering after only a few days
Pros: -none, what good is a receiver that does not output video?
Cons: -does not output video. Flickers.
Other Thoughts: Multiple devices across multiple HDMI inputs, this device cannot output video. If I plug the device directly into the TV, no flickering. So its not the source device. I tried different HDMI inputs, so its the input. I tried different cables, so its not the cable. It is the output HDMI. Very disappointed. Absolute waste of money. Avoid!
Reviewed By:Phillip T.,5/8/2016 7:54:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA RX-A720 7.2-Channel Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great, while it lasted.
Pros: - Amazing sound & configurability, while it lasted.
Cons: - "Digital Mainboard" died last year; repair costs about as much as a new/used receiver.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 of these: 1 in my office, that has been powering a 2.1 system for years, and 1 in my home theater, that has been powering a hefty 5.1 (with 2 additional subwoofers, but they have their own amps). The office Aventage, with a much smaller system, has completely died; I've been told the "digital mainboard" needs replaced, but it would cost more than buying a new one of these (used ones are even cheaper - a la a popular online auction site). I really don't get how the one, that's comparatively under-utilized, could fail so catastrophically (that's effectively the same as having a motherboard go out on a pc; I've never even heard of it happening). I loved it, while it was still working, and I love the other one that still is - seemingly like a champ. I likely won't be replacing it with another Yamaha; I'm eyeballing Onkyo, flatly because of the quality I've run into with Yamaha; it's frankly embarrassing to know I paid full retail on these, because I was steadfastly convinced that the technology & craftsmanship was superior; clearly though, I was wrong.
Reviewed By:Eric A.,5/7/2016 10:59:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR626 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What a piece of JUNK!
Pros: Sounds great when it works.
Cons: This unit has an ongoing HDMI problem. It has been sent for repairs twice as of this date. It is still not fixed and I'm getting a big run around from Onkyo.
Other Thoughts: Do not buy an Onkyo product, at least until they get there ongoing problem with HDMI inputs and outputs solved.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/5/2016 12:33:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Sony > SONY STRDH540 5.2-Channel 4K AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 bang for buck
Pros: inexpensive
enough hdmi ports(for my purpose)
Cons: No bluetooth
Other Thoughts: I wanted to upgrade to a proper receiver and speakers from my soundbar and i didnt want spend a lot of money . When this refurb deal came i took a gamble and i am glad i did. overall a much better experience than a soundbar could only dream of providing.
Reviewed By:Jiss J.,5/2/2016 11:45:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX NR555 7.2 Channel AV Network Receiver, Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 High expectations.Completely let down disgusted and disappointed.
Pros: None.
Cons: Unable to use ARC. Setup says error with connecting to tv. I have a Sony xbr-65x850c.
No on screen display when adjusting volume.
USB power does not shut off when unit is turned off even when off is selected in set up.
No audio through HDMI using Directv receiver. Must use digital out to have sound. All other devices, Sony playstation3 and my blu ray player sound through HDMI okay. Set up menu is lame. To basic simple yes or no answers that's it no deep menu items for custom anything.
This receiver will only upscale to 4k if it receives a 1080p signal only! any other signal no upscaling. Why?
Other Thoughts: I was really looking forward to this receiver having read the specs from Onkyo. I was going to replace my TX-NR717 with this receiver simply because of the HDCP 2.2. I bought my 717 refurbished from Onkyo and have only one minor issue of the HDMI signal dropping periodically for a second or two. No big deal and it didn't happen that often. Sadly I must go through the process of returning this receiver soon. I will attempt to contact Onkyo tech support but we have all been through that ringer before. Did you connect everything correctly,did you try a reset? did you power down the unit and unplug it? did you try a factory reset. Yes! to all thats why Im calling tech support. Maybe in a few years and a couple of firmware updates all issues will be resolved but why put something out there that does not work? I don't have time to wait for a fix. Its brand new it should work.
End of Line.
Reviewed By:Joseph S.,5/2/2016 5:21:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR646 7.2 Network Ch A/V Receiver with Wi-Fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Onkyo's Rock!
Pros: The sound and power from Onkyo is crystal clear and raw. This is the third A/V receiver I have had. The first was purchased in Circuit City's infancy and gave me many, many hours, but had no HDMI ports. I have a TX-NR709 that developed a sound problem. Onkyo, with no questions asked, is repairing it, warranty expired, paying the shipping, sent me a box, molded foam, plastic bag, and tape. I love Onkyo and the products they put out. The TX-NR646 I had to buy because my 709 went out just as NCAA tourney was starting. I bought it even before they agreed to fix the 709. I've had the rest over the years, Onkyo's the best.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: Onkyo has been building electronics since the early 40's, and nobody puts power supplies, transformers or heat-sinks like they do.
Reviewed By:Kevin T.,5/2/2016 12:33:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.