Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-SOLO-X2 Extreme Performance SSD Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 For some machines requires firmware update
Pros: Easy installation, fast benchmark performance, great USA based support, and very fast firmware-flash update turnaround time from Apricorn support.
Cons: Requires firmware flash update for some machines in order to for the SSD to be seen in BIOS. Firmware flash updates for the SOLO X2 must be performed by Apricorn in their facility.
Other Thoughts: I almost gave up on the X2 until I sent an email to Apricorn support explaining that my Samsung 840 Pro SSD mounted on the X2 never appears in BIOS, which of course prevents it from being the boot disk.

Now, after sending my X2 to Apricorn for a firmware update, the SSD mounted on the X2 is now shows in BIOS and is the boot device in my Lenovo Thinkstation D10.

For those who don't know, the Lenovo D10 is one finicky box when it comes to PCIe device compatibility. Put the wrong PCIe device in a D10 and it won't even make it though POST much less boot.

Anyway, it looks like the X2 SSD upgrade kit will be adding years of additional life to my old D10 as it is plenty fast.

Even with the minor inconvenience and added expense of sending my X2 to Apricorn for a flash update, I'll still give it five stars.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2015 2:55:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Sabrent > SABRENT SBT-STDB IDE Ultra ATA-100/133 to SATA Port Mini Converter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 PEW
Pros: it almost works
Cons: it stinks it has zero instructions and the jumpers are stupidly labeled
Reviewed By:N/A,4/9/2015 2:18:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA40085 2.5" SATA III 6G, USB 3.0 to Dual mSATA SSD Adapter; RAID

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 My blue strobe light
Pros: Backward compatible to sata 2 decent raid 0 speeds 500 read 250 write with 2(128gb) Toshiba THNSNS128GMCP... Works well with GA-G41MT-S2PT, Intel G41 + ICH7 Wei 7.3 ... Raid 0 with 1 sata connector & uses the space required for one laptop or ssd hard drive.. I like it and will buy another... get for motherboards that do not have on board raid.. Boot times are good & for me fast enough
Cons: Attempted to run this device on a system (P45+ ICH9 sata 2) that already had onboard intel raid volumes.. The Syba HWraid device was seen but then would vanished and raid volumes also. :(
Other Thoughts: U probably can get better read write speeds on a sata 3 board... Mounted in a Coolermaster N200 with a 120mm fan blowing over the bottom side of the device keeping it cool (blue activity light flashing on the bottom side) your performance will depend on the quality of your msata drives. It is a great adapter for legacy msata drives..
Reviewed By:Zuberi B,4/7/2015 1:41:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Do not purchase
Pros: stayed snug on the IDE optical drive.
Cons: I could not get this thing to work at all. I tried every SATA connector on the mobo, not even bios would see it. I ended up getting two new optical drives instead. great idea that needs to go to the cave and die.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the this adapter.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 04102015

Reviewed By:N/A,4/3/2015 11:52:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-DUO Velocity Duo x2 - Dual SSD RAID Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Satisfied
Pros: I installed two 1TB Crucial B100 SSDs in RAID0 to give me 2TB of space. The card worked well.
Cons: The instructions are missing a few things. First you should boot into Windows with the new device installed but using your old drive to boot up. Then download and install the driver from their site. Then you will need to press ctrl-m to access the cards BIOS and setup the RAID0. By default it is JBOD, not RAID0 or RAID1. Then you can clone it over.
Other Thoughts: The speed I measured with CrystalDiskMark maxed out at 370MB/s. Perhaps some faster SSDs would have done better but it was far short of the 800MB/s advertized. However, the computer is still snappy and feels fast plus it is about $2,000 cheaper this way than buying a 2TB SSD.
Reviewed By:BlackSwanTrader,4/3/2015 1:31:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-DUO Velocity Duo x2 - Dual SSD RAID Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 New life for Mac Pros
Pros: Installed in my 2009 & 2010 8 core Mac Pros. Simply flawless running two Silicon Power 240gb SSD in Raid 0 and two Samsung 240gb 840's in the 2010 Raid 0 as well. No issues and screamingly fast. Also bought the Single SSD version to add a third 480gb Mushkin for audio samples. So far, almost a year, and not a hiccup. Way cheaper than upgrading to a 2013 Mac Pro and comparable performance now. Think I'll get a couple more just to keep on hand in case they discontinue them.
Cons: They're not free.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/29/2015 2:19:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-DUO Velocity Duo x2 - Dual SSD RAID Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great some small glitches.
Pros: Dual SSD single card. Works on older computers. I have a Dell T7400 works like charm. Trim support works for using it in non raid mode.
Cons: Documentation is poor and support forms there are not a lot of information on it. The card said it supports trim for raid but when I tried it using windows 8.1 it showed the drive as a hard disk. So I use the card without raid and the drives show as 2 ssd ant windows 8.1 trim works great.
Other Thoughts: Over all a great card gives my old Dell the option to run ssd and have Trim support. I would recommend this card to any one with old pc.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/29/2015 4:23:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2SAT2 IDE 40-Pin to SATA Adapter with Hard Disk Drive/SSD/Odd Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, flawless
Pros: Simple install. Worked perfectly with the SATA DVD drive I had to install
Cons: none that I can see
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 5:01:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN ADP-06 SATA to IDE Bridge Board

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This adapter worked great. It did what it was suppose to do.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Quick delivery
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 11:47:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work. Yes, I tried every jumper and the little switches with BOTH power in the IDE HD
Pros: none
Cons: Doesn't work no matter what I tried. I tried jumper in Master and Cable Select, then changing the little tiny switches under the SATA socket. I tried every combination. Then I changed the SATA cable, then tried a different IDE hard drive. No detection, drive doesn't power on, nothing. AND YES, CUSTOMER SERVICE PEOPLE, I PUT THE POWER IN BOTH THE ADAPTER AND THE HARD DRIVE.
Other Thoughts: waste of time
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this USB Hub.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 03302015

Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2015 9:13:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.