Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 5.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Gamble!
Pros: I bought it refurbished for cheap. It's July 2017 and she is still going strong for 3 years now. Excellent sound for my old ears.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Justin T.,7/15/2017 6:48:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar U7 MKII 7.1 USB DAC with Headphone Amplifier

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolute trash
Pros: none
Cons: Everything, including the fact that the last driver update was over a year ago. Said driver is useless and I encountered nothing but white noise and interference.
Other Thoughts: DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS GARBAGE!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/13/2017 6:58:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy RX 7.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 How to get 7.1 cables
Pros: I do not own this card.
Cons: I do not own this card.
Other Thoughts: I have seen reviews on this card complaining about the cables required to get 7.1 sound. I have an older Creative card that has the same connections. Creative does make propitiatory cables that are impossible to find. Just search here on Newegg or other sites for "Cmple - 3.5mm to 3 RCA Camcorder Video Audio Cable - 6 ft". I own these cables and they work flawlessly. You will need 2 of them. These 2 will handle center, sub, rear, and side speakers. For the front speakers, standard 3.5mm to stereo RCA cables work. Hope this helps.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/11/2017 5:29:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed, ASUS won't honor warranty.
Pros: -Powerful bass for my high-impedance headphones (while it worked - about 1.5 years)
-Worked on Ubuntu 16.04 Linux without any wizardry
Cons: -Stopped putting out bass almost entirely, and audio became very scratchy about 1.5 years in
-ASUS didn't repair, replace or contact me when I sent it in for RMA. Won't honor warranty.
Other Thoughts: +4 eggs for quality when it worked, -10 eggs for failure and RMA service = -6 eggs total, but lowest I can give is 1 egg.

I identified the audio problem when it failed, reproduced on two different motherboards and two different OSs (Windows 10 and Ubuntu,) included details with the RMA and sent it in. I paid out of pocket for shipping, then ASUS service center throws away my box, stuffs it back in a FedEx mailer with nothing more than a note saying "Test OK." They made no attempt to identify the problem (which btw I already identified for them!) or to contact me. Now ASUS ghosted me and it's been 3 days since they received my NEW support request which they said would be answered in 48 hours.

I've bought ASUS motherboards (which usually command a premium) and thought I was getting the support of a reputable manufacturer. If they don't fix this, and by all appearances they don't intend to, I'm probably switching to Gigabyte for my future builds.
Reviewed By:Aaron H.,7/8/2017 10:33:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe
Pros: None
Cons: Worked for 3 months then died. Creative refused to repair or replace.

Worst company
Other Thoughts: Will never buy their products again
Reviewed By:Henri R.,7/7/2017 1:40:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent Sound
Pros: It's not a high end sound card, so don't expect it to sound like one
It is better then most on board sound setups
For the cheap price...it's worth it
Cons: It's not 7.1
(but we already know that, so not a Con)
Reviewed By:Keith B.,7/7/2017 12:13:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy and sounds great.
Pros: Plug in, install W10 drivers, reboot, profit. Way better than my old realtek alc892. Equalizer for tweaking. Can do virtual surround on analog if you do it manually, and it works.
Cons: All cool settings are locked to digital. DTS and Dolby is only on digital or headphones with this product.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to those with only onboard older motherboards. But not for people with newer chipsets and realtek 1220. My friend says that sounds awesome compared to the 892 he had.

I am not an audiophile. But I do have a sensitive ear and I am a musician. This card is far better than my old on board.
Reviewed By:Logan B.,7/3/2017 2:20:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO7D 7.1 Channels 16-bit 48KHz USB Interface Audio Adapter External Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LOVE IT (I FOUND A FIX FOR Windows 10 USERS!!!)
Pros: -Sounds great
-Works wonderfully (AFTER FIX)
Cons: -Did take a while to find the fix
-None other than that
Other Thoughts: -FIX:
Step 1: Install the Windows 10 drivers off of the website.
Step 2: Open and extract the WIN-8-10 folder from the ZIP file
Step 3: Run the setup application the bottom of the list (This is located inside the Win-8-10 folder)
Step 4: Install it and make sure to restart your PC
Step 5: After the restart, you should see an Applet that has appeared in your system tray (in the bottom right)
Step 6: Open the USB multichannel applet and you should see a menu that pops up to show audio settings.
Step 7: Set the appropriate amount of speakers that your system uses (if this works then awesome!)
Step 8: Go into windows playback devices and select the Speakers (NOT the digital output)
Step 9: Configure the Speakers to the same amount of speakers (2, quad, 5.1, 7.1)
Step 10: Test the system.

I hope this works for the rest of you!
Reviewed By:QUINN M.,6/26/2017 9:53:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Went bad after after 8 months
Pros: Great sound when it was working
Cons: The output died after 8 months.outer problems was it sounded like a robot at times had to reboot often during gamming to cure the problem
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/25/2017 8:53:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Two And A Half Years Layer Going Strong
Pros: -Much better sound over unboard sound.
-192KHz, 24-bit, 116dB, 5.1 Channels.
-Works extremely well with headphones as well as speakers (Amplified).
-Makes gaming much more enjoyable.
-Looks really good with red theme builds.
-Comes with Creative software to allow you tuning audio for your needs.
Cons: -No complaints.
Other Thoughts: -Very affordable for this caliber of a Sound Card.
-It's worth it at this price if you're looking for better gaming-audio experience.
I recommend Sound Blaster Z if you're looking to spend around $100 for a good sound card.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2017 8:09:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.