Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine
Pros: Works fine on my ASus Rog G75vw
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 4:52:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > DEEPCOOL > DEEPCOOL Multi Core X6 Laptop Cooling Pad 15.6" Metal Mesh Panel 2*100MM and 2*140mm Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice!
Pros: First cooling unit for a laptop I have ever owned (my fifth one) that has had an appreciable effect on the temperature. My Asus ULVT50 spins its fan at maximum, and overheats at, approximately 190 degrees Fahrenheit. Every cooling unit I've owned before managed to drop a degree here and there and the laptop would hover around 185, which still caused an overheat after it remained there for a while. This X6 unit has dropped the unit temperature by 20 to 40 degrees Fahrenheit (!) while performing demanding tasks like the Flash plugin or gaming, keeping it around the 140-160 degree range in high demand situations. During low demand work (word processing, web browsing), the X6 has pulled down the idle temperature by about 10 degrees Fahrenheit, idling at 118 degrees right now.

The largest temperature problem I have with my laptop is streaming services that still use flash player. HTML5 services like Netflix (at least, they use HTML5 when you view on a Linux OS) do not bother my laptop much, but services like YouTube and Hulu that are still living in the past push my laptop to its maximum fan speed/overheat temperature very quickly. What I ended up doing was playing the video for 5-8 minutes, pausing it, then minimizing Chrome or switching to another tab without a flash plugin for 2-3 minutes while the temperature went back down. No more of that for me.

This unit also fits a 17" laptop very well despite not stating as such on the product page. The specifications listed the unit as 14.96 x 11.61 inches (actually ended up being about 14.4375 wide) and my laptop is 15.125 x 9, which is very nearly a perfect fit.
Cons: Two very small ones. The little adhesive rubber feet included with the unit (that you affix to the mesh to prevent a laptop from slipping) were all cracked up and broken. My laptop has its own little rubber feet so this was no problem in my case, but it may be an issue for others. I also find using the provided stand puts the unit too steep for my taste, but I also do not use a separate USB keyboard so I may be in a minority by not simply using this laptop as a monitor.
Other Thoughts: After combing through dozens of items and ignoring each one without a listed CFM, I ended up with an array of 7 cooling pads. This one was listed with an absurd CFM of 121 and it was one of only two units from my short list with a fan dedicated to the upper left quadrant (where the bulk of the heat accumulates in my laptop), the other being a 5-fan model with a smaller auxilliary fan in the same position. I was sold on this X6 between the large primary fan in the upper left and its CFM rating.

What I have learned since I started using the X6 is that the CFM rating is the sum of all the fans on the unit. This 4-fan unit with a ~120 CFM is putting out ~30 CFM per fan. I was initially impressed with that statistic when I purchased it, but what you would expect in terms of dramatic air movement is certainly not the reality. This is only a minor gripe about the advertising literature though, since the X6 still works very well for me.

I also learned very quickly that this unit does almost nothing if you don't use the stands to incline it. I'm perfectly happy with my laptop remaining flat on the unit and the unit flat on the desk, but this gives it zero airflow and renders the X6 completely ineffective despite the little feet it has on the underside to keep it from sitting directly against a surface. It was doing absolutely nothing (like having no cooling unit beneath it) while it was flat on the desk, but after putting the unit on an incline the difference was night and day.

Personally I had no care for a great number of features and properties of the cooling unit I purchased because all I needed was a chillpad, not an LED-packed, 80's VHS future spaceship part. It's an effective cooling unit and that's all there is to the X6, unless the "butterfly" design would be pleasing to some arty guy or something. I don't really care because it sits beneath my laptop and I never see it (hence why design was of no concern.)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 4:35:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > AGPtek > 10"-17" -inch Laptop/ Notebook Cooling Cooler Stand Pad + Extra USB Port - 5 Fan, Blue LED

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 broken/cracked
Pros: None
Cons: Broken, cheap plastic, little air flow
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 2:16:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Zalman Tech Co., Ltd > ZALMAN Notebook Cooler ZM-NC2000 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great cooler - onwed for 8 months.
Pros: Lightweight, USB powered, adjustable fan speed, switch to turn on\off, LED power light on right side, USB port on right & left sides (near rear) - one used by USB cable between laptop & cooler. Has rubber strips along bottom front & two short pieces (one on left & right) to keep laptop from sliding forward on the sloped surface. Black color.

I have a Dell XPS M1530, 15.4" laptop that fits it well. Laptop has a 256 MB video card & the cooler helps keep it cool. Like other reviewers, I wish I bought one of these years ago. This is my first cooler. I checked various brands, models & reviews & decided on spending more for a better product, plus a sale helped!

Lightweight - fits in my laptop bag with my laptop, doesn't add much weight to carry. Though I can't zip the top of the case shut, but that's okay, better than carrying separate.

They give a short USB cable to go between cooler & laptop. Works fine for me. Without measuring it, I'd guess it's a foot long.

Nose level - I find it quiet, even if fan on highest setting (thumb wheel). I've used it at day job (office) & at home. A little more noticeable at home, but if I play music, etc. while doing stuff, I can't hear it. I got used to it, no biggie. It's not loud. If you have one that's loud, I'd say you have a bad unit & should exchange it. Then only review the exchanged one. People shouldn't review a product that's DOA (Dead On Arrival) either.

I work in computer tech. support & have been in IT for about 20 years professionally & self-taught for an add'l 10 yrs. before that.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'm very pleased with it. I have a new Dell Latitude 17 (17"), 7000 series, high end laptop that fits it as well. My XPs seems to run hotter, maybe with age, though they had a known heating problem with units. The new laptop doesn't run nearly as hot, so not sure if I'll keep the cooler with old or new laptop. It will be used.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2015 11:24:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal U3 PLUS – Gaming Laptop Cooling Pad with 3 Moveable High Performance Fans – Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great piece of cooling
Pros: Adjustable position fans.
Cons: Fans only blow one way need to be able to turn fans over and still attach to rack. My computer pulls air in from bottom and blows it out the sides. Fans attach so that the pull air from the bottom and exhaust it out.
Other Thoughts: Place feet on fans so they can be attached to rack in both directions.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 10:00:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Targus > Targus Chill Mat+ with 4-port Hub AWE81US

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Loud and doesnt cool
Pros: I gave it 2 stars for the usb ports, but that's the only part of this product that does its job.
Cons: The cooling doesn't work and whats worse is its extremely loud. Not worth it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2015 4:36:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > CM Storm SF-17 - Gaming Laptop Cooling Stand with 180 mm Fan and 4 Ergonomic Height Settings

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing is awesome!
Pros: * Keeps your gaming laptop cool.
* Great circulation in all directions.
* Bonus USB hub for extra ports
* Very Sturdy and has rubber and clips to keep laptop from sliding anywhere
Cons: * The light on it is a bit dim (but i don't really care about that).
* Its a bit bulky too in my opinion, but I use my laptop on my desk usually and I don't intend to take it with me if/when traveling. So its fine.
Other Thoughts: Definitely recommended if you're looking for a laptop cooler.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 3:52:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for the price
Pros: - Keeps any laptop extremely cool
- Very quiet
- Lightweight
- Minimal design and function
- Optional legstands
- Can be plugged into any side of the laptop if needed
- Extremely low price!
Cons: - Somewhat thick; takes up considerable amount of space in backpacks, best kept in one location
- Flimsy legstands; will snap back into place if the entire fan is pushed forward
- No padding to hold laptop in place; requires you to rely on the rubber legs at the bottom of your laptop, can still be slippery
- Cheap power cord
Other Thoughts: I bought this fan because my MacBook Pro kept overheating regardless of how high the internal fan was running. Since then, I've sold that laptop and bought a used Alienware notebook. It tends to get hot when running graphically demanding games, and gets even hotter when doing test renders for 3D scenes on the go. This fan definitely fixed those overheating problems and was very simple to use. However, my complaint with the product is how it was made. The product had a year warranty, and lucky enough for me it stops working properly ONE DAY after I received the product the previous year XD. So basically when they gave the product the one year warranty, they made it so it would last ONLY a year. The product still works technically, but the power cord between the USB and the fan itself became damaged on the inside somehow (looks like one of the internal wires got ripped overtime, nothing I did to damage it). If held at a certain angle, the fan will power on, but the cord will eventually move from some kind of draft or something and require me to sit and reposition the cord to get it working again. However, I honestly did not expect much from this fan and was somewhat impressed when I first got it. So would I recommend it? Yes I would; you're definitely getting what you paid for.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 2:54:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X3 - Gaming Laptop Cooling Pad with 200 mm Blue LED Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 doers the job
Pros: It does what it supposed to keeping the laptop cooled, laptop fans used to run on high speed constantly, now this helps keep it cool.
Cons: Very bulky and the supplied usb cord constantly disconnects
Other Thoughts: It does it's job but the added bulk can be a pain.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2015 1:46:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fragile but good if you are careful; needs more center support.
Pros: For this price range this cooler performs pretty well. When I would play CS:GO it really helped a lot with cooling down my laptop. The way I used my laptop was that I had my laptop on the cooler and barely open to be able to let any heat get out that would get trapped between the screen and keyboard. Since I had an HDMI cable I had it plugged in. I usually play games such as CS:GO, CS1.6, Farcry 4, and FPS games for long periods of time. I did notice my keyboard would get out but that is to be expected from a laptop since some of they heat would get trapped after a long period of playing. I have an Acer v15 Nitro black edition so my computer can get a bit warm after playing for games for a while, however this laptop cooler was good enough to significantly reduce how hot my laptop would get. Unfortunately before one of my fan blades broke I didn't benchmark the differences in how hot my laptop would get. If you have a gaming laptop like me and are careful with this cooler I would recommend you getting it. However if you are like me and aren't careful enough, take the laptop cooler everywhere with you at home, I would suggest
Cons: Like I said before, the laptop cooler is fragile. There is not support in the center of the cooler to keep the fan blades from hitting it. I never tried to abuse it and would try to pick it up from the middle but I should've grabbed the cooler from the sides since there is more support there. If you buy this laptop cooler never grab it hard. If your laptop is extremely light and slim like mine this cooler will do the job but for different laptops that aren't light I recommend looking up a bit in the price range for this company.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought that this was a very good laptop cooler besides the fact that the center of the cooler did not have enough support in it so it would bend.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 2:11:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.