Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha R-S201 Natural Sound Stereo Receiver (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolute garbage (Awful distortion)
Pros: Has some basic tone controls and you can plug a decent number of sources in.
Cons: I tried using this to drive a pair of sensitive speakers (95db) and even at medium-high volume, it starts to distort unreasonably. It actually sounds worlds worse than a no-name 50w power amp I had been using prior. Turned up any louder, and it's the "wall of noise" sort of distortion you'd recognize at a dive bar or anywhere else. Not only unenjoyable, but grueling and unlistenable. At low volumes, I thought it sounded dull, like it was lacking treble.
I also don't like that it uses clips instead of binding posts. I'm not sure what part of this was actually worth what it cost.
I can confirm that it wasn't my speakers, as they returned to sounding good on my 50w amp (an AudioSource) and magnitudes better on an old 65w Adcom.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure who the intended consumer for this would be. Typically, people who listen with two-channel systems are looking for quality, while people who are looking for features in their electronics (and not necessarily precision or sound quality) are building home theater systems. Frankly, I'm so displeased that I would not recommend this at any price, as it doesn't even fulfill the most basic expectations of an amp.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 8:30:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V477 5.1 Channel Network AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Great tools and sound producer; sound option is great. 5.1 programs is working well. Sound detective/setup sensor to fit your room and size is a great easy tool for setting up speakers.
Cons: sensitive. If you mess up your speaker cable a bit, it turns off immediately. Everything need to be organize but that's not difficult at all to do.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 11:04:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V477 5.1 Channel Network AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Met my needs perfectly
Pros: Price, functionality, number of HDMI inputs
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Really fantastic receiver, especially for the price. Number of HDMI inputs made pairing with Blu-Ray player, satellite box, television, and gaming console seamless. System puts out enough volume for my small apartment.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 10:36:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: Great quality. Got it at a great price and couldn't be happier.
Cons: none that I've found so far
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 8:38:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Generally did what it was supposed to do.
Cons: After several months had intermittent issues with HDMI output to TV projector. Had to unplug and plug cable back in to restore. Now the video seems to died. Sound still works. Did a lot of trouble shooting and it seems something in the video output circuit has failed. Awaiting Newegg response on extended warranty.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 5:36:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-822-K 5.1-Channel 3D Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked OK until failing TWICE
Pros: Worked OK for a while.
Cons: Failed TWICE.
Other Thoughts: I ordered this unit on 7/1/2012 and it work well for a little while. In the summer of 2014, two years later, it stopped working. When you would turn it on it would stay on for a second and then immediately turn back off. So, I went to an authorized Pioneer repair shop to have it fixed, costing right around $150. It started working again for about a year, and then this summer started having the exact same issue. I was not about to pay another $150 to have a faulty product fixed just to have it fail again. I called Pioneer to tell them that this must be a manufacturer's defect and asked what they could do for me. They said they have no issues with their products and they could do nothing for me. Needless to say I will not be buying a Pioneer receiver as a replacement.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 4:23:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-1022-K 7.1-Channel 3D Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pioneer VSX-1022-K
Pros: Works to my standards
Cons: None Yet
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 5:15:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA RX-A2030 9.2-Channel Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Multi Zone
Pros: Multi-Zone
Flexible Configuration
Variety of Inputs
Enough Power
Cons: Awkward Zone Controls
Awkward Amp Configuration Control
Price
Other Thoughts: I bought this because it was (1) on sale (2) multi-zone which I needed and (3) not overly powerful or packed with features because I don't need all that.

In configuring the amp, you actually NEED to have it connected to a TV otherwise you cannot do the amp config setup procedure. I found this incredibly annoying because the intention was for this to never be connected to a TV. So I had to connect one involving moving large items and many cords around. Furthermore it was new construction and I didn't have a TV at the new house yet so add to the frustration. If they simply included a step by step way to configure it for each amp configuration, that would have sufficed but you absolutely need a TV

On the control side, the zone control on the remote is strange. One must first open the sub-door, then press zone several times to get your desired zone then use the power key and volume to control that zone. If you use two zones at once (living and kitchen), you have to basically treat the remote like an old 0-9 phone where typing a text you have to hit a key several times to get the letter you want. Lots of button pressing so not very user-friendly if this were to be your primary use of the amp (like me).

On the positive side, the amp performs well. The sound is nice and clear. I since decided to just put it with the TV in the family room and extend and pipe some additional 3/4 conduit to have all the stuff controlled in one unit. I wish the remote was more powerful. For example, the Bose Lifestyle system remote volume works across the house. Long range. This one, I have to be in the room to adjust volume so I have to go into the family room to adjust volume of the two zones. Sometimes you want it loud other times not. I do like the independent set volume levels that are possible. I'd like an "all zone" control. Set each zone to the desired volume. One control powers up z2 and z3 and each volume movement moves both up/down until one is maximized.

The unit is sizeable but doesn't get overly hot. I haven't used it enough to review the TV aspects but it seems to sound good running the Bose Lifestyle speakers. I have no sub or even a cone larger than 2" dia so there's not much bass but it doesn't sound bad at all. I plan to now get new speakers and sell the Bose system or use it in another room. Overall a decent system I just wish the zone controls took more of a center stage rather than being an afterthought - but it seems they don't make receivers for a customer like me anymore unless you pay a heck of a lot more money.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 11:43:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V777BT 7.2 Channel Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver with Bluetooth adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Almost perfect
Pros: 6 HDMI inputs, comes with the Bluetooth adapter which makes it very simple for anyone to pair their phone with to play music. All the features seem to work very well. Love the APP.
Cons: HDMI 2 input is faulty causing video to cut out for about 5 seconds at a time. It usually happens about once every minute but sometimes less than once an hour. I purchased this during a home remodel so I'm beyond the 30 days and just now finding this out. Fortunately there are 4 other perfectly good rear HDMI inputs.
Other Thoughts: I'd give it 5 stars if not for the bad input. As a casual user that expects things to just work, this covers it and adds some flexibility if needed.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 10:49:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA HTR-3067 5.1-Channel Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome !!!
Pros: Perfect receiver for my basement along with my 5.1 speakers and a projector. It got everything HDMI, USB (front) for iPod, USB (rear) for Chrome cast power, Optical, Coaxial and I love the sound watching movies or listening to iPod.
Cons: No cons.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 8:47:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.