Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security Camera System - 2 HD, 100% Wire-Free, Indoor / Outdoor Cameras with Night Vision - VMS3230-100NAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, very flexible.
Pros: Totally wireless
Easy to set up
Durable device
Reasonable cloud pricing for stored recording
able to store video on a local device to add more days stored
Cons: use mounting screws if you can
Other Thoughts: Great to add security to your business.
Easy install and adjustments.
Camera on the magnetic mount add a lot of shear weight. If using mounting tape vs screws be sure to use the Scotch Extreme type and clean the wall surface with alcohol and allow to dry.
Reviewed By:Daniel G.,5/25/2017 9:13:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > LaView USA > LaView 2MP 1080P HD Fisheye Wi-Fi Security Camera with 185 Degree Viewing Angle, 2-Way Audio, Free 3-day Cloud Storage and Motion Detection (LV-PWF80216-W)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very easy to set up!
Pros: Extremely easy to set up with a smartphone.
Cons: Don't see any yet.
Other Thoughts: Love this camera! Extremely easy set up if you have a smartphone. I love that I can see a very large area (185 degree which basically every corner if you place it at a right place), can zoom in and out, the night vision, and the feature that allows you to talk and hear everything. It is pretty loud that I can hear it all the way across the living room. It is light that it can be mounted easily. Great motion and sound sensor. 3-day free cloud storage is just good for me.
Reviewed By:Cindy N.,5/21/2017 11:36:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Arlo Pro Security System - 3 Rechargeable Wire-Free HD Night Vision Indoor / Outdoor Security Camera with Audio and Siren - VMS4330-100NAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Easy install and setup. Web Browser and Android phone interface excellent. I installed 4 cameras and then got a 5th. Adding devices is easy. I use all cameras out doors monitoring doors, windows, drive ways and sidewalks. I have motion flood lighting. Cameras give best night picture mounted above a lighting source looking down at illuminated areas. Switching from FLIR to normal at night when the floods come on is very fast.
Cons: The hardest thing is hanging the cameras. You have to be able to climb up and down a ladder and use a power drill to screw in screws. I am > 65 and was able to do it. I used a 6 ft ladder with my trusty Makita power driver.

The magetic dome mounts work well. The magnetic mount may hold the camera too close to wall making it difficult to cover a window or garage door on the same wall the camera is mounted on. Then you'll want a VMA1000 or VMA1100 mount. For ease of battery pack changing the magnetic wall mount is preferred. For added camera security, I used the camera mount VMA1000 where you could possibly get a video of someone stealing it, at least they have to unscrew it to take it. I mounted all cameras at 7.5 feet from ground. Cameras are enough off the ground they can't easily be reached while allowing ez access with a 6ft step ladder to change battery packs.

I would prefer a replaceable CR123 instead of rechargable proprierity battery pack. Rechargable batteries do not last forever and require replacing someday anyways. I do not see how that is an improvement. The improved motion sensor and picture quality of the ARLO PRO over the first ARLO cameras made me go with rechargable. What would be nice is if the battery pack opened exposing 2 CR123 batteries, then the user could choose to recharge or not.

Requires a bunch of expensive user infrasructure like a router, cable modem, ISP. Be sure you meet or exceed usage requirements. I have Comcast. I am not sure how this would do on a slower DSL ISP.
Other Thoughts: While not a POE monitoring system with NVR this works well. I think costs are comparable to a POE system unless you're willing to pull your own cable then the POE system will be significantly less expensive. POE systems require drilling holes through a wall for each camera then gathering all those camera cables (1 for each camera) to plug into your NVE. I hate drilling holes in my homes walls and pulling cable. I hate crawling around in the attic. Hiring a contractor to pull cable for you makes the POE system more expensive than the wireless Arlo.

This works exactly like a POE system except videos are sent to a cloud server over your internet instead of a NVR. The base station has USB ports and will capture video to that USB connected drive at the same time it is sent to the cloud, so in effect the base station is the NVR. I use a 240GB USB Flash drive and hey, we are done!

I would recommend to anyone wanting a home camera security system.
Reviewed By:David S.,5/20/2017 4:13:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > HIKVISION > HikVision Outdoor Dome, 4MP-20fps / 1080p, H264, 6mm, Day / Night, 120dB WDR, IR (30m), 3-Axis, Alarm I/o, Audio I/O, uSD, IP66, PoE / 12V DC (DS-2CD2142FWD-IS-6)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Good quality, accurate specs, using it to read license plates.
The 6mm lenses' narrower field of view ~66 degrees is a little more difficult to find.
US Firmware
Cons: H.264+ is still defective (but I believe that is on a protocol level). H.264 is acceptable.
Other Thoughts: Beware this shipping with "CCTV_IPC_NVR" is hit or miss, this item was received within 9 days. Another order placed on the same day is in limbo four weeks later.
Reviewed By:Benjamin B.,5/19/2017 11:11:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Arlo Q Plus - 1080p HD Wi-Fi or PoE Security Camera with 2 Way Audio, 7 Days of FREE Cloud Recordings and SD Card Slot - VMC3040S-100NAS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't buy if you care about your privacy
Pros: - Decent image quality.
Cons: - You must upload all your video/audio to their servers in order to view footage (live or recorded);
- You cannot use it without internet connection;
- Massive privacy invasion;
Other Thoughts: If you care about your privacy, don't buy this product. But if you do, make sure you read and understand the terms of service.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/19/2017 12:06:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam R2B Indoor 1080P FHD Wireless Plug and Play IP Camera with Night Vision Up to 26 ft, Wide 110 degree Viewing Angle, Motion Detection, with Cloud & Local SD Card Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Good!
Pros: nice looking.
Cons: Bought 2, one was working, the other drops signal every hour. Very poor quality of firmware.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/18/2017 9:57:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-932L/2Q Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, Night Vision, Mydlink Enabled (2 PACK)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUST SET A HUNDRED DOLLAR BILL ON FIRE AND SAVE SOME AGGRAVATION!!!
Pros: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! WORTHLESS!
Cons: Total waste of money! These things take forty forever's to pull up by PC or Cell Phone, they are constantly losing connection with the router. You have to reset them every two or three days if you plan on viewing them remotely! I have tried them with three different router and modem combinations and it is these pieces of JUNK that keep losing the connection, not the routers! I will never buy another bloody thing from D-link! The last time they did it, I tore them down when I got home and threw them off my second story balcony, into the dumpster in the parking lot, where they belong! Monumental pieces of JUNK!
Other Thoughts: I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THESE PIECES OF JUNK TO STEVIE WONDER!
Reviewed By:John J.,5/18/2017 1:41:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini Plus HD 1080p Wi-Fi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 135 degree View, Night Vision, 2 Way Audio, Works with Alexa and Google Home Using IFTTT (White)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good so far and easy to use
Pros: - Picture quality is surprisingly good for such a small camera.
- Zoom feature is okay
- night vision looks amazing
- The motion detection feature works really good, almost too good. I have it at the lowest setting and I am notified of every motion from my dog
Cons: - Zoom feature gets very grainy the more you zoom in
- Once in a while the stream doesn't load on my phone, but a simple restart of the app it comes back
- would be nice to hang the camera in the corner of the wall
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this camera to others
Manufacturer Response:Hello Anthony,

Thanks for the review! We always appreciate when our customers take the time to leave feedback about our products and share their experience with other customers.

Best Regards,
EZVIZ Tech Team

Reviewed By:Anthony D.,5/12/2017 6:43:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-933L Day & Night Wi-Fi Camera with Wi-Fi Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very pleased, could be improved though
Pros: - Night vision works well
- FTP and e-mail alerts work great with motion and sound detection
- Despite the web interface being pretty bad as outlined in cons, you can actually access the camera feed directly and open it in chrome or even VLC getting by without needing the app or anything special to view the feed which is fantastic. Once you get it set up, it's super convenient.
Cons: DISCLAIMER: I am not using the mobile app, only the web interface. No idea how the experience is through the app.

- The web interface is a huge mess; even with the latest firmware it doesn't even let you configure the device (let alone view the camera) unless you do it with internet explorer. Some parts of the configuration like motion detection and sound detection require Java to configure (why?!) and to view the camera through the portal you need to install an ActiveX control.
- As mentioned in the pros section, you can access the camera feed directly through VLC or a browser without needing the aforementioned java or activex control, but the video and audio feed are exposed as two separate URLs in this case which is a bit annoying.
Other Thoughts: Based on past firmware fixes it seems like this device is not very secure and prone to getting hacked when exposed to the internet, so I'd recommend putting it behind a VPN or proxy if you have the technical knowledge on how to do that.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/9/2017 8:49:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam R2 Indoor 1080P FHD Wireless Plug and Play IP Camera with Night Vision Up to 26 ft., Wide 110 degree Viewing Angle, Motion Detection, with Cloud & Local SD Card Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Option for On-Cloud of Off-Cloud usage
Pros: Web interface has many options for recording, quality.
Image quality is great, image sensor is likely more than HD but scaled down to 1080p, and i prefer not to use the HDR option.
Cons: Had to google how to use with iSpy and VLC, for instance rtsp://admin:optionalPassword@192.168.2.181:88/videoMain
Microphone is terribly under-powered, only picks up sound that is within about two meters and loud. Not nearly as useful as a baby/ child monitor for instance.
Only sees 2.4Ghz wireless signals.
Other Thoughts: I only have a few cameras and prefer to setup everything (OWLR Foscam app, iSpy, etc) using IP's just in case my network has issues.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/6/2017 10:40:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.