Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-DUO Velocity Duo x2 - Dual SSD RAID Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Apricorn Vel-Duo x2 is Simply Perfect
Pros: Works perfectly with my 2012 Mac Pro.

Preserves the all-important Mac Option Screen.

Dual boots Mac Yosemite and Windows 8.1.

SATA 3 Crucial M500 960GB speeds are very close to those on a 2012 mini with its native SATA3 bus.
Cons: Almost none. If running two SSDs in RAID 0 one could ask for a little more bandwidth but that would not stop me from using the Vel-Duo with RAID 0.
Other Thoughts: The users at the MacRumors Mac Pro forum have been writing about the Vel-Duo for some time. I finally took the plunge and am very impressed with the hardware and its performance. It is the perfect addition to a 2010-2012 Mac Pro Tower. I already had two Crucial M500 SSDs so the Vel-Duo is an extremely cost-effective way of get faster boot disk speeds while freeing up the Mac Pro's SATA 2 ports for other hard drives.
Reviewed By:Jack,1/25/2015 3:10:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Worked at first
Cons: Died after about 2 months
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 8:29:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-BIR-IDESA Bi-directional IDE/SATA Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: Low cost, appears well-made. Reasonably small, very little difficulty plugging things in.
Cons: I bought this adapter to use in one of two different "legacy" P3 550Mhz machines. In the older of the two machines, it didn't work at all. Nothing. In the slightly newer one, at least it did do SOMETHING! Sometimes Windows XP will boot, sometimes it won't. Sometimes it will just lock up while running, and/or randomly bring up a BSOD. Both machines work perfectly with a standard spinning drive, so it's not the machines. The SSD tests perfectly in another machine. The only conclusion I can draw is that there is something in this interface that these old machines just don't like. (Maybe it's too fast?) BIOS settings didn't seem to make much difference, either. MAYBE it will work in a newer P4 machine, so I don't plan to return it.
Other Thoughts: Used with a Corsair "Force LS" 60GB SSD, that I was hoping to install into a 24/7 running system to save power and for reliable longevity.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for the issues you have experienced with this adapter.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 01232015

Reviewed By:Willie...,1/13/2015 3:53:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA40050 Mini-SATA to 2.5" SATA Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 MSATA mounting clip could be better
Pros: Inexpensive and works well for pulling data off a MSATA drive that was built into a damaged laptop
Cons: The retention clip doesn't seat the drive the best. If you plan on doing on mounting this in a case I would look into another product that uses a screw down mount similar to what you would find in a laptop. The clip will hold the drive well enough if you are just using this for external data transfer, but I would be worried about it eventually popping free.
Reviewed By:kal326,1/8/2015 10:46:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs eSATA Bracket One SATA II internal cable to 2 port ESATA bracket for SATA I and SATA II Hard Drive Model ESATAB-1P

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it should
Pros: Price. Works as expected.
Pretty simple, no worries.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:JP,1/7/2015 9:05:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Vantec IDE to SATA Converter
Pros: I bought two of them and so far I have just used one. This allows me to use my older IDE DVD drives instead of junking them and it works. Plugged every thing in and drive showed up with a newer motherboard.
Cons: With the current price of DVD drives the price for the adapter could be lower.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/5/2015 10:20:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-BIR-IDESA Bi-directional IDE/SATA Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cheap but works.
Pros: I only use this occasionally if I need to get some data off and don't have the proper ports handy. It works even if the interface is a little clunky.
Cons: Very cheap feeling - makes me a little nervous to be plugging this into a hard drive and motherboard.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this adapter.

We are glad that you have been able to utilize this device with your components in retrieving valuable data.

Please note that in our testing we have not had a problem connecting and disconnecting the device to multiple components without a problem.

The device is durable enough to ensure the connections are secure.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 01232015

Reviewed By:N/A,1/5/2015 9:51:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs SATA to Molex Power Adapter SATA-FM SATA 15 Pin male to Molex 4 pin female adaptor for SATA I and SATA II Hard Drive Model SATA-FM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid connectors
Pros: These are solid connectors and work very well. Easy to plug in and use and they blend in.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: This is highly recommended for the people who have to many SATA Molex connectors and not enough 4-pin molex connectors.
Reviewed By:Alcyoneous,1/3/2015 1:01:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SI-ADA40069 50mm (1.8") mSATA SSD to 2.5" SATA Adapter with Housing, No Sacrifice on the SSD Performance

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failure
Pros: Although the adapter failed, it did appear to recognize the drive...
Cons: As noted in other reviews, there was a catastrophic failure of one of the components (looks like a capacitor C8 on the board). As noted in one of the other reviews, you should check the compatibility with the drive you are using, as noted in the "features" for this product.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with this adpater.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 01232015

Reviewed By:kennyp08,12/31/2014 9:27:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-BIR-IDESA Bi-directional IDE/SATA Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only thing that works is the red light
Pros: Red light works
Cons: Adaptor doesn't work, tried 3 different HDDs, with jumpers on cable select, master, and no jumper, makes no difference, no workie. Both power connectors installed and tried switching cables as well. Doesn't show up after searching for new hardware, and the HDDs are spinning and getting power they just dont show up
Other Thoughts: Gambled and lost
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the this adapter.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 01232015

Reviewed By:j,12/27/2014 4:03:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.