Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 From a Workingmans Standpoint.
Pros: This thing works fine. Ive tested the heck out of it with familiar material. This is a high quality inboard sound card for connecting to analog equipment, period. Everything else is just market driven fluff. Honestly, the noise floor is all but nonexistant. Quality DACs + conscientious shielding + numerous inputs & outputs = a great card. If it sounds cheap, its probably what your feeding it. Take one step back if your testing this with streaming sources.

Pure gamers can find much cheaper/simpler solutions. Folks primarily interested in movies & surround sound shouldnt be concerned with DACs. And serious musicians need a whole heck of a lot more equipment than one soundcard. But, this would be a great choice within that setup.
Cons: There is no useful software for this card from creative itself. It's all been removed from their website. It seems there nervous to offer functionality that could cause legal conflict. I suppose the advertising is geared towards gamers because of this.
On the other hand. Who uses manufacturers software anyway, right? Oh, maybe the same folks that cant get this card working!
Other Thoughts: I'm an armchair Audiophile. And, at the same time, I dont want a bunch of USB gizmos & wires all over my workstation. I run this card in & out of a high powered stereo system designed primarily for musical audio quality and to annoy the neighbors. Ive been known to do a rather good job of fixing poorly transcribed mp3s purchased from "corporate sites". Though there never good enough to save a lossless qualities. And on & on about many examples that prove I do have a good ear.

Why did I buy this over the competitions offering that clearly gets higher reviews? I wanted the connectivity. Especially since the plugs are in the back of the box, I wanted a "plug it all in & let it accumulate dust" setup. I was willing to take the risks suggested by the reviews. I have used a Creative Live card since Windows 98. I completely love the front bay panel. But alas, "progress" has left that in the dust. That card still has not failed. It's on a Win XP machine.

I installed this card on a new build featuring Win 10 (pro) Anniversary. IT WORKS FINE! A cautious setup may have been the key to my success, I don't know. Mainly, I was sure to disable onboard sound the 1st time I fired the motherboard up for testing. Installed Win 10, let it update, then installed add-in cards one at a time. This could turn into a review of Windows 10 easily. Just do your research.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/17/2017 9:35:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: None
Cons: Computer can't find the device, even though it was working yesterday...
Other Thoughts: Garbage, won't buy anything Sound Blaster again... ever.
Reviewed By:Jennifer M.,2/17/2017 2:19:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster E1 USB Sound Card and DAC with Powered Headphone Amp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pain to figure it out
Pros: "Fantastic'' it Really works watch the Volume controls unless you want to go Deaf
Cons: It took 2 hours to figure it out Below should Help IT really does work
Other Thoughts: First you need to go into your control panel then set your speakers or HP on the Default to this DEVICE then one of them will say SB E1 then go down to your volume control in windows and it should say the same SB E1. NOW the Tricky Part. ON W10 ONLY my USB worked the Speaker Plug Shut off my Volume. In W7 BOTH of my Plugs worked EVERY MB is different. So Play and Plug to see which work. TRUST ME this thing Rocks. I would suggest a REALLY Good HP to run this device. Again WATCH the Volume
Reviewed By:TERRY P.,2/16/2017 6:26:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome!!!
Pros: It's running both Logitech headphones and the simvibe software in iracing. Good envestment a little pricy but you get what you pay for these days...
Cons: Zero. So far....
Other Thoughts: Easy install...
Reviewed By:Rodney D.,2/15/2017 5:05:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > HT Omega > HT | OMEGA DSD (Direct Stream Digital) Sources supporting - Native 2.8Mhz (DSD64) / 5.6Mhz (DSD 128) USB Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Sound!
Pros: DSD, Optical and 3.5 adapter, simple to install audio driver, works seamlessly with windows sound panel. excellent base and treble, 192 sample rate
Cons: no mic input
Other Thoughts: easy driver install. Honestly, for mobile solution or to keep outside of desktop, you can't go wrong. I also used the EClaro and before that, Striker 7.1. HT is an awesome company, every sound card that I have used from them was a favorite. I wouldn't use another brand. The sound board brand that starts with a 'C' is np-good compared to HT brand. You get what you pay for..
Reviewed By:Troy E.,2/13/2017 9:42:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Loud
Pros: Much better than any on board audio
Amp makes worlds of difference
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Regardless of recent reviews the driver installs no problem on windows 10
Reviewed By:Zach R.,2/11/2017 5:31:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS ESSENCE STX II 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Hi-Fi Quality Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ASUS ESSENCE STX II
Pros: GOOD SPECS. GOOD LOOKING CARD.
Cons: NOT A CON. DOES NOT WORK WITH MY EVGA SR2 CLASSIFIED. THE MOTHER BOARD IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH ANY ASUS AUDIO CARDS. IT IS NOT THE CARD'S FAULT. THE ONE STAR IS NOT FOR THE CARD, MORE FOR ASUS. THE OTHER REVIEWER HAD NOT SEE THAT. HE THINKS IS THE WINDOWS 7 CAUSING THE B.S.O.D, OR FREEZ ON THE BOOT. IT IS NOT. NO FIX AS OF NOW.
Other Thoughts: I HAVE ONE OF THE FIRST VERSION OF THIS CARD THE STX, AND WORKS FINE WITH A SUPERMICRO MOTHER BOARD. WHEN I HAD IT INSTALLED ON SR2 CLASSFIED DID NOT WORK. FOR THE REVIEWER BELOW. USE HT OMEGA ECLARO.
Reviewed By:TEDDY P.,2/9/2017 10:44:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 it works but at a cost if you have the original Recon3D
Pros: better compatibility with current OS like Windows 8.1 and especially Windows10
may have the same components from the original SB Recon3d
Cons: Same processor from 2012 just with newer components, it's good and bad (if you already own the original)
Other Thoughts: if i knew this card line had the same processor i would have gotten the ZXr but otherwise the better software for it makes it worthwhile to use for Windows 10 as the original Recon3D had OK windows 10 support (since it was based off windows 7 and 8).

The software is better and faster. the old Recon3D software always sort of lagged, especially if you were to open it from taskbar. The icon for the original Recon3D (latest creative software and drivers) was blue themed, now for the new up to date software and drivers for the the Z series the icon is red themed and everything works faster.

and of course we get the bright red led, imo personally, i don't care for it since i have a red and black case theme as well as rgb strips set to red and other components that are red and black themed such as water cooler and graphics card, ram, wires etc. It fits my case theme and if anything if i want to remove it i would just take the sound card apart and solder off the led or change it to a different colored led (not hard for me but hard for others if they want to bother).

I am all for faster software but not if it should cost me for buying a card that has the same processor and software, especially since the program works the same and looks and functions the same as the previous but only now, 5 years later they no longer support it and literally left their old card that was based off the same processor for dead when it could function the same. Therefore, this loses 1 egg. This is literally the same card 5 years ago except they just redesigned the the board and other components, it's a shame they no longer support their originating line of Recon3D other than just supplying the unupdated software.
Reviewed By:Regis J.,2/8/2017 7:55:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp Item Number:N82E16829102062
Pros: Should be a good product.
Cons: Has not worked from day one. Bought one month ago. Replacing an Extigy until that is stand alone that quit. Good product but Newegg has not carried since Shortly after my purchase of it.
Other Thoughts: One has to uninstall other cards or disable them. Onboard Realtech uninstalled. Extigy does not unistall, was disabled. Software deleted. Speakers (Polk) do not make any sound. Head Phones do not make any noise in them. What is one to do,
Reviewed By:Dennis O.,2/8/2017 10:07:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 worked great untill the sound stopped working in one side of the microphone port
Pros: - sounds good (as long as it worked)
- has many useful ports
Cons: - terrible drivers
- my card stopped woirking correctly in less than 2 years
Other Thoughts: microphone is significantly louder on one side than the other, i have tested this with my on board audio and the issue does not persist, as well as other cords.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/7/2017 6:18:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.