Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Husky HD 1080p Outdoor Wi-Fi or PoE Video Security Bullet Camera, 16GB MicroSD, Works with Alexa using IFTTT

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good camera, poor utility
Pros: 1080P HD. The picture quality on this camera is excellent and superior to the other HD wifi cameras I’ve tried. It’s viewing angle is nice and wide and has no notable picture distortion.

The hardware feels like high quality construction and feels very rugged. This is an outdoor all weather camera and feels like it. Installation is straight forward. It comes with a mounting template which really helps in aligning your screws and even has plastic screw anchors for dry wall mounting.
Cons: There is no access to this camera or it’s settings by simply punching in its IP address into a browser and pulling it up when it’s on your network. You have to do everything through an application you must download onto your phone or tablet. I understand that this helps guarantee a secure encrypted connection, but if you don’t work on top secret military projects on your front porch you should at least have the option of connecting and recording video to your unencrypted PC in your own home.

I’m not a fan of the limited software (phone app) provided by ezviz. Camera configuration is very limited. You can configure motion detection sensitivity and notification schedules. You can turn the camera on and off with sleep mode, configure it to your wifi network, and turn image encryption on or off. That’s about it. It lacks the ability to do many other things that other camera apps let you do, such as configuring motion detection areas, sending captures out to custom email or text message attachments to any number of phones when motion is detected. As far as I can tell, you have to use the ezviz cloud service and that’s your only option. I have two other brand cameras uploading video to my google drive but there is no FTP option on the ezviz.

When logging onto the ezviz app, It will show me stills updated every 10 seconds or so, but when I click on picture to get the live view video, it gets stuck at about 8-20% and never displays anything. The same thing happens when I try to review past recorded footage from its built in memory via the app.

The camera gets very warm to the touch when plugged in, making me wonder how much juice it’s consuming all of the time. There is no indication that the camera is recording or even on other than it gets warm to the touch.

Does not work with the Chrome web browser.
Other Thoughts: During my installation of the camera onto my wifi network, I was confused about whether or not the camera had found and connected to my network. I was using the method by which you generate a QR code on your smart phone and show it to the ezviz camera. There seems to be no clear indication when or if you succeed.

This camera does not have any way to rotate and pan remotely. You have to point it where you want it and it stays. The mount is basic but effective. The night vision seems to work well. I really like the clear high resolution picture of this camera. It’s much better than my other HD cameras.

Ezviz really wants you to buy their cloud storage, a reoccurring monthly payment that I refuse to buy just because I don’t believe those kinds of money leaks are financially responsible. I’m still trying to find a separate method to record video other than the small amount of memory that comes on the camera. Not being able to record to a location of your choice is very frustrating.

If you are using a mobile data plan and use the mobile camera app very much, be prepared to see some huge data usage (this is true for most all video streaming).

Overall, this is a good camera but it simply can’t be utilized well due to the lack of supporting features and software. I can recommend this camera for its quality hardware build and great video picture but not if you want to record video to a place other than ezvid’s own cloud storage (which happens to be Amazo**’s cloud services). It doesn’t offer the depth of a great software package or the many options of other web cameras so if those things are important to you, look elsewhere.
Reviewed By:Mike C.,1/20/2017 4:51:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini O 720p HD Wi-Fi Home Video Monitoring Security Camera, Built-in Speaker and Mic, Works with Alexa using IFTTT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BONUS >>> “Alexia, what’s the diameter of Jupiter?”
Pros: Installing the Mini O from unpacking it to viewing its output on my smart phone took less than five minutes. Fair disclosure, I had the app installed on my smart phone and previously installed a similar camera; nevertheless, installation is really simple.
I’d classify its wide angle picture quality as amazing, preferable to other cameras (I’m familiar with) which pan and tilt using touch screen gestures. Two cameras are better than one; simply swipe your figure across your smart phone screen to follow the action on an adjacent camera. Night vision capabilities augmented with low ambient light are extraordinary.

The camera is white (I’d prefer grey or black) is fairly unobtrusive, easily hidden if desired; status light & IR light can be disabled to aid concealment. It comes with a long, detachable power cord aiding ideal placement; its powerful magnetic base is a real plus. Once coupled with your Wi-Fi; it’s simple to relocatable within your Wi-Fi coverage area.

Software needs to be seen to be fully appreciated. Movements’ triggers a red line across a time line graphic, click on it; see before & after the initiating event; know exactly what time your teenage daughter comes home, without having to stay up to monitor her arrival.. No arguments, you’ve got proof!

Furthermore, you’d think a Wi-Fi camera would be useless if it loses Wi-Fi connectivity, wrong; the show goes on utilizing resident memory (up to 128 GB add-on).

Just about anyone with the inclination to secure evidence has a readily available inexpensive tool, to beat all, with incredible clarity & a time date stamp.

“The camera has a built-in speaker for clear audio and a built-in omnidirectional microphone which easily picks up voices and reduces background noise.” Coupled with a consenting Wi-Fi connection, you get a super valuable bonus >>> ALEXIA <<< which controls smart home devices such as lights, switches, fans, thermostats, and more from Philips Hue, TP-Link, Aucuba, WMO, smart things, EIENSTEIN, Luton, Nest, Wink, Honeywell , and more – plus - access to (best of class) ALEXIA voice recognition Q & A artificial intelligence, e.g., what’s the diameter of Jupiter?
Cons: NONE!
Other Thoughts: Don’t confuse this with similar looking cheap devices. This is the real deal, designed and manufactured by EZVIZ Inc. a subsidiary Hangzhou Hikvision Digital Technology Co., Ltd; world’s “largest” supplier of CCTV & Video Surveillance Equipment.

My initial Mini it came with one year of complimentary cloud service. I didn’t initialize it, the camera’s resident storage was more than adequate for my needs, nevertheless, and this (Mini O) is accompanied with a one month trial offer.

Investigate paranormal activity; previously mentioned movement triggers a red line across a time graphic, saving a lot of time visually scanning, click on desired mark, see before & after event video. I’ve experienced numerous weird phenomena (light orbs) capable of tagging the time graphic.

The Mini O isn’t an ideal replacement for a dedicated Alexia device. Consider it a supplementary convenience.

Use the resident storage to see you via candid video is revealing. Introspection is a wonderful thing, disheveled, overweight, out of shape; poor posture and a lot more are correctable once recognized. Another interesting use is archiving snippets from life; save a memory card a few times a year; archive candid perspectives of yourself and those around you get old and hopefully wiser.

As previously said, installing this was a breeze; it didn’t go so well with my first Mini. Reason I’m sharing this, is, I sampled EZVIZ support. I’d classify their customer support extraordinary, my calls to resolve infrastructure idiosyncrasies were answered promptly; within a minute. Canadian-based technicians were extraordinary helpers >>> lifetime technical support is a valuable perk.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/20/2017 6:46:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5222L HD Pan & Tilt Wi-Fi Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Camera
Pros: Easy to set up, Does not require iphone to set up, Works with almost all 3rd party software and can use local network without use of manufacturers webpage,
Cons: Was only 720p resolution. If was capable of 1080p i would rate at 5 eggs.
Other Thoughts: Works well in rooms with fair to good lighting but 720p not as clear in low light areas as other 1080p cameras i have.
Reviewed By:Stephen B.,1/18/2017 9:14:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam C1 Indoor HD 720P Wireless Plug and Play IP Camera, with IR-Cut, Night Vision, 115 degree Super Wide Viewing Angle, PIR Detection, Rich Media Message Push (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Trying to add more security to home!
Pros: Easy software on windows 7 or android (not 10). Typical setups. FTP is great on my local storage. Camera needs some light to see distances at night. A lot of setting and cloud.
Cons: Outdated security implementation makes my computer rejecting camera IP connection. Norton sees ocxIPcam Control plugin not trusted and deletes it. Camera runs hot!!!
Other Thoughts: Most sensors degrade over time. My cheap dash cam lasted for 3 years in the sun of NM, so I hope this will last ... 3 years+.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/15/2017 5:18:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 Degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Little Camera
Pros: Not bad video, better than most CCTVs, easy to use, easy to setup. Small and compact design. I love the magnetic base and included metal plate. That really opens up where you can install it. Awful blue light can be turned off, IR can be turned off too, for discrete recording. (Wouldn’t recommend in pitch black room or you won’t see nothing.) I love the pinch zoom, and can only imagine one of their newer models that would have a zoom lens to really open up this feature! The night vision is great other than the IR lights needing to be on to take full advantage of it.

Didn’t take too much effort to setup on iPad. Was much quicker on iPod touch. Had to enter security code on back of camera as the video is encrypted! What a fantastic way to curb the perverts who drive around looking to peek in on unsecure cameras!

At home, I use my iPad to view the camera and at work I can check in on my iPod! It is fantastic how easy it was to get going! (Once I got past the not finding the software on iPad at first!) This does a fantastic job as a security camera and a room monitor! A parent’s best friend to end those “He said/she said” sibling rivalries. A great device to help kids/people take ownership of their actions!
Cons: iPad users will need to select iPhone to even see the app to download. Works well with iPad once you figure it out. Pulling down on image refreshed the image and you think HORRIBLE! Tap the image brings you to the live feed. Much better! Slight delay of maybe 3 seconds, but it will certainly show you who is in the room. Could use more information in the instructions. USB cord is a bit on the short side. Lucky I had a few extenders available.


You can disable the IR light if you want the camera to remain hidden. A good feature if you have other ambient lighting in the room that can help you to see or if you no longer have the cloud subscription and you worry a crook would just take off with the camera if he finds it. The image if horrible without the IR in a completely dark room. You should play with the feature and see the red IR lights to determine how this will work for you in your environment. (Tip: If you have more than one of these, the IR will work from one camera to provide the visual details for another. Thus you may trick an unwanted visitor into taking the camera they see, but the camera they don’t will have their act recorded. (Or you subscribe to that cloud service once your year trial runs out!)
Other Thoughts: I’ve tried many different security cameras and I am familiar with the lack of quality you find in them. If you don’t know the person on the screen, chances are you won’t be able to identify them. Lucky for us, times are changing. There is still a lot of work for outside cameras, but we should be good to go with indoor ones. You can spend twenty times or more on a higher end security camera, but if you just want to monitor a room without presenting the video to a jury, this should be just fine for you! Small note, I set it up with no problem with the Comcast hardware and high speed internet.
Reviewed By:Kenith H.,1/15/2017 12:15:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Husky HD 1080p Outdoor Wi-Fi or PoE Video Security Bullet Camera, 16GB MicroSD, Works with Alexa using IFTTT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy
Pros: The camera's specs seem good.
Cons: Here are your options for using this device:

- Proprietary, cloud-based, pay-to-access website,
- nothing else,
- really, nothing else,
- you have no other way of using this device,
- no, that's not even a joke,
- just stop reading reviews and buy something else.

And it's not even a very good cloud website.

Don't go reading the specs wondering "is this what I need or not?" It's not.

f you are an average Joe who doesn't care either way, you're still better off with something that supports open standards (or at least some standards) that allow local recording, non-cloud viewing, etc. And if you're not an average Joe, you will have no use for this thing because you need it to fit in a reasonable security setup, which this will not do.
Other Thoughts: I'm sorry, it's 2017. You can't put out a camera for $100+ and not support open standards for people to use with their existing systems, to store locally, to store to a network PC or drive, etc. Totally unacceptable. Period. Would give 0 stars if possible.

I give honest, mostly positive reviews, and I've always given manufacturers the benefit of the doubt, but giving this thing a try and keeping an open mind just made me feel like I'd been duped. This is the first negative review I've given as an EggXpert reviewer, and I'm -- frankly -- pretty disappointed in everyone. The manufacturer for (see above), Newegg for selling this type of junk, and me for agreeing to review it. Maybe it's better that experts are weighing in (and not too positively) to steer people away, but everyone still comes away from this expert-review-process feeling bad.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/13/2017 1:18:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam R2B Indoor 1080P FHD Wireless Plug and Play IP Camera with Night Vision Up to 24 ft, Wide 110 degree Viewing Angle, Motion Detection, with Cloud & Local SD Card Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Video with a Hidden Undocumented Flaw
Pros: Good video quality. Easy to set up and configure. The browser plugin gives you a lot of administrative control over the camera and its network and storage options.
Cons: I bought two of these cameras. I choose Foscam because of the SD storage option. I bought SanDisk UltraPlus microSD 64GB cards to use with them. However, no matter what I did the cameras would not recognize the presence of a card in the slot. I've spent the better part of a week corresponding with upper tier Foscam support only to be told that the R2 only supports SDHC format. No where on the Newegg site, or the Foscam site, or the "installation guide" in the box is it specified that there is any restriction regarding the format of the microSD card being used.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to anyone unless the limitations regarding local SD storage is explicitly stated in the features grid.
Reviewed By:Jack S.,1/12/2017 7:58:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Husky HD 1080p Outdoor Wi-Fi or PoE Video Security Bullet Camera, 16GB MicroSD, Works with Alexa using IFTTT

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 optical image
Pros: Hooked this up over my garage powering it with a POE injector via ethernet cable. Camera provides a great wide angle image, rain or shine. Very clear at night. The recent rain in my neighborhood gave it no problems.

Love the EZVIZ brand. Solid camera technology, fair price points and easy to set up and access via APP or web interface.
Cons: Needs a subscription service but I think it's worthwhile only $10.99 a month for seamless cloud storage.
Other Thoughts: would like to buy more of these cameras and an EZVIZ dvr for monitoring and security.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/10/2017 12:19:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 Degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, Inexpensive WiFI Security Camera
Pros: -Inexpensive compared to other brands
-Good quality HD video and audio for a tiny camera
-Loads videos really fast (almost instantly) even when using cell phone internet service. (you know who is at the front door right away without having to wait for the app to load the image)
-Easy to set up and connect to home WiFi (using their app and following instructions)
-Notifications can be put on a schedule: days and times. (ie. only send alerts friday and saturdays between 1am-3am..,etc)
-Remote monitoring. Watch live or recorded video over the internet (when you are not connected to home network)
-AC power ( no expensive batteries)
-Save to a memory card so you dont have to use the cloud service (I purchased item # N82E16820301310)
Cons: -Must use EZVIZ App to set it up and use. (iPhone or Android)
-Someone can just steal or destroy the camera and you lost your evidence if you dont use the Cloud
-Cant access the device using a webrowser. -- at least I couldnt connect with Chrome, IE11, and MS Edge
-ezvizlife.com does not have a forums or online community on its website
-Device is not discoverable or able to connect over a home network. Cant backup the memory card over the network.
Other Thoughts: Suggestions:
1. EZVIZ should improve their website and offer a way to connect using a popular web browser.
2. Create online forums for troubleshooting and build up a loyal community fanbase.
3. Allow network file system access to the device to backup and manage the information on the internal memory card.

The hardware is there, the software just needs a few improvements before I would consider this a 5-star product. But if you are looking for a security camera that lets you watch live and recorded video over the internet then this is a great buy.
Reviewed By:Chris B.,1/9/2017 6:45:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Uniden > Uniden APPCAM25HD Video Surveillance Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 it works but not happy with it
Pros: motion Notifications on you mobile device works good.
Cons: Over priced for what you get.
Can only be managed with the Android, or apple app. (cant view on standard camera management software)
Live view in 720P but only records in 640X480 <--- Really!!! that is the most impotent part of a security camera, (record in High res for a clear image)
Records locally on to a micro SD card, and can only be downloaded to a mobile device. (cant auto upload to server) (if someone takes the camera they have the video of them taking it on the camera not you)
Other Thoughts: I Do not recommend this camera, it is way overpriced for what it can do.
Reviewed By:Richard K.,1/7/2017 5:04:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.